Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vintage Kitchen Reviews List

Vintage Kitchen

Featuring sweeping views of the Elizabeth River from the waterfront ballroom, terrace, and herb garden, VINTAGE KITCHEN has quickly become a community favorite. Burled wood floors, black leather benches, and the patina of a copper bar provide a relaxing and elegant setting for award-winning modern cuisine, simply prepared and stylishly presented, using the freshest local and regional produce in season, with a focus on artisan-crafted Virginia wines, cheeses, and micro-brewed beers. The area’s most discriminating clientele dine in an exclusive private library and digital theater with a backstage look into the kitchen, by appointment or invitation only, where daily 7-course bespoke tasting menus are offered graciously by hometown Chef/Owner Phillip Craig Thomason.
See more Vintage Kitchen details
131 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(131 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 131 reviews
5 stars
(72)
4 stars
(30)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(82)
  • special occasion(79)
  • fit for foodies(68)
  • romantic(63)
  • notable wine list(43)
  • great for lunch(22)
Vintage Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Past its prime

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I booked a reservation for my family based on reviews indicating a wonderful view and great menu. We were celebrating my son's 25th birthday and his brother's upcoming deployment. The food was very good, and the wine list extensive, however the view was nothing special. And the service was deplorable. Our waitress disappeared for long periods of time and was horribly inattentive."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Our entire experience was awesome, will definitely go back again and would recommend to others."
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Cut Above

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Nothing about this restaurant is ordinary or mediocre ! The starters are outstanding, especially the mouth-watering wild mushroom puff pastry and the pumpkin soup. Two favorite entrees are the flounder with homemade preserved lemons and the duck. My husband LOVED the cone of tuna tataki! The chef's skill is evident in every item on the menu! Definitely one of the most talented in Tidewater!!! Oh, and leave room for dessert.....You won't be disappointed!"
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great dining experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Taking a seminar at the Sheraton next door. Great to walk over and enjoy good food with great ambiance"
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Vintage Kitchen is Wonderful!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We've just made our second trip to Vintage Kitchen... This time we tried 4 small plates instead of a dinner meal. All 4 dishes were excellent. Vintage Kitchen has a spectacular view and is a great place for a romantic night, girls night out or a family night out. We'll be back!"
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Happy Taste Buds

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Everything about the Vintage Kitchen was perfect. The food wine list were absolutely amazing! Our server was very personable and accommodating to our request and she always had a smile on her face."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Server was very attentive and kind. Meatloaf awesome. Loved the ambiance. Will def go again."
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We love the food at Vintage Kitchen! The name is totally wrong as far as the style and menu. Mushroom pot pie appetizer is incredible as is the duck, pig picking, and don't forget to order the creme brulee!"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had the prix fixe menu on Valentine's Day. It was OK. The food was good, but rather plain. The menu included a glass of champagne and a rose for the lady. Overall, it was a good experience, but I expect more than a hotel banquet quality menu for $75/person."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Valentine's Day dinner for two

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I enjoyed the food the most. It took a while to get the water view seating that I wanted. After requesting this seating several times, we were accommodated. I believe the food and the ambience made up for what appeared to be a young inexperienced staff."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It was a bit cold in there but otherwise great atmosphere, we have been here before and went back for Valentine's Day. Have not been disappointed with any of the food. Definitely try the truffle Mac and cheese! Amazing!!"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good, but not Great!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Had a night out just the two of us and we were excited to try this place we had never tried before. The portions are pretty small so definitely and what was described in the menu fell short of what was received. Not every item was presented and when you talk you talk about vegetables....let's just say you get one or two at the most of the vegetables listed.
Now that we know what to expect IF we choose to go again, we will adjust our expectations. We did have a lovely view though!"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our server wasn't great but we learned by overhearing the wonderful server at the table next to ours. Would be nice to have nightly dinner specials."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our new favorite restaurant!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We enjoyed everything about Vintage Kitchen! Our table was next to the window, we enjoyed a sunset over the water and the meal was outstanding. We allowed Philip to select the wine and five (5) small plates for us. His selections were a wonderful cross-section of vegetarian and fish dishes."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Restaurant week meal we've had

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This was our second visit. Both times the food was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive. Highly recommend"
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/27/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the most amazing spots in Hampton Roads!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I can't say enough good things. The food is phenomenal, the place has a great vibe and the service is outstanding."
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thank you downtown Norfolk Restaurant Week!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"If not for Restaurant Week in Norfolk, I might not have experienced this sweet place! Attentive service, best Caesar salad ever, and lovely sunset on the water. I wish I could have added the $5 for the parking garage to my server's tip!"
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very good food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I visited Vintage Kitchen during restaurant week. The server was very friendly and prompt in serving. The view was wonderful facing the water and mirrored the lights from the surrounding buildings. The food was very well seasoned and although not as warm as I would prefer, it was not cold. The Superbowl 50 was an upscale version of an appetizer platter at a more modest restaurant. For dessert I had the apple streusel donut (just when you thought a krispy kreme glazed donut couldn't get any better) they topped it with vanilla bean ice cream, apples, peanut brittle and salted caramel... Very good. Did l forget to mention the fireplace? This made the ambiance of the restaurant even better. Great place for a romantic dinner or special occasion."
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Restaurant week

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"My friends and I went here for Norfolk restaurant week. For starters I had the pumpkin soup which was very good. They had the Spicy ceasar salad; they did not care for the mint that was in it. For Entrees one friend and I had the crabcake. It was fine but nothing special. My friend did not like the red pepper in it, she thought it over powered the dish. My other friend had the nioki (sp?) which was good. For desert I had the donut apple streusel with ice cream. it was good but it was just a krispy-kream like donut with apple compote. My other friend had the dark chocolate desert which, again, it was good but nothing to write home about. Overall, we felt that the food was overpriced at $35, considering the purpose of restaurant week is to introduce yourself to new customers. We were not "wowed" enough to consider returning."
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Slow Service/Poor timing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We dined during restaurant week. They advertised she crab soup but didn't have any when we got there and replaced it with pumpkin. They ran out of one of the beers we ordered. You would think better planning would have prevented that.The food presentation was nice and the taste was average. However, our table of 6 received meals several minutes apart. They brought out 2 dishes at a time and those of us first sat there waiting while our food got cold until all were served. Mozzarella sticks had no cheese in them. We told the server and she brought us each another one 35 minutes later during our dinner. The atmosphere is pretty and has the potential to be very romantic. You could see the water and there was a nice fireplace."
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"As it always is our meal at Vintage Kitchen was spectacular. Chef Phillip is exceptionally knowledgeable about every aspect of every dish. He is super accommodating, when it comes to personal needs and choices. I most highly recommend you visit soon."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not on our Choice Awards List

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It May have won people's choice but it was not great in our rating scale. This is a restaurant downtown with business colleagues having a meeting one table next to us so we thought getting in and out would be fine.
After sitting down, we received our drinks right away and our server told us the specials. Then our server disappeared and we didn't see her at our table again. After we finished our teas, and 20 minutes of sitting, we had to ask the bartender to get our server. She came back 10 minutes after that stating that our server had a family emergency and had to leave, and she took our order. Apparently the emergency subsided, because our original server was actually back on the floor and behind the bar chatting up other customers on the other side of the room, even bussing and setting other tables, but she never returned to our table. The two of the servers would talk to one another behind the bar and our food never actually came out until we had been in the restaurant for 1 hour. (So 30 minutes from our order time) Maybe maybe she forgot to fire the meals or forgot to enter them? One of our party had to leave and couldn't eat because of the long wait at lunch time. We asked for her food to be boxed, and when our food finally came, the "to go" was mixed up , but since it wasn't brought out, we just didn't bother. We were hungry. The "award winning" Mac & Cheese was thoroughly overtaken by the truffle oil and the "award winning" Ceasar was way over dressed soggy. Needless to say, the "Diners Choice Award" apparently didn't mean anything to the the people serving us. Instead, we were a burden to them and apparently to the kitchen too. We will make sure not to bother them by going to their restaurant again.
"
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service and food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Definetly will come back when I'm visiting. Waitress was excellent on timing and recommendations. Loved the mac and cheese as well everyone loved their meal, flouder, pork chop, cheese platters."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Vintage Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>