Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

R Gang Eatery Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

R Gang Eatery

Born from an idea that great food can be gourmet without being pretentious, and eating it should always be fun, R Gang is changing the fine dining dynamic with food & fun. We believe that what you put in your mouth is just as important as what comes out "oooohs, ahhhs, yums" and big belly laughs included.
44 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(44 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(20)
  • great for brunch(18)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • good for groups(17)
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • great for lunch(10)
R Gang Eatery Reviews List
Review 1 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Awesome tots! Great service."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One of my favorite restaurants in SD. I've been many times for brunch and dinner and it never disappoints. The staff are always fun and the food is sooooo yummy! The bottomless mimosas are great and the Bloody Mary selection is impressive. Get some tots to munch on and a waffle for the table for dessert!"
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Comically Bad

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2007
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I will be laughing about this awful dining experience for years to come. We ordered meatloaf and turkey pot pie from the dinner menu. After waiting for 30 minutes, the server told us our order would be up shortly. 5 minutes later the host/manager comes out to tell us they are having trouble making the crust on the pot pie, but it would be done soon. More time elapses. Our server comes out to tell us they are plating our meal and it will be only a few more minutes. 10 more minutes pass. The host/manager brings out my meatloaf and tells us that they've been unable to make the pastry topping for the pot pie. He asks if we'd like to order something else. It's been an hour since we placed our order. He estimates that it will take 10 more minutes to finish the pot pie. How long will it take to make something else?? We stick with the pot pie. Meanwhile, we dig into the meatloaf, which is served with mashed potatoes and raw carrots and broccoli. I have no idea why you would serve raw vegetables with meatloaf, but that's what R Gang does. Finally, the pot pie arrives. The pastry crust isn't bad, but the pie itself is way too salty.
Thanks for the laughs, R Gang."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

it was just bad

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"our experience can be summed up how my husband described his turkey pot pie 'I was expecting a high class Marie Calendars....this was a couple of notches down.' We had high hopes looking though the menu, but it was disappointment after disappointment.
The mixed drinks were overly sugary. Reminded me spring break. The food itself was just bad. We honestly couldn't remember the last time we had such a bad meal.
The service was OK. It was a little odd. The only person who seemed to be working there was the bartender. We should have walked away when we saw how empty the place was on a Thursday night."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It did it disappoint!!!!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We looked up top 25 breakfast restaurants in San Diego and the review said it was top ten, I would say top 2 breakfast locations and non ocean view didn't matter, food and service was # 1......"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Deeply disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My family and I went to R Gang to celebrate 3 birthdays, which I explained when I made the reservation. The restaurant on a Saturday night was dead. There were very few people there so the ambiance was odd but we expected quick service. Wrong. The servers throughout the restaurant seems more interested in chatting together than quickly serving us. It took a very long time to get the food and when it was brought out, one of the things we had ordered wasn't actually stocked so my fiance had to choose a different item. The food itself wasn't very great. For a place boasting a fun looking menu in a place like Hillcrest, the chicken wings, Cesar salad, and turkey pot pie were all underwhelming. In fact, I didn't like or even eat half of the turkey pot pie. The server didn't seem to notice. It was really, really salty. Though it sounds petty to care about this, the restaurant didn't acknowledge any of our birthdays and the whole experience really disappointed my whole family."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great variety menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Many items to choose from. It was hard to select one, so I will definitely go back to try others. I chose the BYO baked potato. It was gigantic. I took half home and can probably ea it two more times for lunch left overs. We enjoyed patio dining. Even though a chilled night, the temperature was controlled to a comfortable temperature with ceiling heaters. Service was a little slow paced, but was there on a date so it did allow plenty of time and we did not feel rushed."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

yummy benedicts

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I enjoyed the housed smoked turkey benny. Yummy. Awesome biscuits too."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yum

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Cool interior, very thoughtful waitstaff. There was mainly one guy serving but he managed to make everyone happy, I think. I tried their sinless virgin drinks: Southern Belle, Fruity Pat and Mojito. All very tasty and refreshing. We had the (jalapeño) Popper Tots and Hawaiian Tots. The base of the ingredients were good but I was expecting a little more flavor. I had the R Gang burger, a bluu cheese and jalapeño bacon burger. I really love this burger -so flavorful! Just a little greasy with that combo. I had homemade chips on the side, which tasty but a little difficult to eat because they were heavy-handed on the salt. Overall, kind service and, with small tweaks, pretty yummy food."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good, nice server

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were a little disappointed that we weren't able to use our passport discount card (we missed that it wasn't allowed for weekend brunch when selecting the restaurant), but still enjoyed our meals. The food was good and our server, Joe, was polite and helpful. We had a tater scramble and a steak hash. The tots are pretty good and the steak served with the hash was a generous serving. Next time, we'll be careful to check that our discount card is eligible for the mealtime we choose to visit during!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food + Great service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our first experience at R Gang Eatery was fantastic. Came for Saturday brunch and at our server's recommendation I had the carnitas scramble and Irish coffee while my friend had the chicken and waffles. Both were amazing! The staff were knowledgeable and very friendly and very accommodating of our baby stroller, which was a little awkward to maneuver between tables. I wanted to try the endless mimosas, but I'll have to save that for next time. And there will definitely be a next time!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Complete letdown

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I planned a nice birthday dinner and tried to give ample notice of a big party (bigger than usual for this restaurants standards from what I've seen) by making a reservation. When I decided to take a cake, I wanted to confirm with the restaurant if it was ok to do so, and if there was any kind of additional fee for doing so. I spoke to two different ladies about that, and both of them had the same answer, which was that it wouldn't be an issue and no additional fee. Needless to say, when we arrived, and asked again, this time there was a "cutting fee" of $3 per slice of cake. When I brought up the fact that I spoke to TWO different people, and both said there was no charge, I was told that those people were new and didn't know. So the night already started off on the wrong foot, and things didn't get much better after that. There were things on the menu that they were out of, and the drinks were abysmal. Our waiter was very kind and made all the accomidations, so that part was excellent. But overall, I don't think I would return, or recommend them, which is unfortunate because the restaurant was good the first couple times, but has since been mediocre."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for R Gang Eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Just about everything on the menu is delicious. Only thing was the coffee was only warm."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for R Gang Eatery
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
21 out of 25 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic