Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe Italia - Arlington Reviews List

Cafe Italia - Arlington

Café Italia Ristorante was established in 1976 and is known for excellent food, charming décor, and exemplary service. With their Authentic Italian Recipes, Cafe Italia has been voted "Best Neighborhood Restaurant.” Please stop by our authentic Italian Restaurant in Crystal City Arlington, Virginia so we can welcome you with the finest in homemade Italian food.
See more Cafe Italia - Arlington details
36 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(36 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • kid-friendly(6)
  • good for groups(5)
  • romantic(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(3)
Cafe Italia - Arlington Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had not been to Cafe Italia in quite some time and decided to go for dinner. We were not disappointed. We had chicken Parmesan and chicken piccata that came with the house salad - both tasty. Our waiter was attentive and quick and very welcoming. The meals were reasonably priced too. As we left everyone said good bye. The restaurant has an old, and old fashioned, feel to it that we like - a little on the dark side (as in lighting not Star Wars) which we also like. Now that we have returned after several years away we will be back far more often."
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a charming Italian restaurant off the beaten path with excellent food and service !"
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Birthday Outing

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Went to Cafe Italia for a friend's birthday. Made a reservation and called when we were running a few minutes behind. The woman who answered didn't know what I was talking about and was extremely confused. That made me nervous. The lobster bisque was over salted. The bread was clearly purchased and not made. The entrees were bland.
The wine was nice and a great deal. Our waiter was fantastic!
Loved the service. Disappointed in the food."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Old Italian rustic inn type place."
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great night, great food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. We arrived early and were warmly greeted, seated quickly, and the servers were extremely attentive."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

You won me back

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I used to frequent this restaurant quite a bit then the new owners were too worried about opening a second location everything went down hill from there.
We had friends coming into town requesting Italian so I decided to go back and try cafe Italia.
Oh my gosh they brought back Billy's the chef from the old owner and food is back to where it was. Javier our waiter was exceptional with his service and glad to see this little gem coming back.
"
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/06/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nothing Special

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you are looking for great Italian food, I recommend you look elsewhere. The food is okay (not bad) but nothing to write home about. The service is decent but again, nothing to write home about. That said, Café Italia is a place I'd go to again but I'm sure there are better options in the area."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Cafe Italia is ok

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Café Italia after a service at Arlington Cemetery. it was quite early only just 5pm yet my order was forgotten. it could have been prepared several times by the time it was actually brought. Although the waiter apologized, there was no enumeration. I would have expected something. All others in my party were finished eating by the time I was served. Very poor service. The food was ok by the time it came, but by then I was pretty aggravated."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Back again

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Its been a while since I've been here. I travel for business and stay in this neighborhood. I enjoy this old style neighborhood restaurant. Reminds me of those basic unpretentious Restaurants where families and friends old eat when growing up. Interesting decor. I'll be going back again and look forward to trying other menu items"
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good local option

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have dined here several times and have always enjoyed the experience. The food is quite good and the establishment has a mom & pop feel to it. The prices are reasonable for hearty portions. I recommend the lasagna. The service is always good, even if I grab something to go and wait at the bar. Highly recommend an occasional visit."
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice but not NICE if you know what I mean

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The place is cozy (tables are a little tight). I was annoyed that we stood for 10 minutes before being acknowledged and seated. The food is mediocre. I have the chicken marsala and had to bring it home to add some seasoning. It was very bland. My companion had the chicken carbonara and the chicken was so dry and overcooked it was not edible. The pasta was ok, but again lacked seasoning, just very bland. The highlight was the Crema Caramel for dessert. Sweet and creamy. It is a good spot for a quick glass of wine and dessert. Also the karaoke was top notch. Real singers, with real talent and personality."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Classic Look and Feel

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This little place has a lot of character and wish it was only located on Crystal Drive, so that it was not such a walk.
The food was outstanding and the service was ok. Our waiter was not on top of it the entire time but the owner/manager filled in rather well. This is also not a place to come for a little snack as the food portions are well-sized and if you walk out hungry it is YOUR fault.
Overall, I will return!"
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cafe Italia - Arlington
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
5 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic