Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

B. Smith's Restaurant Row Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

B. Smith's Restaurant Row

American with Southern influences
81 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(81 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(21)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • great for brunch(17)
  • great for lunch(16)
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • special occasion(9)
B. Smith's Restaurant Row Reviews List
Review 1 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2014
 2007
Dined on 4/20/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/20/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2007
 2007
Dined on 5/12/2007
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/12/2007
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2007
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Going to miss this place! Wish her well!"
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2010
 2010
Dined on 11/06/2010
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2010
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Such a disappointment from what the B. Smiths I know used to be. The waitress described collard greens incorrectly to another family. Staff definitely needs a refresher course in what southern food is as someone who is from the south. Overall the food was ok. Even though the chicken wasn't southern friend chicken mostly resembled that of how Italians fry w/bread crumbs it was still good. Mac and cheese definitely not southern. More gourmet style. If you want to do gourmet cooking fine but don't but southern in the equation. It was freezing and I kept asking to turn the vent/AC off because I was sitting right under it. I was given the excuse that it's so hot down stairs that the fan is colder upstairs (where we were seated) I don't know how it's hot when the door is constantly opening."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Apparently, this B Smith's went out of business and no one let me know. So on a cold night just before the theatre, we went huntinhg for a place to eat. Strange how restaurants today know how to reach you to confirm your res but this place couldn't bother. VERY POOR BUSINESS PRACTICE probably why they went out of business!"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food and service were excellent. We went for a pre-theater dinner and had plenty of time to relax and enjoy the meal."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Satisfying meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I visited B smiths for a quick Lunch before a show. My open table reservation was made about 30 minutes before my arrival and at the beginning of lunch. The restaurant called within minutes to confirm. The service was a little slow considering I think they should have been use to showtime crowds. The shrimp po boy was indeed poor with olny 6 shrimp on the baguette otherwise it was tasty. I would give it another chance for dinner. Really visited because of B Smiths past excellent reputation. With so much to visit in N.Y. I would not make it a priority to go back upon my next visit.
On a scale of 1-10 I would give it a 5 1/2.
"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Theater District location

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Close to the theater district with quick service and good food. Southern influence with items like grits and sweet potatoes. As a Southerner, I would say the food is good, but not outstanding....but I have high standards for foods from the South. Very nice atmosphere. They have a Prix Fix which has a nice selection and is well priced."
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what I expected

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had always heard about B Smith's and good but this restaurant has not maintained its reputation.
Clearly everything was cooked in advance so our food came out before our drinks!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Accommodating

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We arrived early for lunch as it was cold. We were seated, had coffee and were not rushed. Food was good and service was outstanding. I would recommend this for lunch before theater anytime."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

PERFECT for a Sunday brunch before a Matinee

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ideal theatre district location! Cozy, intimate atmosphere. Menu had creative brunch selections,. Generous portions- lobster quiche was loaded with lobster, Fried green tomatoes were delish. Brioche French toast and fresh fruit, yum! For additional $15 you get unlimited Bloddy Mary/Mimosa/Screwdriver/Blini. Excellent service. Will definitely go back!!"
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

B. Smith

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This restaurant was selected as being close to the Theater district and it was within walking distance fir us. They took us right away. The brunch menu was available for Saturday. I had the sweet potato pancakes with an apple compote and fresh fruit. It was delicious. Others in my party had the sandwiches and all said it was very good. We would return to this restaurant for another delightful meal."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice evening out

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nice restaurant in midtown that makes soul food. Its just too bad they have taken out the soul from the food. What is needed is some flavor in their food. a little salt and pepper would be a good start"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Brunch spot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Lovely and quiet place to have an interesting brunch with Cajun influence. Only complaint was the service. There were only a few tables occupied but the waiter seemed to disappear for long periods of time. We also did not get a drink or side dish that we ordered when we got our meals but the waiter never came back to check on us. It's a shame that I won't be revisiting but it's worth one try to see if they get it right..."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My daughter and I had a 3:00 curtain call, with a noon reservation; plenty of time for a relaxing brunch. We split the fried green tomatoes, which was delicious, and a nice firmness to the tomatoes. The fried catfish w/sweet potato mash and collard greens. Fish was nice and flaky, greens had that old southern taste I craved, sweet potato mash a bit sweet for my taste. My daughter had the lobster quiche. The serving portion was quite generous, w/whole claws. We split a creme brûlée, which was perfect. There was a nice crusting with no burnt taste.
The weakness fell in the service. The hostess appeared inexperienced. Everyone needs to start somewhere, so it didn't disturb me. Servers have to start somewhere also, however, even as a beginner, a server should know to pour your wine and ask how your meal is.
I will return to B. Smith's and recommend it. If I am there for dinner, my expectations will be higher.
"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for the Chicken and Waffles but apparently it was only on the brunch menu. Disappointed. Ribs were pretty good. Grilled corn was pretty bland. Sweet Potato Salad as ok mas were sweet potatoes. Had a great experience here 2 birthdays ago...perhaps my expectation was too high this time around because it was just OK experience this around.
Went with girlfriend, was looking for a chill quiet dinner, but were sitting next to an extremely loud set of guests so that also took away from the experience. We asked the hostess to move us, but instead we had to wait for them to leave.
Maybe just a blip on the radar this time around."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

B. Smith, fine dining.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experience at B.Smith's. The ambiance was nice and inviting. The food was great and the staff were attentive, knowledgeable and professional. I would definitely recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service was very slow

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We arrived at 11:15 and were asked to come back because they didn't open until 11:30. When we returned we were the first ones to be seated. We ordered our brunch and did'nt get any food for over 1 hour. When it did arrive it looked delicious mine was very good but my daughters was very cold. They did make her another breakfast but that took another bit of time. The food she finally received was hot and delicious."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great location near theaters.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A lot of flavors on one plate--a little much. I had the blackened salmon. It was over cooked. The plate had chard, couscous with several different veggies and fresh pineapple salsa. The combinations were so mixed it was hard to tell what you were eating. However, the bread pudding was amazing! We have dined at this restaurant many times and it is always pleasant and convenient."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Southern Charm

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I am a sucker for good ol'southern cooking and B. Smiths does it right. You can't go wrong with their crispy fried chicken, creamy Mac n cheese, and tangy greens. The service was also fantastic, Dante mad sure we had everything we needed. This is my new go to when I'm in the time square area."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very Disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"B. Smith used to be a stylish restaurant with good food and warm service. Went there for pre-theater lunch for the first time in years, and found a drab, tired looking place with service and food to match. They were barely half full, but service was incredibly slow and disorganized. Food was mediocre, Bloody Mary so strong as to be undrinkable. Won't go back."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Sunday Brunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have eaten at B. Smith's many times for dinner and it's always good. This time I went for brunch and it was exceptional. The sweet potato pancakes were delicious. So was the chicken sausage. We also had fried catfish, collard greens and mashed sweet potatoes. Everything was prepared to perfection. The portion sizes were satisfying and did not leave us feeling stuffed. I will have brunch here again."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had a great dining exoerinece for Thanksgiving. Big portion, yummy tasting meal."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food itself is very good. We went pre-theater and we had to wait 45 minutes between the first course and the main course so the dinner was rushed. Also since two of a party of six ordered the prefixe we we found out at the that we could not use a 25.00 restaurant.com coupon even though 4 ordered a la carte and the bill was substantial. Evidently no matter how many are at the table, if one orders a special you cannot use any vouchers."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for B. Smith's Restaurant Row
Based on the average of (55) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
37 out of 52 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic