Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Zengo - Santa Monica Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Zengo - Santa Monica

Zengo is a sophisticated blend of Latin-Asian styles and flavors. Chef Richard Sandoval, whose accolades include Bon Appétit Restaurateur of the Year and Mexico’s Toque d’Oro, artfully spins Latin-Asian ingredients into beautifully balanced dishes designed for sharing. To complement the cuisine, Zengo offers a collection of regional spirits, including Rums, Cachacas, Tequilas, Sakes and Shochus. The cocktail menu showcases Latin-Asian classics, as well as creative interpretations, made with hand-muddled fruits and herbs. Buen provecho!
35 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(35 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(20)
  • good for groups(19)
  • great for brunch(19)
  • scenic view(15)
  • hot spot(13)
  • fit for foodies(11)
Zengo - Santa Monica Reviews List
Review 1 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2013
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Extraordinario!"
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2010
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2010
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2010
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/07/2012
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Brunch!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was visiting the area with a group of friends and we decided to go for brunch based upon a recommendation. I will just say we had the best time! We decided to go ahead and do the unlimited brunch (that comes with unlimited mimosas as well) and I am so happy we did. We tried everything on the menu! We ate until we could eat no more and drank almost as much. They had a DJ spinning during brunch and the bar was already hopping midmorning. The food was actually really good and the flavored mimosas were as well. The only negative I would say is that they sat us directly in the sun so we got extremely hot and weren't too happy having to squint the whole time."
Dined on 8/11/2013
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

zengo

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"beautiful Santa Monica location, great drink and food brunch options. price is decent for Santa Monica. nice dj on Saturday and Sunday. definitely recommend making a reservation if you have a party larger than 4, unless you want to wait for an hour.
been there for happy hour as well not as large of a selection but the drinks are strong and the food is ok. can't beat the location. plus you get free parking for the first 90 minutes
"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food Great View

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Waiter that helped us was fantastic. Made great suggestions. We loved everything we ate. Sat on the patio at night and it was beautiful."
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So sorry it's closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Zengo has to be one of the best reasonably priced brunch menus in Los Angeles. Small plates are eclectic and delicious. Service is always great and friendly. So sorry it's closing - it will be missed ."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved this place for years!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"One of my favorite brunch spots. You can't beat an unlimited menu with bottomless drinks for around $45! Reservations are a must and make sure you request to sit outside. Also, make sure you tip extra if you're chugging drinks."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Brunch at Zengo

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love coming to Zengo for brunch, the staff (minus the hostess) are amazing. My only complaint is that every trine I ask for outside seating I am completely blown off by the hostess and I'm told there is never a guarantee, then I look out to see open tables. My last reservation was for 12 and asked to be called if my request to sit outside could not be accommodated. That did not happen even though it made the reservation in advance. I was very disappointed."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I love this place, from the great food choices, to the drinks and the wonderful service. It's a great place for both romantic dinners and family/friends brunch. The food is delicious and New Year's menu was exceptional. Very happy new items were added. We are very sad that this place will close by March and will do our best to enjoy it as much as we can. Hopefully they open the same restaurant somewhere else in Santa Monica."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Creative flavors

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were seated promptly but it took awhile for a server to come by and check in. There was a bit of confusion about the endless Zengo but after both of those were resolved, everything else went great. The food itself tasted very good. I especially love the sea scallops and pork belly. All the Asian/Latin flavors blended really well. I would never think to mix certain ingredients like they did in the menu. The Endless Zengo is definitely a great deal if you want to taste a bit of everything. The portions were just right and we went home with full and happy stomachs. I would definitely recommend this to friends especially those who are adventurous or who would like to try new foods. it's in a good spot, although with traffic, it can be a bit hard to get to."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful unlimited mimosa/tapas brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First, the service was on point! mimosas flowing non stop. Every time we ordered our food it came out at a perfect time. Fun music and great sake sangria also. This is my 2nd time coming to brunch here and it won't be the last!!!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Weekend Brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Me and a couple of friends decided to take another friend to Zengo for his birthday brunch, this past weekend. My friends and I love Zengo but the birthday had never been. We were excited for him to experience Zengo. I made a reservation through Open Table which worked out perfect. When we got there, we met our, waiter, a really nice guy. Since this was the all you can eat, mimosa brunch, we began to place our food and drink orders. The orders took longer than usual to come out which was confusing since it wasn't as busy as it usually was for a Saturday. As time went by, we placed more orders. We would get some items we ordered but never recieved others. The waiter then told us that the table next to ours had accidently gotten our orders instead and was eating our food. He then began to bring us out food that we didn't order because he wanted us to have something to eat but that food was cold. Also, the waiter seldomly came by to refill drinks, again, unsual considering the service that I usually get from there.
All in all, I wasn't happy at all with this experience and I was disappointed since we had planned a birthday celebration there for someone who had never been there. I usually don't write comment or reviews like this but hopefully this will get to management. I don't think this was all the fault of the waiters but something needs to be corrected."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Outside was FREEZING even with the heat lamps.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very nice server but they didn't come by often enough, which was odd given it was pretty dead at the time. I couldn't even get anyone's attention to get change to leave a tip."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our waiter Matthew was just terrific. Informative about menu choices with just the right amount of friendliness to make us feel comfortable. Thanks."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Place to Hangout in LA!! ZENGO

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is such an amazing place to hangout and celebrate special occasions with friends. Nice elegant settings with delicious Asian-Latin fusion food. Also great staff and very accommodating!!!"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zengo - Santa Monica
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Had a good time

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My gf and I went here for Brunch for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. The best small plates for us were the thai chicken empanadas and the chocolate waffles. The drinks were well made as well. We liked the sangria the best."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Zengo - Santa Monica
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
10 out of 12 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic