Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Arturo's Uptown Italiano Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Arturo's Uptown Italiano

Dining at elegant Arturo’s Uptown Italiano is like a visit to the romantic hillside cafes of Tuscany. Arturo’s will charm you with the warmth of Old Italy and astound you with Chef Seles Romero's delicious flavors. Dine on the open air covered patio or in the beautiful stone and wood interior. Ravioli with crab meat, salmon with a mustard dill sauce, savory eggplant parmigiana, spicy penne pasta and Italian sausage -all are now Houston classics. From the extensive wine list to the friendly hostesses and the helpful waitstaff, all the pieces are in place to make your visit to Arturo's a most wonderful experience. The acoustics are designed to allow pleasant table conversation and there is ample free parking as well as valet. Come for the charm of Old Italy -we look forward to seeing you.
79 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(79 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
5 stars
(42)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(35)
  • romantic(27)
  • fit for foodies(25)
  • great for lunch(22)
  • neighborhood gem(22)
  • good for groups(17)
Arturo's Uptown Italiano Reviews List
Review 1 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2014
 2008
Dined on 6/18/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/18/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/10/2014
 2014
Dined on 8/10/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/10/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/26/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice food attentive service"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Twice in one week

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Back again and very pleased, as usual. The sea bass and lobster were perfect. We'll probably be back next week. Great place."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our Favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a great place from top to bottom. One of the very best in town and I highly recommend it."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Waiter did not even read us the specials, very eager to get us going ... It was Valentine's!! Nothing spectacular!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved the ambiance. Great choice for Valentine's Day."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

If food was as good as the wait staff

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Thought I would take my wife to a different place for Valentines Day. Had previewed the regular menu and had an idea of what to order.. the waiter was so enthusiastic about the special we decided to go that route vs ordering from the menu. We should have ordered from the menu to say the least... the special was lobster tail with strawberry risotto. The lobster tail was grilled and over cooked and tough and WAY over priced. Not impressed and was a little taken back by the price once the bill was received. Service was really good and I am sure the kitchen staff can make a great meal, but on this special occasion it was not that high level of expectation."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food here is pretty mediocre considering the price and the available options in the neighborhood. The salad was overloaded with raw garlic, and my steak was over-cooked. The service was rushed and hard a hard time getting our requests right."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Keep returning......

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Keep returning as much as possible. Best Italian restaurant in the Galleria area.
Everything is good.
"
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A good time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Four of us celebrated a birthday and everything was great. The snapper special was delicious and only outdone by the veal chop and sea bass. The waiters were great and the owner came by to wish a happy birthday. The restaurant is pretty and they have a good wine list. One of the best places in Houston."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our Go-To Place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have business dinners there at least once a week because the food is great, the staff is great and it is not overly loud. And it is where the wife wants to go for Valentines. A terrific restaurant."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Return VIsit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Friends from out of town had heard about Arturo's and wanted to go there. That was fine with us as it is one of our favorites. The evening turned out great with great seafood, pasta and wines. We are looking forward to a business dinner there next week."
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Interesting waiter

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My friends and I were finishing our bottle of wine and, I guess, staying too late. To hurry things along, the waiter grabbed our bottle of wine, held it to his lips and chugged what was left.
Then he turned out the lights.
Unique, to say the least.
"
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Arturo's for a relaxing and delicious lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A recent visit for lunch was a success in every way. The food was delicious: the Yellow Pepper soup was tasty, the Grilled Salmon was cooked and seasoned to perfection with the dark mustard-based sauce the perfect compliment, and the Italian Sausage Pasta has been a long-time favorite of one of our guests. Even during the heart of the 'lunch rush', the room was pleasingly quiet and we were able to converse easily. Our server was attentive and professional but not intrusive. Based on our experience, Arturo's will become a favorite!"
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A hidden Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One of my favorite lunch spots -- superb food fairly priced, excellent service, and quiet enough that conversation is possible even if the restaurant is full. Just a great off the radar find..."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Special event at a special place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have alway loved Arturos, inside, outside, bar scene. Every moment we were there for dinner wa special. I had a whole sea bass, baked and it was moist and perfect. Oso Buco was also ordered at the table, and to die for.
We wil be back. and ask for Tony.....
"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our First 2015 Visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Arturo's continues to be a great restaurant. Everything on our check list gets an A-Plus. An interesting and well dressed crowd enjoying great food and service. I'm having a business dinner there next week and look forward to it as the acoustics are good."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Birthday Dinner Celebration

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We celebrated my daughter's birthday this past weekend at Arturo's Everyone was very pleased with their dinner choices. I had the black truffle scallops and shrimp. The shrimp were huge, the scallops tender and the risotto cooked perfectly. The tiramisu was delicious, but the cannoli's were even better. Service was kind of slow, but it gave us all time to chat. Would definitely go there again."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was exquisite Italian - the lobster was special and my husband loved the veal Milanese. Excellent wait staff and we just enjoyed talking to each other so much as everyone was having a great time and we could hear each other Like the fun art on the walls as well. Thank you for a lovely New Years Eve experience."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this place!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Easy to get to and easy to park. Great service and food. Beautiful ambiance. What more could you ask for?"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our Visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a great time in this beautiful restaurant. The food was delicious, the server professional but fun and a great wine list. There were a lot of interesting tables around us and everyone seemed to be having a good time. We're coming back. Again."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love the food and Services

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Have been several times and keep returning because I love Itzel!"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My favor Italiano resturant in Houston

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Superb for weeknight gathering!
Good location, lots of parking.
Half order of soup available. Scrumptious Manu.
Favors –Spinach and Avocado Salad, whole wheat spaghetti, Frutti Di Mare Risotto, Lobster Tail Pescatore and Pappardelle, Grilled Lamb Chops are all excellent. Smoked Rainbow trout is on the very salty side. Oh, do not miss Arturo’s Tiramisu and biscotti Vin Santo.
"
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have dined here a few dozen times over the years and it keeps getting better. These guys are on it and it shows. A great restaurant."
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice atmosphere with good food & service!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The baked brie was lovely as a starter and the food portions were very good sizes! You could even share! I had salmon and it was very tasty!
The service was great - very pleasant, welcoming and helpful!
The parking was easy for dinner which is a big plus and the location spot-on (right behind Uptown Park).
I'd definitely go here again."
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Waiter refused to bring food to table

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had Thanksgiving dinner and ordered the turkey. Second entree was from standard menu. Asked waiter to bring out my salad with the salad ordered by the second party who ordered from menu. Since second party was not ready to enter main course order, waiter refused to bring out the salads. He said it was a decision made by chef. i went to manager and got it sorted. Although waiter's support cast was excellent, waiter ignored us the rest of the evening and seemed to delay everything from forgetting to bring bread and everything else that we requested.Pretty petty stuff from a supposedly good restaurant."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Arturo's Uptown Italiano
Based on the average of (50) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
44 out of 45 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic