Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen

Opened in 2009, Pio Pio Hell’s Kitchen is the latest addition to the Pio Pio family of restaurants.

Pio Pio Hell’s Kitchen is a departure from the original Pio Pio concept, with the same high standards of food quality and service that New Yorkers have come to know.

The beautifully designed, and architectural award-winning space, offers a modern but relaxed atmosphere and deliciously food.

From inventive fusion ceviches, to traditional Peruvian fare, the Pio Pio Hell’s Kitchen menu aims to please everyone.

We have a full bar tended by professional mixologists, that will make your pit stop at our bar, another incredible experience at Pio Pio Hell’s Kitchen.
80 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(80 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
(28)
4 stars
(40)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(49)
  • fit for foodies(32)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • hot spot(22)
  • special occasion(17)
  • romantic(12)
Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/18/2013
 2012
Dined on 11/18/2013
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/18/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2014
 2012
Dined on 3/05/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/05/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food and value for groups and q little of everything and casual, great decor, service needs to improve A LOT"
Dined on 9/01/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2014
 2011
Dined on 2/20/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/20/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2013
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food here is great and one of the best Peruvian restaurant I've ever had."
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2014
 2011
Dined on 10/05/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/05/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2014
 2006
Dined on 10/09/2014
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/09/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/17/2013
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/28/2014
 2011
Dined on 7/28/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always satisfied. Hosts can be overly persistent about reservations, but once you get past them, always a good meal."
Dined on 7/28/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love This Place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Pio Pio is a favorite for my siblings and I. Whenever we get the chance to get together, we are heading to Pio Pio! The food, drinks and the service are awesome. I know that we'll be going again soon."
Dined on 10/31/2013
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2013
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Service needs to match the food and ambiance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a large group, and everything was great except at the end when they kept trying to clear the table when we were still eating, making sure that we would leave a tip even before we paid for the bill, and trying to rush us out near the end of our meal. They also had us wait at the bar even though we had reservations.
If they could get the service together, the restaurant can be a true gem. The food is excellent, the bar area was fun, and the dining room is nicely designed."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

What does the chick say?

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took my son and a small group of 20-somethings to celebrate his birthday. They all loved it. Food is decent though not exactly subtle. Large portions. Fairly attentive service. Water glasses were filled periodically, plates were cleared promptly. Waitress was friendly. Much better and less sullen service than the upper west side Pio Pio. Physical plant also a bit more upscale and spacious than the UWS iteration. About $400 for 8 of us including 4(total) cocktails, dessert, coffee and tip so not cheap but reasonable by NYC standards. Would not return to UWS but would go back here for a similar occasion."
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must Try!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food and drinks were amazing. We went to the Hells Kitchen location and it was perfect for a dinner date. No complaints!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food, great ambiance, and Gabrielle is great"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Post Broadway Show

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ten minute walk from theatre district... Food was delicious. Family style so each couple ordered an entree and some appetizers and we all sampled from each thing and had food left over to take home. So much food! Delicious sangria! Raves about the chicken, but I thought it was nothing that special....its chicken. It was seasoned well. My hubby and I ordered the paella it was delicious!"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Another hidden gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Passed this restaurant many times promising that I would try it....Decided to get together w/childhood friends,
based on one of the wormen's recommendations....two of the women were already familiar w/the restaurant at different locations....This was a hit...we loved the food and according to previous diners of this restaurant at their other locations this location had a more appealing ambiance and it was convenient for all of us to get to...I would definitely recommend this restaurant and am looking forward to c oming again
"
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service as usual

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had a reservation but my friend was two hours late. I didn't check in because I was waiting for her at the bar. The hostess came over to me to ask if I was waiting for a table. I explained my situation. My friend was two hours late and they were still willing to honor my reservation. Great service and the food and sangria was excellent as usual."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good food, waiter took a little long between drinks, appetizers, and dinner to take orders. Sangria was really good. I would go again."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Authentic Peruvian Cuisine

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I surprised my wife on our trip to New York by bringing her here. She is Peruvian and grew up eating a lot of the foods that were on the menu at Pio Pio. She said the food was as authentic as she's had, and as fresh as could be. I agree 100%, this was some of the best Peruvian food we've had.
The walk up to the restaurant makes you wonder if it is going to be any good, but boy was it good. The atmosphere is cozy, but trendy at the same time. The walls and ceiling in the main dining area are covered by twigs, and the space is illuminated by bare bulb fixtures hanging around the room. The room was very loud as it was packed full and there were several large parties in the room.
We had Perucho Tasting appetizer, which includes papita rellena, causita, empanaditas, beef anticucho papita huancaina, tamalito, salsa criolla. All of it was outstanding and super fresh. Their green sauce was nice and subtle with a great spiciness to it.
We then split Lomo Saltado for dinner, and again, everything was super fresh and super tasty. The papas were outstanding. We then finished up with a piece of Tres Leches cake. While we were looking forward to Flan, they were out of it, the Tres Leches was outstanding. Probably the best Tres Leches I've ever had.
The next time we come to New York, we will definitely be back!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Chicken

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love Pio Pio in every location. You know what you are getting and you can depend that it is great tasting. The places are always alittle loud but the food is so good I work with it."
Dined on 11/11/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Make Sure Everyone Has Healthy Hearing!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"...or make sure that you don't need to discuss anything during dinner. Or make sure you drink enough where you're all shouting and it won't matter that you're shouting or it won't matter what you're saying anyhow.
They couldn't find my reservation that I made online, and then I called, thank goodness, at which point supposedly somebody heard my name being used and they stole our VIP table. really? At that point they just kick out that party when the real party has arrived? It's a one of the kind table in a huge cavernous space that is extremely loud. We were celebrating a birthday.
Even though it was a Tuesday, it was a very busy night because of the holiday season. It was a while before we finally flagged down a server. We finally asked the back server to summon the server to take our order. One item was left off of the food that arrived at our table. I really think they need to write down what people are ordering even if it seems like a four top is easy to memorize the order. When it gets that busy, why yourself up for mistakes?
They did sing happy birthday for us. That's always nice. And the dessert did have a candle. I just wish that more than an apology was made for having the best table in the place stolen from us. I owned restaurants for over 10 years and we always tried to bend over backwards when people were dissatisfied or unhappy.
They could've promised it the next time I returned or something. Just the symbolism of the offer would have been a nice touch.
My son loves chicken, so I was very excited to take him there. The chicken was good. But I don't know that we will return. Like everyone keeps saying, there are way too many restaurants in New York to try when this kind of thing happens."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unique Food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We enjoyed the varities of Peruvian Cuisine. It is very large inside, and is great for a couple's date, or a bigger group to enjoy!"
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

reliable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The chicken is great, shared plantains, beans, other sides. It is plenty for two. Good value. They get you out for the theatre on time."
Dined on 5/06/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pio Pio - Hell's Kitchen
Based on the average of (51) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
44 out of 44 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic