Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Urban Curry Reviews List

Urban Curry

Urban Curry, one of the most prestigious and exciting Indian & Pakistani restaurants, located at 523 Broadway St. San Francisco California. With our warm traditional decoration, pleasant surroundings and our open kitchen, you will enjoy an authentic meal. At Urban Curry we emulate the style elegance and variety reminiscent of the olden ages with the spices specially imported from India & Pakistan, more importantly, we use only Halal meat. Feel free to complement your meals by bringing your own wine or beer (with no corkage fee).
See more Urban Curry details
20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(6)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • fit for foodies(2)
  • hot spot(1)
Urban Curry Reviews List
Review 1 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great value for lunch buffet

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"$15 lunch buffet was great value. It has a great food selection with Nanh and Chai tea. Great value of order from the menu. Great for group. Enjoyed it."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/17/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Richly flavoured north Indian

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our group got main courses to share family style (chicken makhani, lamb korma, paneer saag) plus garlic naan, potato naan, and chapati. The chapati were a bit spicier than I'm used to getting, which was surprising but not bad, and they were very crispy and still hot from being cooked. Mango lassi helped with the spice. Also: free chai. A++ would nom again."
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 10/20/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Tasty food"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Curry / Indian type restaurants in the city

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"i was a little hesitant to eat here bc the reviews said you had to order at the counter so I thought it might not be too nice inside but we had full on table wait service, ambiance was really nice and the food was out of this world. The food is spicy so if you are not a huge fan of really spicy food, order your dishes mild. I like a little spicy so I ordered my dishes medium and I had to drink a lot of water, next time I will go with mild. We were a group of 5 on a Saturday night. We had a reservation but didn't need one. Plenty of seating. Very friendly and attentive staff. We could carry on a conversation and had no problems hearing each other and I'm deaf in one ear so that says a lot. The bill was under a $100 and we had food to take home. One of my new favs for when I'm in the city."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2001
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Urban Curry
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Urban Curry
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
3 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2.6 / 5
(Good) 2.6 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic