Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant Reviews List

Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant

Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant has been a landmark in the historic Gramercy Park neighborhood since 1950. The father and son tandem of Louis and Greg Azzollini continue to serve old-country-style Italian dishes, as well as, innovative specials prepared daily. All plates are crafted with the freshest of ingredients, many sourced locally from the farmers market. Louis always welcomes you as part of the family and Chef Greg makes sure each dish would proudly be served to "Nonna."
See more Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant details
188 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(188 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 188 reviews
5 stars
(81)
4 stars
(75)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(103)
  • good for groups(52)
  • romantic(39)
  • fit for foodies(36)
  • special occasion(26)
  • great for lunch(20)
Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always excellent

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We have been here several times and always have a great meal. The food is consistently good and the service is very accommodating. Favorite meals include the veal scallopini dishes and the branzino."
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I went here for dinner to catch up with friends and everything was great. Food was great, service was great, and drinks were also great. It was a very nice warm restaurant. They did not rush us, we sat there for longer than anticipated catching up while enjoying our food. Their Prix-fixe menu was also a good option and honestly did not anticipate they would have one.
We truly got to enjoy our food and enjoy each other's company; they did not rush us at all, which is a rarity in NYC."
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/23/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our waiter was very detail oriented and friendly. We ordered from the pre fixe menu which offered both quantity and a wide array of options. I went with the veal Parmesan and we each ordered a different app and dessert to share. It was a great way to sample the menu."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food. Friendly and pleasant staff.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Atmosphere was very nice. Had a great time celebrating my co-worker's 30th year service anniversary at work. We had a very nice time and enjoyed ourselves."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Eileen

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Paul and Jimmy's Restaurant is a neighborhood favorite. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. The prix fixe lunch portions are generous. Service is attentive but not intrusive. My friends and I spent a long lunch catching up with one another and we were never rushed."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/01/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/29/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner at Paul and Jimmy's

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great drinks, a perfect scotch old fashion . Nice wine list.
Started with there lasagna and it was outstanding. Could have been a little bigger but I ate it all.
Then sausage and chicken with onions , peppers . Large portion and was excellent. Took half home with me. I will be returning very soon.
"
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service was bad

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Service has been an issue for years. Some nights are fine, others are terrible. They seem to handle things if the restaurant is not full but can't cope with a full house. This is a neighborhood restaurant for me and based on bad service it was off my list for years. I went back about a year ago and had a few night where service was okay but last Saturday night was very bad. It will be off my list again, which is too bad because the food is pretty good."
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Loved our waiter and our food, and specially the homemade pasta!"
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Decent Food. Watch your bill.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Food was traditional '70s stereotypical Italian but fairly well executed on the mains. Nothing spectacular, nothing really stood out.
I do remember the look of frustration on our servers face when we decided to 1) not order a bottle of wine (only beer and wines by the glass) and 2) not order dessert. More disappointing was when the check was dropped I noticed an usually high drinks tab. Inconveniently located on the back side of the bill was the wine and drinks total which included additional/overcharges for drinks which we did not order. Before I gave the bill back, the server immediately asked if something was wrong with the tab in a way that suggested he already knew he'd been caught. After correcting the bill, his apology was that he's crazy (or something to that effect) while twirling his finger next to his ear. It wasn't convincing. While it could have been an honest mistake, no one at our table felt it was genuine. Please don't try to slip drinks on our tab we didn't order to make up for poor sales at the end of the evening.
Take away -> Aside from the service, the food was good. However, why would anyone bother with this place especially when you have Maialino and La Follia around the corner."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was good. Nothing spectacular. But the service was awful. Everything from the host to the bus boys were rude and rushed is the entire meal. Awful experience"
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and atmosphere for decades!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"From the original location in the 1970s to the current one since the 90s, P&J's has been a terrific place for good food and efficient, friendly service. It is good for families, friends, clients, anyone who likes a good classic Italian meal with modern touches."
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/08/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/05/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love everything about this place. It's the quintessential New York restaurant. No attitude here just great food served by an inviting staff. It's run by Lou and his son Greg, the chef. You can tell by talking with them that they really love what they do."
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had never heard of Paul & Jimmy's until recently. I was doing my weekly shopping at Whole Foods and came upon a chef doing a demo for pasta sauces. Now I usually make my own sauce, but I decided to give the Nonna's and Puttanesca a try. They were by far the best jarred sauce I had ever tried. After chatting with the chef I learned of his family's restaurant was just down the street. I figured if their jarred sauce was this good I must try the restaurant itself.
I went with my wife for dinner and loved everything. Some restaurants just get it right. Maybe that's why they've been around for so long. We had the Brussels sprout salad and eggplant rollatini. Both excellent. For main dishes we had a Pork Ossobucco special and Lasagna. I will definitely be returning to this neighborhood gem. I nice to find an unpretentious and cozy restaurant that makes you feel at home.
"
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bland

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Was looking forward to Paul & Jimmy's based on the menu and other reviews. Was so disappointed. The restaurant has a nice ambience. We were seated and given menus. Our waiter was pleasant but seemed stressed but the restaurant was full and it was a Saturday night so made allowances for this. Took a while for him to come and take a drink order. The drinks arrived but our food order was not taken. Eventually came to take the food order. Had to ask for the specials as this information was not offered. I ordered an appetizer portion of the Orechiette alla Baresi and the Veal Chop with Wild Mushrooms and Truffle Oil. The pasta was blah. The sauce was bland and just tasted like jar tomato sauce that needed seasoning. Left most of it which believe me NEVER happens when there is pasta in front of me. Now the Veal Chop. I love both mushrooms and truffle so was looking forward to this. Asked for it medium. Came out rare so I sent it back. Came back out. Was cooked to medium but was the most tasteless dish I have ever had. There was not a hint of truffle nor a hint of seasoning. Too mouthfuls were plenty.
My husband had the cannelloni to start and the saltimbocca, both of which were average but edible.
Given the great reviews can only presume that there was a different chef or we were there on an off night. That being said I would not return.
"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice ambiance, warm welcome, food could be better

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We went as a work group for the fixed price lunch. It was a very good price for three courses, and the waiters were friendly, but not always attentive in the not very full restaurant.
My main problem was the food, whilst there was nothing wring with it, and no one complained, I found it fairly average. Good value, given the price, but not anything special.
That said, a nice ambiance and great for a group as we were given plenty of space and time."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had the best experience here eating at the bar which had been redone since the last time I was here They have a small plates menu which I sampled along with pasta and a veal chop from their menu which has a nice selection of old Italian classics along with newer dishes. The waiter was friendly and helpful with recommending a nice wine. The food was the best I've had at any other NYC neighborhood restaurant. Will Definately be back soon. Thinking of hosting my next family get together here since there is a very cozy feel here."
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Authentic Italian... Neighborhood Gem!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Just moved my office onto 18th and 1st and wanted an elegant restaurant for a business meeting last Monday. It was the perfect spot to sit and talk over a classic Italian style menu. The staff was courteous and understanding we were in a meeting. I had the salt roasted beets and artichoke salad which was fantastic. I ended with the Branzino. I typically reserve fish orders for only the best restaurants and this Branzino didn't disappoint.
Of course I told my wife and she wanted to try this place so I took her on Friday. My wife had the Veal Saltimbocca and I had the grilled salmon. Again, it was fantastic. The ambiance is a warm and friendly with an authentic Italian feel.
After having lunch and dinner at Paul & Jimmy's I am officially a fan of this place and highly recommend it."
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great neighborhood restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I love having a go-to restaurant in the city where I know we'll always be treated well, eat great food and feel at home. I get a solid meal every time, and I can never say no to the rollatini. I've been here with friends, family, and coworkers. It's a chill place you can stay for hours and have a few glasses of wine. I think I've gained 10 pounds by going to this place... but not complaining"
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice Union Square place
Great service, good wine, foods good not great good.
Should play softer Jazz or Italian music or Frank Sinatra. Late dining during the week, should be cut off at 9pm. 10pm is too late for a restaurant like this.
"
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/09/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have enjoyed the food, although I more than my husband. The service was very attentive and friendly. The lighting was rather too dark. Also, we wish there was some music. Will go back!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Paul & Jimmy's Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The food was just not very good, just tasteless.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>