Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

LIFT Bar Grill View Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

LIFT Bar Grill View

For a quintessential Vancouver experience, LIFT sets the stage with sweeping harbour, Stanley Park and coastal mountain views and the city's only oceanfront rooftop deck. A sexy, sophisticated restaurant and lounge, LIFT is located on the tranquil seawall in picturesque Coal Harbour minutes from Vancouver's financial district, major hotels and the Vancouver Convention Centre. A showcase of stunning architectural design, LIFT combines the eclectic ambiance of a New York eatery with authentic, west coast hospitality. Enjoy a fresh perspective on regionally sourced specialties and the bounty of the Pacific Ocean while the award winning wine list spotlights a unique focus on sustainably produced wines. From floor-to-ceiling windows that vanish in the summer to an illuminated honey onyx bar and inviting outdoor fireplaces, soak in the relaxed yet elegant setting.
119 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(119 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
(42)
4 stars
(56)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(88)
  • romantic(53)
  • special occasion(50)
  • great for outdoor dining(49)
  • fit for foodies(46)
  • great for brunch(34)
LIFT Bar Grill View Reviews List
Review 1 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/10/2006
 2008
Dined on 01/10/2006
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 01/10/2006
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/07/2014
 2014
Dined on 21/07/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 21/07/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 27/02/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food, à bit pricy"
Dined on 27/02/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

best meal this weekend

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"In Vancouver for the weekend and took my friend to Lift. Haven't been there for a long time. Food was even better than I recalled. Instead to go back there for lunch today!"
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When we first arrived and were seated at a beautiful window seat, there was a large, very loud group directly behind us. My husband and I were there for a romantic evening and this wasn't it! Rather than get annoyed we kindly asked if we could be seated else where and the staff were more than accommodating and found us a quieter location at the window with a beautiful view! The food and wine was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful night! We will be back!"
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Roof Patio Sunday Brunch - Outstanding!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sunshine & spring views coupled with great food and service make this a gimme for Sunday Brunch in Vancouver. The King Crab Hash was delightful, complemented by the stunning view over Stanley Park, Grouse Mountain and the Harbour."
Dined on 19/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Had a great brunch on the patio!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a great night at Lift - the drinks & food were great - portion sizes were surprisingly satisfying and super tasty. The service was very friendly and attentive. Will definitely go back again!"
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

waterfront gem hidden in plain sight

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Located on the water in coal harbour, the loxation has to be one of the best in Vancouver for ambiance. A second floor open air deck is special setting for a date night. On this visit all cylinders were firing, from our greeting by the hostess to the final sip of post prandials it was a meal to measure others by.
Great job!!!
"
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Setting

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were visiting for the weekend and found the Lift near our hotel. We enjoyed a table up on the outdoor deck with great views of the harbor and mountains. I had the sea bass and my wife had kangaroo. Both were excellent along with the service."
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Over rated and over priced.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed, won't return

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been going to Lift about 3-5 times a year for 5-6 years, and often take out of town guests to the lovely spot for great food. We have always enjoyed it. Service is sometimes a little less personal than we would like, but this time it was poor.
I called to confirm the reservation and mentioned that it was my wife's birthday and was told flatly "I'll note your request." Upon arrival at the time of our reservation, we were told that it was a 20 minute wait. The hostess was about to abandon us at the small doorway when I asked if we could go to the bar. We were led the long way around to the seats about 25 feet from the entrance. The bar tender was just saying in a loud voice to departing guests,"I guess I'll transfer that to your table!" while shaking her head. A few minutes later our drink order was taken and another 5 minutes later they arrived. They were unacceptable, and the bartender replaced them as we were told our table was ready. We made sure to pay for the drinks at the bar, and left a reasonable tip so we might not be penalized later. We did get a window , and the appetizers and main courses were the usual high quality presentation and flavour. We wanted help with the wines and our waitress seemed uncertain, so when she said the sommelier was there we asked to speak to him or her. She returned to say that the Sommelier was too busy and thought the server's choice was a good one. The wine was lovely, but not a great match for our food. We never saw our server after that. The wine and entrees were delivered by other staff, and then another staff said she'd been asked "to see if we wanted dessert." No offer of coffee or drinks, but by then we'd had enough of the poor service anyway."
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Review

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 14/04/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good view. Good scenery. Looked nice. Expensive for sure."
Dined on 14/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A delicious view!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I chose Lift to take an out of town guest to. It has always provided a great menu and you cannot beat the view. We were particularly pleased by the care and attention to a menu that included an impressive variety of items (kangaroo) and especially the ocean-wise and local ingrédients.
The service was excellent and we will return!"
Dined on 07/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent, informative and friendly service all around"
Dined on 07/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Easter dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been here several times in the past and it is always very good. Varied menu. Very tasty. Attentive,knowledgable servers. Peaceful for conversation and enjoyment of the great view."
Dined on 05/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/04/2015
 2012
Dined on 05/04/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was excellent! When we got in, we were ushered to our table, i was disappointed with the location, we were put next to the kitchen. The reason i booked the place early coz of the view and the hostess a bit rude. I asked for nicer view, she answered , "that is all we have" without hesitation. She realized i was annoyed, then she offered the bar stole, while setting up table for us near window. We were being served by Athena , thank God! She got a good personality, she changed my mood right away, and everything goes smoothly. Our food served quickly and the bread basket was soooo good! Over all , i had a great time and the place is awesome!"
Dined on 05/04/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Favourite Brunch Spot in the City!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Their Vegetarian Eggs Benny is to die for! Beautiful waterfront views. Great service."
Dined on 22/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sunday Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a very nice sunday late brunch at LIFT. The brunch menu is largely Eggs Benny variations, but all with creative elements. Some may find the absence of regular lunch menu items a drawback.
The room is very nice and comfortable. Tables are relatively close together and it is possible that it would be noisy if it were full. The bar area music was a bit too techno, considering the elegant atmosphere that I think they are going for. It would be a shame if the bar music were any louder.
We all felt the food quality was very high, and the portions generous. The prices are higher than some other brunch options, but the food and the experience were very good. I have not been to LIFT for any other meals so cannot rate LIFT for dinner or weekday lunch value."
Dined on 08/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My wife's Birthday!!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife was very happy with everthing [even me]. Our waitress was knowledgable, attentive, offered good suggestions and pairings, and just a pleasant person. Early Sunday evening was very quite, which was nice for us and a special evening."
Dined on 01/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another enjoying lunch!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took my brother and his wife from Toronto plus a few relatives to lunch at the Lift. Great food, great service again. Will go back for sure!"
Dined on 25/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, but noisy!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was our anniversary (February 21) so made the reservation and off we went. Greeting was nice and we were led to a table by the window - very nice. The server seemed in a hurry to get us to order but hey it was Saturday night! The wine list was good and decently priced. The food menu is definitely a challenge except for seafood lovers and foodies generally - a lot of complex dishes. The Caesar salad was very good as was the crab cake. The ahi tuna was excellent and prepared perfectly. The only disappointment for us was that we were seated at a nice table for 2 but surrounded by not one but two big party table - the one directly behind sat a group of about 10 - family I think as there were kids. The table behind them was a party of 18+ so it was very noisy - not obnoxious but noisy! I would caution anyone going to ask for a quiet table if you want to chat or perhaps eat in the bar area which seemed very quiet! All in all for the food - don't miss this place!"
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thanks for a Flawless Orphan Valentine's!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We made a last-minute reservation for two on Valentine's Day, and then added another diner last minute. Basically, we were the worst, and the good folks at LIFT were the best. Very accommodating and patient, despite it being slamming busy.
The food was delicious, and the service was awesome. Can't complain. We tried the kangaroo (rare, per our lovely server's suggestion), and it was great! The squid is also delicious.
Thanks!"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food and Location

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Salmon was perfect and they let me alter the dish with a special request even though they were extremely busy. Service was great and the location is so nice with the opportunity to go for a nice walk after the chocolate turtle dessert :)"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Wedding anniversary disaster

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I emailed ahead of time to book our 6th year wedding anniversary dinner and requested a window seat. I called earlier that day to confirm and to make sure we get a nice private window seat for our anniversary. When we arrived we were seated dead smack in the middle and not a private setting at all.
The wine and appies were served fast and we ordered lots however they mixed our order with another table therefore we had to wait over 45 min for our mains to arrive. Our bill was $170+ for two and due to their mistake they said they will take care of our appetizers for us, when we got the bill all they credited us for is our cheapest appitizer of -$16. We ordered $50+ worth of appies and I think that was just a slap in the face.
That defiantly left a bad taste in our mouth and I wish our 6 year wedding anniversary was spend elsewhere."
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

If the food ain't good the view don't matter

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was really disappointing lacking both creativity and seasoning. Overly priced. Would not recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was excellent, however the restaurant was more concern about getting our party finished within an hour and a half so they can setup for the next group for 65 people. The atmosphere and ambiance was poor due to the fact the waiter was rushing us to order. We just sat down and the waiter was there within minutes asking if we were ready to order. We didn't even have time to look at the wine list, so when asked about ordering some wine, we had to say no. It was not a relaxing night. We selected this restaurant to meet our friends which we haven't seen in 10 years. Very poor planning by the restaurant. There was no mention about having to eat and run."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall good but.....

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A lovely meal, at least one of them was. We visited for Dine Out Vancouver but my husband ordered from the menu. His meal was very good. Mine was, well, not as good. Service, view, wine, appies, dessert, all terrific. Just a little more effort on the MonkFish on the Dine Out menu would have made it a 10. We will still go back, but too bad they missed the mark on the Dine Out main course."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

This restaurant can be summed up in a word

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"meh………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….."
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Consistency may be a problem

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A short while ago, we enjoyed faultless brunch service and well prepared food. A second visit, with guests, offered something else. The server was disengaged: coffee cups sat empty and an order for a second basket of bread was acknowledged but ignored.
The chorizo hash sounded promising: two poached eggs, ratatouille, thyme, grilled filone, smoked paprika aioli. The plate suffered because, like the under-dressed Caesar salads at our table, it was bland and vegetables needed straining or reduction. The chorizo was either a low-fat healthy version or a sausage than would rather be jerky.
Short ribs are nearly always delicious but texture can be problematic if braising time or temperature is wrong. The protein in this hash was stringy and under-seasoned. The diner with fish and chips complained the fish batter was not crisp, as if it sat too long before coming to the table. The restaurant did make up two off-menu pasta dishes for children, which was appreciated.
Despite the food and service inadequacies on this day, I would return because the restaurant setting is wonderful. Even on a wet, grey day, robust paddlers and rowers are active and the waterfront buzzes with motorized marine traffic and float planes. Allow time for relaxed dining but, take a walk, enjoy the surroundings."
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I want a redo for a fuller experience.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Upon arrival, there is a beautiful view of the harbour and we were greeted by friendly staff and waited upon quickly and kindly. The food was pretty good, but not my favourite. I would like to try coming again in the summer months for a lunch or early dinner to experience better views (outdoor patio) and more selection of food (we went for dine out Vancouver so there was limited selection)."
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We will back to LIFT!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We took in multiple Dine Out out menus this year and LIFT Bar & Grill was by far the best. Unique dining options that were absolutely delicious."
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Place to take out-of-town guests

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"LIFT Bar Grill is my favorite restaurant to take my out-of-town guests due to the scenery of the North Short Mountains, Coal Harbour and the Mariner. At my recent visit, the food and service were GREAT! The fish and chip was lightly battered, not too oily at all. My guests enjoyed the flat irons steaks. I requested online a table at a scenic corner and I was impressed that my request was actually honored! Bravo!!!"
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our group of 5 adults and 1 child enjoyed a great night at lift. The waiter was very attentive to our needs and provided good advice about food and wine choices.
We will come back when we next visit Vancouver.
"
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Special Treatment

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We made a reservation for our wedding anniversary so I noted when I made it that a window table would be nice for our quiet celebration. It was quiet when we arrived (it was early on a Sunday) but they had a great table for us. The service was great as always but we got a little added bonus - two in fact: an "anniversary" discount off the bill and a complimentary glass of champagne. It was a really nice touch that we weren't expecting. It's great anytime but really nice with that extra bit of service."
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Waitress' were very nice and friendly, the view was very nice as it did give a lookout towards Canada Place. But the food was a little disappointing. The pork cheeks were very tender and paired very well with the celeriac puree. However, the monk fish was chewy and the flavor of the fish was not quite there. The lamb was also chewy and already cut up into medium sized pieces for you. The sauce for the lamb was quite heavy and capped much of the lamb flavour. The chocolate terrine felt like a heavy dense piece of chocolate, however, not a rich, full bodied tasting chocolate."
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Anniversary Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Waiter was top notch. Friendly and professional. Food was spectacular. They making made my and my wifes night. Looked after our needs very well. Came around quite often to ask if we and our 13 month infant needed anything. Definitely would reccommend to friends family and business associates."
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Techno music doesn't aid digestion

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've read other reviews that complained about the music here - they really need to listen to their customers, what few they have. I visited them on New Year's Eve at lunch. My table was one of only two occupied - on a gorgeous sunny day, on a day when most people could have been enjoying a nice long lunch - and the place was empty. Food was inconsistent - the porchetta sandwich was so greasy you could see the oil all over the outside of the bun, however the appetizer squid was excellent. Views are great, service was great, music ("ambience") is terrible. Turn it down, and switch to something non-intrusive and relaxing."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2010
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good overall, but expect more for the price

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Took my wife there for new year's, never been there before. It was very noisy, made more so by the fact we were seated just behind a table of about 12, including 5 young children.
We ordered appetizers which were quite good, and my wife enjoyed her cocktail. We both ordered the striploin for our main course. Though we both ordered it to be medium, I felt it was undercooked. They were not bloody like rare steaks, but when we cut further into them, they definitely looked and tasted more between rare and medium rare. The dessert menu was a bit lacking in my opinion, the choices were quite expensive and the plates we saw coming by for other tables were so small.
Our server was very good, he was courteous and friendly. We received our food quickly and overall we thought it was good, even though we felt the steaks were a bit undercooked. I feel that for the price of the place, they should have cooked the steaks a bit better and have desserts that are not so miniscule - it doesn't help when it is plated on a massive plate making it look even smaller than it already does - and improve the choice. As previously mentioned, it was very noisy in the entire restaurant, not just our area behind that table of 12.
On a side note, it was kind of funny to see that they store patron's jackets in an unused elevator. That was new."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2010
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Can't beat the view at this little hidden gem!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2006
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The server was great and the iPad menu was fun! I thought the sandwich & hamburger menu lacked a little imagination, but the food was good. A bonus is the complimentary valet parking!"
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

High hopes dashed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/12/2014
 2011
Dined on 07/12/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When they sat us next to the window I was happy. Then the techno background music started to intrude and when they sat a young family with a 2 yr old right next to us, it all went downhill. Food was fine and probably better than I thought but the ambience was ruined. The location and view are superb, as was the service. We did complain about the music, which I think they turned down. The young family was nice enough and friendly, but a 2 yr old is not easily controllable even at the best of times."
Dined on 07/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for LIFT Bar Grill View
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

what a view

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"great view and outstanding food! The staff were very attentive and highly recommend"
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>