Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ze Mean Bean Cafe Reviews List

Ze Mean Bean Cafe

Come dine at the most unique restaurant in Baltimore. Ze Mean Bean Café is an eclectic Eastern European restaurant and wine bar. We serve everything from pierogis and holupkis to upscale fare with a Slavic twist. Everything is made from scratch and our extensive wine list has something for everyone.


As our name suggests, we opened our doors in July of 1995 as a unique Eastern European Coffeehouse and Café. Ahh… yes, that’s where the “Bean” in Ze Mean Bean comes from! And the “Ze”? That denotes our “European” roots. The original concept was simple: owner Yvonne Dornic is of Eastern European decent. Her father is from Czechoslovakia, and her mother’s background is Polish and Ukrainian. Yvonne wanted to create an environment much like the coffeehouses of Eastern Europe, which served as social gathering places and outlets for local musicians and artists. Ze Mean Bean Café definitely exudes old world charm!
See more Ze Mean Bean Cafe details
25 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(25 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • romantic(10)
  • great for brunch(7)
  • great for lunch(6)
  • special occasion(5)
Ze Mean Bean Cafe Reviews List
Review 1 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and an even better atmosphere!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you're someone who enjoys quaint and classy places with interesting food and live music, then this is the place for you! The atmosphere is wonderfully cozy and classy with wooden tables, soft lighting, interesting paintings, and great live jazz music playing in the background. Regarding the food, the Eastern European dishes were really great. My crab cake dish was way too salty, so I wouldn't order that again, but the dishes my friends ordered that were Ukrainian were very good. I will say that the mashed potatoes and asparagus that were served with my crab cakes were very good, but the crab cakes were really almost inedible. I powered through them because I hate wasting food, but it really was incredibly salty.
Overall however, I would go back to this place again, because for the most part their food and drinks were good, and the atmosphere is really wonderful!"
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, but a little pricey.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall, I would definitely go back as I liked the atmosphere and the food is very good; however, it is a little pricey for the portion size you are served. I had plenty of food for myself. I usually take food home from restaurants and have leftovers for one or two meals. I was only served enough to satisfy my palate at the restaurant--no leftovers. My husband was a little disappointed as he left a little hungry and said he could have eaten a little more then he was served."
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

feels like Europe. pierogis are the best!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

authentic Slovak menu. Dobru chut! Dakujem!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One waitress for whole place, Took 30 minutes just to order. Soda was flat"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Polish food in fells

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ze Mean Bean is a traditional polish restaurant. We had the sampler platter, golden beet salad, the yvonne sandwich, a nice merlot, and chocolate caramel mousse pie. The chocolate caramel mousse pie was wonderful. The food was very good but the service was a bit slow becase of we ordered off the lunch menu on Valentines day."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Advertise your V-Day Prefixe menu!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was pretty good and the spacing of the courses was very nice. However, when looking for a Valentine's Day destination I reviewed each restaurant's website carefully to make sure the menu was something me and my partner would both like.
Ultimately, we chose Ze Mean Bean for their fair prices and traditional Eastern European food. We made reservations and we're excited to try the Halupki.
When we got to the restaurant, there was no sort of waiting area, so we stood there awkwardly for a few minutes as people were eating their meals.
We were taken to a nice table upstairs that had a nice view of the falling snow outside. We were disappointed to see a prefixe menu awaiting us that did not have the traditional food we were excited for. Furthermore, no prices were listed on the menu.
We chose our courses and had to repeat them back to the waitress more than once since she wasn't writing anything down. I Don't blame the waitress for all the hiccups that evening, as it seemed like she was the only one serving while we were there.
The food was good and was something I would eat again. However, it was definitely not worth the price. At $55 per person, we could have ate at a much higher end restaurant and received a higher quality meal.
If you are going to have a prefixe menu for any event, advertise it on OpenTable! If a bill of $155 at the end of a meal is such a huge surprise, then the food and service definitely wasn't worth it.
I will be back though, I need to try the Halupki."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My husband and I had to been here three times and each time was great and better than the previous time! It''s cozy, and the food was delicious. We normally do not go out on nights like Valentine's Day, but decided to treat ourselves. It was a set menu with several choices in each course. I had the mushroom sou,p my husband had the salad. Both were top-of-the-line ingredients and the soup was deliciously distinctive and homemade. Second course was a selection of a shrimp dish or beef on a skewer. Beef was marinated and grilled perfectly. That was sufficient amount of food, so the portions were more than adequate! Both of us had the same pork tenderloin entrée with cherry sauce, mashed potatoes, asparagus. Wow!---beautiful combination, in the pork tender brain was groomed, very tender, very tasty! Wonderful wonderful. Dessert was a chocolate mousse with Caramel sauce that also was a perfect dish to complete a perfect meal. Service was prompt, and cannot wait to return! The food is always interesting, and top quality."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Long term relationship with Fells Point

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice spot that's out of the way of the Thames Street strip. Been here a long time for good reason! Good food with interesting twists..the Slavic sampler appetizer was delightful. But the highlight that evening were the jazz guitarists that played as lovely background music."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Quirky

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was pokey. A four piece jazz combo was jammed into a small corner of a small room, which seemed overkill. And the food slipped a notch, especially waiting so long for it"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love the pirogies

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Ze Mean Bean is a staple in Fells Point, providing excellent Eastern European food. With the musical group playing, it can be a bit loud on the first floor, making conversation a challenge. But the food is well worth the trip and the cocktails are excellent."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A diamond in the rough

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a great little place to enjoy some traditional Eastern European food without packing a suitcase. I've eaten in restaurants throughout Eastern Europe and the food here is quite authentic as well as reasonably priced.
The moment you walk in it feels like home and you expect mom to come out of the kitchen and greet you.
If you go for brunch, try to make it a Sunday so you can enjoy the jazz band while you savor brunch.
The short ribs on the dinner menu are amazing but not always available so ask right away and they can save them for you before they are gone for the night. The Goulash has all of the right seasoning and the paprika is a bit spicy, which is great. The stuffed cabbage is exactly what I grew up eating and the best I have had in years.
Overall you can't go wrong with anything on the menu so explore it all and enjoy.
"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love this restaurant but they were having an off day. They were so focused on taking care of a big group upstairs that are food sat for too long in the kitchen and then was cold when it arrived. The waitress didn't smile at all. I will be back, but not on Sundays. They are good if they have 1 or 2 tables, but once it gets busy they are lost."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overpriced food and very poor service

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We chose this place for the Eastern European fare. Thought it would be perfect following a performance of the Moscow Ballet's Nutcracker at the Hippodrome. It was definitely not worth the travel to Fells Point. There was only one other couple in the place, which was attractively decorated for the holiday season. A highlight was a small trio, standing bass, guitar and trumpet, performing in the corner. It is a small dining area, so not sure why our server had trouble making it over to our table so infrequently. The pricing seemed reasonable until we were served such meager portions. The pour for the house wine, a decent Merlot, was skimpy and at $8, not worth it. The golden beet salad was very good but at $12 the plate was small. My husband ordered the goulash and homemade spaetzle, which he said was very good, but for the $19 price, it was served in a cereal bowl with a dry piece of rye bread on the side. I ordered the perogie plate, a specialty of the house, I thought, however the 7 on the plate were woefully understuffed, one was empty, and flavorless except for the scant onions tossed atop, and dry, dry, dry and chewy. A few blanched green beans and a serving of red cabbage, adequate at best (they may have opened a jar) rounded out the plate. This was $16. Our server never stepped from behind the bar to ask if we were happy with our dinners. I feel they thought we were customers to be taken advantage of, with such service and poor quality food. But the worst of the evening came when the server presented our bill and "miscalculated" the total an extra $20 to her advantage. We were not happy. We were in fact quite dissatisfied with the dining experience and could not recommend it. Very poor service, mediocre to bad food, and quite overpriced. The kitchen seemed to be as listless and disinterested as the wait staff. Too bad, because we had high hopes from reading the menu. If this is Old World charm, it leaves quite a bit lacking."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A trip to Europe without leaving home

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is exactly how I felt when having brunch this weekend. It was as if I was back in Poland and stopping in for a hearty and delicious lunch in Krakow.
The food is authentic with the right amount of seasoning to make it worth a trip back for dinner.
The Red Scare and Molushki are dishes you won't typically find on any other menu and worth checking out. The Kielbasa can't be any fresher when it comes from next door and they make it fresh every day.
Service was great, attentive but not overbearing and the atmosphere is Old World.
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ze Mean Bean Cafe
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic