Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Centro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Centro

The Rosebud group is proud to announce the return of Centro Ristorante, the legendary 1990's hotspot. Centro will redefine the social dining experience by blending the traditional charm Rosebud is famous for with neoclassic Italian cuisine and a vibrant atmosphere.

124 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(124 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
5 stars
(62)
4 stars
(42)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(55)
  • special occasion(39)
  • fit for foodies(37)
  • neighborhood gem(37)
  • notable wine list(31)
  • romantic(30)
Centro Reviews List
Review 1 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2014
 2014
Dined on 6/07/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/07/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place not too noisy
Good food
Service was excellent
The restaurant was homey
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2014
 2011
Dined on 9/06/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/06/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I would return to this restaurant. We came to Centro for my birthday for lunch the service was great. Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food was also great but I wish there were more options, similar to the dinner menu, for the lunch menu."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had higher expectations, not sure if we would return or not as there are so many options nearby. It was nice and enjoyable."
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2014
 2011
Dined on 5/08/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Find in the Windy City

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went on a Tuesday evening and it was relatively empty. A friend recommended the restaurant and I was not disappointed. The "best spaghetti and meatballs" attracted me to really want to go. I sat at the bar and the gentleman sitting next to me was having scallops (which looked and smelled REALLY good). We started conversing and he stated a woman had just left after eating the spaghetti and meatballs and it smelled and looked really good. He also said she spoke of how delicious it was. That sealed the deal for me.
The spaghetti and meatballs were GREAT! In fact, the guy sitting next to me stated the next time he was in town, he'd be getting that. The bartender was also great. I had a glass of Chianti and they were very generous with the pour.
I can't wait to get back to Chicago and visit again. It's just a half block away from the hotel I stay at so I don't have to worry about a taxi or parking."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

bustling, cozy. quick service.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good, except one of our entrees was waaaaay too salty. They accommodated special requests easily. Our server was nice but scattered. We had to ask her if we could order a drink. And dessert. Hmmm. Several of the hosts/managers checked in on us during the meal, so maybe they know. Busboys and expeditors were top notch. Lots of chit chat and drama between the service staff in the dining room, which seemed uncouth. Servers checking their phones too. Dining room got very busy and was tightly packed."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing food and ambiance... Portion size on pasta was ginormous! Three grown men could not finish... Just like Sunday dinner at my Italian in-laws. Gonna get back to Chicago and Centro, soon with my wife"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Centro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2000
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2000
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

classic italian done to perfection

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"to accompany our crusty warm bread, we had a caprese which came with slices of different beautifully colored tomatoes, then the pork chops which were spicy and delicious from the cherry peppers, and a plate of my favorite classic, rigatoni bolognese.
I am going back again soon."
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took a group of high school students who were visiting colleges in Chicago, we all enjoyed the atmosphere, it was conveniently located to our hotel, and the food was great! They loved the clam appetizer and we really enjoyed the selection of bread, olives and parmesan cheese provided when we were seated. The other chaperone and I were lamenting it was a shame we couldn't have a drink--a nice glass of wine is always good with an Italian meal!"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Centro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mixed Experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service was very good. So was the house salad I had. And the gelato ice cream was excellent. But the eggplant parmigian was laden with too much bread and thus did not taste very good."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/05/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/05/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"In Chicago for convention and wanted to do a dinner to reconnect with friends. The food was great...portions were huge though and should have shared. Our server was wonderful and definitely recommend. The lamb and veal were exceptional."
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

too salty and poor service

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went there because rosebud didn't get our reservation right. The orchiette was over salty, they bought the meet before the pasta, and they didn't come back to see how we were doing and didn't bring any water. No cheese for the pasta. Not a good experience."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Better than most

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Not our first time here. Centro is a cut above other local Italian Restaurants. Most have good service but Centro's location, bar, wine list and food quality are better. In summer the windows can be opened and the atmosphere is wonderful."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Food... service pushed us along

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A friend and I were visiting Chicago and looking for a nice Italian Restaurant. We say good reviews so decided to try Centro. The food was good and service was fine, but they pushed us out in less than 45 minutes and we ordered a bottle of wine. The brought our dinner while still eating salad. We made a reservation so not sure why they were in such a hurry!"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my staff to the restaurant, they were ready for us, we had great service and the food was really good. I would highly recommend."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Classic but nothing special

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my mother to Cernto after some weekend theater downtown. It seemed appropriate as it's not flashy or adventurous, but Rosebud restaurants have a solid reputation.
We went pretty early, 5:30 on a Saturday, so the place was just about empty. It was nice because we got our choice of table and the staff was very attentive.
We had some grilled octopus and calamari for an appetizer. The calamari was very good, but the octopus was too charred for my liking, being almost crunchy with a lot of black char.
My mother ordered the risotto with shrimp and scallops and I had the 16oz strip steak. We split a side of brussel sprouts.
Overall the food was good, but not great. And it certainly didn't have anything that would set it apart from the myriad of other Italian options in Chicago.
Overall, I wasn't unhappy with my dinner there, but I certainly have no reason to go back."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed an evening of delicious Italian food. The meatballs were fabulous! Portions are HUGE! There is enough food in one order to share for the entire table."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was very good, service was average at best

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"While we all were very pleased with our meals, we were extremely disappointed in the service we received that evening. Our server seemed rushed and annoyed the entire meal. He brought us an appetizer we didn't order, then got very angry with us for asking him to take back the item that wasn't ordered. He then sent over his manager to give us the third degree over the appetizer. We had ordered plenty of other appetizers but did not order the grilled calamari, as none of us would ever have eaten that dish. It was extremely unprofessional to have us questioned twice over the same item by two different employees. We didn't order it, we wont eat it and we would like you to take it back. Very simple."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Perfect for a romantic splurge

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I happened to walk by while in town on business and decided to bring my husband when he visited. We were not disappointed! The service was professional and friendly, without being overbearing. It was definitely reminiscent of our trip to Italy. My only criticism was that the wine list was a bit daunting and somewhat pricey. But the food! It was worth every penny! Quite possibly the best meal I've ever had. (I had the gnocchi, my husband had the spaghetti and meatballs, with the special dessert of the day, green mint gelato.) I highly recommend and would eat here every day if I could! I even toyed with the idea of trying to get a job here, just so i could learn to cook like this!"
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you are looking for solid old school italian, this is a great choice."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Valentines Day Dinner Ever

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
""I reserved a table here for my girlfriend and I on V-Day last weekend. I have to admit I was taken by surprise with the service, wine selections and the impressive food. I started the evening off with some fried calamari that had a light crunch to it, which was probably the best I've had in a long time. I ordered the 8oz filet with Oscar style King Crab & Béarnaise on top of it. I have to say this filet and sauce was made to perfection and I will most definitely return for this same dish. My girlfriend ordered the double stuffed ricotta ravioli with shrimp and lobster tails in it. Literally unbelievable taste. We also washed this down with a bottle of Sanford (chardonnay). I give this 5 stars!""
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never Dissapoints

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We dined there for Valentine's Day and could not have been happier. The food and service was just incredible. Rosebuds restaurants are just notorious for rhe best italian in the city and centre is no exception. (Hint hint, try the meatballs)"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderul Italian restaurant with great ambience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Visiting Chicago on a Valentine Weekend. Our dinner was scheduled at 8:15 p.m. but we arrived 45 minutes early. They were gracious and found us a table. A very busy night but service was excellent and the food was delicious. We all enjoyed the meatballs as an appetizer. The lobster ravioli excellent as well. My son is a college student. He was thrilled to take leftovers back to the dorm for late night study food. We will visit again."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Centro a hit!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Five ladies in town for a conference - you know, the kind who take forever to look at the menu b/c they are chatting , and then when ready to order a couple of them need special requests and of course they all ask for separate checks . Well, no problem at Centro! Our server was extremely well-versed with the menu and able to explain any questions we had. She could not have been more patient, friendly and customer-oriented - as were the host and other wait staff. In addition to the great attitude, the food was outstanding. Next time I am in town, a return engagement is a must and I will recommend Centro to others looking for a great meal and service!"
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for groups in river north

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was having a hard time finding a reservation for a group of 7 but had eaten at Centro before and was happy they were able to accommodate last minute. But it's important to know the portions are pretty big so if you aren't starving it's a good idea to share main courses. Also some if my group got the tableside Caesar and loved it. Good group spot."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"great food great serivice. loved the music....good wine list...."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Extreme portions

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ordered chicken and veal parmesan. Enough food for 4 with only 2 being served. asked if we wanted spaghetti with the meal and of course it gos well with the meat so we said yes not knowing the portion of food coming. pasta was good to very good. Veal was ok. Calamari appetizer was ok. Overall I would have to rate the quality of food as ok. Cost was high for quality of food."
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great italian with good steaks as well

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a group wanting steak, so the 12oz filet was the big winner. The chicken parm pizza was amazing. I had that with the kale ceasar and was very happy with everything."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Centro is a Great and has amazing food and drinks

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Centro is a Great place for a energetic night with great food, drinks and quick attentive service! If you like classic Italian food in an high energy cool atmosphere this place is where you want to be. The Huge meatballs with Ra cotta cheese for appetizer and the Chicken Parmesan with a side of Rigatoni with Sausage and peas was delicious! Our Server Robert was so cool let us pace and drink. I highly recommend........"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Birthday Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to Centro for my mom's birthday based on a recommendation from a friend, and it did not disappoint! The fried calamari and the fish salad were fantastic appetizers, and the homemade square noodles with vodka sauce and pasta were delicious. The staff had great recommendations and we will definitely be returning again soon."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very Attentive

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Another great meal. Arrancine stuffed with sausage, rigatoni with bolognese sauce, and pumpkin gnocchi. Double chocolate cake for dessert. Enough for four. Server was very attentive to our needs at the table. A different server asked if we were celebrating an anniversary after we clinked wine glasses. Just celebrating the New Year late."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Centro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

lacking Profesional flair

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had reservations. We were seated only 20 minutes after our reservation. Service after that was slow. From getting water, to bread to getting our check.
Ordered chicken vesuvio. That was a 35 minute wait as they said. It was tough and not worth wait. Others ordered chicken parmesean and said it was good. have eaten here before and had great service and food.
They were off their game tonight.
"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Centro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was superb, as you would expect with Rosebud, but what made the evening was our server, Darko. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. His happy demeanor was infectious! Made our dining experience!"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went with a two families (party of 8) on a Saturday night around 7:30. Glad we made reservations as the place was already full. Had great service from a waiter named Robert who put together a couple of seafood towers that were delicious. The seafood ( oysters, crab legs, lobster tails,...) was fresh and we turned the entire meal into a great family style experience for us all. Very good wine list. A great place for good Italian food with an urban vibe."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Robert was a great server. made the evening for us."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Centro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Decent restaurant, good atmosphere.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was OK, typical italian fare. The grilled calamari appetizer was very good. It's a nice restaurant, but the prices are reasonable for River North. The noise level was pretty low during lunch time, perfect for meetings or a nicer sit-down meal near the bars on River North"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>