Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA Reviews List

Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA

Opaque - Dining In The Dark

Imagine that you are recognizing friends by their voice, sounds tell a story, aromas come alive and elegance is felt. In this era of information overload, visual stimulation has reached an all time pinnacle. But imagine, just for an hour or two that you cannot see, that you are abandoning vision in exchange for a new, more stimulating dining experience – this is “Dining in the Dark." Opaque - Dining in the Dark – will seat you in a literally pitch-black dining room where you will be guided and served by blind or visually impaired individuals that have been specially trained to serve meals in the dark, casually and comfortably offering guidance and reassurance for sighted guests.

We offer a prix-fixe menu at $99 per person.
See more Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA details
75 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(75 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
5 stars
(33)
4 stars
(27)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(51)
  • romantic(29)
  • good for groups(22)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • late-night find(10)
  • neighborhood gem(7)
Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA Reviews List
Review 1 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The experience here is great without a doubt.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unique Experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The main draw of Opaque is its uniqueness. The price is quite high at $99 / person but if you can afford it, it's well worth doing once for the experience and to support the sightless staff who rely on the income to help maintain their independence."
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food lacked luster

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"My girlfriend and I went to opaque for her birthday and it was less than amazing. First they had to change our reservation due to someone booking it out even though I booked 3 weeks in advance. Although they promised a comped bottle of champagne which we did not receive. The chef seemed offended as she is vegetarian and the vegetarian choice on the menu was less than appealing. When asked if there was anything else we were told the veggies were prepared tues and weds and that nothing else was available. (we were there on a Friday). Overall the experience was fun however the food was worth way less than a $100 plate meal with wines that were less quality than I can get at a grocery store."
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

worth every penny!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This spot is fantastic! I would be lying if I said that I wasn't a little nervous! I took my fianceé here for his birthday and it was unlike anything else that either of us had ever experienced."
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2013
 2007
Dined on 3/16/2013
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/16/2013
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Theres light in the darkness

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This restaurant is an absolute gem, one of the most wonderful dining experiences I've had so far. The experience and the concept of the restaurant is profound, it really makes you experience your food in an incredible way. Love love love and will go back again. Excellent to bring a significant other to, it's a bit pricey but the bonding you will share during this experience will be like no other!"
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing birthday

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I recently took a dear friend of mine to eat here for his 30th birthday. We had an amazing time. You walk away with more than just satisfied taste buds. You leave this place with a new found appreciation for your eyesight. The expeeiance was a mazing and I would recommend this place to anyone."
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Special and Priceless experience! It's a must go!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The experience was amazing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"we came as a group of 4 on Valentines weekend and we've never been before. The food was surprisingly good, and more so than just because we couldn't see. Our server, Michael, was great. he provided our dates with a rose at the end and even serenaded us at the end of dinner. And something about not seeing the faces of the people you're with makes conversing more comfortable."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Blindsided by price

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"No pun intended.
The experience was great, but I knew nothing about the price going in to the restaurant, nor from the menu, so I was shocked when I saw the bill.
Otherwise, they had good food with a unique experience!"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unforgettable

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This was an absolutely amazing, unforgettable experience! My husband and I tried it because it was recommended by a friend of mine, and I am so glad we went because there is truly no other dining experience quite like this! The additional valentines touches of offering a rose to the lady and a couple glasses of champagne at the end were the perfect end to an already unique dining experience. Thank you opaque !"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must Try Once!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My husband and I came in just to try something different. We came in completely not knowing what to expect, but the service was great and they really helped us to understand. I decided to go for the "mystery meal", and I was not disappointed at all. All of the servers are visually impaired and extremely helpful and so nice. Our server was Michael, and he could not have been friendlier. Although sitting in the dark was initially extremely uncomfortable, once I got over that, it was truly an awesome experience. We left with very full tummy's and a great memorable dinner!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The positive: The waiters, who happen to be vision impaired, are fantastic! This was the highlight of my Opaque dining experience.
The food is, bla. It's just generic food that is served in pitch darkness.
When you leave the darkness of the dining area and enter into the twilight of the lounge, you will then be blinded by the number on the check. The menu (which is viewed in the lounge prior to entering the dining area) has no prices...I get it: They are trying to make this experience as ambiguous and mysterious as possible. This being stated, the meal is at most a $15-$20 meal, but this is certainly not the case at Opaque. Basically, you will be paying hundreds of dollars to consume very average food in the dark."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An amazing experience, with a lovely waitress..!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"An amazing experience for couples,friends and families. Enjoyed their customer service. The FOOD was absolutely AMAZING worth every penny."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An overall fun experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"First things first, you're completely in the dark. Make sure you're comfortable with that, otherwise it's a very long dinner that you may not enjoy. Went here with my boyfriend to experience something "different", just got tired of the usual weekend dinner routine. The staff was extremely nice, explained the process while we waited to be seated. We were lead to our table by Anthony--what a great server! The whole experience is fun, whether you dip your fingers in the butter, and laugh once you realize what you've done. I have to say, I assumed that the food would be bad...considering you're eating in pitch black. The food was AMAZING. I'm a vegetarian and my meal was really flavorful. My bf had the steak and said it was delicious. Now, I'm sure our sense of taste was heightened since our visuals were impaired, but whatever the case, food was great.
I highly recommend it for a special occasion, it was a bit pricey. We didn't expect it to be that much.
"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unique experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It gave me a new appreciation for my existing senses."
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun Fun Fun!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Eating in the dark. Not just dim lighting, maybe some candles, NO. It is so dark you can see the spark from static cling! The restaurant is not named outside, but easy to find. The lounge area is disturbingly open, dark and quiet. But the hosts are very nice and open to any and all questions. We choose our menu before entering. Apparently there is also a "mystery dinner" option. They have generic choices, chicken, fish, filet mignon, and a vegetarian option. Dinner comes with bread, appetizer, main course and dessert. I had the yellowtail ceviche, filet and the mango panna cotta. I also got to taste the market salad and hot lava cake. Everything was good. I cannot complain about the food. I can't complain about anything! The experience was super fun and I would totally go again. It is pricey $100 plus tax and tip per person. But really, it's probably a once in a lifetime experience. I would love to go again for a special occasion."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

awesome experience with daughter

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My daughter (11 years old) and I had dinner here. Everything was great. Food and service. It was an awesome experience for us both. We laughed all night because she would keep dipping her hand in the butter. Anyway, it was great for bonding because we were forced to talked to each other all night to entertain ourselves since no electronics are allowed.
One disappointment was the lava cake I ordered for dessert. The cake in general was good. What upset me was half of the cake was warm (which is suppose to be that way) and half was cold. It wasnt prepared properly.
But overall all was great. Yes go and try it out."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Opaque is unique

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Opaque is a unique dining experience. The food could have been just barely acceptable with the limited, fairly simple menu (much like high end catering). Being in COMPLETE darkness is does heighten your other senses, so we were pleasantly surprised when the ceviche was good (fresh fish), and the filet mignon was perfect, and the edges of the chicken were pleasantly crispy.
You need to plan at least 2 hours for dinner. If this was a regular restaurant, it would get poor service reviews, but there is no way this experience can move faster.
Its quite strange to dine in the dark. It takes a while for your eyes to adapt . You still can't see, but the nerves finally stop trying. Interestingly, your eyes get so sensitive that you might be able to see slight bits of light that do occur in the room that you could not see at first, but my dinner guest never really got to this point. The dark didn't so much effect the process of eating for us, but it highlighted our use of "social cues". You can't stare into somebody eyes, or read their lips. We found ourselves talking louder than we normally do. Everyone was.
Overall, although it was a littly pricey, Opaque is an experience that was worth having."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Opaque good, V Lounge terrible.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Opaque itself was an interesting one of a kind experience for sure. There was a table of 4 people that were obnoxiously loud so it was hard to focus on what my date was saying. But to get in to Oqaque, you have to walk through V Lounge, which is a hip hop lounge. It was too early for people to be there so it felt empty and stark. It was not inviting at all. Overall, it was a fun thing to do, but not at all worth $100 per person, not including alcohol. For that type of money, you dont feel its special at all. I would only recommend it if the venue were different. Dont waste that type of money.
Also, it was FREEZING cold in there, they finally ended up turning the AC down half way through that $100 per person meal."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dont waste your time or money.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The help was okay but mediocre at best. Food was terrible and the whole experience wasn't worth the cost. I will not recommend this restaurant to anyone, nor will I ever return. In fact, I would like half my money back to at least feel somewhat okay about the entire experience. You can actually take the money you will pay at this restaurant to a 5 star steakhouse."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dining in the dark.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my girlfriend for a bday dinner and I have to say we were both pleasantly surprised. The food and the service were great. Definitely one of those once in a lifetime experience that I have already recommended to a few friends and will recommend to so many more."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Overpriced. Food's mediocre for $99+tax&tip/person

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A try it once experience. It is a novelty eating in the complete darkness but the venue is shabby. The waiting area is a rundown nightclub that has been decorated in a few spots. Even without sight we could feel the inner dining room decor- ratty chairs and table.
Our waitress, Margarita, was wonderful. She was open and attentive (we were the only ones in the restaurant for the first hour) and she answered numerous questions from our teenage children (late teens).
The food felt like wedding fare - filet, chicken with mushrooms, lava cake. I probably wouldn't have minded the food if it weren't for the bill at the end of the night. $99/person, plus tax, plus tip- and drinks weren't included.
We also arrived and asked about parking. They have a lot (but we couldn't figure it out when we drove up) so we said, "We parked on the street." I wished the woman who checked us in told us that Santa Monica has street parking for residents only. We got a parking ticket - on top of the bill for the restaurant.
Would I do it again? No. If it were less expensive? Possibly. Could be fun for a group."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Really interesting experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Does not live up to expectations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The idea of dining in the dark is interesting but there is a lot of room for improvement for Opaque. Before our dining experience even began, we had a "taste" of what the establishment had to offer -- questionable staff. We overheard the kitchen chef shouting our orders to the kitchen staff, followed by, "HEY! PAY ATTENTION! LISTEN TO ME!" It was shocking and unprofessional -- and very embarrassing for the restaurant.
Alas we took a shot in the dark and ventured on to our "experience" and went into the dining area. Understandably it is mostly about the experience of dining in the dark, but as we have reduced one of our senses, it is important that our other senses - sound and taste - are considered. For starters, there was a large party of young adults/teens dining at the same time and it was LOUD. So loud that my husband and I had to shout to hear each other. This experience made me question the whole dining experience and I considered leaving - but didn't. The food was mediocre at best. We could not see the food and don't know how it was plated, and it wouldn't matter, but the taste was not up to par. The spinach that came with my halibut dish was not well rinsed and very filmy. It was very unpleasant and left a horrible after taste in my mouth -- I was not able to enjoy the rest of the meal, let alone dessert.
I left unsatisfied, cheated, and felt that I overpaid for the experience. For $100 per person, I hoped for better food at least. I really hope some of the money is going towards an organization that supports the visually impaired. That would help redeem the place, otherwise utterly disappointing."
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>