Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA Reviews List

Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA

Opaque - Dining In The Dark

Imagine that you are recognizing friends by their voice, sounds tell a story, aromas come alive and elegance is felt. In this era of information overload, visual stimulation has reached an all time pinnacle. But imagine, just for an hour or two that you cannot see, that you are abandoning vision in exchange for a new, more stimulating dining experience – this is “Dining in the Dark." Opaque - Dining in the Dark – will seat you in a literally pitch-black dining room where you will be guided and served by blind or visually impaired individuals that have been specially trained to serve meals in the dark, casually and comfortably offering guidance and reassurance for sighted guests.

We offer a prix-fixe menu at $99 per person.
See more Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA details
52 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(52 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(35)
  • romantic(19)
  • good for groups(13)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • late-night find(5)
  • hot spot(4)
Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA Reviews List
Review 1 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must Try Once!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My husband and I came in just to try something different. We came in completely not knowing what to expect, but the service was great and they really helped us to understand. I decided to go for the "mystery meal", and I was not disappointed at all. All of the servers are visually impaired and extremely helpful and so nice. Our server was Michael, and he could not have been friendlier. Although sitting in the dark was initially extremely uncomfortable, once I got over that, it was truly an awesome experience. We left with very full tummy's and a great memorable dinner!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The positive: The waiters, who happen to be vision impaired, are fantastic! This was the highlight of my Opaque dining experience.
The food is, bla. It's just generic food that is served in pitch darkness.
When you leave the darkness of the dining area and enter into the twilight of the lounge, you will then be blinded by the number on the check. The menu (which is viewed in the lounge prior to entering the dining area) has no prices...I get it: They are trying to make this experience as ambiguous and mysterious as possible. This being stated, the meal is at most a $15-$20 meal, but this is certainly not the case at Opaque. Basically, you will be paying hundreds of dollars to consume very average food in the dark."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An amazing experience, with a lovely waitress..!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"An amazing experience for couples,friends and families. Enjoyed their customer service. The FOOD was absolutely AMAZING worth every penny."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An overall fun experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"First things first, you're completely in the dark. Make sure you're comfortable with that, otherwise it's a very long dinner that you may not enjoy. Went here with my boyfriend to experience something "different", just got tired of the usual weekend dinner routine. The staff was extremely nice, explained the process while we waited to be seated. We were lead to our table by Anthony--what a great server! The whole experience is fun, whether you dip your fingers in the butter, and laugh once you realize what you've done. I have to say, I assumed that the food would be bad...considering you're eating in pitch black. The food was AMAZING. I'm a vegetarian and my meal was really flavorful. My bf had the steak and said it was delicious. Now, I'm sure our sense of taste was heightened since our visuals were impaired, but whatever the case, food was great.
I highly recommend it for a special occasion, it was a bit pricey. We didn't expect it to be that much.
"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unique experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It gave me a new appreciation for my existing senses."
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun Fun Fun!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Eating in the dark. Not just dim lighting, maybe some candles, NO. It is so dark you can see the spark from static cling! The restaurant is not named outside, but easy to find. The lounge area is disturbingly open, dark and quiet. But the hosts are very nice and open to any and all questions. We choose our menu before entering. Apparently there is also a "mystery dinner" option. They have generic choices, chicken, fish, filet mignon, and a vegetarian option. Dinner comes with bread, appetizer, main course and dessert. I had the yellowtail ceviche, filet and the mango panna cotta. I also got to taste the market salad and hot lava cake. Everything was good. I cannot complain about the food. I can't complain about anything! The experience was super fun and I would totally go again. It is pricey $100 plus tax and tip per person. But really, it's probably a once in a lifetime experience. I would love to go again for a special occasion."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

awesome experience with daughter

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My daughter (11 years old) and I had dinner here. Everything was great. Food and service. It was an awesome experience for us both. We laughed all night because she would keep dipping her hand in the butter. Anyway, it was great for bonding because we were forced to talked to each other all night to entertain ourselves since no electronics are allowed.
One disappointment was the lava cake I ordered for dessert. The cake in general was good. What upset me was half of the cake was warm (which is suppose to be that way) and half was cold. It wasnt prepared properly.
But overall all was great. Yes go and try it out."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Opaque is unique

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Opaque is a unique dining experience. The food could have been just barely acceptable with the limited, fairly simple menu (much like high end catering). Being in COMPLETE darkness is does heighten your other senses, so we were pleasantly surprised when the ceviche was good (fresh fish), and the filet mignon was perfect, and the edges of the chicken were pleasantly crispy.
You need to plan at least 2 hours for dinner. If this was a regular restaurant, it would get poor service reviews, but there is no way this experience can move faster.
Its quite strange to dine in the dark. It takes a while for your eyes to adapt . You still can't see, but the nerves finally stop trying. Interestingly, your eyes get so sensitive that you might be able to see slight bits of light that do occur in the room that you could not see at first, but my dinner guest never really got to this point. The dark didn't so much effect the process of eating for us, but it highlighted our use of "social cues". You can't stare into somebody eyes, or read their lips. We found ourselves talking louder than we normally do. Everyone was.
Overall, although it was a littly pricey, Opaque is an experience that was worth having."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Opaque good, V Lounge terrible.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Opaque itself was an interesting one of a kind experience for sure. There was a table of 4 people that were obnoxiously loud so it was hard to focus on what my date was saying. But to get in to Oqaque, you have to walk through V Lounge, which is a hip hop lounge. It was too early for people to be there so it felt empty and stark. It was not inviting at all. Overall, it was a fun thing to do, but not at all worth $100 per person, not including alcohol. For that type of money, you dont feel its special at all. I would only recommend it if the venue were different. Dont waste that type of money.
Also, it was FREEZING cold in there, they finally ended up turning the AC down half way through that $100 per person meal."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dont waste your time or money.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The help was okay but mediocre at best. Food was terrible and the whole experience wasn't worth the cost. I will not recommend this restaurant to anyone, nor will I ever return. In fact, I would like half my money back to at least feel somewhat okay about the entire experience. You can actually take the money you will pay at this restaurant to a 5 star steakhouse."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dining in the dark.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my girlfriend for a bday dinner and I have to say we were both pleasantly surprised. The food and the service were great. Definitely one of those once in a lifetime experience that I have already recommended to a few friends and will recommend to so many more."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Overpriced. Food's mediocre for $99+tax&tip/person

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A try it once experience. It is a novelty eating in the complete darkness but the venue is shabby. The waiting area is a rundown nightclub that has been decorated in a few spots. Even without sight we could feel the inner dining room decor- ratty chairs and table.
Our waitress, Margarita, was wonderful. She was open and attentive (we were the only ones in the restaurant for the first hour) and she answered numerous questions from our teenage children (late teens).
The food felt like wedding fare - filet, chicken with mushrooms, lava cake. I probably wouldn't have minded the food if it weren't for the bill at the end of the night. $99/person, plus tax, plus tip- and drinks weren't included.
We also arrived and asked about parking. They have a lot (but we couldn't figure it out when we drove up) so we said, "We parked on the street." I wished the woman who checked us in told us that Santa Monica has street parking for residents only. We got a parking ticket - on top of the bill for the restaurant.
Would I do it again? No. If it were less expensive? Possibly. Could be fun for a group."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Really interesting experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Does not live up to expectations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The idea of dining in the dark is interesting but there is a lot of room for improvement for Opaque. Before our dining experience even began, we had a "taste" of what the establishment had to offer -- questionable staff. We overheard the kitchen chef shouting our orders to the kitchen staff, followed by, "HEY! PAY ATTENTION! LISTEN TO ME!" It was shocking and unprofessional -- and very embarrassing for the restaurant.
Alas we took a shot in the dark and ventured on to our "experience" and went into the dining area. Understandably it is mostly about the experience of dining in the dark, but as we have reduced one of our senses, it is important that our other senses - sound and taste - are considered. For starters, there was a large party of young adults/teens dining at the same time and it was LOUD. So loud that my husband and I had to shout to hear each other. This experience made me question the whole dining experience and I considered leaving - but didn't. The food was mediocre at best. We could not see the food and don't know how it was plated, and it wouldn't matter, but the taste was not up to par. The spinach that came with my halibut dish was not well rinsed and very filmy. It was very unpleasant and left a horrible after taste in my mouth -- I was not able to enjoy the rest of the meal, let alone dessert.
I left unsatisfied, cheated, and felt that I overpaid for the experience. For $100 per person, I hoped for better food at least. I really hope some of the money is going towards an organization that supports the visually impaired. That would help redeem the place, otherwise utterly disappointing."
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

What an EXPERIENCE!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The experience was great and service was amazing. When they say pitch dark they mean it! You can't see a thing and your eyes will never adjust. The lobby is a little run down and we have no idea what the dining room looked like. There was 3 in our party and we were seated at a very small table, but plenty big enough. We ordered the mystery dinner so we didn't know what we were having until we tasted it. The ceviche was delicious but all of our main courses were just good, nothing special.
We were all very happy we experienced this and were very grateful for our sight after we left dinner. The server was very sweet and did a great job, she even shared her life stories with us. Lucky for us we were the only ones in the restaurant so we didn't feel bad for making so much noise and laughing.
I would definitely recommend you try it! Don't worry about dressing up, you'll probably spill or drop something on yourself and no one can see what you're wearing. It was quite an interesting and enjoyable experience!
"
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This is such a unique and fantastic experience.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We heard the story about "Dining in the Dark" on NPR and since we were traveling to LA, I checked to see if they had one of the restaurants. Lucky for us , it was in Santa Monica, where we were staying. I made reservations for my 9 year old daughter my husband , friend and myself. We all LOVED the experience of eating in pitch black meeting and being served by blind waiters and getting to be in(I know, only for an hour) what pitch blackness feels like. It's an amazing sensory experience and one that opens your eyes to inside instead of outside. Our servers, Cinna and Mike, were more than gracious, they were kind, patient and open to talking with us about their visual impairments.The ONLY negative we had was walking into the low-lit lounge to adjust our eyes before we went outside, and it was rented out to a TOGA party and the loud, horrible sights and sounds of this party was like a buzz saw after that wonderful, fulfilling experience. Also the music in the dining room was too loud and electro-disco?!? Not conducive to the ambiance of new experiences. In fact I would have liked instumental or no music at all. But we loved the restaurant!"
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Overpriced

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was very special to experience the dark with friends and that is definitely the reason to go. It's like nothing else. However, everything about the establishment's execution felt cheap. Including the food, which was barely ok. For $99 prix fixe, i really felt jibbed and will not be returning. It's too bad because if it was half the price, it would still feel that it was expensive for what they are offering but might just be worth it for the experience and I would happily go back and encourage my friends as well. It really should be around $30 prix fixe, still expensive for the food, but a really interesting and fun experience and they would have a full house. When i went there was hardly anyone there all night and they rushed us out as soon as we had more or less finished dessert. Unfortunately, it doesn't feel as if they are very passionate about what they do and interested in improving. The other table was also openly complaining about the mediocre food."
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My Third Time

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great experience. Food was OK but definitely overpriced--you are paying for the experience. Rafael, our server, was fantastic. It's something everyone should do once, so save your pennies to make it happen! :-)"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"While I was a bit put off at the exterior of the building (it seemed kind of seemy) once inside I forgot about it. Absolutely everyone was kind and polite. Entering was exciting and once seated it was as if you were in a large restaurant with the fact that it was totally black. Hearing the engaging conversations going on at other tables was fascinating. When one person took a picture, three workers immediately went and admonished them. The whole restaurant erupted in Happy Birthday songs that were interspersed throughout the evening.
When we were finished, we sat in the outside lounge for a long while. As we were leaving I noticed that we were the last to leave and they quickly were cleaning our place - even though we had sat for so long, not one person insinuated verbally or bodily that we were staying too long.
I would love to go back given an opportunity."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Extremely good experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A must do and a must "not - see"

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I should explain first the must "not - see" first. You can not see anything! It is really pitch black. You really had to use your other senses. The food was delicious a bit salty, but I am not a salt person so that's probably why or maybe my taste buds had heightened due to me not being able to see anything.
Went for my 2nd wedding anniversary with my wife and we had a fantastic time! We laughed, we got romantic, sensual, and just truly enjoyed the food, ambiance, and hearing everyone around us enjoying themselves.
Our hostess, welcomed us and showed us to the booth in the lounge area. She served us cocktails and walked us through the entire process, starting with how to pick our items from the prix fixe menu. She was super nice and knowledgeable. Our server, Michael "Mike" was truly wonderful and we learned about him and his visual impairment. He assisted every possible way to make sure that we enjoyed everything. Our favorite part is when he sang as my wife and I slow danced in the dark. He also announced it was our anniversary to all of the patrons and we got claps and wishes. Afterwards, we were guided out back to the lounge area to adjust our eyes and the bartender came by to ask how it was. Everyone there was truly welcoming and made sure we left happy.
Highly recommended restaurant to even just experience a bit of how a visually impaired individual lives their lives. Makes me realize that I shouldn't complain about my mistrials in life. It is pricy, but worth the experience.
Thank you Opaque for the experience and my wife and I will be back again!"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

One Time Unique Experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food - 2 out of 5
The food is not the reason to go here. Your local grocery store will most likely have frozen food that tastes comparable. I would recommend to get red meat or pork as an entree, and chocolate for dessert, their peach was nothing special and fish was way salty.
Healthy Options - Menu has multiple healthy options
Value - 2 out of 5
At $99/person without drinks the price is not for the food, but the experience. This is the price of a ticket to Universal Studios, so the experience although unique is not repeatable.
Ambience - 4 out of 5
I've really had fun time getting to know someone when coming here. Since you can't see anything, at first its disorientating, but once used to it, sound, smell, touch and taste are all amplified.
Overall - 3 out of 5
Barely makes the 3, but its still unique and one time worth the experience with the right person."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I totally enjoyed my dining experience.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a great time, I found it amazing how I had to rely on my other senses. I a new appreciation for site in paired people."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Laughing in the Dark

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our group of 5 could not help but continually laugh out loud as we made our way through the pitch black dining room and attempted to eat out meals. It was a great time.
The pork tenderloin was excellent (2 diners)
The risotto was only so-so (2 diners)
The services was impeccable.
It is truly a different experience, one which we thoroughly enjoyed. We haven;t laughed hysterically, uncontrollably, in a really long time.
Opaque would be great for a visit from friends who have been to the ';usual' California' restaurants."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Loved our server & the experience, not worth the $

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Anthony our server was a total gem and made our experience a pleasant one. That being said, the food was average, and the part you do see of the restaurant when you walk in, is an eye sore. To our dismay the atmosphere would be near perfect if the ripped leather club-like furniture was ditched and traded in for new contemporary pieces hat matched the vibe they are going for. When paying near $400 for a meal for two people, the lobby should not look like it was attacked by a cat. At the prices that are charged, you would think they'd be able to afford basic IKEA furniture... Shame."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I felt that the pricing was waaaayyy too expensive for the portions and the food offered. I cannot believe I paid $99 for a chicken plate that only had a few potatoes! The quality was so-so and absolutely not worth $99 a plate. Considered this a one time experience with no plans to visit again. Told my friends about the ridiculous pricing as well...."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Everyone should try it once!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Opaque was able to provide a completely dark atmosphere that would be difficult to recreate at home. Our server, Margarita, was amazing - attentive, friendly, informative and comforting. I'm sorry to say that the food was really nothing special. But it wasn't terrible. And the overall experience was definitely worthwhile - fun, but also interesting. And I can't say enough good things about our server. She handled our boisterous party of eight expertly, calling each of us by name, and making sure that our glasses were always full. It would have been a different experience (maybe even a little frightening) without her. I would definitely recommend going in a group."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't bother

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"So expensive for what you get. Food was terrible, and drinks were $20-$25 per cocktail on top of the $100 per head you were already being charged. The wait staff was very polite and the experience in general was educational in terms of learning how to function in the dark, but I did not find it to be the sensory experience that the restaurant's website claims it to be. Perhaps, if the food was amazing and they did more to enhance the taste, or if there was a process that was meant to heighten your other senses, it would have been more of an experience, but otherwise you are really just struggling to eat mediocre food in the dark, for a $275 tab. My friends said they were interested in trying it out and I literally told them don't waste your time or money, it is really not worth it."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A must do dining experience! My third time to dine here & food is absolutely top notch & worthy of the experience. Servers bring the dining experience to a higher level of appreciation!"
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great place to experience a date with someone!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Margarita was absolutely amazing. She was very entertaining funny kept the experience to the max! She made jokes and kept it very fun and exciting! Would defientily come back so I could experience this again!"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Opaque - Dining in the Dark, LA
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic