Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Newtown - Permanently Closed Reviews List

Newtown - Permanently Closed

Situated in the heart of Montreal's Crescent Street, Le Newtown welcomes you. Composed of three floors, a lounge, a restaurant, and a beautiful terrace, Le Newtown's contemporary decor provides a sophisticated and relaxed atmosphere. In the kitchen, our chef's exciting culinary imagination brings you modern, creative cuisine. Both elements will take you to places you haven’t been before. For group reservations please contact the event coordinator at 514-564-7821.
See more Newtown - Permanently Closed details
60 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
(60 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(10)
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(18)
  • special occasion(16)
  • romantic(14)
  • scenic view(12)
  • hot spot(11)
  • vibrant bar scene(11)
Newtown - Permanently Closed Reviews List
Review 1 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/04/2016
 2014
Dined on 16/04/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Perfect for a date or friendly gathering ! You won't need to scream to be heard!"
Dined on 16/04/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 01/04/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great apps and main meal. Delicious wines by the glass as well."
Dined on 24/03/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 27/02/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 27/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 06/11/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2016
 2007
Dined on 11/02/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 11/02/2016
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

No ambiance at all.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2016
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Tellement mauvais service pas resté pour manger.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Reservation

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"No table available when i showed up. The lady didnt care about this even if i did reserve. They put us in a corner. Desapointed. Never will return . Food was really good."
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food, slow service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It was super quiet when we arrived at 7. The table was ready and we sat down straight away. Our group of 10 arrived over the next 30mins but it took over an hour to get drinks by which time we were hungry too! Food was slow to come to start but was all delicious! We had the three course chop menu but it was not explained to us that this was the only menu available and why. It would have helped if this had been explained to us as some people were disappointed by the limited menu and I was confused as to why it was limited as when I had checked the website it had had a great menu, one of the reasons I chose it! The food was however very good and the cost was great! It took too long to receive our bill and we ended up having to go up to pay, which inconvenient considering we had 9 separate bills. I Would like to give Newtown another chance when the full menu is available and hope that the service,which was friendly and polite, is a little quicker when needed."
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/12/2012
 2012
Dined on 01/12/2012
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 01/12/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

place aux rires

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"C'est un endroit a découvrir. Nous ne sommes pas déçu de faire escale chez vous. Nous avons aimé particulièrement notre hôte. Malheureusement, je ne connais pas son nom. Tout un charme cet homme. Le repas était bon. L'ambiance est formidable. J'ai bien aimé ma soirée. J'étais venue pour un anniversaire. Mes copines et moi avons vraiment aimé notre soirée. Il est sûre qu'on va revenir. Merci"
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Décevant...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"...Nous avions hâte d'essayer ce resto et malheureusement....nous avons tous été très déçus. Il est arrivé tellement de petits incidents, autant du côté du service que de la nourriture, qu'il serait long de vous écrire tout cela. Mais, je crois que la plus grosse lacune est le service et la communication entre le personnel."
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Newtown

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 24/11/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 16/11/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food portions were really small. But the food was tasty and the servicwas great."
Dined on 16/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 02/11/2015
 2013
Dined on 02/11/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 02/11/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 08/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/09/2015
 2013
Dined on 19/09/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 19/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lack of service

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've made a reservation two weeks before the date for a group, wrote a note saying that we wish to be at the patio. Did not get any response that we didn't have the spot.
When ready to order drinks, there was noone on the floor. Later, someone came out and had to shout to the back that we are ready.
Of course we waited for food.
After visit, I was surprised how other bars and resaurants are so crowded still. And soon I understood from the above service why it wasn't so at New Town.
For the price range, you would expect for more. At least a better communication."
Dined on 18/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

If only the music volume was lower

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 05/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent food, great view, it's a shame that the music was so loud to the point of being annoying. Especially when the dubstep kicked in around 9pm."
Dined on 05/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Proposed to my Girlfriend on August 22, 2015

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 22/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I wanted to set up a special dinner for my girlfriend (now fiancée) as we were travelling from Toronto to Montreal . From the time I sent the email request to the restaurant to the completion of my dinner and engagement proposal, the experience was beyond exceptional.
Sigal Schafier the group coordinator reached out to me and helped plan the whole event, from the menu to how I would propose. She wanted to make sure that our evening was a memorable one. When we arrived on Saturday, she was there to greet us even though it was her day off.
The food was exceptional and the wine paring suggested was perfect.
The steak was cooked exactly how I requested and my fiancée's pasta was exquisite.
Sigal and Suzie were professional, courteous and caring and went above and beyond to make sure our day was a special one.
We could not have asked for a better place and perfect ambience to start our journey together.
thank you so much from the both of us
Visagine and Sanjay
"
Dined on 22/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our serveur was Susie King, she was just great.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 13/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 17/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad very bad newton permits smokers there

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 31/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The problem is that they do not share smorkers than NOT smokers and the space for each table (outside) is to close and it is no confortable to get good time."
Dined on 31/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 31/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 31/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The food wasn't good at all

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Expensive for blend food with no taste. I don't recommend it"
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 15/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 15/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent service and ambiance!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 13/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 08/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 08/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 08/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disapointed with your service !

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very disapointed with your service since when we arrived at the restaurant it was closed. How can you send me a confirmation of my reservation to a closed restaurant!
I felt embarrassed in front of my american friends because of this!
I will neither recommand the restaurant to anyone nor your service!"
Dined on 14/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/06/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If your salad comes out 20 minutes after everyone else has gotten their food if should be taken of the bill. Especially it was your only meal. When we say we are ready for the check we shouldn't have to ask 3 more times to get it."
Dined on 13/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 06/06/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 06/06/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We selected the restaurant because of it's location in relation to the F1 street party. Our visitors from our of town were thrilled to be in the middle of the excitement. However, we were very disappointed by the "forced" Grand Prix menu. We made the reservations weeks in advance and were not informed of the limited and very expensive menu. We were unable to eat off the regular menu and as a result over spent for the quality of the meal. The restaurant wasn't very busy possibly due to the street closures however it felt like we were over charged in order to make-up for the low quantity of customers.
The service was also lacking. Our waiter was a temp, 1st day on the job, who had never opened a bottle of wine. When spending over $125 pp, one expects a certain level of service. I understand that you needed to ramp up for the busy weekend however hiring quality should take precedence over quantity."
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good place, but bad service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"we were a group of 4, unfortunately, the waitress forgot my drinks twice and got me the wrong plate once. she offered us shooters to get pardon. This was probably the only bad experience we had and we will probably go back again, especially for the 5@7 where the drinks are 2 for 1."
Dined on 22/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Was an awesome place. Was fun! Server was great!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

go for a drink ; not a meal

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had to return the salmon because it was overcooked and also the side veggies were way too spicy ; it was impoosbile to eat that. The second plate was still very spicy and salmon too cooked again just less than the first one. They should get a better chef for that kind of 'fancy' place. Service was nice but not that efficient because not enough staff ; the view is really worth it and the terasse itself is very nice but that's it."
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

awful

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"le personnel tres desagreable, la personne à l acceuil etait extremement rude, au vestiaire elle à mis mon manteau de vison et celui de mon mari un dur l autre pour ne pas utiliser 2 supports
au souper le personnel ne semblait pas vouloir etre present
"
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Office 5 à 7

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went there on a busy Friday evening during the holiday season of 2014. The online reservation process was easy, and when I emailed them with some questions I got a clear, prompt reply. I think the only disappointment was the area of the restaurant we were given: a small corner area by the bar on the 2nd floor restaurant with awkward sitting around a low coffee table. For a group of 15 there was no place to sit and frankly no ambiance. I think they could have anticipated (or consulted with me) to provide a more suitable arrangement. Thankfully we were only 8 and they could bring some extra chairs to create a sort of "living room" setting. Otherwise the service and staff were friendly, and the 2 for 1 happy hour prices fair. Overall it was a good experience for an office 5 to 7 but next time I will book with more time in advance so we get a place in the 1st floor lounge.
We did not order food so I can't offer a comment on it."
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

awful

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I wanted to take my staff out for a christmas lunch and thought Newtown would be a great place. I'd been there many years ago and has some very good memories. However, when we got there we were told that the restaurant ( upstairs) was open for dinner only so we had to sit in the bar area downstairs. Worst of all, apart from the three of us there were only two other people in the entire restaurant which made for a pretty depressing atmosphere overall. I actually apologized to my staff for my poor choice of restaurant."
Dined on 17/12/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Newtown - Permanently Closed
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
11 out of 12 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic