Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Pierpoint Restaurant Reviews List

Pierpoint Restaurant

Welcome... In 1989 Pierpoint opened to immediate rave reviews with local reviewers, as well as national reviews from magazines- Zagat, Womans Day, Conde Naste Traveller, Apple Guide, Fodors, New York Times, Chicago Times, and the subject of others. Pierpoint opened with the concept of serving Modern Maryland cusine, at a time when the local cusine restaurants were dwindling, and Chef Nancy Longo wanted to offer a modern more healthy approach to Maryland cusine, as well as create new Maryland classics- such as her Smoked Maryland crab cake now known and shipped Globally. Now into our 21st year, Pierpoint offers unique catering, childrens cooking classes as well as adult classes. And as usual, we are continuing to create NEW classics in Maryland cusine for all to enjoy. So come make the trip to Fells Point, take advantage of our free parking and enjoy our creative specialties.
See more Pierpoint Restaurant details
37 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(37 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(19)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(26)
  • fit for foodies(18)
  • special occasion(7)
  • romantic(5)
  • notable wine list(3)
  • good for groups(1)
Pierpoint Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

another lovely dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"saturday night, 6:30, 3 of us. as usual, the food quality was very good, and somehow, the place was not full; this is a good thing for me, because the food comes faster~! well, not that fast, but this ain't McDonald's either.
the server, Annie was great. and the chef (not Nancy but someone who we have seen there in other visits) came to every table to ask how everything was. and the flavors were good, let there be no doubt.
my only complaint, especially considering that the place was essentially empty (only one other table at all times), is that my food was pretty much lukewarm/room temp. i don't appreciate very hot (or cold) food anyway, but it was too cool even for me. my point is of course that everything needs to come out at the same time (it did), and at the appropriate temp (it did not). this did not happen, but it wasn't a disaster, and it won't stop me from coming back, or recommending the place, but it was a little disappointing.
this restaurant is not inexpensive, at all, so having a black cod dish come out room temp, and of course continuing to cool even more while eating, is as I said a disappointment.
"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

had a wonderful meal. Very friendly staff. Great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Cannot recommend this restaurant

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went on New Years Eve for dinner, it was one of the few places left in the city that we were able to get a reservation at. Luckily we were in no hurry. Service altho friendly was extremely slow, and there was no reason- there were only about 3 other tables filled. For a prime location on New year's Eve that speaks volumes. The smoked crab cake appetizer was excellent, but that was about it. The rest of the food, which took probably a full hour after ordering to come out, was marginal, not bad but certainly not great. We will not return."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Underwhelmed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was really excited to visit this restaurant after hearing about the smoked crab cakes, but unfortunately that was the only highlight. The ambiance is just terrible; outdated and sad looking. The crab cakes were a delight, but the rest of the menu is horribly overpriced and fell flat. The only other possible highlight was the squash soup, but otherwise, it was disappointing. I could not imaging bringing a date here or coming for a special evening; the restaurant itself is something fit for a restaurant renovation reality show. If the menu had been half the price, I might have given it a bit more leeway. But if you are going to spend $200 on 3 people, it would be better spent at other places in town."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2004
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Don't let the outside fool you - we almost walked right past it! It has a cool, neighborhood, hole-in-the-wall vibe to it - excellent and fresh seafood served in some creative ways with great service. The truffle soup was incredible and the traditional crab cakes were very good. I would have loved to see a more robust beer selection, but white selection was solid. Definitely recommend."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have eaten maybe 6 times at Pierpoint in the last year. I am not a complainer but I'm afraid I find it quite hit and miss, and I am always shocked when the bill comes. For example three of us paid $170 last time and only one person had a glass of house wine. I have no doubt that Nancy is a very skilled chef, but my sense is that she is a little jaded with the business. I like the concept of her menu and it's great that she improvises. But I doubt I will be going back there to risk a mediocre meal at an inflated price. It is time to rethink Pierpoint IMO."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Discovered by accident

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We really enjoyed our visit to the Pierpont and was sorry that we had not discovered it before. We have been in Baltimore monthly for the past year and only just found it. It is as good or better than other popular restaurants, eg. Thames st Oyster house, SoBo Cafe, etc."
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice little place.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Small restaurant with great food. Owner spent time with us and made us feel like she was cooking just for us."
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Smoked Crab Cakes

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The smoked crab cakes are the best crab cakes you'll ever eat. Finish it off with the praline bread pudding, and you have a meal fit for a king. It's a pricy, small dive, but it's worth every penny."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Father's Day dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"we were there for Father's Day and the restaurant had catered 4 weddings the day before and were out of several menu items. They did make some special concessions because of this so they were able to come up with menu items we enjoyed. The food was good although I can't recommend the gazpacho. The other soups were outstanding. We had excellent service. The restaurant is small and we were very close to the kitchen area which was a little smoky but I would try it again just to sample some other items from the menu."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Don't miss it, in Baltimore.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Super food choices, super food. The smoked crab cake was novel, and I'm not sure I will ever enjoy one any other way. The chocolate dessert was supposed to be for 2, 4 days later I am still savoring a bit at a time. If you're in Baltimore, go to Fell's Point for a great evening meal, in a casual atmosphere, with good cocktails and wine. From what we were told, Fri & Sat gets very crowded. We went Thursday and were practically the only customers."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I came to Pierpoint after reading good things about their smoked crab cake. I made a reservation for dinner mid-week, 8pm. It is out of the way from the touristy parts of Baltimore (just east of Fell's Point), but an easy walk from harbor east or a short cab ride. Upon arrival, I was astonished to find the restaurant almost empty; there was one other couple present, and they finished and left soon after I was seated. They recommended the entrees they had (cioppino and halibut), but I went ahead with a pair of crabcakes, one regular and the other made with smoked crab meat. Both had a good amount of lump crab meat. The regular has a nice bright crab flavor up front; the smoked meat crabcake has a subtle flavor that lingers. As the only customer left, service from the chef/bartender was not an issue.
The food was good, but it felt weird being the only customer."
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Pierpoint is a neighborhood gem that people have forgotten. My group of friend had such an amazing meal that I have told everyone I know to go there and everyone says - Oh Yeah - I forgot about Pierpoint. Well - here is a your reminder. It is fantastic. I haven't eaten a better meal in a year and I go out all the time."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Pierpoint's is a small place in Fells Point that has a lot of local charm. The service was great and the food was outstanding. In addition to talking with our server, we were able to interact with the chef who gave us details on how the food was prepared. Would DEFINITELY recommend it."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pierpoint Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Smoked crab cake is AMAZING

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Homemade bread was truly homemade and delicious. They said they were known for their smoked crab cakes and they should be because they are AMAZING! The shrimp and grits was a taste of home for this southern kid. My wife had the scallops with the asiago ravioli and spinach which started off great but as you continue eating the dish the asiago and the vinegar in the spinach start to taste better apart than together. Overall this place has amazing food but the décor could use an update."
Dined on 11/21/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pierpoint Restaurant
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic