Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vizcaya Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Vizcaya

Welcome to our home. Here you will find the best eclectic cuisine from Spain and around the world. Our recipes are from the old school and will leave your palate quite satisfied. Our extensive wine selection is sure to impress. Come… indulge with us and enjoy your next meal at VIZCAYA! Your stomach will thank you.
29 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(29 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • romantic(11)
  • special occasion(11)
  • vibrant bar scene(8)
  • good for groups(6)
Vizcaya Reviews List
Review 1 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/03/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/14/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food, tapas menu is good. I usually sit in the back as certain nights there is live music that is sometimes too loud for me. Bar area with tvs and bar tables."
Dined on 2/28/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and interesting menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always enjoy lunch here but this was my first time for dinner. The bar area includes a pianist who was fine, but I was glad the dining room was more quiet so I could visit with my guests. They enjoyed the black grouper special and I continued to experiment with the tapas. The food was good, atmosphere warm, and the service reasonably attentive. I appreciate the menu choices and quality of the food.
Vizcaya is a popular place for good reason. I look forward to returning.
"
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

We had a horrible experience from start to finish.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a horrible experience from start to finish."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food does not make up for service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had reservations for two at 6:30. We arrived 5 minutes early. Not a word was said. The man behind us had a reservation for four at 6:30. I overhead the hostess tell him they were running a little behind. He glared at her and she said they would do the best they could. He was seated at 6:32. At 6:45 I asked if they knew how much longer and they said they weren't sure, but we could sit at the first come, first serve area in the lounge. This was not exactly the romantic evening we were hoping for so we waited. In the mean time, people without reservations were seated ("because they had been waiting before we got there"). People who the hostess knew were seated for their 7:00 reservations before we were. We were not in a hurry, so I did not complain (but I should have). We sat at 7:04. At 7:15, the waiter showed up to our table to take the order. We saw him exactly 4 times over the next hour. The third time we asked for the check. He showed up 10 minutes later forgetting the check. Then a another ten minutes before we got it. The food was good, but no where near enough to make up for the rest of the experience. We, obviously, will not be returning."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Definitely one of the best!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Service was amazing from the time we sat down. Prompt and efficient. Server was five star. Food impeccable!"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Party of 5, first visit for 4

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was absolutely fantastic!!!!! Duck, Filet, Sirloin Tips, Ahi all perfectly done with superb flavor. Greens mixtures were crisp and tasty. Enjoyed the flavor selections of Croquettes, but they could use a little crisp and salt. A little pricy but I doubt anyone expects they're dining at Chilis.
Beautiful decor fitting the style (fancy, minimal and Spanish). They should make the bull the trademark especially if done by a local artist (and advertise who it is). Overall place is cramped but doable unless your claustrophobic.
Wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable and moved through the narrow passages like choreographed dancers (adding a group flamenco clap and olé would have been entertaining).
Bartender was snarky with a smile. Could offer guests some conversation and recommendations. (and even water drinkers tip). Maybe she needed help or was having an off day.....
Door staff was polite but waiting guests felt 'in the way' and uncomfortable.
Not only do they serve tapas but the place itself is reflective of one: small, but big on flavor. Will definitely recommend and return, but probably just for special occasions."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Seafood Paella

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This time we each ordered the Seafood Paella and it was wonderful. The dishes were loaded with a viriety of seafood and large, perfectly cooked shrimp. As always, it was a great evening."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent as always

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always stop in when visiting Tampa and never disappointed! Best sangria and the octopus, oxtail, dates, and sweat breads are all outstanding!!! Felix Piedra is awesome!"
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dining tip

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The music was a bit loud but very entertaining. I bought a CD. If you just come to listen, have a few tapas and a drink sit in the front part of the restaurant. But if you want to dine, be able to carry a conversation and enjoy the meal you must sit in the back."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best True Spanish Food in Tampa

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was made with true Spanish ingredients and techniques. Simply the best there is for Spanish food, not Cuban food. You will enjoy it."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Short of expectations

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"In comparison to my many dining experiences at Tampa's venerable Columbia Restaurant, my visit to Vizcaya on Christmas Eve was a bit of a disappointment. The food was unremarkable and the service slow, despite a number of vacant tables. I'm willing to give the restaurant another shot but only on a "regular" night. I highly recommend the Vizcaya Manhattan for you whiskey drinkers!"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vizcaya
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Amazing tapas!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my first time at the restaurant and at first I was disappointed because the restaurant was extremely crowded with lots of huge parties and very loud, but we decided to move and sit outside and this made for a better experience. At first the service was great and the server was able to make a great sparkling sangria very dry. My favorite tapas were the bacon wrapped dates, scallops and the grouper bites. We also had the eggplant but I wouldn't get that again. The scallops were huge and you got 4 so it's definitely a great deal. The service declined as the night went on because even more large parties come in so I think there was a special event going on that had taken over most of the restaurant. We will definitely be back but hopefully on a less crowded night. The food was amazing!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Vizcaya
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
12 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Service 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
3.3 / 3
Energetic