Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Brasserie Montmartre Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Brasserie Montmartre

Tucked away on a narrow street in the historic Calumet building in the heart of downtown, this rustic-refined French-American gastro-pub evokes the feel of Paris while being quintessentially Portland. In the heart of downtown, the Brasserie is a place to wind up or wind down. It's a perfect venue for date nights, business lunches, relaxing after work, on-the-town dining, or a post-shopping retreat. Private dining suitable for intimate fêtes or more boisterous affairs. This local brasserie elicits the true essence and spirit of the word “Montmartre,” defined literally as the highest point in Paris, and now figuratively as a perfectly French-American respite for food, drink and conviviality.
119 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(119 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
(42)
4 stars
(44)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(45)
  • romantic(44)
  • fit for foodies(38)
  • neighborhood gem(35)
  • good for groups(30)
  • late-night find(21)
Brasserie Montmartre Reviews List
Review 1 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/17/2014
 2014
Dined on 9/17/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/17/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So sad they are leaving.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We only ate there the one time but it was outstanding. The waiter was really nice. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the place is closing. I think the owner is retiring. What a shame."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

sadnness

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Visited one last time before the 4/30/15 close. so sad to see tnis pdx landmark go."
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Last chance to enjoy an evolved Brasserie.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu has changed to Continental-Pacific NW, but that is a good thing. The food is excellent and the dishes are well presented. Unlike a number of Portland restaurants, this one has resisted the temptation to add so many herbs, flavors and other touches that the overall dish suffers. Instead, there are simple dominant combinations of flavors that succeed on all levels. The wild mushrooms on a long slice of French bread with a simple sauce need nothing more. Grilled asparagus with sunny-side-up egg is a great combination of flavors. The same with the dinners and sides that we had. Unfortunately the show ends on April 30. So rush out and enjoy the food (and half-priced wine bottles) while you can."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great as always!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to Brasserie Montmartre many times. I've always been very pleased with my experience and this time proved to be no exception in the area of food quality. The service this time however was a bit slow despite a seemingly not too busy dining room (there were plenty of open tables). Overall, still a good experience though and I look forward to returning."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fjrst time in since remodel.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We haven't been since the remodel. First thing, no paper on table or crayons. Really? Second thing, the menu was much smaller. Food was decent but over priced for quality and quantity. All time faces, gone. Used to be great late night spot. Decent drinks and food. Now, no so much. Probably won't go back."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were a large group and switched spots several times to catch up with various members of our dinner party. The waitstaff was exceedingly flexible and served us well throughout our dinner. I am second generation patron of the Brasserie Montmartre and will continue to come back for the delicious food, excellent drink pairings, and service."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely people. Beautiful room.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a simple but sophisticated late-night meal at this bistro in the Pearl District. I was impressed with their wine list, food and low-key service--and thrilled by the design of the bar and room. Worth stopping in for a drink just to enjoy the space."
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great restaurant, loved the jazz trio!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Easter brunch was delicious! The Jazz trio that played was a great addition, too. My only suggestion would be if Open Table posted prices when searching out brunch/dinner buffets so customers have that information before they make the reservation."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I'm a local and live a few blocks away, so this is our favorite place to go. However, lately the service and the food are sub par."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Dinner was excellent. It has been years since I had such good steak."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice dinner tonight!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I came to Brasserie Montmartre on a week night recently after having been there one other time on a Friday and having such a great experience with both the food and the service! I have to say that it was quieter this night with fewer customers. We were, therefore, surprised that it took our waiter so long to return for our order when it really wasn't that busy and he had promised to come back "in a minute"! We gave him a bit of a hard time and teased him about his 20 minute "minute", but after he took our orders, he was much better about coming around to our table on a regular basis. I LOVED the Coq au vin dish I had, and used some of it for my lunch at work two days later with the bread that came with the meal catching every bit of the juice of the food. REALLY good!! My husband didn't rave nearly as much over the seafood dish he had with shrimp, mussels, crab, etc. We would come back again and I know exactly what I would have!"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I've been going here for years, great food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been going here for years, great food and service. You won't be disappointed. Try the truffle fries, they were amazing!"
Dined on 9/27/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Missed par today!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Definitely not up to their normal standards! My food was cold so I sent it back and it returned as a smaller portion than it began! Plus it was still cold! The waitress said she would check back with me and never did. For the size portion that I got it was way overpriced. The flavors were absolutely delicious however. And they were only 75% filled! They should not have messed that one up."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Terrible Valentine's Day

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"After making reservations nearly 3 weeks in advance we were seated in the basement furthest away from the music etc, only a couple other tables were used in the area, felt like a red headed step child.
Only to find our waiter didn't seem to know What he was doing and didn't seem to know the bar menu, dinner menu was so limited about 6 entres and a few salads and starters.
Food was delivered all together, soups, salads and entres
Waiter didn't check back for drinks etc, we had to ask a buser for help.
Desert menu consisted of two deserts and no after dinner drinks, coffee was offered
Overall not bad food, but the experiience was not what We were expecting.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Before or after concert fare

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In its previous incarnation, we used to go to Brasserie quite frequently after the theater or concert at the Symphony. There was usually a jazz trio or quarter playing within sight lines and hearing ranges. We used to draw with crayons on the paper tablecloth...it was very French bistro! Today after the remodel, it is a pleasant enough place, the service is friendly, and the food is good. It just doesn't have those special qualities that made it a unique experience. Even the frogs legs are gone! My friends and I each had some light dishes, enough to serve as dinner; we had good drinks; shared good company and then went off to the Portland Symphony for the special attraction of the evening."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful food, great staff

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a lovely time here. The waitress was very friendly and accommodating. The food was superb. We had just been reading the Julia Child book "My Life In France" and wanted to find a place that would put us there. This was exactly the one to do it. I had the French Onion soup (one menu item that I try wherever I go as I love it) - they did not let me know. Rich and hot and good. I also had the mussels - yum, yum, yum. I will warn you that the drinks are powerful! I had two and it knocked me flat! The only downside is the parking but God was good to us and we got a spot right out front! That was a blessing because we were taking my 89 year old mother and she didn't have to walk far - at all! Go there, and immerse yourself in France! Bon Appetit!"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

a superb meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have always enjoyed coming here, but the most recent time was over the top good! Lobster mac & cheese - the best mac & cheese I've ever had, and the lobster was abundant, tasty and tender. Steak frites - the frites have always been wonderful, but the steak was exceptional this time. Short rib - couldn't have been more tender, juicy or delicious. It was a great meal, and the service was fun."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A special night out

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My daughter and her girl friends wanted to go to dinner before their Winter Ball (no boys involved). We thought of a lot of places downtown, and decided to try the sweet ambiance of the Brasserie. We hadn't been there since the "old days." It ended up being the PERFECT spot. My boyfriend and I sat far enough to not be intrusive, but close enough to enjoy their fun. WHICH, was made even better by the strolling MAGICIAN who absolutely made their night. On top of the great food and fun ambiance and the dressing up and the amazing friends, the girls cannot stop talking about the magician. The service was impeccable, our cocktails and food were delicious. It was a perfect experience."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Super evening at the Brasserie!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My only complaint is with Open Table. My wife and I were organizing an evening out for our 15 year old daughter and her 2 friends before they attended their school's winter ball. The girls wanted us to find the place, but they wanted to sit separately. You would only allow us to make one reservation, rather than the 2 that we needed.
In any case, our evening at the Brasserie was sensational. The place is so cool and has such a rich history. Our girls had a blast. They loved their place by the steel door. They loved the food and especially loved the roaming magician! My wife and I felt that the place was just perfect for the occasion, made that much more special by the fantastic and enthusiastic server. I wish I remembered her name, but she perfectly attended both of our tables with a warm smile and an obvious passion for the people she served and the place.
We will likely return in the future.
"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Meh

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service was slow and inattentive. The food was greasy."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good music and food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Really enjoyed Trashcan Joe. Will go back for them. Very good Caesar with many capers and anchovies. Croutons need some work. Calamari was good but could have been crispier. Excellent cremé brulee. Wine list was very fairly priced. Cocktails were inventive and well crafted. Friendly staff!"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Server tried hard and was nice but food took way too long (about an hour) and the restaurant was not that busy. The food was ok..not worth the long wait. Tried it because of the passport card but won't be our first choice to return soon."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was ok.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The website made it feel like more than what it was more. Portland is a brunchy town. And this was the "ok-est I've had. There was hardly anyone in there. And I found my coffee cup empty. There were five of us, and only one of us really enjoyed our food. So I guess get the eggs florentine if you go. The art on the walls was drab too. There was a sad painting of a mine. Wait in line and go to mothers. It's 6 blocks down."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good but not the same

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went back to the Brasserie Montmartre after an absence of several years (moved out of the area). It's just not the same! The menu is very abbreviated from what I remember although does have some of the French classics most American foodies are familiar with. I ordered the steak frites and expected a hangar (or similar) steak with thin cut fries. Instead the steak was more filet-like. It was delicious and well-prepared but just wasn't quite what I wanted. The frites were halved fingerling potatoes. Again delicious but not the small, crispy fries I was expecting. Our waiter was brand new to the job, having only been hired a couple days earlier. He knew very little about the menu or the wine list but was completely honest about that and more than willing to ask the chef about the food items and to bring us tastes of the wines we were interested in. So, I'm not giving him any strikes whatsoever. Overall, this wasn't the layered, lush experience I'd come to expect from the Brasserie but a more watered-down, light version."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great dining experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I ate dinner here for the first time on New Year's Eve and it was amazing. The Ahi Crudo, Prime Rib, and Lobster tail were delicious and our server made the experience fun and memorable. My only complaint is the garlic mashed potatoes were surprisingly bland, but the rest of the meal was presented beautifully and tasted delicious. We will definitely be back."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Year's Eve. Packed, but expert waitress!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Seamless service in a crowded party venue. I worked as a waitress for eight years. These people really know how to run a restaurant. The food is reliably great, the champagne is chilled and I can't think of a place I would rather have been to greet the new year."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing Visit

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were looking forward to coming here but we were sorely disappointed. Everything was either undercooked or overcooked. The "crispy" frog legs were soggy and very salty. The servers were very nice but we had to ask for everything from plates to share appetizers to a spoon for the soup. We ordered the Oysters but got no fork or explanation on where the origin of the oysters."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Portland's Left Bank Treasure

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While Portland has a few French fine-dining, not-to-say haute cuisine, restaurants, Brasserie Montmartre captures the breadth and delights of a true Parisian brasserie. From the black and white tile floor, eclectic wall art, to the simple steak onglet (hanger or flat-iron) et frites to crispy frogs legs to the classic half-chicken roti, the room is inviting and all the dishes are delicious and authentic. Servers are efficient and friendly (perhaps a little non-Parisian?), and the wine list is serviceable with good range from France, Italy, Oregon, California, Washington, Argentina, Australia and New Zealand. I've eaten there multiple times and always had a good meal."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It was not a good night for Brasserie

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were able to book a table for 10 for Sunday night on Sunday afternoon, and we had our pick of any time all evening. That should have been a sign.
Even though we arrived half an hour early (the symphony was done sooner than expected), and even though we knew we could have had our reservation for just about any starting time all evening, we were not seated until a good 8 minutes after our reservation time. I am fine with not getting seated early - we told them 7 and they planned on 7 - but why not seat us at 7? It isn't like the place was packed.
Our waiter started off listing the ~1/3rd of the entrees on the menu which were not available.
He introduced the wine steward as a "semi-sommelier".
He had no clue what gluten was nor what was or was not gluten free (5 years ago, sure, but these days, this should be pretty basic knowledge for food service professionals).
The waiter (who really was a pleasant fellow and you could tell was trying his best) forgot appetizers we ordered, forgot to bring a drink which was ordered repeatedly, brought the kids' food out a good 5 minutes after he brought the first adult entree (another faux pas - ALWAYS bring the kids' food out first - service 101).
The waiter allowed us to order escargot - it was on the online menu but not on the printed menu - and only 20 minutes later told us it was not available.
My nephew ordered French onion soup, only to be told later it was not available, only to then be delivered French onion soup which "the kitchen was able to put together". Unfortunately, he really disliked it.
Most of the food was fine, but certainly not great, and many of the entrees were cool rather than hot.
On the plus side, the waiter proactively got all the appetizers removed from the bill, along with that last drink which had to be ordered three times. He also did not put the default gratuity on the bill which is normal for a large group like ours. He apologized repeatedly and sincerely, and the Manhattans were phenomenal!
"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had great service. We were constantly asked if we needed refills on our drinks. The food was amazing. I ordered lamb chops and my husband ordered the seafood casserole... Looked more like a soup but, it was AMAZING. The magician is always a nice touch. We hadn't been there for a decade. Was a little disappointed there were not crayons and paper at all of the tables but, overall a GREAT dining experience."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant highly recommend

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our server was absolutely first rate. Attentive and knowledgable"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing - Very Salted Steak Frites

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have been going to this restaurant for over 20 year thru various owners. Love the feel and atmosphere of the restaurant. Very disappointed in the Steak Frites entrée that was way over salted,
which killed the dish. Waitress very apologetic and gave us a complimentary dessert. There was no time to redo the dish because we were going to a function after this. The Caesar Salad was very good & good sized (shareable). The Coq au Vin had some wonderful flavors and tastes.
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went on a Sunday for brunch. Food selection was great. It is make to order and not a buffet. Food was excellent and so was the coffee."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Brasserie Montmartre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Slow service, poorly cooked and presented food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to the Brasserie on Saturday night, December 6th . We arrived on time at 7 and they had a table waiting for us. That was pretty much the end of anything going right that evening.
We waited over 20 minutes for someone/anyone to show up to take our drink orders - After that it went downhill. Bread was delivered - scorched - after the entrees.
My wife ordered the halibut and it came overcooked on a plate that looked like a disaster. Whoever laid down the "sauce" did so with a ladle and took a big swipe out of it. The net look of the presentation was, no kidding, a soiled baby diaper. The woman who delivered it noticed the look of horror on our faces and asked if something was wrong. We said it was and she replied "We're REALLY busy" - and off she went.
Our actual waiter showed up again and I pointed out the plate. He said if he had been picking it up from the kitchen he would have refused it. To compensate they offered us a free desert. Really? Usually a restaurant would take a nasty dish right off the bill. Especially if the wait staff knew it was a disaster.
My skirt steak pomme frittes came on a bed of sliced potatoes. Perhaps there was a language barrier with the original recipe, but I really was expecting delicate thin cut fries. To be fair, the steak was cooked properly.
It turned out to be a very poor choice for a birthday celebration. Although we've been coming to the Brasserie through it's various incarnations for over 25 years, this will very likely be our last visit."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Brasserie Montmartre
Based on the average of (78) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
55 out of 67 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic