Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar Reviews List

Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar

Enjoy a fantastic culinary experience and unequalled skyline views through two-story windows high above the Potomac River. The contemporary interior features chrome, glass, suede, and wood with accents of granite. Check out the critically-acclaimed Sunday Kitchen Buffet Brunch. The Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar is located on the Roof Terrace level of the Kennedy Center above the Hall of Nations.
See more Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar details
1171 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(1,171 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 1,171 reviews
5 stars
(341)
4 stars
(442)
3 stars
(242)
2 stars
(106)
1 star
(40)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(620)
  • special occasion(492)
  • fit for foodies(195)
  • great for brunch(173)
  • good for groups(149)
  • romantic(134)
Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-theater dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Since we had tickets to the 1 PM show by the Alvin Ailey Dance Company, we tried the Kitchen Buffet for brunch and were very pleased. The lines at the buffet and the omelet table were occasionally long and there were more Future Taxpayers than we prefer, but all in all we greatly enjoyed ourselves. We look forward to returning before some future Sunday matinee."
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service for brunch is very slow. It takes a long time to get coffee, which is the only downside of this venue. Everything else is outstanding."
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/27/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Kennedy Center restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is an excellent restaurant if attending a Kennedy Center performance. The staff is very nice and helpful. Just mention your show time and they make sure you are served accordingly. They have just enough on the menu so everything is done well. Good wine list and desserts as well."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was excellent. The service was good but not great and the ambiance was geared more toward an older crowd but we still enjoyed our time before our show."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Perfect for Before or After the Show

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food here is excellent, but portions are meager. If you value quality rather than quantity, then this is the place. The service is quick and attentive, very important if you go before a show and don't want to be late."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

No Wine, No Scallops, But Why? Oh, My!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We were seated promptly for our 6:00 PM reservation at a table near the window. My husband and I were attending the 8:00 PM symphony on Saturday night and we were looking forward to enjoying dinner at the Roof Terrace Restaurant. The server was attentive and, when asked, he stated that the preferred choices were the veal, venison and scallop dinners. I ordered the veal and my husband ordered the scallops. We also ordered a bottle of wine. A few minutes later the server informed us that several wines on the list were unavailable and we were required to make another, more expensive selection. We were enjoying the wine and wonderful rolls when, approximately 40 minutes after we ordered, the server informed my husband that the restaurant was out of scallops. So he ordered the venison dinner. Five minutes later our dinners arrived: my veal was very good but was lukewarm; my husband's venison was very dry. Not exactly what we expected. When we were half-way through our dinners, the server brought over a complimentary glass of champagne for each of us. A nice gesture. We finished eating our dinner and ordered one dessert to share: the chocolate pots de creme. The dessert was delivered quickly, in a beautiful bowl, with two forks. Forks are not my utensil of choice when eating glorified pudding. In summary, for a fairly expensive meal, where we were denied two of our choices, the food was not exceptional but the ambience was good. We were determined to have a good time though, and we did, but if someone were to ask us if we would recommend the restaurant, I would honestly say that while it was convenient to be at the Kennedy Center, the food was not good enough to warrant the price, no matter how wonderful the ambience."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent for dining before the show

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The Roof Terrace Restaurant is located at the Kennedy Center itself, which makes it an extraordinarily convenient place to dine before a show. The room has wonderful views, and there is the wrap-around terrace. The brunch buffet is served in the kitchen, a charming resolution to both serving and space challenges. The food is good to outstanding. Coffee is only warm and not hot, so if this is important to you, please notify your server."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good if you have KenCen Tix.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This restaurant would not be competitive were it not for it's location at the Kennedy Center but that said, it is a nice experience and the food/price value proposition is not unusual given its unique location. Given the crush at the parking lot, being able to arrive early at the KenCen and dine there is worth it. The wait staff is nice, not pushy and won't hurry you- make sure you let them know what your show time is. Outstanding dishes: the smoked salmon belly appetizer is outstanding! The menu said it's served with pumpernickel so I was perplexed when I didn't see it. Then I realized the "dust" around the outside of the plate was pumpernickel crumbs and they were great. A must for salmon lovers. The salads are very good. Two in our party of four had the veal tenderloin and really loved it. I disagree with criticisms of the decor. We thought it was beautiful. It is spare and modern, yes, but lovely and with the huge windows, as the sun sets, it was beautiful. The lights slowly come up as the sun goes down and makes for a lovely atmosphere. Great warm rolls and butter. One note re the wine list- why no chardonnay on the wines-by-the-glass?"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2004
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Too expensive for what you get, offerings too limited, service very spotty."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Reliable food & convenient before a KC performance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The Roof Terrace Restaurant is a nice option for grabbing a reliably tasty dinner (and having a reservation) before a show at the Kennedy Center, but it is not inexpensive. The food is good though, and the servers hustle knowing that most diners can't linger."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"we had a wonderful meal with wonderful service. It was part of a great evening!"
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was good overall service a bit slow and disorganized. Food was good however."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-theater Dining

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The Terrace restaurant has good food at reasonable prices, with service guaranteed to get you to your theater experience on time. Our server asked us immediately when our performance was scheduled, and his efficient service indicated he had been doing this for some years. The food is not trendy, but both our dishes were delicious and expertly prepared. Our only disappointment was the dessert. The room is large and a little cavernous, with lots of tables, so I would not call this intimate or romantic dining, but it certainly was a nice beginning to a lovely evening of theater. Much better than getting an entree at the KC cafeteria, where food and drink will cost you almost as much in a very crowded atmosphere where you need to search for a table."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It might have gotten a little better

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I've been here before but I don't remember it being this good, especially in terms of service. It's hard to beat if you're going the Kennedy Center for a show."
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2004
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The kitchen buffet was awesome, the only things missing were jelly, Nutella and some European style bread. Also, there are no dairy alternatives."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overpriced and Not Worth It

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2004
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We've been dining at the Roof Terrace restaurant for years and we've seen lots of ups and downs. These days the food is pretty good, but as the prices go up, the portion sizes go down. A smoked salmon belly appetizer is $17 for five minuscule pieces of salmon. Pan seared scallops are good, but $33 for three medium ones and not much to accompany them. I had the veal loin, which was good, but four little slices for $29. Vegetables are all sold as sides now. Prices for a glass of wine start at $12 and go up from there. The prices for wines by the bottle are atrocious, there is nothing decent under $70 a bottle. We have a symphony subscription and the restaurant is very convenient on a Thursday night. The service and ambiance are good, but we're getting tired of the price gouging."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2004
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was good, but not great. I'd go there again when I'm at the Kennedy Center, but I wouldn't go there otherwise."
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2010
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious quick dinner before the performance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2008
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/28/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2010
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

delightful dinner before the show

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We were three women celebrating a birthday, before the ballet. The location was ideal; the setting and view, by the window were wonderful; the food was delicious (good recommendations by our waiter) and we were able to linger a bit longer over dessert and espresso."
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Needs improvement! Our server was very slow.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My husband and I as well as our Ballet group of women have dined at the Roof Terrace for many, many years. One member of our group is a Laureate's Circle Member and another is a Golden Circle Member. Our other three hold regular memberships. We are all Ballet subscribers and also attend many other Kennedy Center events following dinner at the Roof Terrace.
As long as your restaurant has been serving Mussels, we have asked for small oyster forks. For equally as long, we have been told that you do not have any. Taking a small mussel from its shell with a large dinner fork is very difficult. Last Thursday, January 21, one of your Circle members in our group brought some from home. She also brought a small bag so she could wash them, take them home, and bring them next week (on the 28th) when we return for dinner.
For years we have been requesting Maria, who knows us and serves us professionally and expeditiously. On Thursday we were told that she was on duty but was not assigned to any Round Tables for five. Can't you make an exception when you know days in advance exactly when we will be dining?
Diane E. Epstein
301-320-5311
dianecps@comcast.net
"
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2003
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner and a Show

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This was our first time at the rooftop restaurant and it did not disappoint. Dinner was delicious, desserts were decadent, and the view was spectacular. Definitely recommend before a show, but make sure you get a reservation, the line was a mile long if you didn't have a reservation the day of a major performance (luckily we did)!"
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Roof Terrace Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>