Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Grill at Forty 1 North Reviews List

The Grill at Forty 1 North

The Grill is Forty 1° North’s dockside restaurant that is designed to deliver a fresh, upscale dining and entertainment experience while providing a unique and serene respite from Newport's bustling waterfront scene. A step off the street, yet a world apart. The menu features grilled meats and seafood, raw bar, as well as locally grown in-season vegetables. There is an open-air dining area, individual tables and bar seating surrounding the covered bar pavilion. Inviting dockside lounge seating creates a perfect setting to relax with cocktails or conversation. The Grill at Forty 1° North is open to the public.
See more The Grill at Forty 1 North details
129 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(129 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
5 stars
(42)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(25)
2 stars
(19)
1 star
(8)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(76)
  • great for outdoor dining(49)
  • special occasion(41)
  • romantic(31)
  • vibrant bar scene(31)
  • fit for foodies(29)
The Grill at Forty 1 North Reviews List
Review 1 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent place for two or small group. Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great food and excellent service. Wait staff took great care and was always there. Great place for a romantic evening away from the noise of most of the Newport restaurants."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food and excellent service. One of our favorite places to dine in Newport"
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2005
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very enjoyable holiday meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I took my daughter to this beautiful Newport Harbor venue for Christmas dinner. They had not overbooked for the holiday, which made for a relaxing and memorable holiday. We had a drink by the fire, shared the calamari. She had the scallops and I had the special -- prime rib with Yorkshire pudding. Highly recommended."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Music

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food was very good . A bit xpensive.
Music level was a bit louder than what we would like. We had trouble hearing each other speak. Only 3 other couples in dining room
"
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beautiful Location

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If the food could have matched the ambience, this place would have been a home run. Food was OK. Seafood a little better than the steak, Caesar Salad was pedestrian at best. Drinks (martini) was very good, but a small serving."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Prices were very high for the amount of food given

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"$172.50 bottle of wine was probably worth $30.00. Waiter did not inform us that the bottle we chose was $172.50. We ordered 2 bottles only to find out the wine was $345.00 when the check came. We spent + $600.00 for dinner for four people. N Y strip dinner for 2 was $44.00 per person. What a rip off. I will never dine there again and I will never recommend this restaurant to any of my friends. On Saturday we had a party of 8 and ate at Benjamin's. The food was outstanding and the bill was under $400.00."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for Newport Restaurant week which was a great value at what is normally a relatively high priced restaurant. Food was excellent - salmon appetizer and and an amazingly good chicken dish."
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Better for their bar and the view than the food."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wonderful time and exceptional experience. Steak cooked to perfection. I would recommend Forty 1 North to anyone visiting Newport."
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2005
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Inexperienced waitress for a too expensive dinner

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First off - waitress was NOT familiar with the items on the menu - when asked about the shrimps and if it came with a side - she said no. But it did. Unfortunately, we double ordered. When you order an expensive item - you expect the waiter/waitress to know what to recommend and what comes with what. Neither were we told we couldn't have outside sitting (which is what we came for) because they had closed down the lower level for a private event. Again, considering we came for that express purpose. NOPE. not.ever.going.there.again. Oh, and the table wobbled :("
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Really disappointed with Forty1 North

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here recently for a special occasion (anniversary) and the whole experience was just poor. We were forced to sit outside on a windy night even though they have indoor seating. The place was totally empty inside to the point where we wondered if they were even open. The waitress knew absolutely nothing about the restaurant- never told us specials or gave us suggestions. In face she just took the drink order and disappeared. The food was not good either. Calamari was extremely salty and the salad was terrible as well. No dressing, which is key for a Cesar salad. It almost felt like the staff didn't want us there. Will never visit again."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dockside Dining

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Set on a wharf abutting Newport Harbor the view is outstanding. The service was a work in perfection. The food while on the expensive end was delicious with large portions. The sides are sufficient for sharing. You will not be disappointed."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Less than Average Dining Experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Unfortunately our dining experience was far from the amazing anniversary dinner we hoped for. My husband and I were split with regards to our appetizers. My husband enjoyed his salmon while I found the corn chowder under-seasoned. For a main course, I ordered the prawns which were seasoned well but a little cold and my husband ordered the chicken which was salty. On the plus side, the mashed potatoes were delicious.
Our server was friendly but inattentive. He refilled our waters with the wrong beverage, but was gone so fast and didn't return for so long that he didn't get to correct the mistake.
We did like the atmosphere, however, it was a chilly night and heat lamps were scarce. Proximity to a heating lamp is apparently something you need to request when you make your reservation. Overall the lively atmosphere wasn't enough to make up for the lackluster service and average food.
"
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, would definitely go back

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor service overshadows good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've never experienced such poor service at a restaurant that poses as a steakhouse. We dined with 5 people and the bill came out to be almost $100 pp (only because there was limited opportunity to order anything!) We were seated promptly for our 6:15pm reservation and our waitress brought us our first round of drinks right away. After that it all went downhill. We were never offered bread despite seeing other tables being served warm rolls. We were finally able to flag the waitress down to ask for bread, but we only got rolls after our entrees were served. Everyone at the table was done with their first drink before the entrees came out, but our waitress was nowhere to be found so I had to go to the bar to order a second glass of wine. After seeing me do that, she came over to our table to get drink orders from the rest of the party. One of the three ala carte sides we ordered never came out, but no one came back to check on us so we had to let it go .The ala carte sides are not big enough to share between more than two people-- but don't expect to be told-- just trust me and order enough for the table. You will not have a second chance. I could go on and on about the poor dining experience, but I won't. The atmosphere outside is beautiful. I would recommend sitting at the bar for a few drinks and appetizers then moving on to another restaurant for dinner."
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2004
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

=SHOULD HAVE BEEN OH SO MUCH BETTER!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Where shall we start: cocktail order: Ketel One up with a twist (added a visual) forgot the order, asked again an still brought the wrong cocktail. Forgot the bottle of wine we ordered and had to ask again. The tasting glass for wine came with a schmear of "something" (as we say in NYC) on the glass. Ceasar salad bland and NO fresh pepper, though requested . AND the anchovies.....???which we believe were really sardines. So far so NOT good! My entre, brought the WRONG entre.
We really do no mind to pay for quality, BUT the quality MUST be there. You want to compete with big boys....... well you have a long way to go. The men from the boys. I will NOT recommend restaurant nor this Hotel (41 North degrees) to anyone. You pay for location (being New Yorkers we get) but for this "price point" ......... Not even close.
"
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service was at best sub-par with the waitress only having about 3 tables, we sat outside. The food also another huge disappointment, especially with the pricey menu. The minimum expectation would have been for the food to have been outstanding, not even close! Ordered calamari, and waited about 20minutes to get the dipping sauce. Then our main dishes were at best just okay, I ordered the scallops which were way overdone and my fiancé ordered the filet that was also very over done. The one positive is the location and view, so this restaurant at best will only be a recommendation for a drink spot."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Don't miss the chance to see the sunset and enjoy an unforgettable meal here if you are in Newport. All our dishes were delicious and the presentation was elegant. Our entrees included Seared Scallops, Center Cut Filet Mignon and Pan Roasted a Tiger Prawns. In addition, Chef Feury' special this evening was Short Ribs and they were not to be missed. Service was attentive and we look forward to dining here again."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Great food ruined by horrible service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Perhaps all the summer help left last week, because they were very short-staffed and the few servers they had were running around. We also received a significant amount of attitude when I asked to be moved to a table with a water view (we are in Newport, right?). The food itself is very good, but I'd skip this spot on my next weekend in Newport."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2006
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

On the water

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice and secluded right in the middle of Newport Harbor. Watch the sun set over the yachts while enjoying great drinks and even better food."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Don't fall into this trap. We were sad we waisted one of our nights in Newport here. We waited an extra 1/2 hour for our table, 15min for our waitress to come over to greet us, and the food was sub par at best. Our waitress was rude, and neglectful of our complaints about the service, which made us feel awkward to begin with. I gave this place 2 stars because after resorting to asking to speak with a manager, he brought out an extra cup of soup. The place also turns into a club at 9pm. For the price, you can get a much better meal at all the other places in Newport with a lot less attitude from the staff."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly recommended

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Perfect for a date night or celebrating a special occasion! I highly recommend the scallops!"
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for The Grill at Forty 1 North
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>