Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Gibraltar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Gibraltar

Beyond the hustle and bustle of South Beach Gibraltar offers a lavish setting with gorgeous Biscayne Bay views that are punctuated by the glittering Miami skyline. Gibraltar’s setting alone is enough to knock your socks off, with seating either inside the intimate and elegant dining room or on the outdoor terrace, adorned with gauzy curtains and candlelight. Of course, the ambiance sets the mood, but Gibraltar’s crowning feature is its cuisine. Executive Chef Ted Mendez adds his signature style to each entrée by utilizing the best of local seafood and produce that complements the seasons. Whether enjoying a Lavish Dinner to “Popping the Big Question”, Gibraltar is the perfect location, providing intimate, four-star dining experiences with remarkable service.
146 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(146 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 146 reviews
5 stars
(65)
4 stars
(39)
3 stars
(28)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(96)
  • romantic(79)
  • great for outdoor dining(74)
  • special occasion(60)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • good for groups(22)
Gibraltar Reviews List
Review 1 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/11/2012
 2011
Dined on 8/11/2012
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant is located in a beautiful private island. I will recommend this for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Great food and ok service."
Dined on 8/11/2012
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Impeccable service and beautiful ambiance"
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Best seafood risotto I have ever had!!!"
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went for my 2 year anniversary. I have to say the place is beautiful and romantic. Has a nice view of the bay. Beautiful sunsets, service was amazing. Waiter was very informative. Food was good, not great. But overall we enjoyed it a lot! I would recommend it to a friend."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2000
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2000
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

AMAZING!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was impeccable and the food was delicious."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb Ambiance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Relaxed atmosphere and gorgeous views of the bay sitting out on the terrace. I went with a girlfriend for the Miami Spice dinner, but the place is perfectly suited for a romantic date just as well. The service was just a tad slow, hence my 4-star rating. We didn't mind because we had a lot of catching up to do and the balmyy breeze blowing that night was very enjoyable. And our server Luis was friendly and attentive. Just don't go if you expect to be out in under 2 hours. The asparragus soup was delicious with a silky texture to it, while the fried calamari & shrimp was good but a bit spicy and had excess of peanuts for my taste. The Seabass was fresh and had great flavor. I would have it again. We had the local berries with Greek yogurt, which was extraordinary; and the banana browny sundae which flavor was just okay and with only a tiny dollop of ice cream. A good experience overall."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Go to Gibraltar

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've never heard of this restaurant until i randomly chose it from Miami new times mainland/ south restaurants participating in Miami Spice. I chose it for the great waterfront view and the proximity to my job (as I was going for lunch and had to be at work soon afterward). But, I had no idea that the food was going to be so good. I didn't really bother to check what type of cuisine but the Miami spice menu online seemed decent. I think the food is Mediterranean? I'm possibly wrong but its Ok. The food was pretty great anyways. I had a calarami and shrimp dish, kind of like a gumbo, and then a red snapper entrée and chrro and ice cream desert. My girl friend had Cuban fish soup which wasn't that tasty and 4hr short ribs on tostones which was delicious and the same desert. I recommended this restaurant to all my friends that asked after seeing my food Snapchats and those that didn't lol. Not to mention the service was on point, which is uncommon in Miami. Perfect place for a nice intimate date with a great view. You should go."
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great view and food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The bay view is amazing!! We sat outside, and was able to enjoy live music. It's definitely the perfect spot for a romantic evening. The food was stellar, as well. Everything was cooked with passion! Definitely will be back for another visit."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The grouper crudo was excellent. The short ribs were amazing. Such a beautiful view, peaceful and soothing. A great place to have a relaxing dinner after a long day. Great service too!"
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The view was amazing, the food delicious! We took advantage of the Miami Spice Dinner menu and everything on there was amazing and the portion sizes were just right."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food and nice view on Miami

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had lunch there for Miami spice.
The food was good.
The place is nice. However, it was raining heavily so the view on Miami was not that great but it was good to have a view on the outside.
The food was good.
There was not too much AC and the music was not loud.
"
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and bay view

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We did the miami Spice Luncheon menu and the food was outstanding along with the service and personalized attention. I was surprised since we had a group of 5 adults and 2 kids the food was served all at once. The attention from the staff was excellent."
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were treated very amicable and professional by our server "Luis M.", the view of this restaurant is great, and the live guitarist was an unexpected added bonus, but...
The way they do math does NOT add up:
Our server explained a few "specials" that were not on the menu, one of them was the filet mignon, called on the attached photo of the check "LANDFOOD SPECIAL", they never mentioned anything about prices on the 2 or 3 "specials".
The filet mignon or LANDFOOD SPECIAL was small, with too much grease and bone. When we received the check I was shocked by seeing "2 LANDFOOD SPECIAL $124.00". This meant they charged me $62.00 per Filet Mignon with lower quality that Outback Victoria Filet which cost only $24...
My main complaint is NOT even the $62.00 per filet, it's the obvious set-up of not including it on the regular menu and then offer it "verbally omitting the prices". That's a real and legal way to pickpocket people. I have gone to several great Steakhouses, some of them use to offer specials that are NOT in the menu and ALWAYS the server explain the specials with their prices. Below and with * are the ones I have personally gone and being offered specials with disclosed prices*. Last on the list is Outback which is not a top Steakhouse and does NOT use the specials strategy but their food is super cheap and delicious:
*Smith and Wollensky ($45 to $53 Filet Mignon 8oz)
*Bern's Steakhouse ($39.70 Filet Mignon 8oz)
*Capital Grill ($40 to $45 Filet Mignon 8oz)
*Chicago Cut ($31 to $50 Filet Mignon 8oz-14oz)
Outback ($24 Filet Mignon 8oz)
Paying the $62.00 per filet mignon is not the only mathematic problem, they charge me a total of 320.40 from which Florida Taxes of 7% should be $22.42 but they charge $28.84 which is actually a 9%. This is letting them to include taxes on the pre-add 20% gratuity (which should not be taxed since it will be a double taxation because the server is responsible to paying his/her state and federal taxes).
..."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Amazing View!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and service were great and the ambiance was better. A great restaurant for brunch or a romantic dinner!"
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food, questionable service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"After finally locating the rest in a gated community/hotel, our experience had mixed emotions. Since we arrived earlier than our reservation, headed to the bar for cocktails. Kevin made my gf a great martini. Few minutes later we were sat down. Kevin brought us our waters and informed us of the day's specials listed on the Miami Spice menu. The selections were great, from the starters to the entrees and the desserts. After he left us, it took over 45 mins for a server to finally approach us (after I tried to flag down servers for other tables) and finally take our order.
Tables around us were also as frustrated. One table in particular had received their check as we got sat down and the server did not pick up to process his credit card until the same time we placed our order. Word got to the hostess/manager of the frustration from the guests that she came around to each table. We informed her we had placed our food order about 3 mins before. Knowing what time she sat us down she quickly apologized and said this will be taken care of.
Each course of our meal arrived promptly and was really good (recommend the sea bass and the kingfish). Best thing was dessert as we both ordered croissant bread pudding. To our delight, it was chocolate croissant. During our meal Kevin chose an excelent pairing wine for our meal, compliments of him.
As we requested our check, the servers approached our table and deeply apologized for what had happened earlier and comped our meal. We were greatful for the gesture and insisted that we'd pay. They again thanked us for visiting and wished us a happy anniversary, something Kevin must have overheard when we toasted at the beginning of the evening while at the bar.
Mixed emotions: impressed with the views and ambiance, dissapointed and frustrated on the length to food, thrilled with the food, grateful with ownership of mistakes, and moved with recalling our anniversary.
"
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The food was salty and the dessert was cold.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

3.5/5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I went to Gibraltar on a Friday night with a friend of mine and was sat outside by the water. The view was absolutely breathtaking, but once the night set in we were getting completely eaten by mosquitos all over. The food was good, though our server continuously pushed a Cobb salad special on us even after we has turned it down a few times. Once we got our check, we were charged twice for our bottle of champagne. This wouldn't have been a problem to fix, except we were so eager to leave due to the mosquitos it was agony waiting those extra five minutes. Over all the restaurant is beautiful, though I suggest sitting away from the grass and checking your bill over well before paying."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/27/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/14/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2014
 2013
Dined on 8/30/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Gibraltar

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant overall was very good. The scenery is beautiful and the wait staff was great. The only drawback was that although the restaurant was empty and we had made reservations, they made us sit at the bar for 20 minutes before seating us. In addition, the spicy food was not labeled as such and everything my husband ordered was very spicy. For medical reasons, he should not eat spicy food. If the food is spicy, it should be labeled as such."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Romantic Restaurant with a spectacular view

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went to Gibraltar to celebrate our 2 year anniversary. We were very pleased with the food."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Girls Annual Outting /3 Bdays Celebrations

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We came to celebrate 3 of our girlfriends bdays as we do annually. We always try to pick a cool spot offering Miami Spice menu and decided to try Gibraltar for lunch. The view was AMAZING! The food was just OK; the soup was salty and looked like it was from a can (we sent it back). Our waiter Wellington was very nice and friendly; however our food took over 2 hours to be served and the place was not busy at all. One of the girls ordered Yogurt and fruits for dessert but there was hardly any yogurt (all fruits). The ribs were pretty good and so was the fish from the Miami Spice menu. It was pretty family friendly which is nice; however, we were on a girls' outting and there were screaming children at the restaurant which didn't allow us to enjoy our time away from our screaming children who we left at home. Overall the restaurant could use some work on the service and on some of the dishes.
We always have a great time on our annual outting, but will probably not return to this restaurant for our next girls outting.
"
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Stay away!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was looking for a romantic evening...I was expecting an impressive view of the Miami Skyline, but all you can see was Mercy Hospital, and, very, very, far away, Miami. The view of the bay from Coconut Grove is much more impressive! Since it was windy and the hostess told us that it could get buggy, we decided to take a table by the window. It was a Sunday night, at 7:30.
The lighting did not help either. There was a candle at the table, that we had to ask to be lit. The room was so dark, that the waitress had to use her phone flashlight to help the other patrons read their menu!
I had read that they had scallops for an entree. Somebody had complained that there were only two scallops. I did not care: I don't mind to have small portions, if they are beautifully presented and delicious. Alas, the menu is all new, and no scallops...
The waitress, who could not have been nicer, told us about all the specials, without mentioning the price. I asked, and was glad I did, because most of the entrees were in the 20s, while the specials were in the 40s...
For an appetizer I had Korean Style short ribs. This was my first, so I was surprised to see that they were cut perpendicular to the bone, very, very thin. There were dry and tough to chew. And there were enough to feed a small army!
For an entree my wife asked for the fish of the day, snapper. What came looked and tasted very much like swordfish, dry too. We told the waitress who went back to the kitchen to investigate. She came back assuring us that it was snapper...oh well.
I had salmon with a Greek salad. The salmon was perfectly cooked, but the salad had too many black olives, cut very small and therefore was too salty.
For dessert we asked for a brownie with ice cream and caramelized banana. Pretty standard, right? Well, the brownie was large and the ice cream and the banana tiny. The brownie had nutella, and was also hard. I love brownies and also love nutella, and I could not eat this one!
"
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2004
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good miami spice menu, BAD service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went there for Miami Spice, pics and reviews look good..
turns out its in an older hotel / condo building on an island in the gables, the menu looked very good and the Food was good. All of the portions were rightsized and all was tasty -- when we got them ??>>>!!!
waited for 30 mins for our reservation.. no problem its miami.
waited over an hor for appys.. NOT ACCEPTABLE.. Delivered wrong dishes.. NOT ACCEPTABLE.. Delivered them 30 mins apart fro each other.. NOT ACCEPTABLE.
BUT THE FOOD AND VIEW WAS GOOD. (not great )"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2005
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Meh restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Tried it during Miami Spice and was not impressed at all after my visit. Service was ok, food could hace been better. They also had a guitar player going from one table to the other, problem was the fact that it got a bit noisy.
Restaurant area could also be improved, seemed like a property in disinvest mode.
"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/11/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Gibraltar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, seated by the ocean..awesome

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>