Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Waterstone Bar and Grille Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Waterstone Bar and Grille

Mount Vernon and Seton Hills only wine bar and lounge. Serving Mediterranean cuisine, vegetarian, daily specials and the best wines and cocktails in town. We are extremely popular for several reasons. Our proximity to all the popular theaters: Hippodrome, BSO, Lyric, Centerstage and all the independent theaters in the area. Our wine selection is made affordable to everyone. Diners are able to choose from over 100 flavors of wine, dozens of international beers and Mediterranean cuisine.
25 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(25 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(8)
  • good for groups(6)
  • romantic(6)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • special occasion(4)
  • vibrant bar scene(3)
Waterstone Bar and Grille Reviews List
Review 1 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Shuttered

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There is nothing to review Waterstone was locked and had black drapes over the windows. Filled items above because we could not experience anything."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not Open!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a 5:30 reservation for Friday, October 2nd. Our party arrived and the restaurant was locked up and not a single person was in the restaurant - customers or wait staff. I can't really comment on the food because we didn't get a chance to try anything! No one in our party will return to the restaurant. It left us in quite a bind . If you do try Waterstone I suggest you call in advance to make sure they are open!"
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Awful....simply awful

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Pathetic excuse for a restaurant...service was non-existent, profanity laced music blaring away in the family section, food was an hour and half late.....awful, simply awful!"
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2014
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Understaffed but good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been here a bunch of times, and it's especially convenient when going to the symphony. Food is good, prices are reasonable, and I can almost always find parking. Service was a bit slow - there was only one person on duty in the front."
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Service was wonderful.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our lamb chops were seasoned and cooked, perfectly. The calamaria was delicious. Our waiter was great, we told him we had to make a show so he made sure we were served quickly."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Just a few blocks from the Maryland Historical Society where a friend and I were attending an event. Good food and prices, excellent service. Lovely decor with a fountain. Cozy and friendly. Parking was easy ."
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

false advertising

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The dinner was okay, Overall it was a mediocre experience. What i have an issue with is that the Valentines Dinner was advertised to come with a $25 dollar gift certificate. When we got our check, i asked the waitress about it and she looked at me like I was crazy. I showed her that marketed deal on my phone and she told me it must of been a "typo". A typo. I asked if she would please ask the manager about it and she said she would. Never did. We sat there waiting and only to not cause a scene since it was so quiet there, I didn't say anything and i emailed the restaurant directly after we left. Never got a response. It was rude, and not a way in which you should do business. That's called false advertising. I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend strictly for the lack of professionalism."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

May try again

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant environment is quite nice, with warm colors and comfortable decor. The server was largely good: attentive, friendly but not trying to start a conversation. The food was only ok. First, they were out of two appetizers (and that was one ding on the server...she had to come out to tell us after she took our order), one of which - the cauliflower - was listed as a "favorite" on the menu. The appetizer we got was a salty, unappetizing dish of olives, sundried tomatoes and capers straight from a can, in a little bit of olive brine. My husband's pork was a little dry for being cooked medium. My fish - grilled snapper - was good but the brussel sprouts were really plain (maybe even no salt or pepper?) and the frying left them greasy outside and a little undercooked inside. Another ding was that I asked if I could have the grilled snapper (the special) instead of the breaded, flash friend snapper on the regular menu, but with the brussel sprouts that came with regular menu item, I was charged an extra $7 ($27 vs $20). Online, the fish of the day is $20 and on the menu, it was "market price". I wish the server explained that it would be an extra $7 to have grilled fish vs breaded, fried fish....There was a notice out front of a hearing for transfer of ownership on 1/22/2015. So, maybe we'll try again in a few months."
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

jpivec

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was great, very cosey, wine awsome, service great, nice bar area....."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

food disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Website and menu prices in restaurant didn't match, food disappointing and they ran out of my vodka in New Years eve? This is not the typical experience for this restaurant"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful restaurant in Mt. Vernon!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A great place to take a date! Food is amazing!! The service is very personal!! The calamari, steak points and whole red snapper are my favs!!"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Creative ... bit untraditional

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Happened to be a work party at same time and restaurant is small so was very kid. Staff did try to accommodate by moving us. Love the menu and reasonably priced. One if dishes was luke warm and overcooked but still really like the restaurant. Excellent service."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Waterstone Bar and Grille
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
4 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate