Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Benson Hotel Reviews List

The Benson Hotel

The Benson Hotel was established in 1913. Steeped in tradition and elegant history, The Benson Hotel carries forth fine dining traditions with a contemporary mix of recipes from around the world, local Northwest culinary styles and classic timeless dishes.

We create memories. You carry forth the tradition. We cater to generations.
See more The Benson Hotel details
20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(10)
  • great for brunch(4)
  • fit for foodies(3)
  • good for groups(3)
  • romantic(3)
  • notable wine list(2)
The Benson Hotel Reviews List
Review 1 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

sslad, soup am

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We really enjoyed our Christmas dinner at the Benson. It was very nicely decorated with a musician softly playing a guitar, the waiter was very friendly, and did a great job making us feel welcome and special. The pace of the dinner was relaxed and we didn't feel rushed and we were able to relax and really enjoy our special dinner."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

We made a huge mistake picking The Benson.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The risotto was bland, the scallops too soft and prime rib sat with a tablespoon of powdered mashed potatoes. The dessert tasted like it came from Walmart, could not eat more than first bite."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Upstairs downstairs

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The main floor of the hotel has such character. The downstairs where we dined is so not the same! It seems to be an afterthought. The meal was fine and staff were very nice."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Elegant, classy, and vintage!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thanksgiving

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I remember coming here with my parents many years ago for holiday dinners. I wasn't disappointed at all and look forward to starting this traditional with my family."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dowdy, Over-priced, Poorly served

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was supposed to be a special Christmas Day dining out experience. Well, it was an experience, but not in a good way. To begin with, we would have preferred to eat later than 5:30 but we were given to understand that 5:30 was the latest available time. We were there until nearly 7 and at no time was the dining room more than half full. As a result there was zero energy in the room. Most of the diners were senior citizens (including us). Wait staff veered from overly friendly and poorly trained, to barely acknowledging the diners and poorly trained. Food was a big disappointment. My mushroom truffle soup arrived with a full pat of butter floating on top of a skim of truffle oil in a soup cup. The soup was so cold that the pat of butter didn't melt. That made it easy to fish out of the soup, but the wait staff left it on my bread plate for the entire dinner. So unappetizing. I had the ricotta and wild rice crepes entree. They arrived on a cold plate, having clearly been put through the oven to be warmed up so that the crepes were crispy like a cannelloni shell on the edges and chewy/soggy in the middle. The wild rice stuffing was undercooked--hard bits of wild rice, miniscule ricotta cheese if any, and lots of pepper. There was no sauce at all. The Brussels sprouts were likewise cold, but had been over roasted at some point in too much oil, and the entire plate of food was doused in more black pepper. That was my $33 dinner: a cup of cold mushroom soup, 2 bad crepes and a handful of Brussels sprouts, and a square of gingerbread with canned cranberry relish on the side. On the other hand, for $35, my partner had two big slabs of some kind of pork roast, with a big slice of some bread-y dressing loaf, gravy, and a mound of over-cooked kale. He also got a small handful of the kind of mixed greens lettuce that comes in a bag, and an anemic chocolate mousse with store bought sugar cookies. I'd go on but I'm out of space. Should have settled for pretzels in the bar."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Faded Glory in the London Grill

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I knew the hotel had closed the London Grill some time ago, but hoped that some semblance of it's ambiance and service and food remained, especially for Christmas dinner. It was not to be. Both of us ordered the Prime Rib, appropriate to the season. I had the mushroom soup for an opener; my partner had the salad (only two choices). No rave reviews there, soup bland, salad ok. Entree was uneventful except to say the quality of the prime rib was very good. The mashed potatoes must have come out of a box and were over-watered. The sauce for the meat had been prepared with cornstarch or some kind of thickener; what's wrong with au jus? To complete the plate were two slices of sweet potato treated as an after thought. Dessert could have saved some of the joy the day usually brings. My chocolate mousse with peppermint candy shards was acceptable only to the degree that it could have been worse. We cannot remember what my partner had for dessert, so that must say something. The intent of the servers was well-placed but the execution was so wanting. Refilling our coffee called for picking up our cup at the rim with bare fingers. All in all, training of the servers could be stepped up. Reaching across the front of the diner is a no-no. Being too talkative and palsy is a no-no. And, finally, turning the lights lower by couple of clicks would have done wonders for the ambiance. I am going to try to forget this experience and remember the glory days of the old London Grill."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Christmas

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It is so nice that the Benson is once again using the London Grill for special occasions like Christmas dinner. The decorations, ambiance and music made for a special event."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Benson Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Christmas Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Honestly, this place was the "land that time forgot." Service and food were good, however I will not return, nor recommend this place to friends."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Benson Hotel
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
4 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
3.4 / 3
Energetic