Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chelsea's Chowder House Reviews List

Chelsea's Chowder House

Choose from a variety of chowders, stews and brews for an unforgettable, international culinary experience. High-quality steaks offer diners a tempting alternative to seafood, but it is the seafood that rules at Chelsea Chowder House. Sample our most popular chowders, which change weekly, or savor one of our other signature fresh seafood dishes.
See more Chelsea's Chowder House details
247 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(247 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 247 reviews
5 stars
(101)
4 stars
(85)
3 stars
(35)
2 stars
(21)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(187)
  • special occasion(119)
  • romantic(83)
  • great for lunch(51)
  • fit for foodies(48)
  • good for groups(48)
Chelsea's Chowder House Reviews List
Review 1 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not a fan

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The online menu was why I reserved a table for my boyfriend's birthday. The online menu was not the same as the menu they gave us. Everything I was looking forward to was not an option pnve we got there.
It was over priced and the service was less than satisfactory. WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK
"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Our Reservation

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I booked this restaurant a week prior to arrival - with a note that it was to celebrate my fiance's birthday. We were seated next to a table of 8-10 people who were SO LOUD we couldn't hear ourselves think. They should have had a private room. Eventually we were reseated at the other end of the venue. The food for the price was only mediocre. I was very disappointed. We ordered shrimp scampi but it tasted more like a heavy Alfredo sauce. Waitstaff were all pleasant but appeared stressed. I would Not recommend this place to anyone."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/04/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is a great place to.dine while touring the Queen Mary. Very family friendly too"
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Historical Daydream

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Close your eyes and you will be transported back in time. Excellent ambiance for a quiet lunch. Often historic restaurants like these rely on the location and neglect the quality, however the food and service were surprisingly fantastic."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely Spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Once we were seated, everything was great! The staff was VERY nice and service was prompt. The food and drinks were good. The view was beautiful.
Two points of criticism only :
-- I noted in my Open Table reservation that my date and I were going for his birthday. However, the staff was not aware.
-- When we arrived, no one was at the front, so we had to ask the bartender what to do. He instructed us to wait for the hostess. Then we kept waiting...and waiting. Not a big deal but it was a bit awkward.
Everything else was great! Would definitely recommend to others."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not good, too expensive

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Diner Christmas day.
It was very cold in the restaurant. Gasts with coats on at the table.
Soup was great.
Chicken was a poor dish for a lot of money.
Coffee was the worst I've ever had for a lot of money.
Waiter was cranky.
$200,- for 3 persons for a poor diner evening.
Don't go there!!
"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Evening Out

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Enjoyed Christmas dinner with my partner at the window with a beautiful clear view of Long Beach with the mountains in the distance. The menu is short, but a great selection to choose from. Afterwards we walked off our meal with a stroll around this historical gem."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not A Romanic Christmas Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We arrived early for a reservations and we were allowed to seat. We thought we were being bought to the end of the restaurant because it was more quite and romantic with the lights lower there. After we received our bottle of champagne, which was nice, a large family was seated next to us and crying babies. Then they turned on the bright lights in our eyes and now not able to see outside the boat too. We asked for a different seat, which we got, but crammed in a corner. We thought we would at least receive a free dessert for our troubles."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Family Meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Fun place to have a Christmas dinner with the view of Long Beach and access to the Queen Mary. Service was very good, we were seated promptly and our food was served in a timely manner. Considering it was Christmas day and usually have issues with the staff. Would recommend it."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Best lobster bisque around. The food was very good and more reasonably priced than other similar prix fix Christmas dinners."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Looking for a special Christmas Eve dining experience while staying as guest aboard the Queen Mary. We specifically chose this restaurant because of the menu selection advertised on line. Unfortunately the menu was limited to shorten dining time and ensure quick table turnover which was not communicated at time of booking."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mediocre food and service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We dined at Chelsea's Chowder House to celebrate the 15th anniversary of our marriage proposal at the Queen Mary. We dressed up in 1930's attire and I notified the restaurant of our special occasion. While we were seated near a window, so were all the other diners at that time, and no mention was made of our attire or our special reason for being there.
Overall, the food and service were mediocre, especially considering the price and need to pay for parking.
We'll stick with Roy's Hawaiian Restaurant, as they treat you right on special occasions and their food is amazing.
"
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Chelsea Chowder House - winner in my book

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Delicious filet mignon and lobster, melt in your mouth. Great service, polite and accomodating. Lovely view of Long Beach. Highly recommend and looking forward to a return visit. This was a birthday dinner and could not have been a nicer experience. Quiet restaurant, nice to be able to hear the conversation at the table without interference."
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dinner experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food is lousy and too expensive. We had clam appetizer with soup and the waiter did not bother providing a spoon to scoop the clams out of the bowl. No spoon for the pasta, I have to struggle to put it in my mouth with fork without spilling it on my clothes. Spend over $100 for two people. Not recommended to my friends."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Amazing experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It was okay

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu I initially saw was not up to date. The menu that made me decide to make a reservation at this restaurant because filet mignon and a lobster tail sounded perfect, didn't exist anymore. That was the first and biggest disappointment. The seafood menu that was available was a joke compared to what was expected (that being said, the clam chowder was delightful). The pictures online make the restaurant seem beautiful, grand, and vintage. It's none of these things in reality. It looks like it's trying to appear fancy but the decorator had zero taste and added awkward lighting.
On the positive, the view of Long Beach was beautiful, the service was wonderful, and it's on board the Queen Mary.
"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for Thanksgiving or any holiday/event!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went at 3 on Thanksgiving Day. It was my husbands birthday, too. Had a great meal and terrific service. Their clam chowder cannot be beaten! Views are second to none. Then, we walked around the ship and it was a perfect day."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Cuisine selection limited. Prices exhorbitant."
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice view

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The pan chicken wasn't as good as last time, more potatoes than tomatoes and sauce this time around but I would definitely recommend the lobster bisque and the salmon."
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Chelsea's Chowder House on the Queen Mary

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were a party of 4, including two older children, and wanted very good food in a less formal setting. This perfectly fit the bill. The shrimp cocktail was outstanding, as was the clam chowder. Both featured the freshest possible shellfish and the portions were generous. The children had filets, cooked perfectly, and the salmon and vegetables were both unusual and delicious. Only one (decadent) desert was ordered but it was such a generous size that all four of us shared it.
Their by-the-gIass wine list could certainly be expanded. And since larger groups can be (and were) seated in this dining space, it was very loud at times. But overall, very enjoyable dinner. I would definitely return.
BTW, a water glass was knocked over (by an adult) and 3 of the wait staff hustled over and in seconds had us all mopped up and dried off. They couldn't have been more efficient. Kudos to them.
"
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was Mediocre , steak was returned twice tough

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Shipboard dining

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Being on the Queen Mary, you have few dining choices. This restaurant was acceptable, food wasn't exceptional but ok. I had the Asian Chicken Salad and though I've had better, it was ok. It was very cool in the restaurant but that was that same on most of the ship"
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dinner On The Queen Mary

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Hostess was rude when we first got there. Waiter was nice, but it took forever for food to arrive. I would have understood if the place was busy. I had the filet that was tender and cooked perfectly. My daughter had a fish dish that included the best mashed sweet potato . Overall, if you have the time to wait forever for your food, by all means have dinner here. The food was delicious. If you have other plans for the evening, skip it."
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"All of the food was excellent, we'll seasoned and very flavorful"
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Chelsea's Chowder House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Table Cloth

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Remove paper table cloth and replace with linen; for this kind of somewhat expensive restaurant, linen table cloth is an expectation."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>