Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Spiedo - San Mateo Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Spiedo - San Mateo

Located in downtown San Mateo, Spiedo is a comfortable restaurant featuring rustic Italian cuisine. Our kitchen houses a mesquite-fired grill and rotisserie, as well as a wood burning pizza oven. In addition, our menu showcases house-made pasta, fresh local seafood, salumi and cheeses.

For the month of June & July, Spiedo is celebrating its 'Grand Closing'. To thank all of our guests for their patronage since 1991, we are proud to offer a new menu and 1/2 OFF our wine list. A new 3-Course Luncheon & Dinner menu will also be available.

We look forward to seeing you for our celebration! Grazie!
47 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(47 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • good for groups(14)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • great for lunch(9)
  • special occasion(9)
  • kid-friendly(6)
Spiedo - San Mateo Reviews List
Review 1 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Speido

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The place is getting ready for a badly needed remodel. It looks worn out. Food was good although they ran out of chicken, which doesn't make sense."
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Crispy Chicken

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The rotisserie chicken was excellent, with crispy chicken.
This restaurant will be closing and reopening in another style, but I hope they keep the chicken!"
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sad to see them close :(

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is a consistent restaurant that has been in San Mateo for many years. The service is great and the food has no comparison as how rich, fresh and delicious is.
I am sad that they are closing within two weeks and look forward to see if they decide on a small spin off with great food !
Good luck!!"
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A delight!!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Spiedo is a San Mateo gem... The restaurant is never full and because is big and spacious may give the idea that is not a busy place... Do not get fooled even when busy the standard of service does not drop. The food is PERFECT, delicious and fresh!
A very unique and simple menu that highlights the best of their kitchen while keeping it varied for its customers.
I will be back for the sea bass or perhaps ... Salmone pasta... Or a pizza... Oh so many options!
Thank you Spiedo!"
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is the 2nd time we have been there and we live in San Jose. We always meet up there when dining with our friends from up north. Spiedo's has become our place,"
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had an outstanding pasta--it was one of the specials the night we went, and we told them they should put it on their regular menu. Fettucini with really good, really big prawns, asparagus and mushrooms in a white wine and cream sauce. it was very garlicky in a good way. We shared a delicious Caeser salad. My friend's pizza, however, didn't have much flavor. Cocktails from the full bar were excellent."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food, good wine selection

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Not impressed with interior. Our table tipped whenever we put our elbows on the table. The food was nothing special especially for the prices; same with the wines. Markups are too high. Our server was very good."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyable Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Spiedo's does not disappoint. The menu is well-rounded. Personally, I selected osso bucco. The meat was tender and prepared perfectly and the plate on which my entre was ;served upon was warm However, this was my second choice. It turns out my first choice, roasted duck, was not available because another member in our party ordered roasted duck before the server reached me. This is the second time this has happened. The lesson learned is I will call ahead the next we decide to go!
Finally,"
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very nice!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were a party of 5 and everyone REALLY enjoyed their meal. The service was very attentive. We all shared several orders of the scallops appetizer which was cooked perfectly - melted in your mouth! My so. And I shared the rabbit and lamb chops and I would order either again anytime. My husband had the Osso Buco and said it was excellent. All of the sauces were so good that we all soaked them up with the excellent bread. We will definitely be going back here again!"
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

WHAT a GEM!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was a great surprise and I can not be happier with the service and the FOOD that we received. Everyone seemed to enjoy the food and was a great experience."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

skip spiedo

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was fabulous. Thank you to the chefs on staff valentine evening. The wait staff really needs to be trained, as the service was very poor. We had to go to the bar to get our own drinks. We had to ask for bread, butter, and an additional set of silverware. A steak knife was dropped on the floor directly behind me. It bounced on the floor under my chair and hit my leg. When I jumped up and told the waiter what he did, he laughed. There were curtains hanging over windows which enclosed the kitchen. They were practically taped up rather than hung properly. It could be a nice place if wait service was better and someone showed some TLC for the decor"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Loud, long wait

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2006
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Acoustics make it difficult for older people to hear, no kids menu. Waited 45 Minutes for food which is difficult for the very young and the very old. I ordered the Saltibocca, which wasn't nearly as good as what I make at home."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food! Private Room - no additional $$$!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been to Spiedo's MANY, MANY times over the years. Great atmosphere- Either outside sitting on several sidewalk tables, or in booths just inside with floor to ceiling open windows, or
inside in a light flooded dining room during the day (by a big skylight). The color ambiance is
warm and friendly. Our lunch food was very good - particularly enjoyed the antipasto tray, also their pan inis and calzone, as well as the pastas are good choices. Our friend also enjoyed his lamb. They were attentive, and very kind, especially with one member who was with a walker, they
even helped her to the car that you can park just by their rear door, as it opens to the public garage. Have also used them for a Birthday PARTY celebration of 45, with a private room of to the
side of the dining room at no additional $$.. Everything was FANTASTIC and they worked with us on many details - they even let us bring our own cake!!! I really like the people who run this restaurant!!! Teddy
"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food, lousy service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was great. Unfortunately, The service was bad. Probably our last visit from many years of coming here."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Good Italian in Downtown SM

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Menu has a good variety and some unusual items. Enjoyed Arancini, Fettucine Verdi and Canneloni. Bread is good too! Generous portions. Hostess friendly and offered choice of tables. Pleasant street views as well as handsome restaurant interior. Service not obtrusive and well timed. Overall a very good meal!"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Overall great choice!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our daughter was leaving for Cape Town, South Africa for three months and she wanted Italian food for her "last" meal. We needed a restaurant close to the San Francisco Airport, and this fit the bill. The food was OUTSTANDING! Large portions and tons of flavor! We arrived at 4:30, ate and were at the international terminal by 5:45! We will be returning! They even had Rombauer Chardonnay by the glass! Five stars!"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Too bad.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"While I anticipated reduced level of service on a holiday like Christmas, I never would have expected the unwelcoming reception we received. Our Open Table reservation was treated like a bad cold; the hostess began arguing with me over the spelling/pronunciation of our name. Once seated, we received minimal attention from our server. It wasn't very busy (although it picked up a bit while we were there). At one point, I observed another family being led in by the hostess who looked confused and kept casting about for table options while the family stood by waiting for a table to be set. The special menu was pricier for dinner than normal, and portion sizes were pretty small -- sautéed veggies, maybe two cauliflowerettes. Dessert was half-heartedly offered, so we declined. Altogether a regretful choice."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Had reservations, but no one seemed to care!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Made reservations for dinner at 7:30pm. Arrived a little early about 7:25pm. Announced our arrival to the hostess. Then other parties began to arrive after us. We were told that we would get the next available table, but the other two parties were seated before us because they seemed familiar/friendly with the staff. So they got priority over our reservations. Not cool, bad business. Everyone should be treated equally after all, money is money? Whatever :/"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Spiedo - San Mateo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food and service was excellent. Truly owned and operated by family members.."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spiedo - San Mateo
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
11 out of 16 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic