Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Maximo's Italian Grill Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Maximo's Italian Grill

Maximo’s has been a French quarter hot spot for over 30 years. Serving Tuscan style roasting with a fiery New Orleans twist, Maximo’s is an oasis of Italian sophistication. The restaurant features an open kitchen & a grill bar. The bold diner can watch and interact as our staff prepares cuisine that rivals the best restaurants from New York to Rome.

Fresh local meats, cheeses and produce are delivered daily to create our famous Fire Roasted entrées. Dine on House Made Four Cheese Ravioli or New Orleans famous Crawfish Diavolo. Pair our kitchens specialties with a bottle from our extensive wine list.

With a following of locals, celebrities and business people from all over the country, Maximo’s wine list, craft cocktails and gastronomic delights warm the soul. The energy of New Orleans music and culture blends with exquisite Italian food creating an experience you won’t soon forget.
43 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(43 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
(18)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • romantic(14)
  • special occasion(14)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • notable wine list(12)
  • good for groups(10)
Maximo's Italian Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A favorite! It is loud, though."
Dined on 12/27/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First off its a nice looking place with a very good staff and atmosphere and great food.
Started with the shrimp then had the crawfish fra diavolo then finished with the osso buco. All where wonderful and not to be missed. Good wine selection.
"
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have eaten here many times and the food and service are always good. we arrived at about 8:30, and were seated immediately. we ordered cocktails and chatted while we ate their amazing bread. our waitress was very friendly and efficient without being all over us. i had the meatballs, which were quite good, although i thought a bit bready. my husband had the veal, which was a generous chop. the whole experience was, as always, good."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great night out

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"In for Jazzfest and picked one of our favorite places to catch a late dinner with friends. Maximo's never disappoints; all 4 of us had different entrées and passed around although I kind've jogged my Veal Saltimbucca. The Crawfish Diavalo was excellent as well as the Hanger Steak . One of the gals ordered two appetizers which were excellent also. We were their last seating but their staff paid attention to us and although it took a little while to get our main courses they kept us abreast of it and served us well with drinks and some extra app's to keep us comfortable waiting. All in all an ever lasting gem in the quarter."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A downhill slide

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First off, Ian, Beverage Manager and bartender with a rear gift for picking good well priced wines, was no longer in evidence. Luckily the wine list still shows evidence of his presence. Large selection by the glass.
On previous trips to New Orleans, I enjoyed the flexibility. You could always get a pasta whipped up with eclectic ingredients and be confident of its competent preparation. This time the pastas were overcooked and soggy.
We were forced to resist a table all the way back next to the kitchen's swinging doors, not a great start.
I had a very good veal dish, tender, topped with fontina, but unfortunately it was served with a tasteless gloppy pesto. They do serve half-orders, on a previous visit I had a pasta marinara with similarly overcooked penne and a less the memorable sauce---two bad nights? Maybe!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In the French quarter
Great food and wine
Service was very good
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not the best music for an Italian restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We would have preferred music other than 1970's disco. Service was great."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Surprise Find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service, the food, amazing. best accidental find in new Orleans, hands down!"
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Get a new bartender

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ordered a Makers Mark Old Fashion. This is a standard New Orleans drink. Took one sip and was barely able to swallow Asked others. In my party to taste, all said left a terrible taste in mouth. Not a good way to start a dining experience. Used to be patrons, but mediocre service and food have changed that. Sorry to see a New Orleans institution fade like this."
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food,staff were great

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We made our reservation over 6 weeks in advance. we were early and the restaurant was not busy when we got there. Staff was very friendly and it was Christmas Day. Table was ready but when seated I was very disappointed, it was obvious better tables were held for locals. we were in the walkway and no one was there yet. with advance reservations and early reserves we couldn't have had a better table? Food was good and a great choice being it was christmas."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Made reservations here for Christmas night. Wasn't sure what restaurants would even be open but found this one through Open Table. My wife and I go to NO 3 or 4 times a year for long weekends and usually eat Italian one night while there. Was pleasantly surprised by their wine list. Usually drink Napa cabs but opted for Italian due to their large selection. The food was excellent. My wife had the meatballs and they were great. I had the Bolognese and it was prepared perfectly. Will return on next visit. Our server Cara was attentive and professional."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Usually better

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We dined here on Christmas eve. Service was poor, but food was good. I suspect they just were understaffed. Typically, we have a great experience here."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great new Orleans italian

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Always a wonderful Christmas eve tradition, Maximo's has a great menu with excellent food."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Maximo's Italian Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have returned to Maximo's several times on trips to NOLA. Food and sevice are always great."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Maximo's Italian Grill
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
19 out of 22 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic