Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Nieuport 17 Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Nieuport 17

A word from Nieuport 17
If you're not able to find the reservation time you are looking for, please call the restaurant 714.731.5130

Be sure to check out our calendar to see who is playing in our Barnstormer Bar.

The Aviation Themed Restaurant has been a favorite spot for the residents of Orange County for over 40 years.

The restaurant features contemporary continental cuisine, including steaks, seafood and other creations by Award Winning Chef Cody Storts.

There are beautiful banquet facilities for larger groups and an intimate cocktail lounge featuring a more casual gastropub type menu and live music 7 nights a week.

Ask about our special multi-course wine pairing dinners for your next event.
90 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(90 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
5 stars
(30)
4 stars
(26)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(7)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(42)
  • romantic(32)
  • neighborhood gem(28)
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • good for groups(16)
  • notable wine list(12)
Nieuport 17 Reviews List
Review 1 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2014
 2010
Dined on 4/26/2014
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/26/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Last hurrah

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant closes today and a piece of history will be gone. We went in for sentimental reasons as we have been coming in for years. The menu was stripped down and the ambiance somewhat sad. Although the restaurant was full, the attention and care by the servers was a little off from the norm. Food was very well prepared although only like warm when served. Wine selection was down as they were reducing their selections.
It would be nice if an angel would swoop in and invest in this piece of history. Bon Chance."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nieuport 17 is closing its doors on 3-31-15.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"In years gone by Nieuport 17 had great service and excellent food. It's closing was a poor showing
for a former top tier restaurant. The (new) menu was run (black ink on white paper) off a printer.
It was a very limited menu. And most disturbing were the posted prices. The service was mediocre
at best. Beef Wellington, their signature dish was advertised as being reinstated for the closing. Our
reservation for four adults at 6pm, were told it was not available. My wife and I have dined at
other closing restaurants where the owners/proprietor closed their doors in a grand manner,
pulling out all the stops to let their clientele know how much they appreciated our patronage over
the years. Not Nieuport 17; they closed on the cheap. The experience was not worth the approx. $300.
plus tip.
"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

expected more personal attention..

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"... end of life for restaurant apparently caused poor service, limited food selection, not very well prepared, nor served hot... not at all worth the price (or prices)... WWI artifacts for Naval buffs less than impressive.... sorry"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Thanks for a great 50 years

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Since Nieuport 17 will close on March 31, 2015, I would like to thank the restaurant for being the classy place it has always been. I took my wife there for our first date (a blind date, at that) 35 years ago. Times change, but there must be room for a restaurant as consistently good as Nieuport 17 has always been."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent,Excellent, Excellent!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything here was excellent! The food, service, ambiance -everything! One HUGEproblem -they are closing 3/31/15. This restaurant has been in Orange County for years and now, due to bad business deceisions, will have to close. So sad"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sad that after so many years this lovely restaurant will be closing. Enjoyed our meal. Sorry to see this place go."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic service, food and ambiance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Fantastic service, food and ambiance. Love the airplane memorbilia. Love the building, but especially have always loved the caring, professional and knowledgeable servers. Food is always very good. Sorry to see this grand restaurant go, because OC lacks good, reliable restaurants."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They are a class establishment, so very sorry I didn't find it sooner. If we had more locations like this one, life would be SOOO much better. They are closing due to the nature of our " Dining Public" no longer understands what "DINING" is vs. eating out. How very sad that is the facts!! I hope their help all finds good positions, they certainly deserve it,"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Saying goodbye is tough

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Its sad to see this place closing as it has such great food and atmosphere, but I guess that era is long gone. The history of the place is something I will miss as you cannot find these typesof places any longer and this one seems to be the last in Orange Country after we had so many military bases near by that are now closed or they are trying to turn into a park. Despite a limited menu due to the closing at the end of March, they had great choices, my Prime rib was the thickest I have ever had and my wifes Braised short Rib Stroganoff was fantastic. There service was still top notch. Thank you for all the years of food, drinks and service, you will be missed."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time at Mieuport 17

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Drink was excellent, wonderful crunchy warm rolls were served and the French dip sandwich the best I ever had. The only downside was there was way too much salt on the french fries. Too bad, because they were excellent.
Overall, a great experience. Too bad it is closing soon."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nieuport 17's death knoll

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"On its way out. Should have closed in 2014. Food was very expensive and terrible on March 1 2015.. I have been enjoying Nieuport 17 for 42 years. It is very sad to see its decline to mediocre at best."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been going to Newport 17 since the 70s, and this last exsperience was the worst. Apparantly much of your staff have allready left since the service was poor and the food mediocre. We can see why you are closing because your prices are unrealistic!!!"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

43Mezza9

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The hostess "Madison" was outstanding. The wait staff was excellent. The cocktails were generous. I have dinned here for over thirty years and this was one of the best meals I have ever had. It's disappointing that the new owners have decided to close the restaurant."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing atmosphere and food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We are SO sad to hear that this place is closing in the coming weeks. It was wonderful, five stars all around."
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Aviator meets Hunting Lodge

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a great restaurant for the nostalgic in all of us, especially those of the "Sinatra" era. The "Aviator meets Hunting Lodge" decor is charming if somewhat dated. The drinks were good but they forgot to put the blue cheese sauce on the filet mignon, an oversight I only realized a bit after the dinner had been served. Wait service was decent, they were very stingy when carefully doling out the bread rolls (OK because they are nothing that special) but the waitress was awful. We were in a separate room, very nice and secluded, and the waitress discovered (it wasn't that hard since he proclaimed it to anyone in earshot) that a man at another table is an actor in some show. From that moment on we disappeared. As she fawned over him and his date we were left to our own devices. No water refills, no dessert menu, all we got was an occasional glance as she leaned over a chair talking to the Actor. I guess word has gotten out that the restaurant is closing so the waitstaff is out to maximize their opportunities. Too bad, the aviation memorabilia on the walls is super, the food just needs some tweeting, and some of the waitstaff needs to be fired. This place could regain it's stellar prominence in this area with some effort. It would be a noble endeavor. It would be a shame to lose it."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beautiful place with good service and parking

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food quality is average, and at their prices it's a better place to just have a salad and some drinks. One of our six meals was highly unacceptable--swordfish--the kitchen should be able to tell if something that obviously bad should make it to a table. The other meals were at least acceptable or good.
They do not have a backup plan if a meal is very bad--it takes a while to get an order, so replacing it in kind would involve a lot of waiting and it is not reasonable to make the others in your party wait."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not the Nieuport of Old

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My family and I have been coming to Nieuport 17 for years; it was our favorite special restaurant for celebrations. I took my fiance there to try to share the experience, but unfortunately it fell flat. If I had never been to Nieuport 17 before, I might have liked it more, but the menu has changed, the service is not as top notch as it used to be AND they changed the fudge pie...they still call it fudge pie on the menu, but it is not fudge pie. I had such high hopes in bringing my fiance there, but we both left disappointed."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Better Than Expected

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was better than I expected after seeing the mixed reviews. It was, indeed, over-priced, however, & I did not know that the Valentine's dinner was a prix fixe (I don't believe that was specified on their website when I looked). The trio in the bar was very good & we enjoyed the music. The seating was a little impractical, however."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"7PM on a Friday night. They were out of Halibut, Lobster, Prime Rib and Spinach, WOW! The Veal Shank that was so dry, had to ask for some sauce to get the meat down, along with some tasteless and over done cauliflower. Wife had something dark served over noodles, that was called Beef Strogenouff. Terrible food for a lot of $$$$$."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Since the restaurant is closing the owners are charging high prices for poor quality food"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good food, nice place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Girl at front, not very friendly. Server was great! Food was delicious!"
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nieuport 17 is no longer a great place to eat. The wait staff was boring and rude and totally full of themselves. This used to be a wonderful place to enjoy a great lunch or dinner but no more. I'm so sorry to see this place change in such a dramatic way for the worse. Fire the new chef. He doesn't know what he is doing and the food is awful."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good, but way overpriced

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was good, but the portions were rather small and the entree items are way over priced. My Beef Wellington was very good, once I requested a side of Bordelaise sauce (which they did not have, so settled for Peppercorn sauce). It was a steak with a dry pastry. Would not return because of the prices. Would rather dine at Mastro's."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nieuport 17

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My party and I have been infrequent visitors to the restaurant but in the past we could always count on having a great meal. This was not the case on our last visit. They are now closing the end of March and already they appear to be cutting on back ordering supplies and items as listed on the menu. I believe the long time chef is no longer there and even though the menu is a throwback to the good old days the food for the most part is NOT."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Menu

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came on a Saturday at 5:00 PM and did not have the Individual Beef Wellington"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nieuport Gone

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It's just as well that the new owner has decided to close since he would have no choice anyway in a short time. Terrible food at high prices ($42 prime rib ala carte hard to cut impossible to chew). He took a long time successful operation into a free fall by changing dishes the original N17 was famous for and found a way to ruin them. Based on owner's published comments he has no clue why he was failing. He might do better trying a used tire store."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sorry they're leaving

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We've been going to this restaurant since it opened at another location. We've enjoyed many special events and fine dining over the years. Alas, this place has to fall to the current preference for noise and look-at-me. It's funny because looking around a restaurant today, you see at least half the diners are involved with some device other than their dining companions. Guess I'm old, but I wish there was at least some places left that allowed for fine dining and conversation."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Needs some major changes soon

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have been to Nieuport 17 many times in the past and found it to be tired, catering mostly to an older crowd, and gastronomically boring. We had heard they had revamped the menu, so we gave it another chance. It was disappointing. From the escargot served dry on a bed of Spanish rice to the severely undercooked oso bucco, the food was sub par. Our server was nice and tried to warn us about the escargot - but I asked if everyone complains about it, why is it still on the menu. Apparently, they are planning a new, revised menu for 2015. It's a great location, and with an upscale menu and some dusting of the decor, could be a great restaurant for Tustin. However, until we hear from multiple sources that it has improved, we are not going back."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great place we will miss

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nieuport 17 is a classic and they are dying in SoCal...we will wake up one day and find only noisy Applebee's type restaurants..."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice for special occasions

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was good and so was the service. My only complaint was the food portions. We have been coming to this restaurant for years. I always order the tournedos. There was very little meat (3 oz) on the plate - probably half the amount that they usually serve. The last time we were at this restaurant was in late August. I don't remember the portions being that small. I won't be ordering that dish again. Also, it seems as though they cut down on the salad portions as well - rather disappointing. I don't mind paying $39 for the tournedos and $12 for the spinach salad but I not when the portions are so small. I would rather have them increase the price of the meal and leave the portions alone."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great food and ambiance. Slow service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good choice for groups with a vegetarian. The only negatives were very slow service and we ordered 3 different bottles of wine that they were out of. They weren't ready for the holiday crowd."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Christmas Eve---a disappointment

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have patronized this restaurant for many years and it has recently gone down in quality; still, we did not expect it to be as bad as it was on Christmas Eve. We ordered medium well done steaks that came with mashed potatoes and carrots. Our server kept complaining how busy she was and that our order was going to take a long time. We had trouble getting her to come back to the table to check on us. When our food finally arrived, the steaks were rare---not medium, but rare--and barely warm. There was a small dollop of bland mashed potatoes and two tiny carrots that were hard as rocks. On top of that, the meal was not inexpensive. We have always loved this restaurant but fear it has changed beyond recognition. It will be a long time before we go again."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hopefully it was just a bad night

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is my mother's favorite restaurant & I went there in her honor.
I have eaten here many times before but this time wasn't good. Both my date and my salmon were undercooked and lacked flavor. The rolls were hard and you had to beg to get another one, Service was a bit slow. Dining at 5pm with with a half full restaurant should have been better."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neiuport 17 is my favorite restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had the Shortrib Stroganoff and it was Devine! Everyone in my party loved their meal. The atmosphere is elegant, understated and quiet. The service is polite and attentive but not overbearing. Only disappointment was my Mohito. Not the best. I expected better. But I would come here again in a heartbeat, any day! Loved it!"
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

dissapointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We used to frequent Nieuport 17 often when it was located on 17th Street and have visited the current location a handful of times. Our food was less than stellar we are dissapointed to report. The piano bar is a fun spot and our service was great."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Came here to celebrate a Christmas luncheon with friends. The ambiance was very nice, with great holiday decorations. Our waiter, who seemed more like a butler was nice, but extremely quiet and not very efficient. We had to ask for almost everything. Our water and cold drinks, the salt & pepper and ketchup. Finally had to ask the busboy to bring the diet coke that was requested. Our meals were all disappointing. The $20.00 salad had 2 pieces of mandarin oranges and the chicken appeared boiled. Very bland with no taste. After my friend commented, they brought a small dish of the mandarin oranges. Had to request some bbq sauce on the side for the chicken. Still couldn't eat it. The French dip did not come with au juis (sp), it was very dry. Had to request some, which was very oily. Last, the Rueben sandwich was ok, however the underside of the bread was soggy. Not a place we will come back to."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Cooks have changed new choices bad

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We haven't been there for a few years and the chefs change the menu does not meet our taste buds"
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always warm and satisfying . . .

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've visited this spot many times, and despite changing chefs and menu, it's always very satisfying. Most recently, I had the filet and it was wonderful. Most notably, the wait staff is remarkably good. They all seem to really care about the guests. If you want a solid, comforting and comfortable spot, this is it."
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Nieuport 17
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

sooo sadly disappointed.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have been going to NP17 since I was a kid almost 30 years ago and was glad my husband suggested it on Saturday night. We were shocked that we got reservations at prime time, and more shocked when we walked in and the place was almost empty at 7 pm. on a Saturday night. Once they served the food from the new menu, we understood why. I ordered a wedge salad that was bathed in tasteless dressing (it tasted like plain sour cream with bits of bleu cheese in it), there were unappealing oversized hunks of bacon on the salad that tasted less than fresh. Even the little cherry tomatoes were withered and tasteless. My husband had their famous French Onion soup which he said was just okay. We shared an entree of lamb tenderloin, which was an excellent cut but was served with a demi glaze that was way too salty. The fried cauliflower accompaniment was interesting, but bland. The prices are still very high, but I don't mind that when the food is good. All the old favorites are off the menu and I heard that the restaurant had changed owners and chefs, though the busboy told us only one of the original partners was gone and that "Mr. Bill"? was still there. I really hope the management sees this review and saves the restaurant, because based on what I saw and heard from friends on our return home, this place is going under and it would be a tragedy for an old institution like NP17 to die out. I believe most of the same servers are there and I hate when qualified people lose their jobs. I understand they might need to freshen up the menu, but that doesn't mean they should have axed the entire old menu and I'm afraid the new chef is not tasting his food before it goes out. What an expensive disappointment."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nieuport 17
Based on the average of (49) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
41 out of 48 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic