Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal Reviews List

Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal

Welcome to Clay Oven Indian Restaurant. We are located in West Portal and Saint Francis woods. We offer a mix of modern style with traditional roots. From our handmade paintings of rich colors representing the incredible Indian culture to our fabulous interior and stylish décor. Come listen to our romantic music and dine on our copper dishes on which we prepare delicious authentic Indian dishes using a centuries old traditional Clay Oven method of cooking that allows us to quickly char roast meats, poultry, and seafood at up to 1000 degrees. The Tandoori oven also bakes traditional nan breads crisp or chewy. All entrees are individually prepared to your specified taste and seasoning. We can easily accommodate 72 people for both lunch and dinner service. Come and experience our refined customer service and the highest standard of dining brought to you by our attentive staff and our fabulous food.
See more Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal details
21 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(21 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • neighborhood gem(6)
  • good for groups(4)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • romantic(4)
  • hot spot(1)
Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal Reviews List
Review 1 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We have been coming to this restaurant since it opened and it has grown to a really good place that we can come or bring our friends knowing that we will always consistently get excellent food and service. Food is hot and authentic, but not oily or greasy. Its very, very good."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2004
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall, I always have a good experience here. This past time, it seemed the waiters were v"
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Clay Oven West Portal offers solid Indian food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Clay Oven West Portal provides a wide selection of Indian food in a comfortable setting with white tablecloths and candles the tables. The Tandoori chicken is outstanding. If you have three people, a single rice order is likely to suffice (unless you are teenage boys!)."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good for food hot-spicy; not so much for mild.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A couple at our table asked for mild and got what I considered moderately spicy food. The waiter did bring something milder on request for these folks, but still a bit too spicy for them. However, one shouldn't go to an Indian restaurant unless one wants food with some bite."
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A very nice restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The atmosphere is very nice. The wait staff is very attentive. Great spot for a quiet dinner when you want to talk. It isn't too noisy. Food is very good. I had the chicken korma and a mango lassi. Very enjoyable. I've eaten here many times with my family. Reliable."
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A Bit of India in West Portal

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I shared a cucumber salad, which was just sliced cucumbers and some tomatoes, with what appeared to be a bottled salad dressing on the side. I had the garlic naan, and it was a bit chewy. We each had tandori chicken, and it was very tasty, although they didn't bring the dipping sauces until we were almost through with the meal. The service was not very good. It took a long time to give our order and a long time to get it. The prices were extremely reasonable. It's worth a try if you like Indian food."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Like It Here

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We live in the neighborhood, and this is our go-to spot for Indian food. We love it. The staff are always very accommodating, the food is excellent, and if you care for wine, it is available."
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2001
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious Indian food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went as a group of six with a toddler after visiting the SF Zoo. They didn't have crayons for the little one but were otherwise completely accommodating even though the atmosphere is somewhat fancy. The pakora to start was delicious. The saag paneer is always my test dish for a restaurant and it was excellent here -- creamy and spicy. Their medium spicy is definitely spicy! Would recommend to others."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clay Oven Indian Restaurant - West Portal
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.5 / 3
Moderate