Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

La Volta Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

La Volta

La Volta brings traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine to downtown Raleigh in a upscale setting at affordable prices. We offer an extensive wine list and all abc permits. Outside patio seating as well as private seating is avaliable. Catering available for all occasions.
20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(3)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(8)
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for lunch(3)
  • neighborhood gem(3)
  • romantic(3)
  • fit for foodies(2)
La Volta Reviews List
Review 1 for La Volta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for La Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent food. Authentic. Great service. Casual ambiance,"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for La Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2014
 2008
Dined on 8/18/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/18/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for La Volta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

date night

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I have eaten before and had a wonderful experience. So we decided to come back. I will say this time I was disappointed. Are server seemed somewhat new so I can't hold that against him but it didn't help with the rest. The place was decorated nicely for Christmas as is normally. The food was not that great this time. The calamari came to us in a big clump which we had to pull apart and it was void of flavor. The marinara was watered down and the bread was somewhat hard. On to the main courses. I had the penny rustica, it was alright, pasta was a little over cooked and that that flavorful. My husband had the risotto. It was a little mushy and they left the slice of lemon in which is not appetizing to look at. We each had only one alcoholic beverage and once an 8 top came in our waiter was consumed with that table receiving no help from the other stuff until we were finished with our meal. It was a disappointing dinner. We will not be back since we know of other great italian restaurants."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for La Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was our first visit to La Volta and really enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinner! All seven of us enjoyed our choices and our server was friendly and attentive."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for La Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Resturant Highly recommend

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"La Volta was a great place for our small family Christmas Eve gathering - food was excellent and service was great - thanks to the staff of this great resturant for making our evening special and for taking a few family photo's for us"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for La Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very nice atmosphere and food was very good!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very nice atmosphere and food was very good!
Definitely recommend! Had gnocchi with wild mushrooms in sun-dried tomato cream sauce.
It was an appetizer I ate as my main course - plenty for me. Very good!
"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for La Volta
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
10 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic