Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Alchemy Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Alchemy Restaurant

Alchemy is a modern American cuisine restaurant located in the hip, up-and-coming neighborhood of South Park along the burgeoning 30th Street “Restaurant Row.” Executive Chef Ricardo Heredia has created an approachable and creative menu for dinner and brunch alike that draw on his childhood influences as well as techniques and flavors from various cultures around the world. The fundamental foundation of Alchemy’s food lies in the fresh, high-quality produce, poultry and meats delivered daily, much of which is purveyed locally. The restaurant has compiled an innovative wine list of over 100 different bottles and 22 wines by the glass. Our craft cocktail menu is classic in nature with a modern twist. The restaurant also serves up several unique culinary events including Wednesday evening’s Vegetarian Tasting Menu, Dinner With 6 Strangers, Suckling Pig Dinners and Silent Sunday, where Alchemy pays tribute to the traditional speakeasy with silent films and Prohibition-era cocktails.
22 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(22 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • great for brunch(8)
  • good for groups(5)
  • special occasion(4)
  • great for lunch(3)
Alchemy Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Alchemy Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2014
 2008
Dined on 2/23/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/23/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alchemy Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It's a shame

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It's a shame that this restaurant is closing. The food is very good. The prices are reasonable. The staff is friendly and the place was busy."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alchemy Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

How hard is it to cook an egg?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for brunch, which apparently is not their forte. I understand that no one seems to know what 'over medium' means anymore, but how do you burn an egg? Food had little flavor and was nothing special."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alchemy Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The place definitely has the potential to be great with it's location and decor. Our first impression was not good. We were not greeted at all by the person at the front door. My husband greeted the host and told him about our reservation. Then the host seated us without saying a word. His overall composure was unfriendly. The restaurant was not busy so I don't know why he would be so hurried, We wondered if maybe it was not his job to seat guests. The drinks were good but the food was really bad. My salad was wilted and overdressed. Out of five people, none of us particularly liked our food. I really like the decor and our server was great! Side note: My husband is very tall and said that he was very uncomfortable in their small wood chairs."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alchemy Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Surprising Find for Vegan Diners

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"After scouring the Internet for a Vegan Restaurant with some ambiance and Christmas Cheer on Christmas Eve, I stumbled upon Alchemy in South Park. It isn't billed as a Vegan Restaurant, but it does have some really good Vegan Options. We had the Spaghetti & Meatball, which was great. The Spaghetti was squash & zucchini, and the meatball was Quinoa. We also had the Alchemy Salad, a tasty delight wrapped in a bowel of cucumbers.
It had a full bar, a cool vibe, and excellent service. Vegan Diners who want a drink with dinner do not have many pure Vegan dining options in San Diego. So, I'm coming around to the notion that Vegan Diners may be best served by finding good full service restaurants, like this one, which have some good Vegan choices on their Menus."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Alchemy Restaurant
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
12 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic