Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Pangaea Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Pangaea Restaurant

Pangaea is a two-tiered restaurant with an eighteen foot high ceiling, situated on Bay Street in the heart of Bloor/Yorkville. Established in 1996, Pangaea can seat 150 guests, and has Private Dining areas that can accommodate
groups of 8 – 150. The eclectic menu has a Canadian sensibility whilst taking ideas from around the world. The service is gracious, thoughtful and unpretentious, and the wine list boasts a balanced profile of over 200 different wines. The restaurant caters both to a business clientele and to
social gatherings.
162 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(162 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 162 reviews
5 stars
(66)
4 stars
(74)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(95)
  • special occasion(83)
  • great for lunch(61)
  • romantic(56)
  • good for groups(49)
  • neighborhood gem(41)
Pangaea Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 11/11/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food
Overpriced
"
Dined on 13/05/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 05/03/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2010
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/07/2012
 2012
Dined on 16/07/2012
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/07/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 08/07/2014
 2014
Dined on 08/07/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 08/07/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/01/2014
 2012
Dined on 18/01/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 18/01/2014
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Risotto is superb

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed the fabulous signature risotto before heading to Hot Docs. Mushroom risotto, finished with truffle oil, has been on the menu since Pangaea opened, and never disappoints."
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A pleasurable experience from start to finish. The lamb was fantastic. The service was amazing and I loved the atmosphere there. I will definitely go back soon"
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

awesome meal all around, one the best i have had.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 08/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

This time pot pie disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My colleague and I enjoyed excellent salad and desserts and a glass of good Argentinian Malbec and coffee, The special of the day, Partridge Pot Pie though tasty and fresh was disappointingly small, more like a small tart than a pie and we had to search our pies to find a morsel of partridge. At pay time my colleague and I mentioned this and Pangaea gracefully charged us for only one pie. We both would revisit Pangaea as it's a superior restaurant in Toronto's Yorkville."
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Spectacular Food + Superb Service=Great Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It's always risky to take 'Potential Clients' to new Venues. However, in this particular case, we're glad that we took time out of our busy Meetings, to live the 'Pangaea Experience'.
From the warm and friendly greeting at the front door, to the superb service offered throughout the Meal; EXCELLENT."
Dined on 01/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

terrific

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"elegant environment
friendly and professional staff
excellent Arctic Char, rhubarb dessert, salad,risotto
Great wine list -knowledgable waiter
quiet-great for having conversation -music not too loud.
I always enjoy dining at Pangaea Restaurant -it's reliably excellent in service and food quality.
It still remains my go to place with friends and family
"
Dined on 13/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never Fails

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Dined at Pangaea on Friday night for the ## time (have lost count) and everything was great. The food was excellent as usual and the service attentive. This is one of Toronto's most consistent, high end dining establishments, and a never fail place to enjoy a great dining experience! Hats off to co-owners Peter Geary and Martin Kouprie, who with their teams, never fail to deliver exceptional results from the front of the house and the kitchen."
Dined on 06/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Underwelmed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for winterlicious, had higher expectations of the service & food. Especially for Yorkville area. the best item on my prix fixed dinner was the appi, which was the beef carpaccio; my lamb entre was 75% lamb fat then meat. The dessert was more biscotti then creme Brûlé. Which was disappointing.
I had been very specific in my reservation in stating that one of the ppl attending had a very very high sensitivity to nuts, and when i told them who had the allergy it seems to be forgotten as she got served nuts on her dessert on the top. EpiPen should be brought as they are not sensitive to allergies
"
Dined on 05/02/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always excellent to be there.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"All are great
We are there for special occasion
And for normal outing, alone or with guests, Pangea is a priority
"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyable dining experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"From the moment you enter you are greeted by the friendly and attentive staff. Love the upscale yet fun and relaxing atmosphere. I enjoyed the Arctic char and Arugula Salad. Recommended this place to a group of friends who also loved it. This wasn't my first time at Pangaea and it won't be my last. Thanks for the great experience."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Group Lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My colleagues and I came for a Winterlicious lunch. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to my food allergies. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. All our meals were served hot and at the same time. I will definitely go back!"
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food but not the best service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was a bit slow & not attentive enough. We brought a bottle of wine and paid $30 corkage which is very nice if you have a special bottle you want to enjoy. Unfortunately the waiter decanted & poured it before asking if we wanted a cocktail before. I waited 10-15 minutes and then had to ask the waiter if we could order cocktails.
Food was delicious for their Winterlicious menu but portions quite small. We ordered a few extra dishes to fill up.
Tables were placed close together and in an awkward fashion so when one of the waiters bumped into my husbands arm the waiter got annoyed which did not create a great dinner ambience.
"
Dined on 05/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Never disappoints. Have gone here for years. For special occasions, with groups of
colleagues. Winterlicious menu was perfection. Can always count on a great dining
experience.
"
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A keeper!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I love good food and good wine. When we find a restaurant we like, we don't add it to our "list" until we go back a second time to test for consistency. This was our second visit to Pangaea, and we knew we were being unfair to give them the consistency test during Winterlicious. However, they passed with flying colours! The service is top-notch, and the ambiance is delightful. I had the citrus arugula salad, arctic char, and cinnamon crème brulée. My husband had beef carpaccio, duck breast, and the cheese plate. Each dish was delicious, creative, well-plated, and a reasonable portion size. John, the sommelier, was helpful in our wine selection. All in all, we had a lovely evening. We will definitely go back to Pangaea and we will not hesitate to recommend it to our friends."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Winterlicious 2015

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Pangaea is one of my must go to restaurants every year and it didn't disappoint this year. I had the beef carpacio which was a little lacking of flavour, but beautifully presented. I really enjoyed the main of duck with a nice bean casserole and crispy skin. Really delicious. Dessert was beautiful as always, being a lemon tart. The meringue rods on top were a definite hit. I will always come back."
Dined on 09/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Winterlicious 2015

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We selected Pangaea purely based on their Winterlicious men. They had variety of entrees - duck, beef, fish and a vegetarian option.
Service seemed a little too slow, which surprised me a little as it was a Sunday night. But apart from that, we had an excellent time - the staff was attentive (for the most part), the food was delicious, portions reasonable and the restaurant has excellent ambiance. I would definitely go back and would recommend Pangaea to friends."
Dined on 08/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Winterlicious

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The portion size for the Winterlicious menu was not satisfactory. Pangaea offers a $35 fixed price dinner for Winterlicious. They should increase the price to $45 and serve generous portions of their otherwise-delicious food."
Dined on 08/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First Time at Pangaea

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2008
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Winterlicious menu was delicious and had variety. Portions were small. Restaurant was packed. Great service from wait staff. Coat check available."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Kathy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Top notch friendly service, and the food....well it is hard to top fantastic."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

yeh! Pangea

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Pangea staff never cease to amaze me - whether regular day, summerlicious or winterlicious, service + servings always consistently high! Way to go Pangea - always maintaining the high bar each time."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've gone back to Pangaea every year for the past seven years. It never disappoints. Service though always seems a little rushed - I think they are understaffed. But food is always good and well-prepared. It's a great place to meet friends downtown as it's quiet enough to talk."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We haven't been to this restaurant since it was called Noodles. It is now much more intimate, smaller rooms cut down the noise. The food was wonderful, great oysters, excellent duck... our waiter Antoine was a true professional and made us very comfortable, even though for Winterlicious the place was packed."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and atmosphere!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I came to Pangaea for Winterlicious lunch to try it out with a group of 7 friends. Before even going to the restaurant, I received a call from a hostess reminding me of my reservation the day before, and she was able to add an additional person for me so last minute! When I got there, they have a nice coat check which is good for the winter time, so there's not as many bulky jackets at your table. The appetizer I had the beef carpaccio, which was tender and greatly portioned. The duck confit was amazing, with a nice crispy skin and juicy insides. To end of the meal, the creme brulee tasted nice and light under the thin, crisp layer of sugar on the top. I will definitely be back!"
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Server spilled my entire glass of water on me while he was serving me my entree. He appeared to be really flustered. He laid down two napkins on the table to dry off the table but it was still uncomfortably wet for the rest of the meal. It also looked embarassing because it looked like I had been the one who had the accident.
Winterlicious menu was great though. I had the endive salad, duck confit, and lemon bar.
"
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Pangaea has consistently excellent service. The food is visually appealing and delicious although the servings were a little small. Out of four mains, we voted the duck confit to be the best. Dessert was great. Biscotti and poached pear provided contrast for the rich, addictive creme brule. Delicious!"
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Amazing food and service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our group went to Pangaea for Winterlicious. It was our first time eating here and for the price of $35 we were extremely satisfied. The food was unexpectedly great! Most of us ordered lamb chops as our main course and it was very tender and delicious! Service was great; we even got to dine in a private room! We would definitely recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Pretentious

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"For the price of the food, I was expecting something amazing but I left very underwhelmed and full only because I had 5 pieces of their bread with butter. Small portions which I'd be OK with if the flavour was more exciting but it just wasn't. Will not go back, even if the meal was free."
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very good service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had to request to change my dessert last minute, but the one I ordered previously was already made for me. The waitress was really nice and still brought me the new dessert, and let my other friends share the old ones with not extra charge. Our group chatted for a long time and no one ever gave us any bad attitude for staying for too long. They provided really great services. And the food were really tasty too. Very good restaurant and outstanding dining experience!"
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Winterlicious Lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have never had the opportunity to dine here though I passed by it daily for years so made the reservation. Friend and I showed up a bit early but coats were promptly taken and seated by the wall. Waiter made the wine suggestions and while the pinot grigio was all right, he generously offered me a taste of my friend's Californian pinot noir which was exceptional. I had the roasted pear salad (lovely), the fish which was small but tasty and the cheese plate which, if you like cheese (Niagara cheddar and soft double cream brie...yum!), is highly recommended. Friend had soup (cream of mushroom...rated very good), roasted leg of lamb (a little rare but nice portion and very tasty) and the chocolate cake which he smurfed down without offering me a bite so assume it was tasty. All in all very pleasant luncheon, not rushed at all with professional service. Would absolutely return for lunch now that I've been there."
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

winterlicious delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"great for client luncheons. winterlicious menu offered incredible value, great service"
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"asdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdf"
Dined on 03/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonder Why

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have eaten at and also recommended this restaurant many times. We went for a Winterlicious lunch and I had a soup, fish and dessert. The soup was delicious, but the fish was slightly cold and the dessert was dry. This may have been because it was very cold out that day and the restaurant itself was somewhat cold. All of the above is very unusual for this restaurant so I put it down to the weather. I would certainly recommend this restaurant as I have usually had wonderful lunches or dinners there."
Dined on 02/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

winterlicious

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I visited Pangaea for winterlicious and while I understand the reduced options for food, I found that the portion sizes were laughable, and the service was terrible. Customer service rule #1: every customer matters."
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We have never been disappointed.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have never been disappointed in either the food or service. The atmosphere/decor seems timeless. A lovely place to go for both casual and special occasions. On a recent stormy night walked from subway, across the street without even getting wet."
Dined on 01/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2005
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Visited for lunch during Winterlicious 2015. Great selection, outstanding food, great service."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good place for business lunch because it's quiet.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good place for business lunch because it's quiet..."
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Fish was not flavorful at all. Chocolate cake was old, and dry."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic winterlicious menu!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Six of us enjoyed a wonderful winterlicious lunch. Terrific value and absolutely delicious. The lemon bar is not to be missed!"
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another impeccable experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"From start to finish you know that this is a restaurant that takes itself seriously without being pretentious in the least. It is one of the few local restaurants able to maintain a professional wait staff making it exceptional before even opening the menu which never fails to disappoint. The service is well paced and the food worthy every penny. Don't go there and not have one of their desserts. You get excellent value for the money here."
Dined on 15/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It was a big anniversary for us.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We chose this restaurant because of thier attention to detail. The layout of the room leads to lots of privacy. The food was as always fantastic. Not pretntious, and insanely delicious and beautifully presented."
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Pangaea Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this Restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is a hidden gem in the area away from the Yorkville noise. As you walk inside the restaurant, the ambiance just sets in the mood. This is an authentic restaurant with friendly staff and amazing food. Every detail on everything served at your table was cooked to perfection with delicacy. Everything from the dressing, to the tenderness of the meat/fish, to the presentation of the food makes dining at pangea an extraordinary experience. I often come here for celebrations and have only had fantastic experience."
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>