Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Appetito Ristorante Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Appetito Ristorante

Nestled between the Theater District and Times Square, Appetito Ristorante has been serving refined Italian cuisine for 23 years. Appetito's comfortable ambiance and private skylight room make it a favorite. From exquisite ambiance to traditional Italian cuisine, Appetito Ristorante is a must for those who demand excellence.
48 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(48 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • good for groups(12)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • romantic(5)
  • special occasion(5)
Appetito Ristorante Reviews List
Review 1 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I'd like to say the restaurant was good, but apparently your site does not do a very good job of making sure the restaurants you feature are actually open. When my wife and I arrived for dinner, imagine our surprise to find the restaurant was out of business, leaving us to scramble to find someplace else to dine. Thanks for nothing."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a business lunch here with 3 other people Shared an appetizer and everyone had a different meal. Everyone loved their dish and commented on how fresh the ingredients where. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Highly recommend it."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not so good

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Saturday night. Ordered bottle of Prosecco...after 10minutes, sorry all out, but we have an order coming this week. Ordered fume blanc...out, ordered Mondavi...sorry, out. No wine by the glass. Food was OK, but little flavor. No reason to go back with choice of 1000+ Italian restaurants in NYC."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Just So-So

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service and our waiter was very good, however two people in our party, after a few bites realized that they had received the wrong food/dish. One of our friends asked for Carbonara (not listed on the menu) they were very accommodating and said that they could make the dish, however, the Carbonara was not prepared well. The Carbonara sauce was actually soupy and lacked the typical Carbonara flavor which for our friend was quite disappointing."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great hidden gem.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Even though we were early the host had no problem promptly seating us. We went with his recommendation for a wine and it was delicious. I had a veal chop parmagina which was superb. It was a great restaurant to celebrate our short visit to New York."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The chicken was dry and the artichokes were old and tasted bad."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Absolutely fantastic

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'm so glad my taxi stopped in front of this place while we were waiting for the light to change. I jumped on open table and booked a dinner reservation for the same night and was not disappointed. An absolute gem."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"An Italian restaurant in NYC that has elbow room! Who knew!?!? Good food. Quick service. And an overall easy night out."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bon Appetito

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Superb Italian cuisine, reasonably priced and served by gracious, courteous waiters. Excellent strachatella soup and chicken parmagiana."
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was delicious, a lot of specials to choose from. Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with wine recommendations."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect business lunch spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, attentive service, in a pleasant atmosphere where you can actually have a conversation without shouting to be heard."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, great location

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This traditional, northern Italian restaurant is perfect for a business lunch or dinner. Conveniently located near Bryant Park."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bartender was not capable of making 3 different drinks that I ordered. This is Manhattan. Fire this bartender."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"arrived for reservation 15 minutes early...When my guest arrived ( neice of a friend who I never met ) she was told she was first to arrive and seated across the room from where I was seated...After 10 minutes, I asked the waiter if the young woman sitting alone was my guest...and yes, she was...Inexcusable...there were about 20 tables with only 2 tables with guests so it was not that they were busy, only not watching the store..Very poor for a business in the HOSPITALITY BUSINESS.."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Italian Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Conveniently located to the Residence Inn Times Square, this Italian restaurant prepares good Italian food. Slightly overpriced (even for NYC) but the food is much better than any of the chain options nearby."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice place in a tough location

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Basic Italian with very fresh ingredients. Excellent quality veal but sauce could have used a little more seasoning. Good pasta. Beware the $10 bottle of Italian San Pellegrino. Ridiculous markup."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We made a late booking for this restaurant for a group of 4 friends traveling to New York for 4 nights needing to eat somewhere close to our hotel as we were all jet lagged and needed to eat!
Initial impressions were very favorable and the food fairly gaswomangood and tasty but the room was quite cold and after we asked if there was any possibility of increasing the temperature the attitude of our waiter deteriorated - as the room got a little warmer he certainly got colder and more unfriendly.
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Competently cooked, average italian

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I'm sure there are many, many better options for this kind of italian in NYC, especially at lower prices."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Wonderful unexpected find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to the city for the holiday hoop lah. After running from point to point all we wanted was a nice quiet place to relax enjoy a nice meal. We found it here. The staff was attentive, the drinks were well poured.... We were never rushed when told we had all evening. The ravioli was like butter in your mouth. I had the monk fish special which was prepared like my family used to. My date had the chicken bolognase which was moist an delisicious.
It is on our list of places to enjoy a good meal when we hit the city , which is frequently.
Oh an try the tiramisu, it's as good as my own hmmmmm how they get my recipe?
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Appetito Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Top Destination

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Appetito is a gem. It has a relaxing feel and the staff will always make you feel comfortable.
The food is top notch. We feel like we are part of the Appetito family!
"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Appetito Ristorante
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
16 out of 20 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic