Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Galvez Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Galvez Restaurant

Amazing River Front View with delicious Spanish and Creole Cuisine and Tapas!

Perched above Dutch Alley along the river, what you will find at Galvez is an infusion of traditional Spanish and Creole cooking techniques. Chef Laura Cedillo's unique menu showcases the freshest and highest quality of local ingredients, beautifully orchestrated in simple, yet elegant dishes with flavors that compliment each other.

Our view of the New Orleans waterfront is incomparable, and is the perfect setting to a leisurely dinner, happy hour with friends, or any special event. Our Atrium Ballroom is well known and loved throughout the city, spanning 50 years of New Orleans memories. It is the perfect setting for Wedding Receptions, Company Receptions and Holiday events.

Whether you are looking for a romantic dinner along the moon lit river, or a special event with your nearest and dearest, Galvez Restaurant is that special place in the French Quarter to visit.
103 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(103 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
(35)
4 stars
(34)
3 stars
(18)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(10)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(75)
  • romantic(55)
  • special occasion(52)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • good for groups(22)
  • great for brunch(22)
Galvez Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and view were amazing and always a welcome departure from the typical New Orleans dining experience. My only gripe is their decor is somewhat outdated and makes the place feel stuffy. BUT after the first bite, you won't even notice!"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, great view of the Mighty Mississippi

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Upon arrival we were greeted slowly and it seemed that there had been a large party the night before. The staff did not seemed prepared for the brunch crowd. The view was beautiful, the food was good. There is a substantial Spanish variety of foods on the menu, the ones we tried were good."
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Never Again

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service nonexistant. Music extremely loud. Could not have a decent conversation. Food - Patatas Fritas - seemed like frozen potatoes from Costco. Albondigas tasted like frozen meatballs from Costco. No flavour. Travelled throughout Spain and this is not representative of Spanish food. Too many other outstanding.... and I stress outstanding restaurants in this city for me or my friends to return to this restaurant. Qué lástima! Pero tiene una buena vista."
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food was great, can't beat the view

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at this restaurant. If I only had one issue to discuss, it would be that the service got slow in the last 20-30 minutes despite the restaurant being half empty. Otherwise, the food, atmosphere, and view of the river were exceptional!"
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent everything!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It's one of those few restaurants you know you'll be back. Uncomparable attention, flavorful food, and unforgettable view of the Mississipi river."
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Gálvez Restaurant

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"At hostess stand, two waiters/host kept walking by but didn't acknowledge we were there. Sat ourselves at the bar. Dining room had overly bright overhead lights but bar had no lights; don't know how bartender could see what she was doing.
Paella was mushy rice with no saffron flavor. Bartender bragged that it was her mother's (from Spain) recipe. Very little seafood in the mix.
Got seated at a romantic corner booth, but it was out of sight of the waiter's prep station so he "forgot we were there".
"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Personal service. Great food from family run establishment. Would go again."
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything was great, reasturant fairly full. Staff was busy and I'm sure the kitchen was too!
The empandas and albondigas were our favorite tapas.
The paella was cooked perfectly, the fish of day was slightly over cooked but had such a great flavor."
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our waiter, Leonard, was a delight. The food was exceptionally well prepared.. - corvine fresh from South America. The view cannot be beat - Mississippi River at twilight. And the tango group was meeting and dancing in the private room. This was a perfectly wonderful evening."
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Slow and Bad Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was slow for no reason, the place was not crowded for mother's day. The waiter seemed lost and confused as if it was his first time. The manage walked by us several times and did not stop to speak, yet he asked every other table how thier meal was. The view was fine and so was the food. Thats about it, no big hooplah about this place."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service was Impeccable, Food was fresh and Unique

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Top Notch Service, Classy joint with Spanish Flare! Ask for the outdoor seating! Great view of the city. Don't expect huge portions, its worth getting a bunch of small plates. The daily specials are something to write home about!"
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mother's Day Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had an 11:15 reservation, arrived at 11:00 and was immediately seated. How rare is that? Of course being Mother's Day, there was a limited menu, but there were plenty enough choices to please our group. The three courses offered proved to be sufficient enough in quantity for all of us as well, though I was able to "steal" some of my daughter's grits from her shrimp and grits entree' (which I highly recommend). Everything that we ordered was tasty, well presented, and the kitchen was obviously well prepared, as everything came out timely. You don't always get that on big restaurant holidays. The tables are not crowded together which offers a pleasing dinning experience and the view of the river is fantastic!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Beautiful views of the River.....well prepared food...excellent service"
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

I was very disappointed by the service and food.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I attempted to pay with my credit card and they came back and asked me to pay cash. The service was aweful and the food was mediocre. I will not return."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Beautiful View and Fabulous Food

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2005
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We booked the restaurant for a break from cajyun/creole during a weeklong trip to New Orleans. The food was amazing - inventive, fresh, and delicious. The view of the river from our table was also nice. It was a great evening."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2005
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great view.. food mediocre

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great view of the river but service was slow and food was not spectacular. Won't be back."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was amazing. We were worried after seeing several bad reviews on the service. Our waiter was awesome. He was energetic and knowledgeable. They made us a variety of mixed drinks, all amazing. We each shared our plates to try all the different tastes and all were very delicious."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

View and Foot both AMAZING

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were lucky enough to get last minute reservations. We shared everything we ate and it was all wonderful. Only one item lacked flavor and that was the ceviche....but considering we ordered lots and lots of items, this isn't much of a complaint. Great view of the Mississippi River, amazing sangria and delicious food! Highly recommended!"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Gorgeous River View, Authentic Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Pro's:
- The 3 course Easter brunch was delicious.
- The view of the Mississippi through the huge open windows can't be beat.
Our only two complaints:
- They told us in advance there would be bottomless mimosas, which would help to offset the cost of the $40-$50 set brunch menu. There were no said bottomless drinks.
- Our server was new and took extremely long to get us drinks, and he struggled with the register and made mistakes with charging our credit card.
"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Eggcellent Easter Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our family chose Galvez to enjoy for our Easter brunch and I am happy to say that this was the best dining selection that we have made in quite a while. The ambiance, with breathtaking views of the river, was awesome. The windows were open, giving a wonderful cross breeze throughout the building. The food, wine and beer selection was nothing less than impressive, including a very tasty sangria.
The service: stellar! My daughter asked for a frozen strawberry daiquiri. The restaurant did not serve daiquiris, however, without a hitch, our waiter offered to go to an establishment across the street and get one for her. The restaurant offers two hours of validated parking at a nearby parking lot. When we attempted to leave the parking lot , the cashier refused to honor our parking validation. I called the restaurant to verify that we had indeed gone to the correct parking lot. The restaurant immediately sent someone ovet to to rectify the situation. Their commitment to service and guest satisfaction harkens to a time in the New Orleans hospitality reminiscent of pre-Hurricane Katrina levels.
The food: exquisite! Not only shall we recommend Galvez to our friends and family, but we intend to make it a tradition for family gatherings, holidays and events. Thank you for restoring my faith in New Orleans hospitality!
"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant sits in the second story of a building overlooking the river, making it hard to find, and also giving it a wonderful nighttime view of the river. The food was great, and the chef did some wonderful dishes. We had tapas/small plates, but the entrees sounded wonderful."
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great view of the Mississippi, great food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant has a gorgeous view of the Mississippi River. On a warm evening, have your drinks out on the terrace. We enjoyed the informal yet professional service, ignoring even being asked if we wanted dessert before we had been served our entrees. Don't miss the shrimp small plate. Our entrees were good, especially the fish. Next time we will try one of the paellas. We will definitely return."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food but the waiter was not around a lot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was great, as was the scenery, but the waiter wasn't very attentive. It was a nice 1st Anniversary dinner but nothing over the top to remember."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great view of Mississippi

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant has great views out over the Mississippi. Wonderful to sit and watch the boats go by. We went for Sunday brunch. The menu is Spanish inspired, but it might be better for lunch or dinner when tapas would be great to share. The eggs were poached to perfection and the empanada was good, but the Spanish meatballs and the crab cakes tasted reheated and mass produced. Bottomless mimosas and bloody marys are good value, but they need a better bartender as both cocktails were mediocre. On a Sunday the restaurant was quiet, but service was still slow. There are much better places to have a meal in the neighbourhood, I reckon."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointed :(

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I brought some customers to the Galvez for dinner. There was only one other table in the restaurant with patrons. There was however a large group in a separate room. The place is nice and the view is great but the food was just not that great. The appetizers were better than the main course. For the portion size, and price it just wasn't worth it. Sorry won't go again."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Paella Valenciana was OK only. Service was very good and the view is amazing."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great location, poor service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The view is superb as is the ambiance with a guitarist playing in the background.
The food was acceptable but dishes (there were four of us) uneven.
The service was dreadful. It was not a busy night but we were served water and then left alone for a good 10-15 minutes. Then we basically insisted on ordering drinks. A perky but hurried waiter also insisted on taking our food orders. For drinks we ordered some spirits and wine to start. By the time our appetizers arrived we still had nothing to drink. Then they had to rush to open two bottles of wine. Before we finished our appetizers, the main course arrived. All this in a half-empty restaurant.
So I would recommend the place for the magnificent setting BUT you have to insist on ordering on a course-by-course basis when you go there.
Finally, I am looking at my credit card bill and there is a risk that I have been charged twice (one is listed under "pending" for the amount without the tip). We'll have to see what happens."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Poor Staff was undermaned Saturday. Great place for a fist date or a anniversary dinner."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Get the empanadas!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I'm no expert, but the empanadas at Galvez are wonderful! They are light, crispy and made with fresh ingredients. We washed them down with a pitcher of sangria while gazing out the wall of windows at the Mississippi. A perfect brunch before watching the parades."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best kept secret in New Orleans!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Beautiful restaurant, beautiful view, great service and delicious food. Would recommend and we will return! The brunch menu was different and delicious! Thank you Ms. Laura for a wonderful experience!"
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Lovely setting on the River. The menu is varied and thoughtful with both tapas and large plates and the food was quite good. The downside was our waiter who was attentive at first but disappeared. We would have been understanding had he had a lot of tables but that wasn't the case. We would still recommend the restaurant."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

So-so experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The atmosphere and view were fantastic--although a bit more on the old-fashioned side. However, the service was only adequate at best. They gave us the wrong bill, and took a long time figuring out the discount we bought on yelp. Moreover, they were stingy on the seafood paella and gave us 4 pieces of seafood, and the rest was just rice. For the amount we paid, it was very not worth it. Probably our worst meal during our stay in New Orleans."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed on New Year's Eve

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Galvez had a special New Year's Eve menu that we were aware of, but not of the $125/pp price. The combination of service and food selection and taste didn't come close to that price. Perhaps their regular menu is better and more affordable. The midnight view of fireworks and champagne toast was great!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great New Years!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a great New Years celebration there. The food, music, and facility were perfect! My only concern was that it was extremely pricey, but all in all worth it!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Year's Eve 'Meh'

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were looking forward to New Year's Eve's special menu at the restaurant, a prix fixe dinner priced at $125 plus tip. The appetizer and tapa courses were quite lovely, and the dessert was fine. But we both ordered corvina for our entree choice, and well...overcooked, underseasoned, and pretty much the opposite of what we'd expect to find here or anywhere at the price we paid. Once we finished our dinner we thought about staying for midnight, and on entering the restaurant the staff had encouraged us to do so. But we couldn't even flag down our waiter to ask for a cup of coffee, and there was nothing inviting about the restaurant's atmosphere--as though once we'd finished the planned courses, they were done with us. And so we left, feeling that the promise of the meal and the evening had not been met, not even close."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must Visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Reserved a Revillion menu on Christmas Day. Everything was excellent! Cannot say enough great things about this restaurant, the chef, the service, the menu. Will be one of first places on our list when we come back."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thanksgiving Dinner Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We arrived on Thanksgiving Day. The dining options on that day in NOLA were limited but all six of us were pleasantly surprised by the variety of entrées including the vegetarian options.
We enjoyed the banter with the bartender and my husband who is a certified bartender exchanged "recipes" and he gave us a complimentary sample of the vegetarian soaked vodka,
This restaurant has an elegant feel and a wonderful place to come on special occasions too"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Christmas made special by a wonderful meal!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Christmas dinner was excellent. We couldn't have been more pleased. It was a true holiday gift to diners!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Galvez Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A wonderful Christmas dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ate at Galvez last week for Christmas lunch. The service was great and the food was impeccable. The menu offered a nice selection for those who did not want the Reveillon prix fix. The views are some of the best in the city. I liked that the tables were not too crowded together. We did not feel rushed at all. Overall, one of the best meals we've had in New Orleans."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>