Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

189 Prime Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

189 Prime

Merrimack Valley Neighborhood Steakhouse, featuring prime steaks, fresh Atlantic seafood, salads with locally sourced greens and organic produce in season. A full menu, designed with creative application and paired with the familiar make an impression. Contemporary, casual with a relaxed atmosphere.

20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(5)
  • romantic(5)
  • special occasion(5)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • fit for foodies(2)
  • neighborhood gem(2)
189 Prime Reviews List
Review 1 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2012
 2009
Dined on 12/22/2012
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great Food & Service. Great Steaks."
Dined on 12/22/2012
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun place to go with good food and no pressure

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Major disappointment - and on Mother's Day :(

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Overall - we were so disappointed in this experience. We went here hoping for a great Mother's Day brunch and we honestly got a very sub-par experience. They were out of just about everything and took way too long to refill. They had one gentleman (who was very nice and professional) working 4 omelet stations and 2 belgian waffle stations - it was ridiculous. He did the best he could - but I was still away from my family for 30 minutes trying to get us food. Coffee was terrible - way too weak and we were missing most of our silverware. Our server was nice enough - but did nothing to accommodate us. I will not be going back."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, bad service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I came here for Valentine's day with my boyfriend. They had a special menu for two for the night. We each got different dishes to try a variety of food. The lambchop lollipops were delicious! The entrees were also very good. I got chicken that was wrapped in prosciutto with a cream sauce on a bed of garlic mashed potatoes: delightful! The only thing that put a damper on the evening was our waitress. When we arrived, there were still many open tables, though they were mostly full by the end of the evening. We were sat immediately, as we made a prior reservation. However, nobody took our drink order or got us bread, nobody even spoke to us for a full fifteen minutes. Now during this time, four other tables were sat. Two of those tables had the same waitress, and both tables had water, bread, and their drinks, before anyone even spoke to us. Similarly, the other two tables sat also had water and bread immediately. We had no clue who our waitress was. When our waitress finally greeted us, we realized it was one who had passed us MANY times since we were sat. She seemed overwhelmed, even though the restaurant wasn't full yet, and was forgetful and incompetent the entire night."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 189 Prime
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprise find just off the highway

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were desperate for a decent meal after 4 days of packing and moving when frozen burst heating pipes drove us out of our home to a hotel. Nearby we had the choice of the usual mediocre chains and fast food places until we found this restaurant, tucked away in a business park hotel. The menu seemed fairly New England standard with lobster mac and cheese, salads, steaks and seafood. The preparation was excellent, however and the service more like fine dining than I expected. We had small plates and salad, too tired to eat. The "Atlantic Seafood" daily special was a small plate with a hand sized portion of chilean sea bass which my husband enjoyed so much that he did not allow me a taste. I chose the crab cakes which were light and flavorful without too much breading or filler. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. There were few other parties in the restaurant; January is a slow season apparently. A large group was easily accommodated nearby and the noise was not at all apparent.
We will definitely try this place again when we feel more like eating and celebrating.
"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 189 Prime
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
10 out of 12 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate