Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Perry's - Design Center Reviews List

Perry's - Design Center

Perry"s at the Design Center brings a taste of the San Francisco institution to Potrero Hill. Perry's has become a local classic, on Union Street for over 45 years and also on the Embarcadero. Perry's is known for its classic American food, its warm personable service and a fun, bustling bar.
Located in the Galleria Atrium of the San Francisco Design Center, Perry’s at the Design Center is set in a polished elegant space featuring a four-story atrium with fully retractable skylight and exposed brick walls.
Perry's SFDC serves lunch Monday through Friday, offering signature dishes such as French Onion Soup, the Traditional Cobb Salad, Petrale Sole Meuniere, and of course, the renowned Hamburger. Perry's at the Design Center also offers full morning coffee service and continental breakfast from 8:00-11:00am.
See more Perry's - Design Center details
31 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(31 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(16)
  • good for groups(11)
  • neighborhood gem(7)
  • fit for foodies(3)
  • great for brunch(2)
  • kid-friendly(1)
Perry's - Design Center Reviews List
Review 1 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/12/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Worst service EVER...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"WOW...horrible service.
H.O.R.R.I.B.L.E
I was going to make reservations on OpenTable but the Internet was down at the coffee shop I was at, so I called directly. After 20 rings, someone picked up. I said I wanted to make a reservation for 2 at 12:15 and she said, "OK". I asked if she wanted my name and she said no. I said never mind and found working WIFI and made the reservation through OpenTable. When I arrived, it made sense that this is not a busy place and there were plenty of empty seats. Really stupid on their part because they are now out the $2 a person that OpenTable charges a restaurant for reservations. If you are going to have someone answer the phone, make sure they are trained to take reservations.
Instead of boring you with all the details of the rest of the lunch, here are the highlights:
1) Burger arrived and I asked the server for some mustard. 5 minutes later, it still had not shown up. I had to wave down my waitress to come over, so she could get some. Burger was no longer hot by the time I was able to dress it.
2) The waitress disappeared for 10 - 15 minutes on what I can only assume her break.
3) While waitress was on her break I ran out of water. I could not find my waitress anywhere. I held up my glass in the hopes that someone would see it, but I finally had to wave down another waitress from across the restaurant. She acknowledged my water need and a few minutes later, I looked up to see that she was taking the order of one of her tables. I finally got up and walked across the restaurant to get my own bottle of water.
I was being taken to lunch and didn't want to create a stink in front of my friend by talking to the manager at the time. I thought this was a better avenue for complaining. If a waitress has to take a break during lunch, the manager should step in and make sure the tables are being properly serviced.
But, the burger was fantastic. Next time I want a burger from Perry's, I'll head to Union Street."
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/17/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/27/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2004
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Terrible service. Food just ok. Fried veggie burger? Why fried? But It's one of the only sit-down restaurants near my office so i went to have a lunch meeting. I would never select this place for any other reason."
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2004
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service was a major disappointment this time.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Perry's is our go-to restaurant for lunch in the Design Center. We like the space, the food is good and the overall experience is usually very good. This time, the service was extremely poor. We waited almost 20 minutes without a server coming to the table. Finally, after a party that was seated after us got served, I got up and asked the host to send someone over to take our order. The waiter did not apologize for keeping us waiting and did not go out of his way to improve the situation.
When the food was brought to the table, we asked for mustard. Half way through our meal, we flagged the waiter down and told him we still had not received it. We needed to signal for the waiter to bring us our check, and then signal him again to inform him of an error on the bill. No one on the staff seemed to care whether our dining experience was satisfactory or not.
Because our previous visits have always been positive, we were particularly surprised and disappointed this last time.
"
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2000
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2000
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2000
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Perry's - Design Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love the indoor/outdoor ambiance. Very cool and hip. Service was great. Waiter was helpful and good sense of humor. Perry's food is always good."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Perry's - Design Center
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Service 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
Ambiance 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate