Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Al Boccalino Reviews List

Al Boccalino

We have a small,intimate Italian restaurant that features both old world classics and contemporary Italian cuisine. We make our own pastas and desserts.
Our wine list is Italian and very reasonable.
We offer cooking classes, catering and private parties.
See more Al Boccalino details
58 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(58 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(26)
  • romantic(21)
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • special occasion(17)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • kid-friendly(8)
Al Boccalino Reviews List
Review 1 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Family style Italian Dining

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Unusual restaurant in an unusual location. Restaurant is located in a back corner of Pioneer Square. There are no menus for dinner - just a cost range of $25-$50/head. Our group of six specified a cost of $35/head and got appetizers, entrees and a small desert. They don't have a liquor license so bring your own wine. Food was good and they did a great job with our request for a few Gluten free plates."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very Tasty, and you might want to order more.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The place itself is very small, dated, and quiet-- despite being very close to the people all around you. While there aren't that many tables, the service is slow. The servers are career waiters.
The Tasting Menu is the best way to go. I ordered the $40 selection and the food was absolutely delicious, which is pretty much what I've been telling everyone. Lamb ragu paperdelle, smoked fish bruchetta, a lemony arugula salad, PERFECT steak, shrimp scampi. Everything was flavorful, well cooked, balanced, well seasoned. Of the three other couples there (besides my own), all of us wished there was at least one more dish that came to to the table and said something to our server. I do wish there was bread served.
The house red is delectable and inexpensive. The server also said there was chocolate coming and then the dessert was an apple crumble. When I asked if there was chocolate, they said there was none available. That was a little odd, but not a problem. I also expected an after dinner espresso option, which was not available. As it was New Year's Eve, they did give us complimentary house made limoncello shots.
Overall-- the food is amazing, which will leave you wanting more."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tourist visiting

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"If you are looking for authentic great tasting Italian food, than make reservations here. Everything we had tasted great although, the chicken needed more flavor but I would definitely return here."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Never Again.....

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Never again…..
I took my family to dinner here after having read reviews. I often like to let the staff select entrees for me. We went with $35 per person menu. WHAT.A.MISTAKE!! What came out was the following:
A pear and gorgonzola salad that, while good, was barely enough to put on 4 plates
Buffalo mozzarella w/ a semi spicy sauce on top. Okay, not great
penne tossed in red sauce. About 10 noodles each
2 thin slices of focaccia bread w/a bit of marinara and parm on top. This is there "bruschetta”.
4 slices “rolled prime rib”. This was the most overcooked meat I’ve ever been served in a restaurant. As a recovering cancer patient, all food tasted like sawdust for many months. As we left, my daughter said, “I’m so sorry dad, I never understood what you meant before, but NOW I do!”. NO JOKE!!
Also must mention all food hit the table at almost EXACTLY THE SAME TIME! The meat arrived about 1 minute later so basically all food was delivered at once. Obviously not prepared fresh, and probably sitting under a warming tray somewhere in the kitchen.
Back to the “prime rib”. When the waiter came around and saw that only one bite had been taken ( yes, I took the bullet for the family), he made a comment about the fact that we were “slowing down”, I quietly asked that he remove the item from the table as it was overcooked. He apologized and said the chef would bring something else out. Great service on that part. So here comes the replacement item about 3 minutes later.
It’s a flat iron steak seared on both sides for about 10 seconds and sliced on the plate. It was BLUE RARE. Now I think we are getting punked. We went from desert carcus well done, to moo on the plate rare. REALLY???
There is nothing in between? This also provided about 2 ounces of meat each.
Finally dessert….lemon tapioca pudding with a raspberry.
Epilogue: We went to Dick’s afterwards as we were all still hungry. That meal was FAR BETTER!!
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great find!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Food makes you feel you are dining in Italy. A very authentic restaurant and we enjoyed every minute of it on Christmas Eve. The lamb was superb!! Thank you to the staff for a wonderful dining experience!"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome - As Always

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As always, Luigi and his staff make great food choices, serve at just the right pace and are totally attentive to their guests. Thanks for a wonderful meal and a fantastic experience!"
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Exquisitely Simply Basics

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great menu, which apparently rotates occasionally. We all tasted each other's dishes and the Gnocchi with sausage was the winner. perfect texture to the pasta, delicious sauce, and the sausage had just a hint of spiciness."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Delicious food"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our waitress was fabulous!!! She suggested...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we simply state a budget and any dislikes - let her do the rest. Wow fantastic!!
It was as if were were in a Naploiano house- we will be back !
"
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Authentic Italian Cuisine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had a wonderful time at this little gem in Little Italy, the food was outstanding as was the service! You could tell that this is family run and everything was fresh and made from scratch! I can't wait to go back the next time I am in Seattle!"
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We did the tasting menu and had a fabulous meal. Let them pick your food, they did a great job."
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding Italian Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This small authentic Italian food offers a small menu complimented by the choice of a family style meal which the chef will prepare based on your price range and food preferences. I have many food allergies incuing milk products. I gave my allergy list to the waiter. He asked what I liked to eat. I said sea food. Then he asked if I would prefer oil reduction or marinara sauce on my pasta. A short time later he delivered a wonderful meal prepared just for me. It was outstanding. My husband ordered off the menu and said his meal was the best Italian meal he had ever eaten.
AL Boccalino also has cooking classes during the week. We saw the classroom area and we're interested in the classes."
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Strange assortment of food that was served lukewarm instead of hot. We sent one undercooked dish back and found a $10. Surcharge on our bill."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Elegant Italian Meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I came to Al Boccalino for our 30th anniversary. We're on a perpetual beer budget, but on such an occasion we indulged our champagne tastes. No champagne, just a carafe of house red (very good), but the fixed price meal was superb - three courses of elegant, sumptuous food, served with impeccable taste and decorum. The main course was generous slices of buttery pork (was it smoked?) in a heavenly wine sauce of mixed wild mushrooms, all local. Absolutely delicious. The perfect setting for our celebration!"
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

well done

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Well done on all levels, service and presentation was handled so well... Great little spot!"
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Keep looking! Find a better place close by.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The perfect dining experience after a Yankee win!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I ordered the chef's choice on the upper end of the range and also a nice bottle of Chianti. The service was impeccable and the food was fabulous -- interesting and flavorful. With a bottle of Chianti it could be a bit pricey for some; however, with just a glass, the total would be very reasonable. We very much enjoyed our experience."
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not the best Italian food in town.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you want colorful personalities this is your place. But authentic Italian, not even close. Don't try the chefs pick. It's a rip off. Order from the menu, at least you will know what you are getting."
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed attentive service, fantastic food (the meatballs!) & one of the best tiramisu I've had."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Lunch!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Al is a wonderful host who always welcomes you like an old friend and then provides you a perfectly delightful lunch."
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always wonderful to see Luigi!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Luigi was just about to start his class and spent time with the 3 tables being served. The food was amazing, as always! This time, the 3 course meal was just brought out, we did not choose. Everything was wonderful!"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

won't go back

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food very bland and tasteless ( there were four of us and we sampled each other's food). Waiter probably thought his snarkiness was coming off as cute and funny, but it was not. Felt we were continuously being insulted."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for special occasions

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent and authentic Italian food. The owner/Chef is exuberant and jovial. Went in with some friends. After taking a few minutes with the menu, the owner takes them from us and tells us to sit back and relax. Asks us "red or White" (wine). Great multi-course dinner with dessert. Was a little surprised at the bill, About $60 per person plus tip. Great food, but probably won't do Chef's choice again."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not worth the money

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were in Seattle staying at the Best Western and the restaurant was walking distance from the hotel so we decided to try it. We were very disappointed, for the money I think we could have had better food. My gnocchi was tough. Not "pillow like" at all. My husband had veal that was overlooked. It was noisy and the service was less than stellar. There are many wonderful places to eat in Seattle, this is not one of them"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Al Boccalino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Okay restaurant. Not good from professionals.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Okay restaurant. Not good from professionals. Menu card is very primitive. If you looking for home made Italian food and okay service then this restaurant is okay. Menu card doesn't provide any information on the contents etc."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Al Boccalino
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
6 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic