Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bliss Reviews List

Bliss

Bliss Restaurant was named one of the top 20 new restaurants by Esquire Magazine, and was voted as one of the 50 best restaurants by Philadelphia Magazine. Bliss offers a modern American menu in an upscale yet casual setting.

Located in the heart of center city Philadelphia along the Avenue of the Arts, Bliss is a short walk from the Kimmel Center, Academy of Music, Merriam Theatre and Rittenhouse Square.

Conveniently located next door is The Bellevue, which houses many upscale retail shops, the Hyatt Hotel and The Sporting Club. Bliss is also a short ride to the Sports Complex in South Philadelphia which is easily accessible by public transportation.

Bliss Restaurant is the perfect place for lunch, dinner, cocktails, and special occasions.
See more Bliss details
395 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(395 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 395 reviews
5 stars
(142)
4 stars
(136)
3 stars
(74)
2 stars
(24)
1 star
(19)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(165)
  • special occasion(100)
  • great for lunch(98)
  • neighborhood gem(87)
  • romantic(62)
  • great for brunch(48)
Bliss Reviews List
Review 1 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nothing exceptional

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This was our first time at Bliss. While it was convenient as a pre-concert restaurant, the service was mediocre, at best. The food was fine - nothing exceptional, though, and at this price-point, it ought to be exceptional. We won't likely return."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Overall, a really nice experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our server was fabulous! We were celebrating a birthday and she made the birthday person feel special. I wish I remembered her name becasue she was great - she made our experience memorable! The food was pretty good. It has big open windows that look out on to Broad Street which was fun. It was a cold February day so when the entrance door opened a lot of cold air would come in. They tried to compensate with a nice heavy curtain to block the cool air, but not completely successful. The heat was turned up so when the door was not opening the restaurant heated up a bit too much. I suspect it's not a problem if you're seated far from the door."
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant was crowded when we arrived early for a 6:30 seating. We were immediately seated and sat at least 5 minutes before we were greeted by our server. We stated from the get go that we were going to a show at the Kimmel at 8pm and our server assured us that all would be fine. We intentionally ordered just one course, an entree, for each of us (party of 4) since it was obvious that our server was overloaded. Needless to say, 7:45pm rolled around and no food. We were getting ready to leave and the food came out, undercooked. We left and ended up scarfing down some pizza on Pine Street"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bliss No Longer a Blissful Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food at Bliss before the opera on Friday was great; unfortunately, the service was not. The wait person was unfamiliar with the menu and did not know how to serve wine; she poured the three of us full glasses without giving the person who ordered it a chance to taste it. Prices at Bliss has risen a great deal over the past year, so before our next subscription opera and orchestra performances we'll go elsewhere."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Never Again

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Service awful, food not much better, waitress gave us a round of drinks because the service was so bad. People were walking out of the restaurant. My wife's salmon was so over done that it would dent the floor if she dropped it from the table.
Had walked by this restaurant many times while going from the Palm to the Kimmel Center. We should have stuck with the Palm.
"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Absolutely delightful. Great little place, awesome food and very attentive staff"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

this place is dying

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"the food is great, the service too but the place is dying, lighting makes you depressed, bathrooms are horrible and pretty cold. Needs a revamp"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fantastic Chef needs a more educated house staff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Bliss is a great location for theater-goers, nearby hotel guests and locals going out on the town. So why was it so easy to get a reservation for Saturday evening when every other restaurant in town was booked between 6 and 9 pm? My guess is that prior diners had an "ok" experience as our party did. The host was friendly but seated us at a table that was not set completely for guests. He should be more attentive in seating guests... from taking bar orders, since he sat at the bar most of the night going through his cell phone, to making sure that the single candle on the table needed lighting. The waitress was young and uneducated about the menu. She needs more training. Confidence will follow. Cheese board was disappointing in presentation and freshness. Drinks were excellent. Entrees were superb. The chocolate torte, more like a brownie with ice cream, was surprisingly delicious... a taste of that was perfect for me. The creme brules were not the same. One was spot on. The other, eh. Kudos to the Chef and bartender. A more seasoned house staff should make for a more pleasant experience, customer loyalty and pumped up sales. I'll give Bliss another shot... perhaps sitting at the bar. The food is worth it."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/28/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bliss was indeed blissful on this night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I'm a Bliss lover, and in most ways my dinner experience was as good as always. However, the snow blizzard kept most diners away, so it was quiet. And because it was quiet we expected superb service, but it was inconsistent, including an error in the bill. A one-time slip up, I am confident, because I'll be back again soon."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Less Than

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This occasion for lunch was much less than our previous experiences. This time was disappointing. The soup came out just barely warm. Sent back it came back hot, as it should have been the first time. No learning curve, though, because the entree came out the same way: the chicken only just warm, the veggies turning cold . To their credit the staff was apologetic and took off the price of one of the entrees. I'm sure the kitchen prepared the items appropriately hot, but by the time they got to the table they had been allowed to get cold .This lapse may be occurring due to the wait staff being over-busy in the dining room.Assigning an expediter would likely solve this problem. We've been here for pre-concert lunches a number of times, but if this continues, we will find other restaurants to enjoy - the neighborhood is full of promising alternatives. Bliss needs to refocus before their competitors benefit from their lapses."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bliss-liss

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"My second negative experience here. Incredibly bad service. Interminably long waits for menus (then they were incomplete) and food service which required several requests to the bus boy and intervention by another server throughout the meal. Questions about the menu items couldn't be answered . Appetizers were delivered one at a time, soup did not have spoon and was cold when it finally came, gnocchi appetizer was pasty, the octopus over cooked, one appetizer not delivered until after several attempts to get the attention of our server and then it came after the other appetizers were finished. Entrees arrived after an interminably long wait. Scallops were cooked well and were tasty. Short ribs also flavorful but the farro was luke warm at best. One diner ordered a three course tasting which included dessert. It never came despite reminder. When the check arrived we were charged for four entrees (it was a party of 3) and no credit for dessert. Response to request for correction: "I thought you ordered an entree not an appetizer" No apologies...ever. Check came back after another excessively long wait, with corrected appetizer charge but no credit for unserved dessert. We gave up, paId and left. It took almost two hours for a pre theater dinner. Hard to believe this place survives. No third chance. Their name should de changed to Woeful or Forlorn."
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome food , great service and nice decor

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2002
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2002
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2002
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/15/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent place for lunch before a theater matinee.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

NO

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2004
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Seems like this place is getting ready to close. Workers very disinterested and disappeared for long stretches of time. Barely anyone in the place. Food average at best. They closed at 830 on a Friday night"
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/29/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great salads and close to theaters.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First Time at Bliss

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Bliss could not be more convenient or more accommodating, nestled between Broad Street parking garage (overpriced) and The Academy of Music! We were graciously met at the door with smiles and welcoming handshakes. Our table was ready and waiting for us even though we arrived 10 minutes early. The bustling street scene out their window was a happy reminder of the holiday season. Food was very good, but very slow in coming. The service was the same; when attentive, it was very good, but very slow between visits to check-in on us. Pricing is excellent . YES, we would recommend, and, YES, we will return!"
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was not great. Felt very cobbled together. Food was OK. Will not be going back."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bliss - Great Food, Terrible Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was really delicious. The ambiance was pleasant. The location to the Academy of Music was perfect (we had tickets for a performance). The service was terrible!! It felt like the staff was "bothered" by all the guests (the entire restaurant not just our table). The water was not proactively refilled, and it was a challenge to reorder our cocktails because our server refused to make eye contact, even though it was obvious we were trying to politely get her attention. There was another server walking around with bread, but he only came by once and gave us each ONE roll and walked away. Then when we waved him down for more bread, he looked disturbed that we would request another roll. Our sever did not smile; she did not know the menu so she could not answer our questions; a side dish came out as an appetizer; she mumbled; she did not make eye contact; she did not check on us; she did not introduce herself by offering her name when we were first seated. The only way we learned her name was when the check came ("Marissa") - which, by the way, was placed abruptly on our table before inquiring as to whether or not we may want some dessert. It was like this was her first job as a server. Another observation was that when they would wipe down a table after the guests had left, they wiped AROUND the place mat. They did not wipe down the whole table. They kept trying to take the plates before we were done eating, without asking if we were done eating. They took our flatware with the appetizers and when our main course arrived, our server took off so fast we did not have a chance to request flatware, and then it took a very long time before we could get her attention again. The bartender seemed to be the only person somewhat "on the ball" in the entire place. If there was a manager around, we never saw one. We also heard two other tables complain about the service and one even requested to speak to a manager. Food = delicious
Service = horrible
Would not recommend.
"
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It's ala carte at the Bliss

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We were a group of four for Sunday dinner after the theatre. It was our first visit. I selected the Bliss Restaurant because it was listed in the "top 20" in Center City. My wife and I ordered the grilled snapper as our entrée. Mine was somewhat dry. My wife said hers was fine. The entrées came with a vegetable-- two stalks of asparagus! Side dishes were priced separately. And bread rolls were not included. Bliss has taken the "ala carte" menu to the extreme."
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pre-theater service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food was great. Our waiter kept us on pace for theater, but never made us feel rushed. Our table was right on a collision course with a waitress who was servicing the upstairs. She literally bashed into my husbands arm while he was eating several times as she cut the corner to race to the kitchen. SLOW DOWN!"
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A mixed experience. . . .

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went here for a pleasant dinner before attending a show at the Kimmel Center. I had heard great things about the restaurant, so we were looking forward to the evening. Bottom line, this was a mixed experience and so at best the overall rating is 3 stars. First, when we entered the restaurant – no one was at the desk. We waited and finally I got the attention of the bartender who had someone from the back come out to seat us and confirm our reservation. So I immediately sense there is something off. Now, you should know that the food did not drop their star rating. It is really how they got a 3. The Pappardelle pasta was delicious as was the calamari and the Filet Mignon. The Bluecoat martinis were done perfectly and we had good pours of wine. So why do I give it only 3 stars? It was our server. He seemed as if he were “performing” a theatrical piece of his own design with grand gestures and a poorly written script -- rather than serving. Every interaction came with some attempt at wit and charm, but it seemed strained and contrived. The “young man” and the “petite young lady” lines might have worked a few decades ago on us, but they were a bit off putting now! Yet, it wasn’t just the old trite lines; it was the lack of attention. I can never understand when a server is at another nearby table and never looks in your direction – to save them a trip, to see if you need anything, etc. This server had that down to a science – he never looked at us unless we waved in his direction. So when I saw the calamari come out of the kitchen; I also saw it sit, and sit, and sit on the counter. Our server was nowhere to be found. Finally; another server swooped it up and delivered it to our table. When we pointed out it was cold – this new server – quite professionally said he would have them make a new batch and also made some rather generous adjustments to our bill. The food was quite good."
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>