Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bliss Reviews List

Bliss

Bliss Restaurant was named one of the top 20 new restaurants by Esquire Magazine, and was voted as one of the 50 best restaurants by Philadelphia Magazine. Bliss offers a modern American menu in an upscale yet casual setting.

Located in the heart of center city Philadelphia along the Avenue of the Arts, Bliss is a short walk from the Kimmel Center, Academy of Music, Merriam Theatre and Rittenhouse Square.

Conveniently located next door is The Bellevue, which houses many upscale retail shops, the Hyatt Hotel and The Sporting Club. Bliss is also a short ride to the Sports Complex in South Philadelphia which is easily accessible by public transportation.

Bliss Restaurant is the perfect place for lunch, dinner, cocktails, and special occasions.
See more Bliss details
424 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(424 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 424 reviews
5 stars
(152)
4 stars
(143)
3 stars
(77)
2 stars
(30)
1 star
(22)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(173)
  • special occasion(106)
  • great for lunch(102)
  • neighborhood gem(95)
  • romantic(67)
  • great for brunch(50)
Bliss Reviews List
Review 1 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Valentine's day dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our Valentine's Day dinner after the opera. My husband loved the mashed celeriac side (broadened our taste experience beyond celeriac soup), done similar to a family parsnip recipe. Waiter was very careful to check ingredients for all my choices due to my peanut allergy. TVs & bar crowd were low-volume, very important when in such a small, intimate space. I wish the Open Table online menu had specified the "choices" were only Prix Fixe, as we're not big eaters, and could've done without all the extras. Nice touch was a red rose presented to each female diner."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A quiet spot for a memorable dinner

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is my second visit to Bliss. I chose it because we wanted a quiet place to have a great dinner and conversation. So often, restaurants are so noisy that you find yourself yelling to be heard. This is not the case with Bliss. It is quiet enough for a business dinner or a catch-up with friends.
The food is prepared with care. I ordered the pan seared chicken and it was divinely prepared and served with root vegetables. We will definitely return to Bliss."
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Comfortable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We were greeted as soon as we walked in the restaurant and seated. Our server Marissa was pleasant but more robotic than engaging. The Pear Cosmo was great!
Scallops with risotto was very tasty. Not a fan of asparagus and not sure it was in the description but they were on my plate. The Bliss Salad with mixed greens, grapes and gorgonzola was fantastic. Short ribs were done to perfection. We would go back, fast service. We were out in about an hour with a full restaurant on the first floor.
"
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was fine

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I felt like I had been sent back to the 1980's - 90's with the food. It was fine but not what I expect for today. Cocktails were non-event unfortunately. Nice looking space. The Hostess was very nice and a pleasure. Waitstaff were adequate but seemed they were following instructions more than really getting customer service. Nice but not engaging."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I really appreciate that the music was low!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Missed a great time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We missed a great evening because of Bliss hd to close because of a gas lead, which they called me about two hours before the 6 p.m. booking time."
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bliss was nothing short of lovely. The ambiance was cozy and simple but could have easily been very hype on a busier night. We came after people had cleared out to go to shows. Our server's first question to us was whether we had somewhere to be, which was very considerate and showed he'd been serving there for a while.
He recommended carapaccio to us and ohh man was it incredible. He also gave us wine recommendations with our food, short ribs and salmon, that were perfect. Especially since my boyfriend wanted white with his short ribs instead of red - his recommendation was great.
My salmon had a crisp exterior and tender center - the Swiss chard was not bitter and the sauce and risotto that accompanied were incredible. Each bite was a great assortment of flavor. My boyfriend's shortrib had a tender, roast flavour with the au jus and wild rice with carrots. Again, each bite was perfect.
We got a flourless chocolate torte and creme brulee for dessert, and they were both pretty good. We weren't blown away by either, which was unfortunate given the quality of our dinner.
All in all, we had a fantastic night with great food in a lovely atmosphere
"
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"What stood out most to me was the lack of food. I expected more for the prices I paid. The restaurant was empty only had for customers and the staff was nice but didn't seem like the staff for a high end restaurant. Overall I probably will not come back."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/11/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We have dined at BLISS many times but within the last 6 months or so the service has seriously declined. I do not how they can state that they are one of Philadelphia's 50 best restaurants.
The wait staff's attire is not crisp and looks dingy and they do not appear to really know what they are doing. The couple sitting near us commented that this was first AND last dining at BLISS. Probably our last time as well."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu on open table and their website differed, and NEITHER was the same as what was in the restaurant. After speaking to a host, I found out the menu on their website is a few YEARS out of date!
Salad had way too much dressing on it
Our drinks came out after our salad, rather than before
The price for the size of salmon we received was definitely not worth it
"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2004
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Arrived early and someone from behind the curtain screamed out "we're not open yet". Shocked and embarrassed we went out in the cold and found a place to hang until 4:00. They never told us the menu was price fixed even thou they spoke to me three times. Had bread dishes but had to ask for bread. Waitress said we haven't baked it yet. I wouldn't go back there for free. Place was cold and a total joke. People of the world avoid the bliss,I've never written a review even when I had bad service this was so horrible I had to write. Forget Bliss change the name to "nightmare""
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful time!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My girlfriend and I had a very enjoyable time. The food was delicious and our waiter was awesome. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet tasty meal :)"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service was poor. Food was ok. Disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was a 40th birthday celebration. Bliss is a favorite restaurant so that is why we decided to dine there. The waitress appeared of diner quality, did not offer a selection of water. When we requested sparkling they were out. Requested the wine list and our two selections were unavailable. There were no special dishes on the menu. Overall very disappointed. We did not eat. We offered to pay for the tap water we drank and left. The food was always excellent as is the service and atmosphere. Perhaps a bad night but we will wait sometime before we choose to dine there for dinner."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We've been to Bliss several times. The only negative this time was that they were short of servers. Ours was really running, but service was a bit slow, unlike the norm there. We'll certainly be back."
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nothing exceptional

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This was our first time at Bliss. While it was convenient as a pre-concert restaurant, the service was mediocre, at best. The food was fine - nothing exceptional, though, and at this price-point, it ought to be exceptional. We won't likely return."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Overall, a really nice experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our server was fabulous! We were celebrating a birthday and she made the birthday person feel special. I wish I remembered her name becasue she was great - she made our experience memorable! The food was pretty good. It has big open windows that look out on to Broad Street which was fun. It was a cold February day so when the entrance door opened a lot of cold air would come in. They tried to compensate with a nice heavy curtain to block the cool air, but not completely successful. The heat was turned up so when the door was not opening the restaurant heated up a bit too much. I suspect it's not a problem if you're seated far from the door."
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant was crowded when we arrived early for a 6:30 seating. We were immediately seated and sat at least 5 minutes before we were greeted by our server. We stated from the get go that we were going to a show at the Kimmel at 8pm and our server assured us that all would be fine. We intentionally ordered just one course, an entree, for each of us (party of 4) since it was obvious that our server was overloaded. Needless to say, 7:45pm rolled around and no food. We were getting ready to leave and the food came out, undercooked. We left and ended up scarfing down some pizza on Pine Street"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bliss No Longer a Blissful Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food at Bliss before the opera on Friday was great; unfortunately, the service was not. The wait person was unfamiliar with the menu and did not know how to serve wine; she poured the three of us full glasses without giving the person who ordered it a chance to taste it. Prices at Bliss has risen a great deal over the past year, so before our next subscription opera and orchestra performances we'll go elsewhere."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Never Again

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Service awful, food not much better, waitress gave us a round of drinks because the service was so bad. People were walking out of the restaurant. My wife's salmon was so over done that it would dent the floor if she dropped it from the table.
Had walked by this restaurant many times while going from the Palm to the Kimmel Center. We should have stuck with the Palm.
"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Bliss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Absolutely delightful. Great little place, awesome food and very attentive staff"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Bliss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

this place is dying

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"the food is great, the service too but the place is dying, lighting makes you depressed, bathrooms are horrible and pretty cold. Needs a revamp"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fantastic Chef needs a more educated house staff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Bliss is a great location for theater-goers, nearby hotel guests and locals going out on the town. So why was it so easy to get a reservation for Saturday evening when every other restaurant in town was booked between 6 and 9 pm? My guess is that prior diners had an "ok" experience as our party did. The host was friendly but seated us at a table that was not set completely for guests. He should be more attentive in seating guests... from taking bar orders, since he sat at the bar most of the night going through his cell phone, to making sure that the single candle on the table needed lighting. The waitress was young and uneducated about the menu. She needs more training. Confidence will follow. Cheese board was disappointing in presentation and freshness. Drinks were excellent. Entrees were superb. The chocolate torte, more like a brownie with ice cream, was surprisingly delicious... a taste of that was perfect for me. The creme brules were not the same. One was spot on. The other, eh. Kudos to the Chef and bartender. A more seasoned house staff should make for a more pleasant experience, customer loyalty and pumped up sales. I'll give Bliss another shot... perhaps sitting at the bar. The food is worth it."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/28/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Bliss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bliss was indeed blissful on this night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I'm a Bliss lover, and in most ways my dinner experience was as good as always. However, the snow blizzard kept most diners away, so it was quiet. And because it was quiet we expected superb service, but it was inconsistent, including an error in the bill. A one-time slip up, I am confident, because I'll be back again soon."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Bliss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Less Than

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This occasion for lunch was much less than our previous experiences. This time was disappointing. The soup came out just barely warm. Sent back it came back hot, as it should have been the first time. No learning curve, though, because the entree came out the same way: the chicken only just warm, the veggies turning cold . To their credit the staff was apologetic and took off the price of one of the entrees. I'm sure the kitchen prepared the items appropriately hot, but by the time they got to the table they had been allowed to get cold .This lapse may be occurring due to the wait staff being over-busy in the dining room.Assigning an expediter would likely solve this problem. We've been here for pre-concert lunches a number of times, but if this continues, we will find other restaurants to enjoy - the neighborhood is full of promising alternatives. Bliss needs to refocus before their competitors benefit from their lapses."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Bliss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>