Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Solera - Minneapolis Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Solera - Minneapolis

Featuring an evocative menu, authentically embracing the cuisine of Spain, Solera offers an unparalleled experiance for social dining in a vibrant, Spanish-influenced atmosphere. In addition to spectacular dinner, dessert and late night menus, guests enjoy an extensive Spanish wine list, organized by region, expertly crafted cocktails and signature sangrias. Solera offers several inside dining spaces including a lounge area, main and private dining rooms, along with outdoor patio dining on street level, a private veranda dining space on the second floor and a lively rooftop bar. Fresh menu selections, seafood, house-prepared charcuterie and Spanish cheeses are all served with exceptional, personalized service, right in the heart of the Hennepin Theater district. PLEASE NOTE: The bar, lounge, patio and rooftop are all seated on a first come, first serve basis.
60 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(60 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(37)
  • special occasion(28)
  • good for groups(24)
  • romantic(21)
  • notable wine list(16)
  • hot spot(12)
Solera - Minneapolis Reviews List
Review 1 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/31/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The best of Spain

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Loved it! The mussels were my highlight, octopus and scallops were delicious, and all with the best olives ever. It reminded me of my tour of Northern Spain, and now my friend wants to travel there."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, mediocre service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food as usual was excellent. Great selection to choose from. The atmosphere is very nice easy to carry on a conversation without too much background noise. Unfortunately during this visit our service is very poor. It was also disappointing that the restaurant has discontinued valet parking."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very lackluster.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was not as represented on the menu - the "maiz" is described with the word 'pudding' - which at best had the consistency of a loose crème anglaise; the 'roasted' cauliflower was neither roasted nor warm; and the rest was just okay. This was our second time at Solera and we won't be going back."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New chef, nrw menu, confusing concept

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food is more varied & tastier than in past, but disappointment would occur if thinking this is a dinner venue. Tapas are larger than a traditional tapas serving, but not fulfilling enough for price point."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just a great experience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Worked out perfectly before going next door for a show. The food was fabulous! May have been the best scallop dish ever!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

lovely

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"finding a place with delicious food yet quiet is a treat!
I like to hear those I am dining with.
"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for trying a variety of dishes!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We really enjoyed our dinner. The suggested Alberino wine was wonderful and complimented each dish. We thoroughly enjoyed tasting a variety of dishes, all of which tasted delicious!"
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Small plates

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Unfortunately, I did not read up on this new (for us) restaurant before we ordered our "main" meal and the waiter either did not pick up on our virginity or was indifferent. We started with the drinks (wine and a mixed drink), then ordered our "appetizer" of spicy potatoes. They were all delicious. Then we each ordered a 'meal'. By this time, the waiter should have noticed that we were not ordering correctly for a tapas restaurant and pointed that out to us. By the time the rabbit arrived, it was way too late to order anything else. The food was very good, but we thought it was overpriced for what was delivered. We might go back, but only as a special occasion and only when we have time to really enjoy that type of experience - slowly served, bite sized portions of a variety of different items."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2007
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Elegant and cozy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went for my wife's birthday party. Tapas were exquisite and with interestingly delicious flavors. Portions are small. Service was good as they tried to make sure we had a good experience.
We ordered the famous Spanish paella. Presentation was very good. We were disappointed finding that the rice was noticeably undercooked. We expressed this to our server. The manager came promptly and did not charge us for it. We ordered other tapas which were really good: pulpo, morcilla and others.
Staff was helpful as well as the atmosphere allows to have a good conversation. I would recommend this place again. Hopefully next time we visit we can get paella at its best."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was great, and we had a fun night. As for the food - some items were better than others. Do order: the bacon wrapped dates, the brussel sprouts, the beef, the churro. Maybes (not bad, but nothing special): the pate, the mussels, the lamb. Don't order: the frittata, the apple dessert."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Too noisy for us

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Saturday night -- always a busy night anywhere, but especially here! The table arrangement allows no privacy whatsoever and the noise level makes it nearly impossible to have a conversation. Servers were doing a decent job trying to keep up, but the way they rushed around created a frantic atmosphere. We watched servers drop trays on the ground twice within 30 minutes because they are rushing so fast. Food was good but overall not a positive dining experience, especially for the price."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were having dinner before a show, and we really enjoyed Solera. The sevice was very good our waiter had a lot of very good recomendations and they lived up to his descriptions. The atmosphere was very nice. This is not our first trip to Solera and will not be our last."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Told waitress we had to leave in 75 minutes. Then encountered long delays for service and food delivery. Ended up canceling part of our order. Had to hunt down waitress to get bill"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Terrific Pre-Show Dinner Spot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Solera has become are favorite pre-show spot in downtown Minneapolis. Super convenient to the Theatres and Target Center on the corner of 9th & Hennepin. The tapas are spectacular! We just got back from Spain last Monday, and the creativity and nuance of the dishes at Solera are every bit as good as the best tapas restaurants we went to in Spain.
Shout outs, in particular, for the bacon wrapped dates - totally fantastic, the Potato Bravas - wonderful sauce, the spicy Prawns - delicous garlic spicy sauce, and the paella - awesome! The House Sangra is also wonderful and available by the pitcher.
Highly Recommended!"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

FIGS

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The figs wrapped in bacon were insane. Literally cannot stop thinking about them! Pork belly, also amazing. Want to go back and try everything! Loved how the food was brought out in waves, too. Just wish we'd left room for dessert."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great pre-theater dining!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food at Solera is excellent - we always enjoy sharing a pan of paella. We also tried the foi gras small plate - delicious! The wines are all Spanish and the servers are quite helpful in assisting on a selection if you are unfamiliar. We eat here before a show and then pop back in at intermission for a quick glass of wine - very convenient to the Orpheum."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed the different experience. Good service. Huge wine list. Only thing not so great was we had a large group right next to us and they were a little loud at times. Prices are not cheap, but then Mpls is not cheap in the theatre district."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solera - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-Theatre Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If you are going to the theatre in downtown Minneapolis, this is the spot to go."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Solera - Minneapolis
Based on the average of (41) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
36 out of 38 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
3.3 / 3
Energetic