Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Urban Bar & Grill Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Urban Bar & Grill

Urban Bar and Grill Gaslamp is all about fresh contemporary cuisine at a great value for everyone. Our entire menu is created In-House with the freshest ingredients to ensure a fantastic dining experience. From delicious starters and fresh salads to inventive burgers and sandwiches to pizzas, pastas and grilled meats to mouth-watering seafood, our skilled culinary team promises something for everyone to enjoy!

Our Staff prides itself in the selection of Craft Cocktails made with the Finest Ingredients like Freshly-Squeezed Juices and Flavorful House Infused Spirits mixed in Timeless Classics & Pre-Prohibition Recipes. Our Elegant bar carries an astute collection of Locally brewed Beers & offer a great Happy Hour. Guests enjoy our Window Tables and Patio for the view of the enchanting National Historic District and the Gaslamp Quarter’s busy nightlife.

We feature Intimate or Group Seating & Private Dining Options for groups up to 40

101 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(101 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
5 stars
(32)
4 stars
(39)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(36)
  • great for outdoor dining(33)
  • fit for foodies(28)
  • special occasion(19)
  • late-night find(18)
  • romantic(15)
Urban Bar & Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and ambiance. Wonderful live music.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We loved this restaurant. We sat outside under the heat lamps and enjoyed our meal as we watched people passing by. The live music was a wonderful plus. My husband had the scallops and loved them. I had the arugula and beet salad and I was very happy with it. The creme brulée was out of this world!"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

relaxed dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Four friends dined here together at the end of an extended vacation. We had a pleasant and relaxed send off meal. We all enjoyed our entrees. Very good beer and cider."
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent overall experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was tasty, but not significantly better than any other moderately price bar and grill. The lighting was a bit too bright for ambience."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good service

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a party of 10 and our waitress was GREAT with us - seriously, she was AWESOME. The food was another thing.. I ordered the 'surf and turf' special for the night, along with one other friend at the table. We ordered medium/rare and medium and received WELL done steaks - like very well done.. I didn't want to make a fuss so I didn't send it back, but I was very disappointed when I got the bill to see my very overdone steak and 3 scallops cost $60... super over priced for the dish I got. Had I known that in advance, I would have definitely sent it back.
Side note - the drinks were delicious."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice place, great service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ate here before seeing phantom of the opera at civic. Bartender was attentive and open to letting us sample some wine before buying. Love that. Seated us outside for ample people watching. Both of us had pasta dishes which were good. I would go again."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

found a gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were looking for a place downtown to have dinner before a show. Found Urban Bar & Grill after scrolling choices while in the car on the way. The menu looked like our kind of place, interesting food, good prices. We were able to make a reservation through open table before we even got there. That helped a lot. We weren't disappointed. The food was excellent, sat a nice side walk table. We told the server we had a show to get to and they made sure we got our food in plenty of time. Will definitely go back, so many wonderful choices on the menu."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Strange Experience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went to dinner here with a friend on a Saturday night. There was live music, which was great. The restaurant was pretty dead though. And the service was still very slow...I'm not sure why. Our server ended up offering us some happy hour priced drinks because things were slow, but it was still bizarre. We ordered a fig flatbread to share as an app. The toppings were delicious, but the flatbread itself was overcooked. For mains, we ordered a chicken dish, salad and a side of roasted vegetables. The veggies were awesome. Salad and chicken were decent. With all the restaurant options out there, I wouldn't return here in a hurry."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2006
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and service. Live music was nice.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2012
 2011
Dined on 1/18/2012
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/18/2012
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious Steak!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We shared the Surf and Turf with bacon wrapped scallops and filet mignon, which was amazing! Our service was exceptional."
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

theater night

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we had tickets to the civic on a Tuesday arrived at 5:30 pm service was great very attentive but it was early for them so no one really there food was good but nothing spectacular"
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good location

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant needed some work. Broken lighting fixtures, some held together with tape. Staff was excellent and attentive; food was good. I had the Asian stir fry noodles and my husband had the Kobe burger. The sweet potato fries which came with the burger were amazing. But, there were few customers in the restaurant. At first glance, I would not have come in if I had not reserved the restaurant, sight unseen. The owners need to clean up and fix up. Very old feeling."
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"In San Diego for one night and staying adjacent to Gas Lamp District. Doing the usual search on the interweb devices for a nice place for dinner (myself, wife, daughters 13 and 16) came across Urban Bar & Grill and decided to give it a try. Very glad we did. Service was excellent. Cocktails made to perfection. Every entree was delicious, good portions and served hot.
Highly recommend."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

UB&G

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner before "Bike The Bay" in San Diego/Coronado&back. Food was very good, service excellent. Great vibe in this place. We will come back."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

the food was great!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"we had reservations for a group, got there an hour early and was told that they could not seat us until our time reserved. we left and came back 30 mins later and sat at the bar. there was enough seats for us so we just ate there. no one came to assist us for awhile, we had to stop the workers to ask for our drinks. the waiter we weren't sure if he was our waiter or the bartender but he took our meal orders. after that saw him again another time because we had to stop him. there was another guy who took our drink orders and stopped him to get our tabs. so needless to say even tho the guys were super nice, we didn't like the fact that we had to stop them to get something.
the food was amazing! and the drinks were good."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mixed Results

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I am pretty picky about the restaurants I recommend to friends. While Urban Bar was not bad, it had enough misses that I probably would not make such a recommendation. The Ahi tacos were quite good, but each of the three came on wasabi mashed potatoes, too much of that. The Asian noodles were quite good. The calamari was good tasting but a little over cooked. The sliders were unremarkable. The beefy quesadillas were pretty tasty. The service was actually quite good."
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Exceptional Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wait person (think his name was Tony) could not have been friendlier or more accommodating while still remaining professional. His recommendations and suggestions were appreciated and were in reply to only what was asked. In truth my bone-in cowboy rib-eye was more medium than rare (maybe because of the sauce I was unaware would smother the ribeye) but it was still tastey and tender. I'm sure if I would have commented on the meat, Tony would have returned it to the kitchen and had another prepared for me. Tony seemed to be that kind of waiter and Urban Bar and Grill seems to be that professional of a restaurant. I will definitely return."
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food. Lovely atmosphere. Awesome martinis

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good people-watching and great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Gaslamp District has a lot of bars and restaurants, but this one combines pleasant, efficient service with excellent food and a great spot to watch the world walk by. We had Asian noodles--delicious and vegan--the Kobe burger--hearty and juicy--and sea bass--light and flavorful. We were there early, but we could tell that it was part of a fun, lively scene. Overall, a pleasant experience."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

So-so

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Overall, the food was fine, but uninspiring. Definitely overpriced. I think I would have been perfectly happy with our meals if the bill had been about half what we paid. The "truffle" mac & cheese was bland, no truffle, slightly overcooked and hardly even cheesy. The bone in rib eye special was cooked well, but at a ticket price of $45 should have been outstanding. We've had better from Costco. My daughters enjoyed the Caesar salad, but be aware this is a side salad or a small plate, not a meal, which was fine in our case. The best item we ordered was the rolled eggplant with fresh mozzarella. That we really enjoyed. We ate on the patio, and it was very nice to sit outside and watch the people go by. I'd recommend for a drink and an appetizer, not for dinner."
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

worst service I've ever experienced in my life

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"asked for water 5 times nobody brought it to us. it took an hour just to order and the restaurant was not even busy. had about 5 different waiters we didn't even know who our waiter/waitress was. one of us didn't even have a plate setting. they brought us our food and then didn't bring us any silverware so we ate our food cold. food was absolutely delicious. service was absolutely horrible."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great steak

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a restaraunt.com thing so tried this place on a whim...excellent service, great steak...a goid idea!"
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best food and service I've had in a while

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good service but the food not so good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Six of us went for happy hour and dinner..first time there. The ambiance and service were okay but the dinners did not meet our expectations. Steaks came out medium well (but ordered Med Rare), lobster tails were way over cooked (tough like rubber), and the cheese cake tasted like it had been frozen a few times. I would try this place for happy hour in the future, but I don't think I would eat dinner here again"
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good overpriced fare

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Just watch out for uncooked tuna "taco"s- they are actually SUSHI!
So you will get RAW tuna in a fried wonton skin. I like sushi but this wasn't great.
They should really warn people or change their menu to make it clearer.
Fortunately my wife ate them and we shared her steak, which was excellent. The mashed potatoes were nothing special though, very bland, the asparagus was about perfectly prepared, though again, unseasoned and bland.
For a place that was pretending to be hi toned it was a little disappointing, though we did enjoy ourselves and the staff could not have been friendlier."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Urban Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>