Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Place Pigalle Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Place Pigalle

Place Pigalle specializes in seasonal menus combining local ingredients with a variety of culinary traditions.

The resulting dishes "always have been artful, always entertaining, always fresh...disarmingly successful."

Couple such critical acclaim with a wonderful Elliott Bay and Olympic Mountain view, an award-winning wine list and a bar that specializes in the unusual and you have the reasons for this Pike Place Market restaurant's success.
62 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
(62 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
(40)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(49)
  • fit for foodies(39)
  • romantic(35)
  • special occasion(28)
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • great for lunch(17)
Place Pigalle Reviews List
Review 1 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this Place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Place Pigalle is one of those hidden gems in the Pike Place Market. If you are lucky enough to get a seat by the window, you have it made. The food is a treat, the service is terrific, and I highly recommend this place."
Dined on 7/08/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2006
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nothing less than extravagant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Having never been here, I was blown away when we were sat next to a window overlooking the Sound. We had a great view, ranging from the port and great wheel to the Olympic Mountains. It was a beautiful sunny day and ended with an epic sunset. The waitstaff was very attentive and knowledgeable about where the fish originated (all local). The drinks, entrees, and dessert were all cooked to perfection and tasted great! The only down side was it is a very "intimate" place with the tables being very small and very close together. If you are over 6ft you will be sore after sitting that long. A little inconvenient but the food and staff will more than make up for it."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It must be frustrating for Place Pigalle to be so good, but now to seemingly be taken for granted, with everyone focusing on hot new restaurants in Ballard or on Capitol Hill. This is an outstanding restaurant. The service is first-class (ask for Michael to be your server), the menu is diverse but NW-centric, and the food is well-prepared and cooked right on the button. Do yourself a favor - instead of poring over a Ten Best New Restaurants in Seattle list, book a table here and go enjoy."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bon Appetit !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A truly lovely experience! My good friend & I who have traveled to Europe together several times wanted to enjoy a French dinner to savor our memories of our trip in France a few years ago. With a reservation made the day before, we were immediately greeted warmly & seated at a small table near the windows looking out over the city & the harbor. The ambiance is perfect, dark wood bar, low lights, mirrored wall & candle lit white linen tablecloth draped tables! Felt like we were in a bistro in Paris! We shared everything, starting with the Liver Pate with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc, then ordered a bottle of Owen Roe "Sinister Hand" to pair with the Green Goddess Salad with a touch of tarragon, and the Rabbit Cassoulet. Everything was just delicious, and the service could not have been better. Our waiter was attentive, informative & just the right tad bit of fun :)"
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I have to not confuse this place with Maximilien's

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There's nothing wrong with Place Pigalle. The view is fantastic, the servers are friendly and fairly attentive. It gets a lot of tourists coming through as you might expect here. My only problem really is that the food does not inspire. I need to remember to choose Maximilien's next door because their view is as good but the food is better."
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden Jem at the Market

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Once you get past the crowds at Pike Place market, Place Pigalle is a door into a great dining experience with lovely views of Puget Sound. The mussels appetizer is the best in the city. The rabbit cassoulet is as tender as you will ever have. Do try a Washington State wine from the wine list--great choices and some you may not know but will surely like."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fine evening at Place Pigalle

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A very fine evening of superb cocktails, appetizers, and entrees at the delightful and intimate Place Pigalle. Servers' recommendations are perfect; steamed mussels and the octopus with lavender and fennel sausage (house made) were both unique and succulent. The rabbit cassoulet and duck were phenomenal. Evocative of an evening in Paris beyond the name. Many thanks to Tommy and all the fine people there."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Intimate Dining at its Best!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Place Pigalle is within my top 5 Seattle restaurants!
A lovely intimate, well established gem!
The atmosphere is delightful and perfect to go on a first date or celebrate your wedding anniversary, as my wife and I did on February 1 2015.
There are tables catering to 2, 4 or more.
Despite the restaurant being full, the noise level was such that we could speak at a normal intimate level.
There are a few tables that offer a great view of Elliott Bay.
Everything about our visit was perfect!
The food! We love mussels and their "Steamed Mussels Pigalle" is to die for! Served in a pot with the mussels arranged vertically in a sauce, rather than the usual broth. Delicious!
I had linguini with prawns. My wife had the duck. All perfectly prepared!
They have a decent wine list, cocktails and beer.
The service is exceptional.
We can't wait to make another date there!
"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a great lunch at this cozy little restaurant. Great service and good wine list"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Typical overpriced French food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"To be honest, I never really liked French food (except for their breads & desserts). This was no different. Everything was salty."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food! Not a tourist trap

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food here is excellent. So is the staff. My only complaint is that their wine line, while decent, is often not up-to-date with what they have on-hand. Even though it's in the market, this is not a place you'll find a lot of tourist."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Meh

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Lunch at Place Pigalle was OK last Saturday. It certainly was leisurely! Our 1pm lunch reservation got us to our table at 1:25 or so. The small bar was cramped and dark, but stocked with some great liquor! When our table was ready, it was a tad tight getting out of the cramped bar, as the next patrons decided to sweep in and hover behind our seats while we gathered our coats and other items.
Once seated, the view was OK, nothing spectacular; lots of rooftops, condo windows and the Big Wheel! Our food was tasty, The oyster stew was wonderfully rich and creamy, though it wasn't hard to find the scant sprinkling of oysters in the bowl. A bit of generosity would have rounded out the pleasant taste experience! My dining partner's boulibaisse was richly flavored and loaded with shell fish, though the touch of Dungeness crab flakes disappointed...again some generosity, please! The house chardonnay was rich and buttery and the mimosas were refreshing.
Will I return? ...It took me 20 years to get here, it may take another 20 to return."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Hidden Gem behind the Market

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Place Pigalle has become one of our top 5 places to bring friends. The food and service are always at least a 7 out of 10, with many of the dishes hitting the 10 spot. The ling cod special this past weekend was a 10; the rabbit roulade was a 7 (too much salt, but certainly from the olive-infused tapenade). As stated, one of my top 5 favorites in Seattle!"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Place Pigalle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always special

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The location is magic -- hidden away behind the flying fish in Pike Place Market. The food is always fresh and imaginatively prepared. Going to Place Pigalle has been a tradition for us for many years and it never disappoints."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Place Pigalle
Based on the average of (47) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
45 out of 45 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic