Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Basil's Reviews List

Basil's

The iconic balcony that overlooks the IDS Crystal Court, Basil’s is the home of the Mary Tyler Moore and Harmon Killebrew tables.

Our talented culinary team of by Executive Chef Dan Klein and his culinary team Chef Travis Shaw, Chef Mark Lowman and Sous -Chef Seng Sengpanya , will craft a spectacular experience with imaginative, boldly flavored dishes in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. You will enjoy their unique take on American cuisine in a casual atmosphere with an elegant flair infusing fresh herbs, vegetable and honey from our rooftop garden and beehives.

Located on the 3rd floor of The Marquette Hotel, Basil’s is the Downtowns “Best kept secret” for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Voted “Diners’ Choice”, “Best American Cuisine”, “Best Scenic view” by our Open Table diner’s Basil’s Restaurant received the “Certificate of Excellence” from TripAdvisor for its exceptional cuisine and guest’s satisfaction.
See more Basil's details
362 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(362 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 362 reviews
5 stars
(195)
4 stars
(118)
3 stars
(28)
2 stars
(16)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(163)
  • romantic(129)
  • scenic view(119)
  • fit for foodies(108)
  • great for lunch(104)
  • good for groups(40)
Basil's Reviews List
Review 1 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Basil's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Basil's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Weekend in Minneapolis

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We had a gift certificate for Friday evening and were not sure what to expect from a restaurant connected to a hotel. But we loved the flavors, the portions, and the beautiful presentation. We were not rushed and service was very attentive. It was not crowded and we were blessed with the opportunity to be able to carry on conversation. But the layout is such that I assume that is much easier at Basil's than at most restaurants.
We enjoyed it so much that we went back on Saturday night for the four course Prix Fixe dinner menu. My husband and I ordered different items and shared the tastes. The Moroccan Lamb appetizer and the Beet Salad and Corn Bisque were so delicious. Most wine pairings were very good but not quite perfect, yet.
This is defininely on our list of restaurants to go with friends when we want to dine and converse and will be back when we are in Minneapolis."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

food is tasty but a bit too "precious"

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We celebrated my birthday there recently. The food was mostly excellent, but too much effort went into the plating. My appetizer was a single lamb chop (2 delicious bites) on top of a tasty garbanzo bean stew which was in a 2 inch well in the middle of an enormous plate. My fabulously grilled salmon had wonderful seasoning, was tender and juicy, but was unsteadily perched on top of the chopped multicolor potatoes. For dessert, I was expecting a wedge of cheesecake made with Amablue cheese. I got 2 one inch squares, half inch thick on a long plate which had a smear (so little that it had dried out, couldn't be scraped up to taste) of perhaps something raspberry, a little pile of crushed nuts, a little pile of streusel crumbs and about a half teaspoon of some dried fruit with the texture but not the taste or color of raisins. I would probably not have ordered it if I had noticed that the cheese was smoked, it was not a great flavor for me. It took too much effort to get all the disparate parts into a single bite where all the flavors might have combined well. The coffee with a shot of Bailey's in it made the dessert forgettable---but I loved the coffee. It's just sad that the restaurant is always so empty in the evenings, really tough to have a high end hotel restaurant surrounded by excellent restaurants at higher and lower price points. Also, the website menu was not current on several items. But they really had excellent food, including multiple vegetarian dishes for my spouse, so I anticipate we will be back."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always delightful food dishes.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mary Tyler Moore Table!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Anniversary night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Food was excellent and service was too. We both had the tasting 4 course meal and enjoyed all the courses. Prices were reasonable."
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Basil's is absolutely a hidden gem in Minneapolis! The dinner tasting menu is so dynamic and delicious and priced at an incredible value! The plating presentation is beautiful. Minneapolis has so few restaurants that are doing/can do what Basil's is. Well done!"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2004
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Really well made brunch dishes

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Good flavors, good textures, everything solid performance at Brunch. A couple of our favorites have dropped off the menu (wild rice quiche!), but still great choices for a downtown hotel weekend brunch. Really great decaf coffee - how often does someone say that? Service top notch, and view of IDS Crystal Court is awesome! Wouldn't mind if the kitchen got a little touch more adventurous with offerings at brunch - I know, based on incredible dinners I've had here, that they can do marvelous things."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love the prix fixe menu!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Really enjoyed many of the courses on the prix fixe menu. Some were awesome (the smoked amablu cheese cake and the veal cheeks were sensational), while some were solid good (the beet salad, the corn bisque, the lamb duet). Great to have suggested wine pairings, too -- many of them were wonderful with their chosen course. Some courses were very small, others perfect size - had the sense that the kitchen was working on a new version of the prix fixe, so hopefully next time will be even better! Always love sitting on the balcony overlooking the IDS Crystal Court :)"
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Basil's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My guest changed her mind on her order before the server left the table, but was brought her original order. It was still good."
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-theater dinner, 10 in group nicely accomodated

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had a great dinner, drinks and wine. There were 10 in our party and we were nicely seated as we came. We were not rushed at all. The food and drinks were very good, but portions were somewhat small, some in our party were not full. Prices were good. Service was fair.
I did like the atmosphere. We did not sit on the patio, but we were near the window looking into the Marquette building. I think sitting on the indoor patio would be really nice in the middle of winter when you can't otherwise sit outside."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Basil's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Year's Eve

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My wife and I had a price fixe menu for New Year's Eve. The experience was great. We had a bottle of Jade Mountain 2012 which was terrific. The food was delicious. The Lobster bisque with chocolate cappuccino center was especially inventive."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We had a wonderful New Year,s Eve dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

THE FOOD WAS GOOD AND THE ATMOSPHERE WAS NICE.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"ON ARRIVAL WE FOUND WE DID NOT HAVE A RESERVATION, ON NEW YEARS EVE. I GUESS MY REVIEW OF OPEN TABLE IS THAT THEY ARE UNRELIABLE. BASIL'S HONORED OUR RESERVATION ANYWAY AND WE HAD AN NICE TIME."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the views from the balcony. Food was excellent and service was superb"
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Basil's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Basil Blase

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I told my daughter that Basil would be a nice play to dine before attending a play...what a disappointment. The place is like a ghost town (we were there at 6:30 on a Tuesday), and yet there is no one to greet you upon your arrival. They were out of the gnocchi (who runs out of gnocchi?), and yet, in the monologue that resulted upon our server's arrival at our table, that fact was undivulged. And, yes, it was the one dish upon which my guest based her happiness.
well, er, is there anything else you might care to try this evening? AWKWARD
Though we said we had a play to attend, the service was slow, and we had to hurry/scurry to make our show time. If you were busy, it might be understandable. However, Basil's was not busy, was not attentive, and did NOTHING to induce me to even consider going there again.
What does a customer deserve?!"
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful service and great atmosphere

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Showed up for a late night dinner and had the four course meal. Wonderful service and a great overall meal. Ceasar salad was the only thing we didn't like. Because it is one single bunch of lettuce the dressin wasn't able to get on the inner parts of the lettuce and the lettuce tasted like when the grilled it it was grilled with fish. Yes, the lettuce tasted fishy. Some of the pieces of lettuce were also soggy and bad but the pieces that were fine mixed with their house made Caesar salad dressing made for quite a good taste until you were followed up with a fishy after taste."
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/23/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not the Best Environment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was good, services was good. The chef came out to discuss different elements of the dishes with us (we did the 4 course meal). However the environment was terrible. The inside of the restaurant was completely empty and yet they seated everyone who was there out on the balcony that over looks the atrium by the IDS tower where there were kids playing and screaming the whole night.
They can't control the kids but I don't get why seating inside the actual restaurant wasn't open."
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Never dissapoints

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Always a great breakfast. Prompt service. Nice view .Great coffee."
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Basil's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Basil's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Basil's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ordered the Rueben sandwich but they tried way too hard by dressing it up with some fancy, and over-toasted bun. Failed in execution as the bun was rock-hard, to the point where I could not even bite the sandwich. Had to toss the bun aside and just eat the insides with a fork. Table next to me also ordered it and they doing the same thing. There is no way the kitchen was unaware of what a terrible sandwich they had made. Waiter should have noticed the problem on my plate and the neighboring table. I left hungry as half of the meal was inedible.
This experience was enough that I do not believe I will return to dine at this restaurant."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unique view, good eats

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Basil's third-floor location overlooking downtown Minneapolis' Crystal Court affords a pleasant indoor/outdoor feeling if you request seats on the balcony. Menu selections are limited but well prepared. We learned only afterward that we could have received comped parking in the underground ramp instead of having to park on the street several blocks away. Service was polite and cheery but delay in preparation made us rush to attend a post-dinner event."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Basil's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We had our year end office holiday celebration

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had our year end office holiday celebration at your establishment and all had a wonderful time. Those that cancelled at the last minute have already stated they wished that they had attended.."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>