Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Torches Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Torches

Committed to excellence in both service and cuisine, Torches restaurant is owned and operated by brothers, Chefs JJ and Kevin Richert. After attending the Culinary Institute of America and cooking in the kitchens of some of Buffalo’s finest restaurants, the Richerts– along with JJ’s wife Cindy, a talented pastry chef in her own right–opened Torches as a way to showcase their own eclectic take on contemporary cuisine. Inspired by popular flavors from all over the world, challenged by modern techniques and applications, and grounded by an appreciation for traditional methods, Torches offers guests a fine dining experience unlike anything else in Western New York.
47 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(47 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(27)
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • romantic(20)
  • special occasion(19)
  • notable wine list(9)
  • good for groups(7)
Torches Reviews List
Review 1 for Torches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2012
 2012
Dined on 8/30/2012
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ok, went a few years ago, never went back. There's better competition for the price point"
Dined on 8/30/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2011
 2011
Dined on 11/21/2011
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I brought my husband here for his birthday and we had a wonderful time! The food was great and we especially appreciated the quiet atmosphere. It's nice to go somewhere that doesn't force you to yell so the other person(s) can hear you. My husband even received a birthday dessert and it certainly made his day."
Dined on 11/21/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love this place, too bad it's closing"
Dined on 11/04/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2013
 2013
Dined on 7/17/2013
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food is outstanding, service is outstanding, great restaurant."
Dined on 7/17/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Torches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Torches
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Torches is consistently excellent and is one of the best restaurants in Western New York."
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Torches does it again!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"After over 8 years in.business, Torches continues to offer unique dishes that are on on point.
the scallops with truffled popcorn looked so good, my wife and I did something very unusual and ordered it. We both agreed that we would not want to share, and when the dish arrived, we were both happy in our decision! Our friends ordered the salmon and braised beef and those dishes were also prepared to perfection.
"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

wonderful Torches

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's the BEST. I hear it may change hands. Go now. Don't want to miss JJ's food."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food and Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Torches is a wonderful spot for great combinations of unique flavors and fun drinks. Our meals were perfectly prepared, and presented with flare. Desserts were amazing, all made in house. We had some dietary restrictions amongst our party and without fuss they accommodated the needs! Torches is a top 10 dining experience in the greater buffalo region!"
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great date!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I have been to Torches a handful of times, every time we are impressed! The music is groovy, the food is fantastic, it's properly lit for the mood... What more can you ask for- we love it!"
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Torches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Excellent food, service could be imporved

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my fiance here for Valentine's Day dinner. We had an 8:30 pm reservation, but weren't seated until 9:00 pm. I had asked the hostess several times what the status of our table was, and wasn't not given a sufficient answer. By the third time, we were finally seated. Our waitress was pleasant, but it seemed like too much time had passed before we actually ordered our meals. Once the food arrived, everything was fantastic from a taste perspective. Very imaginative entree selections and the taste to match. I would recommend this spot, but my only criticism is that the service could really be improved."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Torches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Valentine's Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We arrived ten minutes late for our 8pm reservation (because neither the building nor sign were lit and we passed it twice) and were told that there was another party finishing up and our table wasn't quite ready. The hostess invited us to have a drink at the bar while we waited, which would have been fine, except that the entire bar was full with people in the same boat as us. We were one of 4 couples standing behind the full bar stools waiting to be served by the one bartender that was making drinks, while another cleaned glasses (he may have been a bar back). 25 minutes later, when some room had cleared at the bar, we got glasses of wine. None of the couples standing were offered drinks, they all had to wait until there were available stools. 5-10 minutes after that we were seated. Another 5 minutes later a server came by to tell us that she would send over someone with water and try to find our server. It turned out that she was our server.
Every interaction with our server was brief and felt rushed. She wasn't impolite, but not really as nice and apologetic as you'd expect when you are seated 45 minutes after your reservation and then waited another ten before meeting your server. The bus boy was more friendly and professional. I don't really blame the wait staff for the unpleasant experience, it was pretty clearly a lack of organization and preparedness for what was obviously going to be a busy night. The whole thing felt like a "stress test" from Bar Rescue, I kept expecting Jon Taffer to come out and close the place down. With all of the waits in between visits by our server the meal took 1 hour and 45 minutes. We left at 10:36pm.
The food was very good, particularly my wife's scallop dish. I would've given the food 4.5 stars if it was an option. We will even go back, but on like a Tuesday when I assume they can handle the business, because there is no way that they would still be in business if that is how the restaurant is run every night."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Torches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The place was great friendly service The food melted in my mouth
but it was chilly so bring a sweater.
"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great service, we can't wait to go back. The food was the best I have had in a long time."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quietly One of Buffalo's Best

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A confession: We love Torches. The food is always excellent. There is always something new and adventurous on the menu. The service is always perfect, and the restaurant is comfortable and quiet."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A real find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This restaurant was recommended by the person in our party who no showed our reservation! We are not from Buffalo and asked for a recommendation. Knowing my husband is a picky eater, he said the chef often smokes his own meats. Not on the menu the night when we were there, but the Cornish Hen was simple enough for his liking. My daughter and I being more adventurous tried some new dishes. Liked being able to see dishes on the ipad before ordering. When we left, we saw the outdoor oven/fire. We had great drinks, wonderful free bites, interesting entrees and delicious desserts! Took part of my entree home so I could order a dessert, and that was a great choice."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Torches
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, however.....

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was very good as usual. An early dinner reservation on New Years Eve at 6pm ..... was ushered to the back hall - cold and drafty while the main didnig room was 1/3 occupied. With a 6pm revervation, they knew we would be in and out. Until we complained about the draft and cold by the fromer entrance area with a space heater and the door covered by a blanket were we offered a table in the dining room. Very poor experience. Food was very good as always, thats why we chose to go, however I will certanily think long and hard before rushing back - especially with so many wonderful dining experiences available in Buffalo."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A culinary oasis located in a urban community

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Along with my wife, two sisters and their spouses. We routinely select restaurants that we have never experienced before. In addition to appetizers and main courses, we were served small plates of various food (ex. pouched pares). Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and a big surprise.
Plan to visit in the future."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food and service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Torches was delicious as usual! The service was exceptional and the menu diverse enough to suit any type of eater."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Torches
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My current favorite "special occasion" restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When you walk into the restaurant you are warmly greeted and seated. The wait staff is outstanding - extremely attentive and friendly without being pushy at all or overtly "upselling". The decor is lovely and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The electronic menu is beautiful and the actual food is divine in both taste and presentation. Dining there is my favorite way to spoil myself with a little luxury. Every Boss's Day my staff knows to buy me a gift certificate for Torches! I love it."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Torches
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful/Creative

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This place is over the top good. Facinating twists on clasic favorites, perfectly prepared and presented. If you have never tried Torches, you owe it to yourself to enjoy one of WNY's finest restaurants."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Torches
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
22 out of 22 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic