Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Birchs Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Birchs

Birch’s Restaurant and Bar sits across from what was once The Buckhorn, Long Lake’s beloved roadhouse located “Out Where the West Begins,” and home of the “World’s Most Famous Chicken Dish”--The Buckhorn Chicken”--which has a place of honor on Birch’s menu today.

Chef-Proprietor Burton Joseph operates his contemporary supper club in The Buckhorn tradition. Ingredients are locally sourced and menus are seasonal. Please dress up or dress down. Have a date or bring your kids. As The Buckhorn printed on every menu, “we want you to feel at home.” VOTED BEST FRIED CHICKEN 2010!!
130 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(130 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
5 stars
(59)
4 stars
(62)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(94)
  • fit for foodies(62)
  • special occasion(35)
  • romantic(25)
  • good for groups(17)
  • hot spot(15)
Birchs Reviews List
Review 1 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My favorite Resturant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Birches is everything I would look for in. Resturant . Cozy but sophisticated atmosphere. Attentive and very friendly waitstaff. Great food with a wide range of daily cosmopolitan entrees to delicious burgers and small plates so equally suited for a low key casual bite or special occasion.
They will be moving to the former Billy's Lighthouse location with a spectacular view of Long Lake and this will combine yet another great touch to my favorite Restuarant."
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Birchs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

the NEW Birch's

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband & I are eagerly awaiting the new Birch's, which will be opening sometime this fall. Burt Joseph runs a great restaurant. Increasing the size in the new Birch's will be a challenge to keep the great intimacy the current Birch's is famous for."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Birchs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Graduation Celebration!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A group of 11 family members from Kansas City came here to celebrate our daughter's graduation from the University of Minnesota. It was wonderful! It was nice to get out of the city and enjoy a more relaxed pace of life. The food was great - fried chicken, ribs, walleye combined with great salads and yummy desserts. I especially appreciated the very friendly and attentive, but not overbearing service."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mother's Day Treat

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our second Mother's Day visit. The food is outstanding. We might possibly go more often, but it is a bit off the beaten path for us. And the atmosphere is decidedly relaxed...not what you would get at, say Lord Fletchers. But we enjoyed the food so much, it may become our May tradition."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time but we'll be back for sure

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went for Mother's Day and enjoyed an excellent brunch buffet. Everything was delicious and the fried chicken was OUTSTANDING. The servers were fast and friendly and the restaurant presented a cozy neighborhood type feel."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Birchs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mother's Day Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Overall our experience was positive. It is a very small space. On a busy day, don't show up early for your reservation, you will only be able to wait outside. Thank goodness the rain held off. The tables are very close together so prepare to squeeze by others and get squeezed by others. The food was very good. The selection options were also very good. Everyone in our party had enough choices to make it a good meal. Dessert's were the highlight and topped off our meal perfectly.
I would like to go back on a regular day and try it again."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Meal was great. Chicken and salmon entree superb. Server dynamite. But Brussel sprouts were overpriced."
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Great Find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is a fantastic little local eatery. They are moving at some point, so be sure to get there before they go.
The signature dish is cast iron skillet fried chicken. It is out of this world!
We also shared the pork belly....which was to die for.
The best part is the price point....it's extremely reasonable. We had 2 entrees, a couple drinks & desert....about $52 bucks!
I can't wait to go back!
"
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Western suburb hit

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Birch's is a cute restaurant and bar in the western suburbs. We are from the city where we have a gazillion dining choices. We had to go out west for some errands and stopped in for happy hour. I am glad we did. It appears the locals appreciate the happy hour, too.
We had reduced price beers (Surley and Stella on tap), some tasty wings, edamame and a really nice lamb and arugula pizza.
We also found out they have half price wine and $2 oysters on Tuesday. We will be back for that!
The dining room is small with white tablecloths and the menu looked great.
A nice little find with tasty food -- what's not to like?"
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We arrived about 10 minutes late for our time. But were welcomed and seated right away.
Burger was delicious!
"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Too good, you need to stay away

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Been 3 times and each time gets better. Simple to complex, eat in or take out. Great Place If too many people read this it will get too crowded."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Birchs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very Interesting

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Not what I was expecting after reading the reviews. I think the move to the lake & a bigger building will be a big improvement. I can see that it is popular in the neighborhood as there doesn't seem to be anything else around but a biker bar. Biggest plus is the super friendly, very involved owner. We'll try it again after they move to the lake location."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Birchs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Space is too cramped

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Too physically cramped for our tastes but with their new building opening soon, we will try it again."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good Easter brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While the current Birchs is pretty small (new space Fall 2015) they did a good job turning the bar top into a buffet. 4 nicely done salads (great smoked salmon Caesar). The usual egg dish, bacon, sausage, French toast, fried potatoes. Also had their Buckhorn chicken, shrimp grits, veggie lasagna, walleye (nice house tartar) and roast turkey and lamb. Green beans were the only disappointment- cooked to mush. I'm missing a few items but overall up there with the better buffets you will find in the lk mtka area"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"staff is very pleasant, remembered us, very attentive, food is excellent, must try the buckhorn chicken"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Two Thumbs Up

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Simple food made by someone who understands demanding food, owner omnipresent, clean and pleasantly decorated. My most recent trip was Easter brunch, which gave me a chance to try the Buckthorn Chicken, awesome, which is what I imagine KFC may have been in the Colonels home kitchen decades ago. Great salads, carved leg of lamb( a bit games but good), beef tips, mussels, carved turkey, homemade mac and cheese, the list goes on. My understanding is that they are moving into the old Hansen House/ Billy's Lighthouse after a renovation, with a micro brewery. Sounds like a winner."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was a very pleasant find - great service, and very tasty food."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This is our regular family dining out spot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We eat here often because it's in our neighborhood; there is menu variety so everyone finds what they want; the food is terrific; and the service is excellent. We often know many of the guests and so it feels like home. Really looking forward to their new lakefront venue opening later in the year!"
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Go To Place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I eat here frequently. Warm, friendly atmosphere. Always a fire going in the outside fireplace. Delicious, comforting food, served by people who know the menu. Fresh oyster choices daily.. I'm hooked on the cracker crusted walleye, and few restaurants do it better in this heavily walleyed. Menu area. Everything on the menu has been ordered more than once. Very reliable kitchen. We LOVE this place, and will continue to visit a couple times a month.
FYI - Opening across the street , on the lake, in a new facility before too long..."
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Birchs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have been here many times. The food is always good and service is usually on the spot. We had requested a table by the window through Open Table and was told by the owner when we arrived they had to save the one open table by the window for a party of four. These tables are quieter and out of the constant traffic of servers. Within five minutes they seated a party of two. The tables for two in the center of the restaurant - between the window and the bar, where we were seated, are very small and and crammed together. Very claustrophobic. Very noisy and very annoying. Our table made for a most unsatisfying dinner - made more so by the feeling we had been lied to. We should have gotten up and walked out when they seated a couple at the table we had requested. This is just poor customer service."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Evening!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We thoroughly enjoyed our cocktails and dinner, the highlight being the walleye. Our son and daughter enjoyed their perfectly prepared steaks. The flatbreads were unexceptional and i wouldn't recommend them to anyone over the age of 10, but, the appetizers afforded ample starter choices. Can't wait to see what they do with the old Billy's Lighthouse space, as their considerable culinary and hospitality expertise desire a larger and better setting for sure. We'll be back...soon."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Birchs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good, honest food and wine. Nothing pretentious.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Crowded with friendly folks when we went on a Friday night. A card magician entertained young ones (and adults) at the next table - a very nice touch that delighted the children without interfering with anyone else's experience. Service was good, but not exceptional. Comfortable vibe. Sound level was lively, but not noisy. Very good food with a decent wine list. Not exceptional, but very good and a good value. We will visit again."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

yummy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nightly chefs specials. My husband new favorite restaurant. We eat or at least twice a week at different places. Quality food, kind of expensive, but very delicious. Best ribs I've ever had."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2011
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was amazing! Fun, lively, sophisticated atmosphere. Great adult night out!"
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Birchs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always Good Food and Service. Consistant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is a great spot for casual dining and having a party. Atmosphere is great and food and service are always good. Make sure you make a reservation. This is definitely and neighborhood drop in "Cheers""
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>