Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sanderson Reviews List

Sanderson

Sanderson continues to evolve and update its seasonal menu; for a limited time only book for a special summer menu of British cuisine with a heavy continental influence. Retreat to the lush, heritage courtyard garden for dinner reservations or enjoy a lazy lunch inside the iconic Sanderson restaurant to sample this ever changing seasonal menu.'
See more Sanderson details
45 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(45 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(21)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(15)
  • great for outdoor dining(12)
  • Afternoon Tea(11)
  • Business Meals(8)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • romantic(8)
Sanderson Reviews List
Review 1 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Xmas lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great value for xmas lunch, service generally very good, although let down by having to ask for milk and a tea strainer for loose tea. Barring that little slip up the service was attentive. Starters of butternut squash soup fantastic, mains of traditional turkey was pretty average, with desserts of xmas pud and creme brulee where good.
Generally a good ambience and would book again, although would try something more stretching for the chef.
"
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: Afternoon Tea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 19/11/2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 19/11/2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

review

an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 24/07/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"great atmosphere and the guests will feel very comfortable when having dinner there. Food quality is great."
Dined on 24/07/2015
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 23/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Went to the Alan Piquet pop up. A big fan since his Platesu days. Unfortunately inexperienced staff on night let down experience. Hopefully just teething problems."
Dined on 23/06/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 26/09/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 26/09/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food has to improve

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 18/09/2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We prefer the food before.We love the place but we also need to love the food but we will still come back"
Dined on 18/09/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 12/09/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/09/2015
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 29/08/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 29/08/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 28/08/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 28/08/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 04/08/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 04/08/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Extremely disappointing

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 31/07/2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The food portions were extremely disappointing. I ordered the barley rissoto as a main which was tasty but the serving size was that of a starter. My friends ordered the beef bavette which was very chewy.
The service was great - we had an attentive waiter. The cocktails were good too.
If you want value for money then go elsewhere."
Dined on 31/07/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 01/08/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 01/08/2015
Special Features: romantic, Afternoon Tea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birthday treat with friends

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 29/07/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We booked the Sanderson to stay for one night with another couple, one of whoms birthday it was. We went to a show that night and when we returned to the hotel we went for a drink in the purple bar,, which we loved . We ended up chatting to one of the managers whom we told that we had booked the mad hatters tea party for the next afternoon, he told us he would give us a bottle of champagne .
We arrived for the tea a little early and had a cocktail in the long bar.
When we were called to our table we were shown to the VIP table which was inside and fabulous.
True to his word the manager sent a bottle of champagne. The sandwiches were to die for so were the cakes. A truly lovely experience.
The staff couldn't do enough for us. What a lovely time we had.
I would highly recommend the Sanderson hotel and the afternoon tea.
"
Dined on 29/07/2015
Special Features: good for groups, Afternoon Tea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 31/07/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 31/07/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 17/07/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 17/07/2015
Special Features: Sunday Lunch, great for brunch, Afternoon Tea, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 17/07/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 17/07/2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lunch at the Sanderson

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 17/07/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My friend and I chose Allan Pickett at the Sanderson as one of our special trips to London, we were originally seated outside, this we found unacceptable, due to the car fumes and noise, not to mention that you get none of the special effect of the wonderful design of the Sanderson! we were then seated in the main restaurant, which was completely empty, so no atmosphere. This said, the food was exemplary and the service from KeeKee was lovely, super girl. I think next time we will come for Afternoon tea, this seems to be the daytime event and you get to eat in the atrium, which was beautiful."
Dined on 17/07/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, fit for foodies, Afternoon Tea, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 17/07/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 17/07/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, romantic, Afternoon Tea, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Let down by service

an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 09/07/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"It is a shame Alan has been let down by the Sanderson staff. It was nearly impossible to get their attention even though the restaurant was practically empty. When attended, they were not attentive. There is no ambiance to this place. Recommended for tourists only."
Dined on 09/07/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 09/07/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 09/07/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, fit for foodies, good for groups, Afternoon Tea, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Too many waiters.

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 03/07/2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The food was extremely bland and portions far to small. The was no sides one could order. We had 3 waiters for two diners and they did communicate with each other and this proved troublesome.
It was very difficult to understand any of the waiters as their standard of English is not very good. We had to have things repeated several times and this made ordering so hard."
Dined on 03/07/2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing!

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 01/07/2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This is the second time i have eaten with the Open Table offer and this time around it was a complete disappointment. The portions have shrunk too. i had the terrine and it was close to a slither and not a slice.
Main course, the duck was tough as old boots and dry. Hardly any sauce. it must have been a very old duck. But not only that when mine arrived part was cooked and the other half raw completely. i asked for medium. There was no issue in returning it back to the kitchen for further cooking but in all honesty the duck was really not at the standard. it was just bad all round. I was confused how it was possible to get things so wrong when it was almost perfect a few weeks ago. i think the chef in charge of the kitchen must have changed. The direction from the kitchen must be very different to that of the weekend chef.
The panacotta was nice but again small and the service was attentive. couldn't fault the waiter.
Not sure i would eat here again if the standard of food is so inconsistent."
Dined on 01/07/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 26/06/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We went to Alla Pickett at the Sanderson for a special birthday meal with the special deal of 3 courses and cocktail for £35. I have to say it was a wonderful meal, and service was excellent. The restaurant has outside seating around a small garden and it was lovely. Having mentioned that it was birthday time for two of us, they brought out extra cake with a candle! I don't know when I can afford to go there again, but it will certainly be high on my list of places to return to."
Dined on 26/06/2015
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 26/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 26/06/2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 24/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Enjoyable meal, although quality of meat suspect. Well located next to the Long Bar - Cocktails good, but for the price, you get more ice than drink."
Dined on 24/06/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Outdoor oasis

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 23/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Surprsingly for the position the restaurant has a beautiful indoor courtyard. It's been well designed with cover and heaters and a lovely water feature which removed you completely from central London. The food was good. It was beautifully presented and very tasty. We were on a meal deal, which was good value. I'll return to try the whole menu. The cocktails were well mixed and presented. the service started off poor, I think on reflection as we arrived early and then after 10 mins, it all kicked in and was great."
Dined on 23/06/2015
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very relaxing and enjoyable

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 22/06/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It was a very pleasant evening. The food was beautiful - the flavours supurb -w e chose from the Chef's suggestion and the cocktale was fab. The evening was relaxed with a slow pace which allowed us to apprecaite the food and catch up with good friends."
Dined on 22/06/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Outstanding Value, fit for foodies, romantic, good for groups, Afternoon Tea, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 22/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 22/06/2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 20/06/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 20/06/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, romantic, Afternoon Tea, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful lunch experience

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 12/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"From the moment I stepped in, everything seemed to flow beautifully. I loved the Philippe Starck design; there was a lovely warm welcome and then the dishes were superb. Allan personally delivered my dessert. What a truly great experience!"
Dined on 12/06/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Business Meals, good for groups, great for brunch, Afternoon Tea, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, Disabled Access
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food, Meh. The Doorman was great!

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 18/06/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Always like to try out and support new chefs, so we found a three course offer on Open Table and went for it. I think had the service been better I would have enjoyed the food more. But when one waits ages for food and ends up asking for more bread to stave off starvation...it always puts a damper on things. (BTW, it's doesn't seem like the kind of place that would serve one slice of bread at a time!)
Had the three course menu, as I thought it would be a good choice, given it was the Chef's summer menu and he is only at the Sanderson for the season. I think it was the right choice, however, my heirloom tomatoes were soggy and soft (not great qual or taste), my steak was good, but again - I was starving so by the time it came so I would have settled for anything. The dessert was an apricot topped polenta-like shortbread of sorts. It was nice and light for the summer. I ordered a Decaf Latte at the close of my meal and it was definitely soy. Cut the night short, paid and left.
The restaurant is dated. The ambiance has a bit of a temporary pop-up feel. It seemed like we were outside, but we weren't. Not sure I'd try that place again, but I WOULD DEF GIVE CHEF ALLAN PICKETT ANOTHER TRY. As I said, the food would have been rated much higher in my mind if the service was speedier and the environment was a bit smarter.
Lastly, the guy at the front door was lovely. They should promote him to run the restaurant! At least he was friendly and has a sense of service and speed about him."
Dined on 18/06/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 19/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 19/06/2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 16/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 16/06/2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 17/06/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 17/06/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A high-class dining experience

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 13/06/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We booked here for an anniversary meal and were impressed by the delicious, summery menu and the attentive staff. The marinated sea scallops proved to be a light, tasty starter and we could also recommend the guinea fowl main and the slow-cooked beef. The wine waiter was very knowledgeable and his recommendations certainly enhanced our meal; the service was attentive and the staff could not do enough for us. Even though we dined early in the evening when the restaurant was still quite empty, we had a good overview of the bar and courtyard area and it was quite a lively atmosphere.
We would certainly recommend it!"
Dined on 13/06/2015
Special Features: fit for foodies, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It's not the usual hotel dining experience

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 09/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Typically, hotel dining is synonymous with a total lack of atmosphere and overblown prices, but at Sanderson and with the Opentable deal this was not the case. The exterior of the hotel probably owes its ugliness to a well-aimed bomb during the Blitz destroying a lovely early 19th century building, but efforts have been made on the interior to compensate for this. It's light, stylish and modern without a hint of Travelodge purple and grey to be seen. The menu was so good I had real trouble making my choices and the food itself did not disappoint. Would certainly recommend."
Dined on 09/06/2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 09/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 09/06/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, Outstanding Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent new restaurant

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 08/06/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Delicious food. We ate there a week after Allan Pickett opened his restaurant. The £35 Open Table three course menu is very good value. Every dish we tasted combined ingredients and flavours in an innovative and mostly successful way. Service was attentive and helpful. Stylish modern decor with a garden in the centre."
Dined on 08/06/2015
Special Features: fit for foodies, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Stylish place to dine...

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 06/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"the restaurant was relatively quiet at 9.30pm for a Saturday night and imagine that they limit the number of open table deals per night, but despite this the whole area had a great atmosphere. i dined with a friend of mine so wasn't romantic. but the staff were still very attentive and the young waitress was helpful with recommending dishes.
The value was brilliant on open table otherwise it would have been very expensive. The choices for starters were limited and didnt really like any of the dishes. my smoked salmon was disappointing but the main courses more than made up for the starters.
I had the guinea fowl and my friend had the duck and both dishes were delicious. Portions were fine, but for a guy they would still be hungry. Not so much the meat but the accompaniments were small, but you can order more sides at an extra charge.
The deserts were mixed but that is down to choice and taste. the ice and brownie choice was refreshing and a real delight. The caramelized apricots were sour and not very nice. However there was a panacotta and cheese alternative which is a good selection for a set menu.
We had a lovely bottle of medium white wine called The beautiful lady or something like that. I know crazy name but it was! I will be having that again and i am not a white wine drinker. the pesseco cocktail choice was lovely.
All in all a fantastic evening which we finished at the bar.. Great place for singles as well as couples.."
Dined on 06/06/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, fit for foodies, romantic, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 06/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 06/06/2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 06/06/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 06/06/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Relaxed, friendly staff felt special and valued.

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 05/06/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The menu was really tasty, and was varied enough to meet the needs of my foody husband and myself who is dairy-free. The dessert was altered slightly, without fuss, but with plenty of artistic thought, to meet my dairy-free needs. Thank you, we enjoyed our Friday night treat."
Dined on 05/06/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, great for brunch, Afternoon Tea, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Sanderson
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 25/04/2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 25/04/2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.