Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Hibiscus Restaurant Reviews List

Hibiscus Restaurant

The Hibiscus is a unique find! Located in the heart of Morristown in the Best Western Hotel, Morristown Inn; a one of it’s kind, Hibiscus boasts a unique concept providing the first upscale but cozy Caribbean restaurant in New Jersey , the first in a hotel & the only place for Caribbean in town.
Hibiscus prepares & presents for it's guests five star quality meals at unbelievably affordable prices. Never before have you had Traditional American & Authentic Island Cuisine (Jamaican) at it's best all in one place. Come & enjoy from Authentic Jamaican Jerk Chicken served with traditional rice & beans & fried plantains to our famous Rasta Pasta made with lightly seasoned Jerk chicken breast, sundried tomatoes & broccoli in a light cream sauce over penne or capellini to Steak House quality steaks, perfectly prepared & served with our gourmet mashed potatoes & vegetables al dente, Complete your evening with our to die for, Jamaican Rum flavored Bread Pudding .
Kid Friendly
See more Hibiscus Restaurant details
100 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(100 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
5 stars
(45)
4 stars
(31)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(43)
  • romantic(40)
  • neighborhood gem(35)
  • special occasion(35)
  • good for groups(33)
  • great for brunch(20)
Hibiscus Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It's a quaint spot with scrumptutious foodcuisine.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasant Surprise!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I made a reservation for my wife and myself based on seeing some good reviews but didn't pay attention to the location of the restaurant. Naturally, we were a little surprised and skeptical when we realized that it was located in the Best Western and had standard hotel décor. Essentially it didn't feel like a restaurant. That was all overlooked upon eating some really good food, having good service and enjoying the music from the live band. Food wise, we started with the Codfish fritters as our appetizer. For the main dish, my wife had the Curried Shrimp and I had the Oxtails. All were delicious! Dessert was where we had a slight let down. We ordered the chocolate cake and it came out firm and dry. When our waitress saw that we didn't eat it, she asked why and we explained that it wasn't really good. Without us asking, she immediately told us she would take it off the bill, which was great to hear.
All in all, we had a good time and were definitely glad we didn't judge a book by the cover. We'll definitely go back to try other menu items at this little hidden gem!
"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I am Jamaican, so I rarely eat out at Caribbean restaurants. However, it was my boyfriend's birthday and I decided to pick this since he loves island food. I made a great decision!!! The food, hospitality, and ambience was perfect!! The pianist played 'happy birthday' for him as we were wrapping up our dinner. I told my family about it and now we're considering us all coming for a night out!
P.s This is a BYOB restaurant"
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Hibiscus Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Food was tasty. I have to say that for Jamaican food it was way over priced. Portion size was average. Service was middle of the road."
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hopefully Will Remain a Secret

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is such a good consistent restaurant both for food and service. Music on Tuesday Friday and Saturday is a real bonus. Selfishly I hope it remains somewhat of a secret because it is hard enough to get a table now. Seriously this is a very good restaurant with unique food for Morristown. They deserve to thrive."
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Don't let the offputting entrance down a back cement staircase through a hotel lobby deter you. This is a great place. The jazz combo that was playing the night we were there was excellent. The noise level got a bit more than we like by the time we left at 8:30 but up until that it was a perfect combination of background music and conversation. The food is outstanding. The service is fine - they forgot our salads - but no worries, we had enough food that they were almost forgotten. The sea bass, the tamarind crusted salmon - great! The desserts were nothing to waste calories on - have more of that bread offered!"
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife have dined at Hibiscus many times over the past many years and have always had wonderful meals with great service and ambiance. Unfortunately, our last experience was not very good. The appetizers were wonderful but my Jerked Chicken was very dry, though my wife's Goat was excellent. Halfway through our entrees, I got the attention of our waiter (who must have forgotten we were there) and asked for more biscuits. I was amazed that she wanted to charge us $3.00 for 2 biscuits! Perhaps if we were just having appetizers, but with a full meal; that's absurd!! I hope this is just an anomaly, ask I really think they used to do a very good job!"
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Charming gem....

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food, service, atmosphere and music were great. We will return again and again."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely evening

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Quite a find. Charming atmosphere, interesting food, nice music and excellent service.
And byob !!
"
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing Food and Jazz

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Hibiscus Restaurant in Morristown is a gem of a find! Wonderful service, absolutely superb food, and the live jazz made the evening truly memorable. We followed the wait staff's recommendations on plate selections, and couldn't have been more pleased. We will be back!"
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food. Great staff.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent creme brulle'. Best I have ever had. The rum bread pudding was a winner. I would recommend the oxtails. The Asian entree' was loved by my husband."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hisbiscus is was a nice discovery!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was awesome!! I had the curry chicken and it was good and flavorful. I actually dreamt about it and I can't wait to go back for more. The service was very good and I really enjoyed the ambiance."
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Intimate find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The staff was particularly impressive - attentive and engaging. The food was excellent and the jazz singer and her group were perfect in this intimate venue."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Caribbean Hideaway In Morristown NJ

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hibiscus Is A fine place to take a love one to dine and enjoy great Music . The staff is top notch and has a good understanding on how to keep you smiling. What makes Hibiscus Stand out from the rest of the restaurants in the area, is the low lighting and mid size room that you can almost call your own space and personal service at hand. Reservation is needed and well worth the effort."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unexpectedly enjoyed jazz music

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for the food and was unaware there would be live jazz music. At first i thought it would interfere with our ability to hear each other at the table. But it ended up being an unexpected treat. Great brand who made me actually enjoy jazz music"
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Former diner extremely disappointed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been here before and loved it, fantastic food, great hostess, and if you go on a Fri. or Sat. live music. This time was a huge disappointment! It was a Wednesday and our anniversary, we arrived at 8pm. Only 5 or 6 tables had customers. We waited at least 20 mins. to place our order. The music was very pleasant, but so loud we asked them to turn it down. After 30 mins. we had to ask for some bread. I had to keep asking for water refills. After 1 hour and no food we found out the chef never showed and someone else was covering! I wish they told us this at the start, we wouldn't have stayed. Food did not arrive until 1 1/2 hours after we got there. By that time my back hurt from sitting so long and eating at 9:30pm is by far, too late for me to start eating a meal. The food was great as always, but the horrendous service really put a damper on our special night. :-( It will be a while before we think about returning."
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Upscale Caribbean Restaurant ... In Morristown!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"What a find! An authentic, upscale West Indian restaurant without the need to go to NYC, Brooklyn or Queens!
The only thing that may give the place a side-eye is that it is in a Best Western Hotel and in the basement.. But, if you can look past that, you will enjoy well prepared, authentically seasoned food in an intimate setting with attention to service. And, it is BYOB like many good places in Montclair.
I was a part of a party of three that tried Hibiscus for the first time. We found an excellent selection of appetizers, entrees and desserts available to us. As we are West Indian people going to a WI place, we were a bit critical as to the flavor of the cuisine.. NO PROBLEM! This was really good foon and the service was excellent.
In fact, our server and I believe owner Karlene gave me a call after I left to insure that I received my bread pudding that I wanted as a "go to" item. I had it already! That was very nice..
Not only will I be back, I will tell my friends and invite business colleagues to this wonderful place!
I enjoyed dinner at Hibiscus and I'm sure that you will too!"
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Horrible service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We waited over 20 minutes for our appetizer. There was only 1 other table at the time filled. Then it took over an hour and 15 minutes to get our main course. The worst part of it, not one waitress came over to our table to fill us in on what was going on. After WE finally inquired about our order, did a waitress tell us there was a party going on next door. The whole situation was dealt with poorly. And on top of it all, 20% tip was automatically added to our bill. We were a party of 2. That was in poor taste! What a HUGE disappointment. We will not be back"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Live Entertainment

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love your live entertainment but for me personally when you have a larger group performing it is too much and too large for the size of your room. They are all excellent but I like to be able to have a conversation as well. Other than that my family loves your restaurant and so do I."
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

awesome experience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food and service was outstanding! Try the oxtail it was delicious. Our waitress was outstanding we loved all of our selections."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came to celebrate a friend's birthday and there wasn't anything special about the evening. The owner and the waiters knew in advance about the special day and did absolutely nothing. I was very disappointed. The oxtails should be on the appetizer menu and not as an entree for the 3-4 that they put on your plate. I was giving this place a second chance as I was disappointed 3 years ago. I'm not going back no time soon."
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Step onto the Beach

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I absolutely loved my dining experience at Hibiscus last week. While in town for business, I was in the mood for something a little different for dinner. The wait staff was very attentive and helpful in assisting me with my selections. And the food did not disappoint. Everything was delicious. The only downside, if I must list one, would be the location. The restaurant is in the basement of the Best Western hotel, which is okay but probably not ideal for a Caribbean restaurant. It is modestly decorated for that 'island' feel and was clean and tidy. The food and service definitely outweigh the atmosphere and I would highly recommend. Plan to return next time I am in town."
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hibiscus Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth the money for a buffet.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>