Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Karyn's On Green Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Karyn's On Green

Karyn's on Green is a stylish new addition to the Chicago restaurant scene. This all-vegan restaurant, the third for holistic Queen Karyn Calabrese (Karyn's Raw, Karyn's Cooked) is located n the West Loop/Greektown area.

Modern, market fresh mixology is complimented by a full wine list and craft beers.
81 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(81 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
(42)
4 stars
(19)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(49)
  • special occasion(36)
  • romantic(34)
  • neighborhood gem(24)
  • good for groups(15)
  • great for lunch(14)
Karyn's On Green Reviews List
Review 1 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/04/2013
 2011
Dined on 6/04/2013
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/04/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice place. A bit pricey, but nice to have a place that makes some creative veggie dishes my hubby can enjoy."
Dined on 7/01/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/16/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

exciting destination dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Karyn's on Green is a triple threat - great story, great food, and often meet the owner! We always enjoy the experience and dining at this venue, and feel special whenever Karyn is 'in the house'. The servers always feel like they are trying to do a good job, but fall short in ways from time to time.
Overall a consistently positive experience that we will continue to support.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Will be missed.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Dined here on the next-to-last night in business, so just leaving this review to say thanks to Karyn and staff for offering a dressed-up take on the vegan restaurant which is normally very casual, but this was great for a night on the town for vegetarians."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Paul

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"As a frequent diner at Karyn's different establishments, this particular experience wasn't the best. The service was very slow, the main dishes arrived cold, and the portions were smaller than usual. This particular location was shutting its doors permanently on March 1st, which may have had something to do with it."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food and Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was well priced and delicous. Also we never had to wait for service. Great ambiance as well."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing this time around

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been to Karyn's on Green four times now - twice for dinner and twice for lunch. This is the first time I was truly disappointed with the food. The menu was radically different from the other times I visited. Except for the soup and one of the appetizers, all the dishes lacked their usual flavor. One of the dishes was overly salty. They also ran out of several items on the menu.
This might have been due to this being the night after Valentine's but overall very disappointed considering the standard I have come to expect from the restaurant."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just "fine"

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was expecting more. At least, more flavor and seasoning!
I also hit up Green Zebra on this Chicago trip and they have a similar dated decor that feels like "hotel restaurant past its prime." While I was super excited to be at an upscale American vegan restaurant, the food did not meet expectations.
We started with a cheese plate. One of the cheeses was great. A bit more variety in accompaniment might have been nice. We had to ask for more cracker/apple because there wasn't enough to get through the cheese samples.
Then we got a spread to try a few things - a butternut squash and coconut milk soup, the mixto appetizer and shepard's pie. Everything needed seasoning and there was no salt or pepper on the table or cracked pepper offered. The heart of palm "calamari" was my favorite but the breading had absolutely no seasoning and the dips (marinara and pesto) were very bland and not special. Again - garlic, cracked pepper, smoked sea salt, anything would have helped. I don't even know if the pesto even had garlic in it, it was so bland. I took a bite of my friend's shepard's pie and didn't need to go back for another taste. She didn't finish it.
My friend is a vegetarian and I eat mostly plant-based so we both have plenty of veg dining and eating experience to reference in comparison. This was definitely a let down.
Bummer!"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not What I Expected.....

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was very excited to finally try Karyn's on Green since I had been to her other locations and loved it. The restaurant itself is beautiful and has a great ambiance. The food however left something to be desired. Our waiter who was average as far as service goes began be naming at least 10 things that were not on the menu. We arrived at 10:30am so I found it odd that for a brunch only served on weekends that so many items would be missing. This was disappointing because I built up my anticipation at home based off the menu and everything I wanted to try, the restaurant was out of. In the end I chose a salad that was recommended by my waiter and it was something I could make at home. I'm not saying I wouldn't give them a try again but it definitely wouldn't be my first choice."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2014
 2008
Dined on 10/23/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was a surprise how much I enjoyed this! I'm not a vegetarian so I was a little skeptical, but it was great! I will be going back."
Dined on 10/23/2014
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not Impressed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"menu is very lean - extremely small portions, not impressed with ingredients. Just really weak. Won't go back. Super quiet in there, awkward almost."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great time and delicious food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I enjoyed the prompt and polite service. The food was delicious definitely would love to dine here again. The atmosphere and scenery was very relaxing."
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Vegan fare gets dressed up.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great spot for a vegan date night. The prices are reasonable, considering the ambiance. We had an excellent server, no attitude despite the upscale atmosphere. Location is easy to get to, although one could pass it many times and not notice it, which is not a bad thing."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

If I could cook vegan like this we'd give up meat

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Delicious. Excellent service. Truly a find if you're entertaining vegan. We will be back!"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

save your money

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"given wrong menu because item was not available. 5 min later it was available to someone else at our table. first item ordered never came until everyone was done eating. hot water for tea from server ran out he said he would be right back and never showed up. there should not have been any tip included with bill when the waitress new we got poor service. by the way you were not to busy since we were one of your first customers."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My vegan date liked this more than Green Zebra

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My vegan date liked this more than Green Zebra, and even wanted to go back during his four day trip to Chicago."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent vegan fare!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"So good that non-vegans love it too... great pre-fixe menu for NYE... the beer cheese soup was phenomenal. Would have appreciated some information about NYE on the website prior to the holiday."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

nothing special

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The cheese plate was interesting, and the fried buffalo mozzarella was the best thing we ate all night. The Caramelized Brussel Sprouts in Mustard Sauce were tasty but had literally no carmelization at all. When I asked the waitress about it she didn't even seem to know what carmelization is. Flatbread and desserts were ordinary."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fresh, Creative, and Delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I loved their arugula flatbread and their roasted portobello. They have a wide variety of drinks. It's great to find a place that takes the vegetarian and vegan diets seriously and that can be so creative with their dishes."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Literally the best brunch I've ever had

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Literally the best brunch I've ever had. I feel like we ordered the entire menu, and not one dish disappointed."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Our vegetarian was delighted of course!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"As was was his meat-eating brother, especially with the buffalo tofu appetizer. The 5 course meal had plenty of options, of which we tried several. The salads were crips, attractive and tasty. The fried corn on the cob was uninspired but the "fried chicken" was delicious. The beer cheese soup was tasty and would have benefited from some "zip" such as tabasco. The creme brulee with dark cherries was superb; the "bananas foster" was almost certainly made with plantains which were starchy and tough-tho' our waitress denied this w/o checking with anyone in the kitchen. Service was slow and our waitress was nice and not very knowledgeable about the food. The bus boy spilled water on our table several times. Our third time at Karyn's--sadly, we won't be back."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Years Eve Set Menu

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I went with the raw courses, and the only dish worth mentioning was the zucchini noodles in a peanut sauce. My husband enjoyed his cooked meals, but his Banana's Foster desert was horrendous. It was way too salty, the banana wasn't cooked through, and there was zero flavor.
We've been to this restaurant a bunch of times, and we will be going back because gourmet vegan is hard to find, but this was my worst experience to date. $65 tab for that raw experience wasn't worth it.
The service was excellent, tho the musician set to perform kept opening a side door, which let the freezing cold air in."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Delicious vegan food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Overall the food and wine were delicious even for those who are not vegan or vegetarian I would recommend it! Make sure to focus on the shared plates and the dessert, which were the best part of our meal!"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious Upscale Vegan Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A great option for a vegan meal in Greektown. Don't miss out on the nut cheese plate or the vegan meatballs!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Most Excellent Vegan Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My dh and I shared the sliders (Meatball, Shrimp and Jackfruit) -- so very good!~ He got the jackfruit "chicken" salad and loved it. Then, we both feasted on the most delicious vegan pot pies ever! The service was spot-on.... loved the ambiance. We will definitely return soon for lunch, brunch and dinner!~"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Vegan for people who don't like vegan

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very, very good vegetarian/vegan food in a lovely, tranquil atmosphere. Everything was light and fresh, yet so filling we didn't finish our salads or main courses. (We ordered an appetizer and salad to share, and each had our own mains. The salad is huge.) Well-priced. Great music. Friendly service. What's not to like? And we're not even vegetarians."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Frequent diner here

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love Karyn's on Green. They have changed their menu since the last time I was in and I was sad to see that they no longer have the jalepeno cilantro margarita, but I hope it comes back in the spring! I also miss the quinoa hush puppies. Those were amazing! Everything is great though. I have never been disappointed!"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Karyn's On Green
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2013
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was very good, but the service was not as good as when I initially went. The service was very slow- it took about an hour to receive our food and there was only 2 of us."
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Karyn's On Green
Based on the average of (52) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
39 out of 44 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic