Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

GW Fins Reviews List

GW Fins

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
See more GW Fins details
3735 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
(3,735 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 3,735 reviews
5 stars
(2,961)
4 stars
(587)
3 stars
(127)
2 stars
(36)
1 star
(24)
Food 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Service 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(2,252)
  • special occasion(2,184)
  • romantic(1,471)
  • notable wine list(1,127)
  • good for groups(1,016)
  • hot spot(716)
GW Fins Reviews List
Review 1 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Was hopeful, but left disappointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went to GW Fin to celebrate my wife's birthday. Unfortunately, the day we were supposed to go, our plane came in late so we missed our reservation. I did call and rescheduled for the next night. We were a little late getting there, however, due to simply trying to find it. It was a little tucked away. We got in and we were seated, however, I noticed before we were seated there were two hostesses and one looked at our information then whispered to another behind a menu. Not very professional, even if it had nothing to do with us, but oh well. I chose GW Fin because of the great reviews and especially because there seemed to be good feedback about the service. I even saw someone had posted a picture of a desert and Happy Birthday scrolled across the plate in chocolate, so I thought this would absolutely be a good choice for my wife. Well, while there was a little decoration on our table (glitter?) and the server remembered one of us was vegan from the open table reservation, the shine of the place stopped there. Service was just "okay", what I would expect at an Outback. There were two people waiting on us. The gentleman was very nice but the woman seemed less than impress to be there. We had to wave her down to refill things or to request to place our order. We were checked on maybe twice but it was so obvious as the table right next to us had a server who never let the customers' glasses be empty, cleaned forks before they ate, refilled their biscuits without asking, and on and on. We received NONE of that. It was to a point that I thought maybe the people sitting next to us were celebrities or someone special because they received remarkable service and we simply felt "unimportant". At the end, we did not get desert, just the check and left. On the way out, we noticed a customer had a slice of cake on a plate with Happy Birthday written in chocolate and a candle. That was never offered to us. I guess we just weren't that special, at least to our servers."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2005
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceptional all around -- a delicious experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Were this a less refined restaurant, I would have licked the bowl that brought the lobster dumpling starter to our table. My wife and I both thought it would be potsticker-like, but instead it approximated a ravioli, coming boiled to perfection – the noodle boiled/cooked through but with the contents retaining its personality and flavor. The accompanying white sauce was sublime, adding flavor without overpower – enhancing and empowering the intended taste. Our other starter, the Yellowfin tartare, came artfully stacked so that vertical slices captured each of the ingredients contained in the menu’s description. The soy and wasabi latticework added another visual as well as flavor dimension to yet another inspired starter. The poached pear salad might have seemed less interesting after the two knock-out starters, but the pear warrants some pontificating. Yes, it was poached in red wine and spices, but not so long as to lose its tone, texture, and flavor. As the teeth slice through the first one-eighth inch, the combined pear, wine, and spices emerge, but the next quarter inch emits the original pear flavor and a slightly firmer flesh suggesting the pear was lovingly cooked under a watchful eye to avoid losing its personality. My wife’s scallops were lightly caramelized but not at the price of the scallop flavor or freshness. My red snapper came piping hot but light, moist, and flaky, carrying a subtle, charming flavor. The accompanying thinly sliced and cooked (hard to tell if it was slow-baked or briefly deep-fried in very clean, fresh, and hot oil) okra added just that hint of the south. And the Fins 75 was wonderfully balanced. So too was the timing of our dishes, paced at reasonable intervals that encouraged conversation and relaxation. Quinn, our server, was friendly and attentive without hovering – ever watchful to deliver and take away at optimal moments. It was the best tasting dinner we had in a week of dining in top 20 establishments."
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

GW Fins

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I were visiting New Orleans for both work and pleasure. I had researched GW Fins on line and was impressed by the reviews. They took a reservation on opentable when most restaurants didn't accept any reservations. I don't like to wait so that already made GW Fins a smart find for us.
We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the restaurant was beautiul. The main dining room was decorated very nicely with the ceiling and walls draped with interesting items. When we arrived a few minutes before our 9:00 PM reservation, the hostess told us to, " have a seat in the bar and she would call us exactly at nine." She should have said ," we will call you when your table is ready." It would have sounded nicer. She was a bit short with us and I didn't like her attitude. Plus the bar was packed and there wasn't any place to sit. Some people were eating their dinner in the bar area and there was a table of little kids there that I thought was inappropriate.
The hostess did call us exactly at nine o'clock. The woman that seated us was actually very nice. Our table was comfortable but a bit deep. I felt like I was sitting too low for the table. The waiter was a bit "affected". He tried to act "fancy" but it turned out to be a bit annoying.
My husband and I each ordered ordered a glass of Pinot Grigio, which was very good. I then ordered a caeser salad and my husband had the a lobster dumplings. Both were very good. For our main courses, my husband ordered a blackened swordfish. I ordered a local fish called sheepshead. I had never heard of it but the waiter described it and it sounded good so I ordered it. It was delicious. We both enjoyed our entrees.
We decided not to have dessert although they had a fresh baked apple pie that looked delicious on the table next to us. After the salad, wine and main dish, we were both extremely full.
We will certainly come back to GW Fins when we come back to New Orleans."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you're looking for an unforgettable seafood experience in NOLA you must try GW Finns. It's a little pricier than a lot of the other seafood restaurants you'll find in the French Quarter but believe me--you truly do get what you pay for! I came here with my mom, sister, and aunt on our girl's weekend to NOLA. GW Finns was by far the best meal we had all weekend, which is saying a lot after eating and drinking our way through a city where even the "bad" food is still good. Because this is a seafood place, a lot of the menu items change daily depending on availability. My mom and I both got the scalibut dish--halibut and sea scallops over a bed of creamy lobster risotto. I'm a big fan of scallops and this dish didn't disappoint. I all but licked the plate clean when I was finished. The portion was just right, too--I felt satisfied without being overstuffed. We usually don't order dessert, but since it was our last night in town we decided to splurge and ordered both the bread pudding and salty malty ice cream pie to split between the 4 of us. Both were amazing--probably the best bread pudding I've ever had. It was just the right consistency--not overly spongy or too dense like some bread puddings tend to be. The ice cream pie was the perfect mix of sweet and salty. Keep in mind that they do have a “dressy casual” dress code. Sleeveless shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. Read their website before you go for more info on the dress code. I was a little worried that it would a snobby place when I read about the dress code but it wasn't at all -- all of the wait staff, bartenders, etc. were very friendly and accommodating. Also, cell phone use is not permitted at the table which was something I've never seen before but truly appreciated. It really puts a damper on the evening when the table next to you is constantly blinding you with the flash from their phone!"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bring one of these to Chicago please!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As a Chicagoan foodie who loves to travel and eat from wherever I possibly can, I always have high expectations for fine dining restaurants. This place was amazing to the point I would travel back to New Orleans with this at the top of my to-do list. We had a really terrible dining experience the night before at another restaurant. I won't be shady and name that restaurant, but we waited about an hour for an appetizer and the food was not good. A huge let-down....however, our dinner at GW Fins completely lifted our spirits back up. The waiter was awesome. Our drinks were out extremely quickly, and I absolutely loved my refreshing cocktail. They also served biscuits which had perfect texture and flavor. They brought us out more as soon as they noticed we had chowed them down. The appetizers came out at lightning speed after we ordered them. The blue crab potstickers and Lobster Dumplings were complete wins. The sauces that came with these were perfect in perfect harmony with the ingredients in the dumplings. We savored every bite. Then, before we knew it, our entrees were on the table. We had the Scalibut and the Sauteed American Red Snapper. This fish literally melted in my mouth. I had to refrain from licking the plate at the end. Everything was cooked to perfection. The dishes were balanced and had great texture, especially the bite of the shrimp in the etoufee underneath the red snapper. We finished off with dessert. I had the BaNila, which was lovely. A nice twist on classic flavors that go very well together. My dining partner asked if the waiter if he could have the Strawberry Shortcake, which is actually part of their "Coolinary" menu and not available as a standalone dish on their dessert menu. Our waiter asked the kitchen, and they happily obliged! This place KNOWS seafood, and I only wish you would bring one of these to Chicago! THANKS!"
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very Disappointed - Will not rely on reviews again

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I did my research to see which restaurants were best fitted for a birthday celebration. Living in New Orleans we have so many wonderful restaurants to choose from. After reading several reviews and looking at pictures I decided to go with GW Fins because from the reviews they really took the extra step to make someone feel special on their birthday. When booking the reservations I mentioned I would have a birthday in my party, when they called I also mentioned and confirmed that they knew a birthday was in my party.
According to the reviews for birthdays; in the pictures they have confetti on the table and a special menu printed with the persons name celebrating their birthday. This is how the evening went; we had to wait 15 minutes for our table in which we were given a really nice table by the window. No confetti, we were all brought regular menus, the birthday wasn't even brought up. After we all ordered our food (which the Scalibut wasn't on the menu - another reason I wanted to dine at GW Fins), I decided to go to hostess and ask about the menu. The 2 ladies at the reception desk acted as though it wasn't even a big deal, stated they had the menu printed up and even showed it to me, then indicated that they would present it at dessert time. Which again I went to the hostess after we ordered our desserts and after that the waiter presented the menu.
Very disappointing evening, the service was horrible, our waiter was a nice person but not a good waiter at all, we had to remind him several times for things that were needed at the table such as sugar and silverware. The food was good, however; with the constantly going to the hostess to remind them of something that should have been a priority it ruined my meal personally.
Would not recommend for a special occasion."
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Enjoyable

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Fins before a show at the Saenger. We had an early reservation and because of traffic due to the Saints and the Saenger show, were running late. I called to tell them that we would be a few minutes late. I think that's the only courteous thing to do. The girl who answered the phone was a little rude, nothing she said, just the tone of her voice, when I said we would be a few minutes late. The restaurant was not particularly crowded and I don't think we were making anyone wait for a table by being 15 minutes past our 5 p.m. reservation time. Our waiter was okay but he recited the menu, basically, to us and described everything. The menu is fairly straight-forward. This practice must be for tourists. It was slightly annoying to us. We ordered the lobster dumplings to share for an appetizer. They were delicious -- light and airy, and the pastry was tender and not too dense. The biscuits were great as always. I had the salmon, which I ordered medium rare. It was cooked through, but the flavor was good, so I didn't send it back. The salted caramel ice cream with a pretzel crust was divine. One thing, though, they didn't present a dessert menu -- the waiter recited it. Again, I don't like this practice, although a lot of restaurants do it these days. I'd rather be presented with a dessert and after dinner drink menu. All in all, we had a good meal and a good time, although I did feel that we were being rushed through dinner, although the dining room was never full during the whole time we were there. I hadn't been to Fins in a long time, so don't know whether it's mainly a tourist restaurant now, or what. Our meal was good, but they could have slowed it down a bit and I would have preferred my fish to have been cooked to the temperature that I ordered it."
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2003
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

WOW

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wow! Fantastic service provided by Fallon. Excellent food. Words cannot do it justice.
Try the New Orleans Mojo 11 with Old New Orleans Rum, Cointreau, strawberries, mint. A refreshing start to the evening.
We started with:
Barbeque Shrimp - Deglazed with Abita Amber, crispy spoonbread - 11
Lobster Dumplings - Fennel, tomato concassé, lobster butter - 10
#1 Bluefin Tuna Tartare - Avocado, mango, pine nuts, radish, wasabi - 12
We all loved the BBQ shrimp with an amazing sauce (use it for the biscuits too). The lobster dumplings were great with a subtle flavor. The tuna tartare was fantastic for those of us that love raw fish.
Entrees:
Gulf Red Grouper - Crispy chicken crust, sweet potato spoonbread, fried okra, maque choux - 28
Blackened Swordfish - Sautéed spinach, fried shrimp, mashed potatoes, chili hollandaise - 28
Parmesan Crusted Sheepshead - Asparagus, crispy capers, jumbo lump crab, Meyer lemon, brown butter - 28
Wood Grilled Scottish Salmon - Smoky Jalapeño glaze, thin bean succotash, mashed potatoes, corn butter - 26
Every piece of fish was amazing. The grouper has actual chicken skin on it and it was incredible. If they have this dish make it the one you pick. The sheepshead is a mild fish that my niece pronounced the best piece of fish ever.
Desserts:
White Chocolate & Caramel Bread Pudding
Dark Chocolate Chunks, pecans, whipped cream - 7
Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie
Pretzel Crust & Caramel whipped cream - 8
Doberge Cake
Satsuma curd - 10
The bread pudding was the best. Seriously the must have dessert. The ice cream pie was also first rate. The Doberge was okay. The Satsuma curd is citrusy but didn't do much for the cake. It was the only miss of the evening.
Impeccable service, excellent fish - what more can you ask for?"
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Huge Disappointment.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I made a reso several days in advance to have a nice dinner one night while in town last Thursday night. We were seated at a nice table, but then left there for 15 minutes with no menus and no one attending us. The place was packed and super loud. After those 15 minutes, the waiter finally greeted us. Asked us where our menus were. When we told him we did not have any, the hostess who seated us brought them to us. She was very apologetic. We were ready to move on with our experience - this was all just a "hitch" in getting things started. Nope. From then on we were left for long periods of time. When the waiter would finally show up, we would order an app or whatever in the moment while needing drinks, also. He would take down the food order and then disappear super fast without letting us ask for drinks. When the food came, it was very so-so. I was expecting something to be really awesome - not everything, but something. It was so boring and mediocre. I was so frustrated at this point, that I would have like to have left some feedback. I worked in high end restaurants in Chicago, etc. and if someone had an experience like this, in a place that claimed to be what this one did, I would want to know. No, instead no one ever came to us and asked. No floor manager, no one. When we headed out the door, the hostesses were so busy they didn't even look at us. So it was pointless. We did leave a tip for the waiter, but I wanted to tell a manager to ask his waiter if he really thought the service he provided warranted a tip? Oh, wait. But there was no manager. So in the end, I would have liked to have provided my feedback to management directly. Instead, I am frustrated enough to leave it here, on the Internet."
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fancy New Orleans menu.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We picked this place on Trip Advisor, which gave it very high ratings and it didn't seem too expensive. The picture on the ad was of a neon sign saying GW Fins. We couldn't get a reservation anywhere around the lunch hour, so we made reservations for 5 pm. It was a hot day in the city and we had walked around a lot. My husband was wearing jeans and a collared shirt, but my adult daughter and I were wearing shorts/capris.
I never saw a neon sign anywhere. The entrance is elegant. There is a dress code entering the restaurant. Surprised by the elegance, we asked if we were ok, and they said yes and treated us well. This is a nice place.
They serve amazing biscuits fresh out of the oven, directly to your table. The menu was fantastic--very unusual dishes and combinations. I got the "scalibut" (scallops and halibut) and loved it. The waitress said the menu is new every afternoon, based on what is available.
The food was wonderful. I have never eaten halibut that tasted this good.
We only drank ice water with our meal and did not order desert. We ordered one appetizer, gumbo, and three entres and the total came to $113. So be prepared.
We have one hearing impaired person in our group and that person had a hard time hearing us. (That is not unusual in restaurants.) We also have a person allergic to dairy in our group. The restaurant was very accommodating, but it was hard to get around dairy free with this menu that appears to have a french influence.
I parked around the corner in a parking garage and found out that GW Fins has a voucher for 3 hours. That was a perk!
I would return to GW Fins for all kinds of special occasions with my husband, but I would be more prepared and I would put on pretty clothes!
"
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Noisy but very good.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Let me start off by saying the noise level in this place is almost unbearable to me and gives me anxiety. It was quite difficult for me to enjoy my dinner because of the noise. Our server was nice and very thorough. They server fresh warm biscuits straight out the oven which are pretty good but not mindblowing. For appetizers we had the lobster dumplings in some kind of sauce. I really wish the dumplings were a bit thicker and packed with more of whatever they put inside, but the sauce that was served with it was divine!
For entrees, my boyfriend had the parmesan crusted drum which he absolutely loved. He cleaned his plate up to the very last bit! I had the infamous scalibut. The lobster risotto that came with it was fantastic and flavorful. The scalibut itself was just okay to me. A bit bland honestly, but if you put some of the sauce that's served on the plate with a bite of the bland fish and scallops, it'll taste a bit better! We also got a side of mushroom risotto. I think I may liked that better than the scalibut. The mushroom risotto was full of flavor and just the right amount of cheese.
I was ready to leave the restaurant due to the noise - was getting really bad anxiety at this point. But I think it would have been a more enjoyable experience if I were to be seated away from the window (too much distraction for me) or even into a booth. Overall, the food was very good and I would come back again but ask to be seated somewhere where there's not a lot of distractions or traffic."
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

already want to go back.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I NEVER write reviews but decided to for GW Fins because it was just that FABULOUS!! First we got there early so we just checked in and grabbed a drink at the bar. The bartender was SO sweet and adorable and it just started off the night right!! the host quickly came to get us and even sat us about 5 min before we had our reservations. After we sat down, our server (he was so cute and nice!!) come over to greet us and such. we ordered the lobsters dumplings (they were a dream! so light but full of flavor!) After we finished our drinks from the bar he recommended a great glass of wine based on what we like and what we were planning on ordering for the night. He hit the nail on the head! I usually stick to a scotch on the rocks/ whisky cocktail, so for this girl to have something new was perfect ( I usually never know what to order). Then the food came out. YUM!!! I had the Blackened swordfish which was seasoned just how I like it. The greens were on point with the mashed potatoes. ( and I am a true southern girl that likes her greens a certain way.) My husband is still talking about how great his Scalibut was. AHHH and the biscuits!!! I'm pretty sure angel wings were hugging me as I ate that perfect bite of biscuit. We are already planning on going back for either of our birthdays (ok lets face it, we are coming back for both of our birthdays) GW Fins has two regulars from now on. great, great job and the service was top notch. all around I give it an 11 out of 10 :)"
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Dining Experience in Years!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I have dined in many lovely restaurants in different cities, but this was the best experience I remember in 20 years. It was completely, utterly perfect. The dining room is lovely, with large windows overlooking a quiet block of the French Quarter. Decorated in a Modern loft meets romantic look. I loved it! Although each table was full, (New Years Day Eve) the floor space was open. The tables were not shoved together and waiters and patrons had plenty of space to move easily through the room, which helped keep the noise down.
We never felt rushed by the wonderful wait-staff. Everyone was lovely, our waiter made great heart-felt suggestions. The service was excellent.
But the food, it was just Stupendous! I was lucky enough to get the last crabmeat stuffed lobster over asparagus and it was the best seafood meal of my life. I am not sure what they cooked/steamed the lobster in, but the meat was glistening, flavorful and not overly salty, the dipping butter was lightly seasoned and the crabmeat stuffing was sublime. My date had the Sheepshead entrée and it too was magnificent. We shared a side of spaghetti squash, which was wonderful. Don't miss the ice cream pretzel pie for dessert and the dinner biscuits were the best biscuits I have ever had. I checked Trip-Advisor and saw that this restaurant is ranked number one in New Orleans. In a town oozing with culinary delights, that ranking set the bar very high. But the experience exceeded my expectations in every way."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An Excellent Experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the warm welcome when we arrived to the pleasant goodbye as we departed, our evening could not have been any better. The attention to detail, the atmosphere and the staff were all impeccable.
We were in NOLA to celebrate my 60th birthday and GW Fins was our last evening in town, but surely the best dinner of all. After being shown to our table and greeted by our waiter I was surprised by a menu inscribed specifically with my name and the date along with decorations on the table!
Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the entire menu, and that was a good thing as we had many questions.
And NOW the food! You MUST have the Sizzling Oysters. I have never tasted anything like this and they were so delicious. One of my friends had the Sea Bass in a lovely broth and I enjoyed the pork chop which was cooked perfectly and so very flavorful. And please save rom for dessert.....no need to over do it, just order the sorbet and you will be so surprised! The flavor of the mango and coconut sorbets was unbelievable!
The staff was constantly on the move, checking on us, and paying attention to every movement in the restaurant. Not a chair or napkin was out of place on any table.
I took a moment to use the rest room, and when I stopped to ask a busboy where it was located he walked me all the way to the rest room.
We chose GW fins from their trip Advisor review. As far as I am concerned they should be #1 in NOLA!
"
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Sold out on 3 entrees--not good management

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"GW Fins promotes their signature dishe "Scallibut" on their local TV commercial airing on the local NOLA tourist channel. It looked amazing so we booked dinner for 4, then we changed to 5 and they were very accomodating. It was a very busy restaurant, very noisy. That night, no Scallibut on the menu, but there was a great sounding Tuna the waiter expounded over. I ordered that and was excited to have that for my entree..then he came back and said that it was sold out. I then switched to the Rib Eye Steak--and that too was sold out. So I went with the Filet, which was good, but this place prides itself on their Fish and Seafood. I had the sizzling oysters, which were tasty, but the oyster fork with a slice of lemon was placed on the sizzling platter and I burned my fingers trying to pick it up to squeeze the lemon on the oysters. The waitstaff was attentive, but I think for the price of the meal, and for all meals in NOLA, they should be memorable. This experience definitely had its flaws, and after experiencing a similar priced menu that had great atmosphere, a sommelier, attentive waitstaff, and a complete menu, I would pass on GW Fins and find another restaurant that scores high on everythng. I think this place was once considered the best seafood restaurant in NOLA, but it seems now to be very average. There are newer fish restaurants you should research and try first before choosing GW Fins."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best fish in city. We love the tuna tacos and drum

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Gw fins is our favorite restaurant in the city. Being fish snobs because of our love of offshore fishing we dont usually like eating fish too many places because of the inconsistencies but this place has the freshest most delicious fish around. The make a drum that is wrapped in chicken skin and sauteed paired with white sweet potatoes and green beans- OUT OF THIS WORLD. The meal starts off with excellent service-super quick drink orders and those delicious sweet baked biscuits with butter. The appetizers are so amazing...one of my favorites would be the tuna tacos...they are toasted and filled with a robust flavor and of course fresh tuna. I eat at GW Fins every few months because we lived out of town but we make it a point to travel to the city just for a dinner date at this place. One of our favorite desserts is the chocolate molten lava cake...you have to order it ahead of time because it takes a while to make but well worth the wait. Let us not detour you just by the things we mentioned above...rest assure we have eaten almost everything on the menu and we recommend it all. One important thing to remember they take allergies very seriously especially nut allergies despite they have them on menu...so don't be afraid to let them cater to your special needs. The chef doesn't allow wait staff back in kitchen for that exact reason or so we were told. Have a wonderful meal! You will be back."
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love it! Will definitely be back!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I live in MD and was in NOLA for a conference last summer, which was my first GW Fins dining experience. I travel a lot for business and have accumulated points for free flights, rental cars, etc., that I never use. I never seem to have a good enough reason to add yet another trip to my calendar. But, the food was so good that I decided to come back to New Orleans just to eat here again for my birthday! Now only was the food amazing, but the service was awesome. From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we walked out, everyone was thoughtful, attentive and caring.
Our favorites for tonight were: the crispy pork belly (my husband) and the mushroom risotto (my favorite) that came with the scallops.
While the food was good and service amazing, there are a few details worth sharing that made the night extra special:
1 - they sprinkled a little glitter in a circle design around the center of the table to add a little sparkle to the table
2 - they printed a special birthday menu for me with my name on it and gave it to me all rolled up and tied with a bow - very nice touch!
3 - they brought a plate with a single lit candle and the words "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate sauce on a small plate when they served dessert - we LOVED the attention to detail without the cheesy signing and unnecessary attention
All in all, it was worth the trip! We will definitely be back!"
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must Visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my second visit to GW Fins and I enjoyed it even more than I did the first time I was here a couple years ago. The restaurant is located directly across the street from Arnaud's, and from the very unassuming sign and exterior, one would never guess what a stylish and inviting interior lies inside.
The staff is extremely cordial, well trained and demonstrates strong product knowledge. Management is consistently on the floor, visiting with dinner guests.
Fish and seafood items dominate the menu, but the real strength of G.W. Finn is the wonderful, inventive and creative spin they put on the preparations.
The meal begins with delicious fresh baked biscuits. We sampled the Lobster Dumplings prepared with fennel, tomato concassé, and lobster butter. Of particular note is Fin’s “Scalibut”, prepared with halibut, sea scallops, lobster risotto, pea shoot butter. One of our guests enjoyed very generous Niman Ranch Pork Chop, prepared with mashed white sweet potatoes, balsamic strawberries, and bourbon cane syrup glaze. It was delicious.
We also sampled many of their desserts including Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie, White Chocolate and Caramel Bread Pudding, and the Chocolate Mousse Bombe. All were uniquely different and incredible.
Please note that GW Fin’s has a dress code.
Put GW Fins on your “must dine here” list."
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Most special night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to GW Fins for our last night in New Orleans. It was the culmination of a memorable birthday week. Our night started by finding a rare parking place on the street across from the restaurant. This started the night off well. We had reservations which was good as the restaurant was filled to the brim even though it was a Monday night. The restaurant is beautiful and vibrant, bustling with activity. Our table was at the window looking out onto the street which we loved. Our waiter, Aaron, was friendly, knowledgeable and professional. We love seafood and the menu was filled with so many mouthwatering items that it was hard to choose. Aaron gave us good advice and we were totally pleased with what we chose. I started with the Lobster Dumplings which were amazing and light. I even requested more bread to soak up the lobster butter. For my main course I had the Scallibut, which was a scallop coated fillet of halibut. My husband had the Seafood Gumbo and the Parmesan Crusted Sheepshead. Everything was wonderful. I still can't read the menu without wishing that I could return and try many of the other items on the menu. Both my husband and I feel that this is one of the best restaurants in New Orleans and we are looking forward to returning on our annual trip to the Big Easy."
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Starting to fade

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"GW Fins is to many the epitome of fine dining in New Orleans. It's held its position at the top of many travel sites. It prides itself in only serving seasonal, locally sourced products. I first visited two or three years ago and was not blown over. My attitude was been there done that and check it off the list. I ate there again because of a friends request. Again, the food failed to impress me. The smoked oysters are truly outstanding but a restaurant can't hang their hat on a few stand out items. My disappointment comes from the $9/bowl gumbo - consisting of an ok roux, and garnished with tiny popcorn shrimp?? No other proteins can be seen it this disaster of a gumbo. Popcorn shrimp? I've lived and fished in ponds, lakes, rivers, and oceans. I've caught a lot of things but have never encountered popcorn shrimp in the wild. My guess is that proprietors are purchasing this junk at cheap prices from Vietnam. So one would expect these tiny shrimps to at least be prepared nicely. Not so- grainy and mushy. If Fins can't afford shrimp make a play on the dish and put local crayfish in it! Or just take it off your menu. The apple pie? I've had better frozen pie. Crust is tough, chewy. New Orleans is the culinary big leagues - better choices can be easily made."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Seafood Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I chose GW Fins after reading its rating and the reviews. The food did not disappoint. The service did.
The restaurant is nicely appointed and is designed in a semi-stadium design of rising levels. This allows those farthest from the windows to view across the restaurant and through the windows. The wine list is sparse and not particularly noteworthy. The food was expertly prepared and very good. The uniqueness and the tastiness of the scalibut is enough to recommend this restaurant on its own but there is so much more. The chef is extremely well versed and very talented.
Service did not rise to level that it should. The server did not know how to properly serve a bottle of wine (he completely removed the covering at the top of the bottle; he inartfully removed the cork which he then put in his apron; while pouring the initial tasting he ran the wine on the outside of the glass and did not wipe it off; after the initial tasting and pouring of all glasses he fumbled in his apron for the cork which he then placed on the table). He incorrectly ordered the appetizer for my wife and he generally tried but the effort feel short throughout the meal. Much more was expected from the wait staff in a restaurant of this quality."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2004
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

GW Fins is a gem in the French Quarter!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were a few minutes early, but were seated the time of the reservation. Perhaps one of the most important things when going to a restaurant is to be on time and be SEATED on time. When entering into GW Fins, I thought I was Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz! Can you imagine how she felt after the twister and waking up to the beautiful land of OZ? That is how we felt after coming out of the craziness of Bourbon Street and walking into GW! Beautiful and classy as were the maître de at the front desk.
We started with soup that was a rendition of Cioppino without pasta. OMG, I thought I was in heaven. My main course was "Scalibut" which is an original dish at GW and prepared perfectly. The halibut was tender and light while the scallops sliced on top were cooked beautifully and slightly brown on the top. All of this deliciousness was laid on top of lobster risotto. I had the Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay 2013 which enhanced the beautiful fishes; crisp and buttery.
To be honest with all of you, I completely forgot what my husband ordered because I was so enthralled with my own dish. I told the folks at the front that their restaurant should be in New York, not on a small street off of Bourbon Street."
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So fantastic that we went twice!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've gone to New Orleans about 6 times in the past 20 years and always try to fit in a "new one" amongst our standard go-to's (Commander's Palace, Mothers, Upperline, Casamento's, etc). This was our first time at GW Fins and it blew us away! The first night we had the lobster dumpling appetizers and the American red snapper and the Scalibut entrees. Fantastic! My husband, our self-appointed family food critic, actually could not find fault with any of the dishes! We went back two nights later and had the Shrimp Remoulade, yellowfin tuna tartare, and blue crab posticker appetizers (now that food critic hubby approved, he went hog-wild) and the parmesan crusted sheepshead and the wood-grilled grouper entrees. Since We're from NY, finding fried-green tomatoes is a rarity so the server (Awesome Aaron) brought me out an extra dish of the heavenly fritters! We even ordered dessert, which was an incredible apple pie. Sweetened with molasses it was perfection. We will certainly go back and make it one of our Standards now!
P.s. We brought our 4 y/o both nights and everyone, from the greeters to the wait staff were super-friendly to her, bringing coloring books and crayons and a booster seat.
"
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I went here to celebrate our anniversary and my upcoming birthday while we were out of town. It was the #2 highest rated restaurant in New Orleans on Trip Advisor so I thought we would give it a try. It did not disappoint! The service was exceptional. And the food was outstanding. Do yourself a favor and order the smoked sizzling oyster appetizer. They heat the oyster shells to 700 degrees and then drop the raw oyster on the shell to cook. Best oysters I've ever had! Our entrees were amazing. I was disappointed because they did not have their signature dish (scalibut) available that night but when told why I understood. Our server did go to the kitchen to ask if there was any chance they could make it for me and it turns out that the halibut and scallops were not up to the chefs standard. I can respect that. I was very pleased with the entree I did decide on. Their menu changes daily based on what seafood they bring in. After dinner we were so full we opted to pass on dessert but since we were celebrating a special occasion they did bring out a dessert on the house that was divine. It was a chocolate raspberry torte. We will go back next time we are in town."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Best of Everything!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Oh My Goodness! The words used by everyone in the party with each bite of food. It is amazing!
We were promptly seated, the waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu and even recommend a substitution for us which was phenomenal. Every person waiting on us was impeccable with the perfect amount of chatter and service. Our evening started with the biscuits which are to die for- I even got some to take home with the recipe! The lobster dumplings I could have had as a meal. They were perfectly cooked and it was like a party in my mouth of flavor. Fabulous! They were out of Pompano but we didn't miss it. We ordered the Red Snapper prepared like the Pompano with pepper jelly and fruit (WOW!) and the Halibut with Sea Scallops on Lobster risotto (a must try. It was truly fabulous food! We ordered dessert and had the Banana ice cream dessert (forgot the name). A great ending for the meal. We went back the next night just for dessert and they were all fabulous! The winner was the White Chocolate Bread Pudding. You must go. You are in for a great evening of fabulous everything. Only regret is we should have all ordered different entree's so we could taste the other dishes!
"
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Food, Worth at Least A Visit

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my boyfriend's and my first visit here. While the food was really good, I was expecting exceptional, but it just quite didn't get there (at least not my meal). My boyfriend ordered the porkchops with strawberries and he loved it! I did grab a taste and wished I ordered same thing - it was a nice thick porkchop and deliciously juicy. I ordered the Scalibut, and it was good, but not wow! I guess after reading and hearing about the high end food here my expectations were set really high, but the seafood just did not quite deliver. In addition to the Scalibut, I also had the fried soft shell crab. Again nothing to write home about. Was hoping for my taste buds to be blown over, but honestly I've had similar meals at other places. The service was also a little lacking - we had to ask for bread 3 times before we finally got it; when my boyfriend's pork chop was served we had to request a knife and when my fish was served we had to request new silverware (since the first set was taken away when I was done with my appetizer, but never replaced.) All in all, good food and I would recommend it, but not so sure I'd go out of my way for a second visit."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2005
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Must visit for seafood lovers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Capped off our anniversary trip with a fine dining experience in the French Quarter. This restaurant
lived up to its top rated billing. The service, atmosphere and especially the food exceeded our expectation. My wife typically orders crab cake for an appetizer and she rated this one as good or better than those served at Wynn Las Vegas or Del Frisco`s and it was half the price. The house specialty, lobster dumplings, were delicate and flavorful. Both the Caesar salad and the shrimp remoulade were fresh and generously sized featuring crispy polenta and firm tasty shrimp. My wife said the swordfish was among the best she ever had. I tried one of the three specials for the evening and was not disappointed. Grilled halibut with scallops embedded on top of the fish with poached lobster and lobster risotto included as part of the dish. Tasted as good as it sounds. Extensive wine selection and great deserts. We were comped their special desert , baked apple cheddar pie with ice cream which we did not need but happily devoured. GW Fins is an enjoyable and mostly affordable
(if you don`t order a bottle of wine) special occasion restaurant.
"
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceptional dining experience!! Solid 5 stars.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"GW Fins was excellent. Food-service-ambiance...loved it all! Will return on future trips to the region. The waiter was knowledgable in advising us about selections. With his help, we chose a red merlot wine and the delightful Fins 75 mixed drink as well as appetizers of lobster potstickers and crab cake, which were all very good. The crab cake was especially flavorful with a gingery-citrus sauce. Perfect, freshly baked biscuits were served during appetizers and with entrees. For dinner, we had meals of blackened swordfish with mashed potatoes and spinach, and sea scallops with mushroom risotto, all of which was exceptionally delicious and perfectly prepared. Though we had ample food, we couldn't pass on the wonderful dessert offerings. We had coffee to accompany the creme brûlée with fresh fruits, a banana ice cream dessert, and the best bread pudding I've ever had in my life. (Btw My dining companion needed some assistance in getting around and staff was more than accommodating and congenial about helping with storing her walker while we were seated and retrieving it when we were done, which was also greatly appreciated.)"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had early reservations at GW Fins to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We arrived fifteen minutes early and were seated immediately. The table was decorated with confetti and we had a personalized menu to commemorate our special occasion. From the numerous congratulations from staff members, to the attentiveness of the serving staff, to the outstanding food, every facet of the evening exceeded our expectations. We were provided with outstanding service and the meal was paced perfectly. The wine list had great variety and also included our favorite wines, which we enjoyed. The crab cake appetizer and triple wedge salad were delicious. For entrees, my husband had the Drum fish and I had the Scalibut--both were outstanding. Dessert was the Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie, which was also fabulous. We have been to many other upscale restaurants throughout the county and found the prices at GW Fins to be among the more reasonable for such an upscale experience. I wish we lived locally to enjoy GW Fins on a regular basis. We recommend GW Fins to anyone seeking delicious food in an upscale, attentive environment."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Orleans Keeper

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I dined across the street at Arnaud's before I went to GW Fins. A study in contrasts. Arnaud's is worth the visit to see how old New Orleans dined and was served. Worth a visit. However, the food at GW Fins was reflective of the modern New Orleans. I started all my meals in New Orleans with a Sazerac. The highlight of my meal here were the salmon carpaccio, which was a surprise. I've only had various beef carpaccios up until this point. I was glad I chose the salmon. Tissue paper thin slices with dill, meyer lemon, capers and pickled mustard seed. Yum. I followed that with a beet salad in honor of my daughter, who is a vegetarian. She seems to eat them at every place I take her to. I can see why, if this is an example of what she gets. Baby Arugula, candied walnuts, goat cheese, pickled red onions, sherry vinaigrette accompanied the beets. For my entree' I chose the grouper, which was served with pineapple basil glaze, sweet potato hash, roasted corn butter and crispy plantains . Another hit. If you only have the time or resources fo one very good dinner, and you like sea food, I would choose GW Fins."
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Making a special occasion truly memorable...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"GW Fins had been recommended to us by a long time former local resident as "the place to go" in NOLA and it didn't disappoint. They knew we were celebrating a special occasion and from our welcome at the reception desk until we left the restaurant 2 hours later it was a magical evening. The menu is printed daily and when we were escorted to our booth, we found a personally printed menu complete with our names and tied in a scroll fashion that served as a souvenir. The food was incredible and the sizzling oysters with their smoky flavor and the blue crab dumplings started off the meal with a bang. The Caesar salad at we shared had a light dressy and was more than enough for sharing. Entrees included Parmesan encrusted drum and blackened swordfish and were delicious. We shared a bread pudding for dessert and once again, it was cooked to perfection with cinnamon whipped cream on the side. Our server John was personable, knowledgeable about the menu and was the consummate professional. A never to be forgotten dining experience and we can't wait to come back to New Orleans so that we can return to GW Fins!"
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best seafood in NOLA(Louisiana??? Maybe the US?)

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have a house on the Gulf here in Louisiana. We eat FRESH seafood often. My family is a family that cooks and eats well BUT This place serves the best oysters on the half shell hands down. They are served sizzling with a light herb butter sauce on the side that lets you taste the oyster. We could have just had the oysters but the signature cocktails were to die for and the fresh snapper and lobster dumplings could not be missed. Then topping it off with the cappuccino and chocolate bombe just sooooo decadent!
This is the place to experience Louisiana seafood prepared fresh and well. No over the top "Cajun seasoning" , or blackened, overcooked and strange looking dishes . This is fresh served to perfection.
I was afraid to bring my mother here because she is sooo picky and such a good cook. She couldn't quit talking about how it was so delicious. She actually ordered a second round of smoked oysters. We are already talking about returning to the BIG EASy to eat at G W Fins!!!! Now that is really the ultimate compliment!!!!
Oh the service was great too! Thanks Moose!
"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great seafood, even better service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We started with the sizzling oysters which were perfectly cooked, and sizzling indeed, but had "one herb too many" for my taste. The much touted lobster dumplings were disappointing to me. No lobster flavor whatsoever. Both apps were hot and fresh, rushed from the kitchen to our table by friendly staff. Also, the little biscuits they serve are great.
My companion had the salmon entrée. She enjoyed the dish but next time we will ask them to refrain from stacking the various components. This layering of food is a trend that returns like a bad penny every 15 years or so.
I ordered seared sea scallops which were perfect. They were not overcooked yet the surface had the beneficial, slight charring that contributes so much to the flavor. They weren't on a layer of anything, so I was able to enjoy their unadulterated flavor.
I had a glass of the Louis Jadot Pouilly Fuisse which was delicious.
We shared desert. Their homemade sorbets, of which they had mango and coconut that night, were excellent, as was their crème brulee .
This was my first time. I will definitely return.
"
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Anniversay Dinner Ever!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great all around experience! The service was superb and the food was absolutely delicious! We started with drinks in the bar were the bartenders were extremely friendly. We were seated early and greeted by a very sweet hostess. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu and made excellent suggestions. We ordered the crab cakes that were loaded with lump crabmeat and were mouthwatering good. We then had the seared yellow fin tuna that was cooked to perfection and melt in your mouth good! The Asian vegetables were off the hook too! We finished off our meal with the Salty Malty ice cream pie which was just the right amount of salty and sweet to end our meal.
We were celebrating our 24th Anniversary. Everyone was so nice and stopped to congratulate us. We were given a commemorative menu inscribed with our names and anniversary date on it, and best of all dessert was on the house!
We enjoyed our meal and experience immensely! We were impressed with just observing the flow of the whole restaurant.
GW Fins is high on our list! We will definitely be back!"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Standout Restaurant in a City of Great Restaurants

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I found this restaurant based on reviews and a video I had seen on the hotel TV channel about local hotspots. I wanted something special to end on an even higher note after several days of a fantastic stay. We ended up having the best meal of our lives. The Blue Crab Pot Sticker was a perfect app to start. Light in texture with a luscious sauce that was perfectly seasoned and light. We split a Shrimp Rémoulade and frisée salad which was perfectly dressed with an amazing vinaigrette sitting atop a fried green tomato that was still crisp. My wife had the Sea Scallops which had the most perfect texture I've ever experienced in a lifetime of eating scallops. They could only be described as melt in your mouth. The Wild Mushroom risotto was expertly cooked with just the right amount of al dente texture. I had the Sheepshead which was light and flaky with a crispy sear on the outside. Our waiter was quick and attentive but never hovered. We will be going to this restaurant again without a doubt."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highlight of our NOLA visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wow! Four of us each had the best meals! Reserved here based on reviews on open table and TripAdvisor. We are all seafood lovers except my hubby. His filet mignon was so outstanding we each shared a bite. The lobster appetizer was outstanding and started the meal off with a bang. My Asian bouliabaisse was a bit of heaven. Oh, and the homemade biscuits that kept appearing also quickly disappeared into our mouths. I don't remember, but I think I ate 3. The swordfish was the other entrée that was ordered and shared. Our friends remarked it was the best they ever had. Topped it off with their signature caramel ice cream pie. It took all four us to finish it off. Brian and his team took excellent care of us, the manager stowed our umbrella concerned that someone might walk off with it if the rain started. Attention to detail, attention to the guest, and attention to the food made this a great highlight. It was only 4 blocks from our little cottage at the Audubon Cottages on Dauphine--another best for us."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Fishy

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We were sort of warned by our uber driver that some dishes might be fishy and he recommended us the Scalibut, which he said was not one of the fishy ones. It turned out it was to me... Not fantastic or amazing at all as other reviewers said it. We got the tempura fin wings and the lobster dumplings for appetizer... The tempura fin wings were not up to a standard tempura dish at all. We would say it was a not successful attempt of asian fusion... The lobster dumplings were fair, but no surprises. My friend's entree was way fishier than mine and she ended up taking only two bites. There were a lot of people so we thought it might be because the kitchen was too busy to take good care of their quality. And the people at tables around us certainly did not seem they were happy about their food either... To be fair, the price point was not high, but certainly not worth it. In one word, the dishes were not as good as the waitresses described them, and they certainly gave us hopes way too high."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We absolutely loved this restaurant! They alley entrance was unique and had there not been candles lit along the path, one would wonder if they should walk through. The outdoor seating looked nice but we were happy to be seated inside because it was nicely air conditioned. I ordered the fish of the day and it was by far the best fish I have ever had! The spices were precisely perfect and entire dish with accompaniments were perfectly balanced in terms of taste, texture, interest, and presentation. My husband ordered the beef cheeks and thought his dish was absolutely delicious as well. He noticed that there weren't any salt and pepper shakers on the tables- a smartly confident move by the chef who knew the dishes were seasoned to perfection and not to be doctored. My only critiques were that the wine wasn't great, service s little slow, and the acoustics in the indoor dining room made it hard to hold a conversation. The Great dinner made up for the minor weaknesses! A+++"
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I wanted to do something special for my husband's 50th birthday. So several states later, we chose New Orleans and GW Fins. They do not disappoint. We were able to get a reservation at 9:00pm that evening. The staff was amazing. From the moment of entering the restaurant the staff made us feel special. Each staff member that we interfaced with took care of our needs and went beyond our expectations. They took the time at each level of service to make our experience wonderful. As we entered the restaurant they greeted us with our names and wished my husband a happy birthday. The table was decorated with little touches noting again my husband's birthday. The wait staff was amazing with recommendations. The food is unbelievable and if you have never tried pork belly, this is the place to let your taste buds experience bacon times 1000. This was our first visit to GW Fins and it will not be our last. Any and all future visits to New Orleans will always include GW Fins."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

4 out of 5 stars

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"GW Fins offered us the best food we had while in New Orleans on a recent trip. The service was very good overall and the waiter in particular was knowledgeable about New Orleans culinary history and answered our many questions about the local seafood. The food was innovative, well presented, delicious and not too heavy. The latter is particularly refreshing in New Orleans where we found much of the food to be a little heavy. The one drawback was the overall ambiance. While the room was nice enough, the general hustle and bustle of waiters carrying trays, placing the trays on the folding stands, then picking up the stands and trays and carrying them out again, was a bit much. I am sure this kind of service was all the rage in the 1950s and while at first it felt like a ballet after a half hour I would have liked a little peace and quiet. However, all in all, the restaurant was excellent and we will definitely be returning on our next trip to New Orleans."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fine Dining at it's Best.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"G.W. Fins is a white-linen (no paper covering) restaurant with top-notch food, service and an exceptional wine list. Dinner started off with a glass of New Zealand Whitehaven Sauvignon Blanc and Blue Crab Pot Stickers. I truly enjoyed their signature entree, "Scalibut", which was a Sea Scallop-crusted Halibut served over a Lobster Risotto. My meal ended with a refreshing and decadent "Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie with Caramel Whipped Cream" and an Espresso. Although this was, predominantly, a seafood restaurant, there were enticing chicken, pork, beef and pasta alternatives. The service staff was knowledgable and worked as a team, like a well-oiled machine. I was always attended to. I was even greeted at the table by the owner, wanting to make sure I was being well taken care of. G.W. Fins is always packed and reservations are recommended. Compared to other restaurants I frequented in NOLA, I found the prices were reasonable, given the quality received."
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Must love Seafood . . . Perfectly cooked

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Greeted in the bar area with warm fresh baked biscuits, I knew it was going to be delicious. Menu is new everyday based upon the catch of the day which is updated at 3 pm each day. Our server, Marlin, was terrific. For appetizers, we had the BBQ shrimp. Not salty with a good use of NO spices, shrimp were perfectly done. Lobster dumplings are a must have item and my hubby went as far as to say it is the best appetizer he has ever had which is saying quite a lot. We both had the signature "Scalibut," broiled fresh halibut with pan seared scallops on top with a nicely browned caramelization with risotto. Risotto was bland but the fish and scallops were superb. Highly recommended. Of course I had to more biscuits for dessert with my cappuccino. Service was excellent with attentive staff. In fact hostess asked me if I would like a black linen napkin for my lap so as not to get white lint on my black slacks. Definitely #1 in NOLA for a reason."
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exquisite!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The atmosphere is inviting, but the food is what you go for. One of the nicest seafood menus in the city. Preparations are varied, and you can request modifications. Appetizers are necessary to set the tone. We had gumbo and lobster dumplings. We moved out of our regional comfort zone to try the Scottish grilled salmon, along with the local red snapper. Both entrées were lovely plates. Accompaniments differed on each, as any good kitchen should. You might want to save room for dessert, as the options are tempting. Large and airy, we observed that the lighting overall is dim but each table is well illuminated, so you don't feel like you're out with the crowd but not blinded either. Brandon was our professional and attentive waiter, and his crisp, polite service was duly noted. We try always to take one dinner at GW Fins on each visit to NOLA. It is in our opinion one of the nicest restaurants in the French Quarter. Highly recommended."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

GW Fins! A great culinary experience!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"GW Fins was a really nice culinary experience. We had the cripsy pork belly for an appetizer and it was very good. The sear on it was just delightful. Two of us got the Scalibut, genius! It was excellent. We also ordered the Black Drum. A comment at our table was this dish was quite Hannibal Lectorish. Taking the skin of a chicken and frying onto the fish was another stroke culinary genius! It was out of this world delicious! We also enoyed the triple iceburg wedge. It was cut into three small wedges and each was dressed with good Thousand Island dressing and blue cheese crumbles, and one wedge had a tomato, one had shrimp and one had creamy basil. It was so simple, and each had a really nice great taste. We all enjoyed the atmosphere. The service was impeccable. From the waiter to the person who decrumbed our table, to the guy who kept bringing those awesome bisquits. They waited on us hand and food and did a fabulous job!"
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceptional presentation and stellar service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I booked a reservation through open table for our first wedding anniversary. Our reservation was for 9:15pm we arrived at 9:00 and was immediately sat at our table. during the booking of the table I wrote in the comments. "this is our 1st anniversary please take care of us. And they sure did. our table had a candle lit with a fresh cut rose with glitter on the table. We had custom menus with happy anniversary with our names printed on the menu. Our server was ryan who was energetic, knowlegable about the menu and an overall great guy. My wife had the scalibut and I had the Tuna. Both were fantastic. We ordered the Lobster dumplings as an ap and was very delicious. Service was prompt. Food was hot and presented very well. We had the creme' brulee for dessert which was the best we had ever had. From the moment you walk into this place you are treated as royalty. Hands down the best restaurant we have ever been to."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

GW Fins-great food, great staff, great atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had reservations on 9/21/15. We had a drink at the bar & found it so comfortable, we gave up our table to eat at the bar. We started with started with the Crispy Pork Belly, Blue Crab Potstickers & the Triple Iceberg Wedge. All were very tasty. For entrees, we had the Parm Crusted Drum & the Wood Grilled Snapper. Both fish were fresh & prepared very well.
On 9/23, we walked in without a reservation & asked the hostess if we could eat at the bar. She remembered us from 2 days prior. She welcomed us back & found seats for us. The bartender also remembered we drank Bombay martinis. We started with the Lobster Dumplings & the Fried Soft Shell Crab. Both were wonderful, but the soft shell was outstanding, very large, lightly battered. As an entree, we split the cobia. Again, the fish was fresh & perfectly prepared. It melted in your mouth.
We would recommend GW Fins to anyone who wants a wonderful meal when in New Orleans.
"
Dined on 9/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"GW Fins is a beautiful restaurant in the French Quarter. Our lobster dumplings was popped full of flavor and goodness. I ordered the scallops on mushroom risotto. The risotto was creamy and delicious and the scallops were unbelievably tender and cooked to perfection. My husband loved his blackened swordfish. For dessert, we had the Salty Malty, malted ice cream, drizzled with salted caramel on a crumb crust made of chocolate covered pretzels. Heaven!!
Our servers were professional, friendly, and helpful. Tabitha gave us excellent recommendations for our drinks, wine and dessert. We came here to celebrate our 40th anniversary and GW Fins made us feel so special. Our table was decorated and a specially printed menu with our names, wishing us a Happy 40th Anniversary was given to us. They presented us with our Malty Salty dessert and a decorated Happy Anniversary plate with a lit candle. We had a wonderful night!"
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic seafood in the French Quarter

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Amazing meal, fantastic service - a must visit! I'd read so many great reviews on GW Fins that I wasn't sure it would live up to the hype - but it did. Had two appetizers - the shrimp with goat cheese risotto and the crab cakes; both were fantastic. I ordered the Scalibut, which is what GW Fins is known for and it did not disappoint. It was like nothing I'd ever tasted, and hands down the best dish I had while in New Orleans. My husband had the swordfish and loved it - I can't tell you how it tasted because he ate the whole thing without even offering me a bite.. it was that good. For dessert, ordered the Salty Malty and all I can say is YUM. The combination of salty and sweet is amazing... and a perfect end to the meal. One word to the wise... the unlimited biscuits they provide are temptingly delicious, but limit yourself to one so you can try all the other amazing food. A perfect meal from start to finish."
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Food, Disappointing Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Had a very disappointing evening at GW Fin on Sunday...
Food was excellent! Atmosphere was pleasant and well designed!
Service was disappointing! It was quick, but impersonal and felt like something in a quick serve establishment! Waiter only appeared at our table 4 times during the evening, to take our drink order, take our dinner order, take our desert order and bring our check. He never checked back to see if we were happy with our food, needed anything...just vanished every time and we were never able o find him on the floor serving any other table, so we were not able to get his attention. Upon leaving the restaurant I requested the Managers Email, but was given the Asst. Managers email...I emailed him that evening and 3 days later still no response! I held off on negative reviews on here or Yelp, while waiting for him to respond, but apparently the waiter is taking his lead from the Asst. Manager!
"
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for GW Fins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Such a find in the French Quarter

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went there last week while visiting NOLA for the first time-- i had researched to find the top restaurants and this gem came up top -plus to transplanted locals BOTH said it was a must !
We were not disappointed our server 'Camera' - thats probably misspelled -sorry -- anyhow she was delightful and informative and reviewed the menu with us. Everyone in there pays attention to detail whether its a water refill or wine refill or clearing plates --they are all on top of it. The biscuits which we initially declined until our waitress said thats ok BUT have you tried ours....and we agreed to one each could have eaten an entire tray!! The lobster dumplings with the sauce was so delicious and light. The yellow fin tuna entree was superb scalibut -scallop encrusted cod was fabulous. Every bite was fabulous of the entire meal. If we could have eaten there all 3 nights we would have! ENJOY"
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 66 next>>