Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel Reviews List

Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel

Acclaimed by local and regional food writers as one of the best New Orleans Restaurants, Cafe Adelaide is a favorite of local residents as well as visitors. Modern Creole Cuisine featuring seafood and farm fresh ingredients is the cornerstone to "eating, drinking, and carrying on" at this Commander's Palace Family Restaurant. Cafe Adelaide is led by Executive Chef Meg Bickford.

The Swizzle Stick Bar is a nod to the Brennans' beloved aunt, Adelaide Brennan, whose joie de vivre and charming pursuit of the good life is captured in the decor and design. Named for the gold swizzle stick that Adelaide wore around her neck, this fun watering hole is getting a lot of attention reviving classic cocktails.
See more Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel details
371 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(371 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 371 reviews
5 stars
(185)
4 stars
(123)
3 stars
(40)
2 stars
(14)
1 star
(9)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(152)
  • special occasion(124)
  • great for lunch(119)
  • good for groups(116)
  • great for brunch(111)
  • vibrant bar scene(73)
Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel Reviews List
Review 1 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Get what ever soup they have, you'll love it (if you love soup), then get an oyster po boy and a whole bunch of oysters! Draught anyone, oh yes."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Average experience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"After reading several reviews of the chef and restaurant, we were very disappointed in our dining experience. The service provided was very good. However, the dining room was almost empty. The food itself was completely unmemorable. Their specialty dessert, a biscuit of some kind, was inedible. It tasted like overcooked oatmeal, tasteless. We traveled to NOLA for our anniversary, and the menu was quite boring, preparation of the food was uninspired. Would not return."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Delightful brunch with excellent food. Wearing a hat gets you three free drinks - make sure you wear one. Fun, crazy hats all through the dining room."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful must go You also will enjoy very much

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing food and service!!"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not just a hotel restaurant.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great value for very well prepared appetizers, salads and entrees. The Kale and strawberry salad was ample in portion size as was the salmon and drum. The corn dog shrimp were fun and tasty. Really appreciated is that the main entree comes with vegetables. Service was outstanding from the hostess to the wait staff."
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The food is outstanding! The service great. Really, really special!"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mixed Review

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I was excited about going to Cafe Aidalaide. We were quickly seated and ordered simple drinks, Bloody Mary and champagne, which took twenty minutes. When I asked about the cocktails, the waitress looked agravated. We again waited a VERY long time for our food, with no explanation from the waitress. I have to say my food was excellent but the service lacked a lot! A simple visit to the table to explain the delay would have gone a long way!"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

deceiving the customer

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our waitress tried to tell us the reason turtle soup was not on the menu was because there was a national shortage of turtles. That no restaurant in the city had turtle soup which was a blatant lie because I had turtle soup at commanders 3 days earlier. I am not a tourist; I was born and raised in New Orleans. I truly did not appreciate being lied to. Will probably never go back."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/15/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Worst dining experience ever

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"This was the worst dining experience of my life. The food was a little over priced for the quality, but I would not have minded the bill if it weren't for the terrible service we received. As soon as we sat down, our waitress already had a scowl on her face. She clearly either does not enjoy her job or did not want to serve us. Either way it was unacceptable. She came to our table to take our drink order and didn't not come back for at least 10 minutes with our drinks. Once she came back she took our brunch order and never came back again until our plates had been cleared by other employees and she brought us our check. To me, this restaurant seemed to offer a nice dining experience. Some other employees were very lovely to us, but as for our waitress I cannot say the same. She is detrimental to the success of your company. If I am going to spend that much money on a meal, I would like to have service to match. My dining experience here was a waste of time and money while visiting the city. I would have much rather spent it elsewhere."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Review of Cafe Adelaide

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The food, service and ambiance was great. The manager came over and asked how we were doing and if she could do anything for us, which was very nice. I love that she was connecting with us at the table. Terrific choice and we will be back."
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 1/10/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Eating, Drinking and other Fun!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Cafe Adelaide was as fun and vibrant as its namesake, New Orleanian and Life of the party, Adelaide Brennan. I had the gumbo as an appetizer and for my entree, I had Shrimp and Grits. Both were well seasoned, served hot, and delicious."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"had Some friends in town for the Sugar Bowl and we thoroughly enjoyed brunch here before the game .
Between The four of us we had several cocktails including Sazerac(meh..many better ones around) postcard from Paris(great brunch cocktail), masala mule(interesting take), milk punch(solid), Adelaide Swizzle(good), Bloody Mary(good)
Two of us had the turtle soup(just like Commanders..same recipe as its owned by same family)..I had the cauliflower oyster soup...awesome
The boucherie biscuit and shrimp and grits were excellent. The omelette seems ok
New Orleans East Style BBQ Shrimp & Grits
seared Louisiana wild white shrimp over crab boil kimchi, charred chilis, pork belly, and creamy stone ground grits with a spicy Asian style barbeque glaze
The Boucherie Biscuit
buttermilk biscuit topped with braised pork shoulder, poached eggs, Andouille country gravy and Creole mustard slaw.
White chocolate biscuit pudding(give them 20 minutes heads up on this) was good and so was the vanilla bean creme brulee. We shared 2 desserts between four as we had a lot more eating to do throughout the day:)
Great atmosphere and service"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Third time here, and they struck out. Went for breakfast at 10:00 on a weekday. Took 15 minutes to be seated in an empty restaurant.
Their computer was down. All tickets had to be done by hand. Took another 15 minutes to place an order. Still no coffee or water.
Two diners had Eggs Benedict. The eggs on both plates were hard boiled, not even close to poached.
I had the Open Faces Egg and Sausage Biscuit. Ice cold, no sausage, it was replaced by bacon
I have had dinner there twice. Both experiences were similar. Hard to imagine that this is part of the Brennan family of restaurants.
To many other choices in our neighborhood."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food tepid and service so-so

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We had a reservation on Christmas Day so maybe things weren't up to the usual standards. Food was not hot- sort of lukewarm (appetizer, potatoes, steak). Fish had little flavor. Service was poor-once food came out no one checked to see if we needed refills on water, drinks, etc. Bill was incorrect."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Merry Christmas!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I made a reservation for my friend and I, as we were in NOLA for Christmas and wanted to be sure we'd find someplace nice for dinner. We arrived a little early, so we told the maitre'd that we'd be waiting in the bar. We saw him come through about 15 minutes later, he looked right at me, but kept going and never said my name. About 5 minutes later, I had a missed call from the restaurant on my phone, but when I called back there was no answer. So I went to the desk to inquire about my reservation. At first, the woman said "Let me see if we still have your table". This was at 7:24, and my reservation was for 7:30. When I asked if they had given my table away, she said "Well, he couldn't find you." Excuse me? Then the gentleman came back and said "There you are! Why didn't you answer me? I was calling your name." Again, excuse me? I told him "You looked right at me and never said my name", and he replied with a name that is not mine. By this point the manager had come over, who promptly took us to our table with an apology. Once we were seated, the rest of the evening went beautifully, with attentive wait staff and fabulous food. I had the pork osso buco which was melt in your mouth tender, and my friend had the white wine shrimp (both part of their special Christmas menu), which she said was the best shrimp she's ever had. We really wanted dessert, but were so full by the time we finished our meals that we couldn't do it. So aside from the rough start with the reservation, everything else was wonderful."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Kitchen in the Weeds

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We got our drinks right away and it took a little longer to get my appetizer. Then it took more than an hour to get our entrees. We were there for about 2 hours. Too long. It seemed as if nothing was coming out of the kitchen. There was a party of 10 that was there before we were and their meal was disastrous: it took more than 2 hours to get their entrees, their orders were mixed up and their bills were mixed up. It took us 4 times to ask our server to get our bill and countless times, she walked by our table, without getting us our bill. Once the executive chef came out carrying a tray of food. What???? That should NEVER happen. While the kitchen was awful, the food was acceptable but will we go back: NO!!!!!"
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Thanksgiving meal delicious."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall I was expecting so much more. Ambiance was nice, the food was great, although a bit pricey for the portion size but the service was slow and unconcerned."
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nice atmosphere, cold food and long waits

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my first visit to Cafe Adelaide and it will probably be my last. I was quite impressed by the ambiance of the place but the food didn't quite meet my expectations, particularly since it is in the Commanders Palace family of restaurants. While I can't say I totally disliked anything I had I felt a little underwhelmed by my meal. All courses, except dessert, felt as though they had been sitting out getting cold. I didn't like the temperature of any of those courses. I did, however, enjoy my dessert which was the only course where care seemed to have been taken. The wait staff was very nice but it took quite a long period of time before our waiter came around to take our order. Also, it seemed like an eternity went by between courses as the food came out very slow. I could almost understand the wait if the dining room was full but it wasn't."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Extremely Disappointing!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First visit for a NOLA local and will definitely not return. Too many other high-quality restaurants in NOLA to waste your time and $$ here. Disappointed there were no tablecloths for a fine dining establishment. Service was awful - especially for a Brennan's restaurant. Took forever to be served, water, tea and wine glasses remained empty all night, and food was not served in a timely manner. Food courses were served at room temperature and portions were too small. Even the coffee was not hot! Glad this dinner experience was eventually comped as it was awful."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Job Adelaide!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"WE very much enjoyed our lunch here. Open Table makes it easy to make reservations, and you never have to worry that they will "get lost". The staff are friendly and professional, the food is very, very good and seasonally fresh. The Chef comes out if he can to greet everyone, and the .25 martinis are a bonus! Thank you. Great seats, great view, great location."
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service was inattentive and slow...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and ambience were both excellent. We had a party of 3 and the service was terrible with no explanation or apologies given. We ordered a dessert that required a 20 minute prep time, so we ordered the dessert when we placed our dinner order and waited 45 minutes after dinner for the dessert. The restaurant was not full. If I return, would eat at the bar."
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Café Adelaide at Loews New Orleans Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>