Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sunny Spot Reviews List

Sunny Spot

What's Sunny Spot? Think roadside cook shop, where Roy Choi’s in the kitchen and every day's a holiday. Here you'll find sticky, crackling, double-fried jerk chicken, rum-glazed prawns and plates of fried pig's feet. Brown sugar short ribs scented with Old World spices will vanish under hungry hands while the plate is still hot-hot-hot. Fingers are to be licked, conversations are to be had later... because, for the most part, everyone’s here to EAT.
See more Sunny Spot details
72 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(72 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
5 stars
(32)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(41)
  • great for outdoor dining(39)
  • good for groups(34)
  • hot spot(28)
  • vibrant bar scene(27)
  • fit for foodies(26)
Sunny Spot Reviews List
Review 1 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/29/2013
 2006
Dined on 9/29/2013
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/29/2013
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2014
 2014
Dined on 3/01/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Super loud but one of my favorite places in Westside LA. The food is SUPER spicy & so good!!!"
Dined on 3/01/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

nice vibe, good food and service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/27/2012
 2001
Dined on 7/27/2012
 2001
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/27/2012
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here for a quick dinner and it was a great experience. Food was awesome, and just a great scene. Really enjoyed my experience! Highly recommend it."
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very cute restaurant

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everyone should go try Sunny Spot. It is adorable and the food is decent. My only suggestion is that they really need an additional waiter. Every time I have been there there they seem understaffed and it reflects in how long it takes to get help or place an order. The staff is so nice, they work hard, but there is only so much you can do if the place is packed and there's only 1 waiter. I have had to get up to get straws, lemons, ask for check etc bc we waited so long."
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun Hipster Brunch, Not For Kids

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"No kids' menu, no splitting portions. Indoor seating is on stools. So not for kids. But fun food in a fun atmosphere with a hip crowd."
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Group V-Day Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went her with a group of 7 for valentine's day dinner (friends not couples) and had a good time. There was more than enough space and they were very easy going about reservation changes. The food is yummy and different and the service was great.
Heard it's awesome for brunch so I want to go back!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Second time this here

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Itvwasntvat all what I remembered. This time it was not impressive. We ordered the wings, calamari, ribs (tasty) and a salad that was so spicy we couldn't eat it. We shared a burger and pulled pork sandwich which both weren't very exciting. Won't be coming back I'm sorry to say as I blinked it the first time a few years ago."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

50 Shades of Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came here with a group of 8 women before heading to see 50 Shades. Great service, great ambiance, good food and bottomless mimosas, bloodies and rum punch for brunch. Great time had by the entire party, not a single complaint. Will definitely be recommending and will be back. If only the movie was a great as brunch was! :-)"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our experience was perfect. The staff had our reservation - even remembered details! - and the service was superb, as was the super yummy food! We're definitely returning."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This was SUCH a fun spot.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had a bunch of friends in town from Chicago and was recommended this spot. I had requested outdoor seating with my reso, so was a little disappointed when we were put all the way in the back corner.
However, the food was amazing and Libby, our server was THE best. The majority of our table is / was in the bar industry and we were super impressed with her service. She was seriously one of the best waitresses I have ever had. I had the steak sandwich, super different, but really loved it. Will definitely be back!!!!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Roots Rock Reggae

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A low key, fun spot for drinks, brunch, or a Carribbean/California fusion dinner."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great drinks

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"For brunch the drinks were amazing. Food was okay. It seemed like a popular spot but, it was never over crowded. Service was great!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunny Spot
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Cute restaurant, poor service, overrated food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was really excited when we stepped into the restaurant, the hostess was friendly, the valet was nice and the interior was very well decorated. We were taken to the patio which is well lit and was equally as cute as the inside of the restaurant. The first mistake came when the hostess brought us to our table. We were a party of 3 and they sat us at a table really meant for 2 people. It wouldn't be a big deal except there was plenty of larger tables (better suited for parties of 4 but would seat us very comfortably). It was around 5:30 so the restaurant was still fairly empty, meaning we should've had the pick of the litter. This didn't become an issue when we were first seated but then the waitstaff weren't clearing our empty dishes. They would serve us food, look at the table and moved the empty dishes aside and awkwardly place new dishes on the already crowded table. We were mostly ignored by the staff, they were nowhere to be found when we wanted to refresh our drinks. We asked to share a dish and asked for an extra bowl and spoon and the waiter disappeared FOREVER. We ordered a steak sandwich which my friend enjoyed very much, sliders which were okay (not fantastic but good), and oxtail stew. The stew was not a stew but a soup. It was overly spicy without much flavor and only had two pieces of meat in it. The yucca was undercooked and overly starchy. By far the dish was not worth it's price ($16). It was at best a side dish and not even close to being a satisfying entree. When we needed our check we had to hunt down the waitress. Overall a not fantastic experience, I would not return nor would I recommend the restaurant to any of my friends."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sunny Spot
Based on the average of (55) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
34 out of 38 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic