Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Caffe Riace Reviews List

Caffe Riace

Caffe Riace, a robust Palo Alto trattoria, offers conviviality, homemade specialties and family-style warmth.

One of many fine restaurants in the California Avenue section of Palo Alto, Riace is family-run. Every dish is made with honest expertise. No tricky trendiness here, just the same good old fashioned recipies mom and dad follow at home.

Caffe Riace is also a perfect venue for wedding receptions, business meetings, graduations and other special events. If you're looking for an intimate dining experience, we offer private dining rooms, at no extra cost, that accommodate up to 20 guests. Our patio can host up to 200 guests and is a wonderful venue for warm weather events of any kind!
See more Caffe Riace details
137 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(137 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
5 stars
(33)
4 stars
(48)
3 stars
(33)
2 stars
(12)
1 star
(11)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(86)
  • neighborhood gem(53)
  • romantic(37)
  • great for lunch(28)
  • special occasion(27)
  • fit for foodies(25)
Caffe Riace Reviews List
Review 1 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Absolutely horrible se

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Absolutely horrible service. Did not have pesto. Had to ask for food to be delivered on all courses. Charged me double then argued about it. Lastly did not have capability to refund. Had to give me cash which took an extra 20 minutes."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quite good!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Italian

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Caffe Riace is perfect for enjoying a warm evening in their fun outdoor dining area. However, the quality of food they serve makes them a good choice on a colder evening as well (obviously in their indoor seating).
We arrived early for our reservation, but were seated promptly with no issue. Food was delivered timely, and was both nicely presented and excellently prepared.
Will gladly return to Caffe Riace again in the future."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Riace would not honor OpenTable gift certificate

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We made a reservation at Caffe Riace to use our $50 OpenTable certificate. The certificate shows Caffe Riace, but the restaurant refused to honor it saying they do not participate in such programs, even though our OpenTable reservation appeared on their system and even though they gave us 100 points for eating there (which we had to pay for since they would not honor the certificate). Aside from the unpleasantness of their stiffing us, the food was very good."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great neighborhood Italian dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to Cafe Riace about three times over a couple of years, but on every visit, I'm impressed with the roomy front dining area, where our group of 3 had a table that was quiet and seemed very private. In warmer weather, I might have opted for the beautiful garden area in front of the restaurant. I was very impressed with the service, which was prompt, and attentive while also being unobtrusive. At no time did anyone ask me how everything was while I was also trying to chew a bite of food, but they were definitely there if I needed anything. I'm on a special diet, so I have to ask a lot of questions about the menu and usually request modifications of the dish I'm going to order. The willingness to accommodate all these needs is an important test of a restaurant's service, and this one was excellent. Thew were able to deliver a salmon entree with white sauce that was cooked exactly to my request, and was very flavorful and satisfying, even though I had asked them to eliminate any onions, garlic or lemon from the sauce. Side dishes were equally well done. Thanks for an overall very satisfying dining experience!"
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disappointing experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I don't quite understand how this restaurant can be on OpenTable. We almost wanted to leave, but by then, already ordered the food. The dinning room was not in order - the table was unstable, they moved us to another table. Then, right after ordering the food, we found a push pin on the table and saw a fork, a spoon, a salt/pepper shaker randomly sitting on a decorative (sort of) side table. We were shocked, even took some pictures of them. The owner(? or manager) walked in and out of the dinning room carrying a broom, not professionally dressed. We looked at each other - is this a restaurant we made a reservation thru OpenTable? Definitely subpar and below the OpenTable standard."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Riacce has lost a few steps lately.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There has definitely been a large turnover in the Waite-staff. Ît lacks the ITALIAN . ..,style And warmth"
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor service; poor food quality

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have eaten at Caffe Riace a number of times, both lunch and dinner, and have generally found it to be reliable. We went with some guests the other night and had a sub-par experience. The service was less than professional. We had a long wait to get anyone's attention and then placed an order for wine and an antipasto for the table. Several bottles of wine on the iPad menu (I much prefer a paper winelist) were not available, we were told after some delay. Having placed our antipasto order, we were then asked several times by different waiters if we wanted to order an appetizer. It was as if they weren't communicating with each other. The entrees arrived and two of the four dishes were good--the quail dish and the pasta siciliana. Two of our party ordered the clams, and both of them found the clams to be tasteless and the broth way too salty. Service continued to be spotty throughout the meal. All in all, not a great dining experience."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Inside is great too!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a really pleasant dinner inside at Caffee Riace in Palo Alto. Two small rooms, very pleasant to talk and nicely decorated so a nice addition to the outstanding outdoor space on a chilly evening. Sicilian Itanlian always good and the wine list gives lots of choice both by the glass and by the bottle."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's such a beautiful space but such bad food and service. I ordered a harvest salad and ended up getting a fruit salad with two pieces of greens. The meat did not taste good, my fathers pasta was tasteless. They need new management and a new cook."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Ambiance good, food not so much

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"You're sitting in a beautiful courtyard with huge statues, fountains, olive trees and a row of Vespas parked out front. You think you're in Italy. Until the food arrives. No self-respecting Italian would put up with the gummy, stuck-together fettucine, or with the ring of meat grease surrounding the pasta on the plate. The place was mostly empty on a summer Saturday evening, and now I see why. It's wildly overpriced, and the food is just not worth it. I remember when this place was special, but I'm not coming back."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved the ambience. Felt like a was on a Italian patio. Had a wonderful Birthday lunch!"
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food, ambiance & service are always outstanding.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2003
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food, ambiance & service are always outstanding. Despite the complaint I am about to make, I'll always go back to this restaurant as it truly is the best Italian restaurant around with all the meals made to order. Now for the complaint which is specific to ordering wine. It invariably takes forever for them to find the wine you order, if they find it at all. This time we picked three wines, and numbered them so if they didn't have our first choice they could move on to number 2 choice, etc.. It still took over 30 minutes for them to find the wine and we ended up with our third choice...Other than that, if you are looking for phenomenal food and not to be in any hurry, this place is delightful!"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have come here for years and it was my son's favorite restaurant. He turned 21 and wanted to celebrate at Riace. Sadly, the service was so bad that we will not return. They knew it was a special occasion as we brought a 21 year old bottle of wine with us and explained why to the waiter. Our waiter disappeared after taking our orders. He must have put in the appetizer orders before he left. We got our salads. But then we waited for about 45 minutes and no food. Finally someone else showed up with a kitchen ticket to verify it was our order. No apology for the wait. Then three of five dishes came about ten minutes later . No word about the other dishes or apology. Then another ten minutes and a fourth plate arrived. Then another 15 minutes before my sons food finally came. There was never an explanation or apology or offer to comp a meal or dessert. The restaurant was only a third full. Another table seemed to have the same problem with delayed meals. It just felt like no one except the chef who did make good good cared at all about their jobs. It was just a sad experience."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

faded glory -- at best

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A terrible misfire for a Friday night date. Waiter had a bad attitude, forgot my wine, served a bottle of flat (!) san pellegrino. None of the food was good -- ravioli tasted as though from can, while the risotto was so salty it gave us stomach aches. The courtyard is well-lit for outdoor dining, but the fountain is so loud that couples can't actually hear each other. Maybe this was once a good romantic dining destination, but now it is a waste of time and money -- and just a sad experience...."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Needs to up its game

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our server handed us the main menu plus a sheet of daily specials; the top one on the specials list looked great. We eagerly anticipated it. But when we ordered it, he said they were out of it. Why didn't he tell us that when we sat down?? We had to start all over searching the menu. The arancini appetizer was good, but the bread served at the table was dry. My gnocchi was nice and pillowy, but the tomato sauce on it was so salty it was almost inedible -- and I love salt! Chef really should taste the sauces before serving them! My husband's salmon was a very small portion, served on overcooked soggy pasta. There are too many good Italian restaurants in Palo Alto for customers to put up with this kind of food."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2000
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2000
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

a great favorite spot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Wonderful spot; mediocre food and service.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Cafe Riacce makes the most of a public patio open to the sky which features sculptures and a fountain. Tables placed surround the large fountain of a woman holding a washing machine aloft (Palo Alto Public Art.) The atmosphere, particularly in the summer, is delightful. That said, the food is sadly mediocre -- not any better than frozen Italian would be. Our server was young, eager, and untrained. Cafe R has had marvelous meals and great service in the past; they need to up their game."
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2002
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hopefully this was not par for the course.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a long wait for wine and were then told they didn't have what we ordered. We placed a new order that took too long to arrive. Two dinner orders were entirely wrong. Sides were not as listed on the menu. Some meals were not hot. Service was really slow. It didn't appear to be crowded."
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

We walked out

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were so disappointed. I had been to Caffe Riace for lunch and had good service and food. This time for dinner was completely different. No one was at the Hostess stand for several minutes. Finally we were seated and were served water. It was 5:30 and there were other diners there but the restaurant was not busy by any means. We sat for 20 minutes and no waiter appeared--not to recognize that we were there or to indicate there would be a delay. We saw waiters who looked around but none approached us. We will not go back."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very pleasant restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The patio is the place to eat as it is in the midst of a fountain, roman statues and lovely flowers. Just be careful that you don't get seated at the edge of the patio facing the hallway with metals storage bins instead of the patio scenery. The food was good, the service excellent. I would go back just being very specific about where I did not want to sit."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was good but service was slow. Our water was only refilled if we flagged someone. The staff was standing to the side chatting often."
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely ambiance AND great food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I always take friends from out of town to Caffe Riace because I absolutely love the outdoor patio - you really can pretend you're in Italy when you're sitting near the fountain looking at the statues, Fiat, and scooters parked along the wall. The fact that the food is so great is just icing on the cake! We had 4 different dishes and our FABULOUS waiter offered to serve them family style so that we could each try them all. Not a bad one in the bunch! My favorite was the chef's special cod dish, but they were all delicious. It was a fairly busy evening so we had to wait for a bit (which was fine considering it was so nice sitting out on the patio), so our waiter brought a complimentary glass of wine to make up for the wait. All in all a really lovely meal - not rushed, and really delicious."
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>