Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Caffe Riace Reviews List

Caffe Riace

Caffe Riace, a robust Palo Alto trattoria, offers conviviality, homemade specialties and family-style warmth.

One of many fine restaurants in the California Avenue section of Palo Alto, Riace is family-run. Every dish is made with honest expertise. No tricky trendiness here, just the same good old fashioned recipies mom and dad follow at home.

Caffe Riace is also a perfect venue for wedding receptions, business meetings, graduations and other special events. If you're looking for an intimate dining experience, we offer private dining rooms, at no extra cost, that accommodate up to 20 guests. Our patio can host up to 200 guests and is a wonderful venue for warm weather events of any kind!
See more Caffe Riace details
156 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(156 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
5 stars
(39)
4 stars
(52)
3 stars
(38)
2 stars
(14)
1 star
(13)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(89)
  • neighborhood gem(56)
  • romantic(39)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • great for lunch(29)
  • special occasion(29)
Caffe Riace Reviews List
Review 1 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I love Caffe Riace - food and atmosphere is great.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Love the outdoor dining, the food and the waiters... Everything about this restaurant is great. Love to take the office there - if it is a group of staff or for an event for the attorneys.."
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2002
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Was better the previous time I was there

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Food was good but not special and selections were ordinary. Waiter was over stretched so service was pretty bad. Prices were higher than warranted. We asked to be seated inside and were told it was impossible but there were empty tables. We were seated by the fountain and were getting wet. When we asked to move to an empty table away from the fountain we were told that we had to sit in another spot by the fountain even though the table we requested remained empty the whole time we were there. We had to ask for bread and again for wine. Not the great experience I remembered from before."
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2004
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2004
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite Bay Area Al Fresco Dining !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The service was great, but food was not.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our wait staff was very attentive and friendly. I was really disappointed in the food. I will not go back to this restaurant because of that."
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Big Disappointment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Several of the salads on the menu were not available due to supply problems. Waiter was rude and food is very very overpriced. This was not a good place to eat."
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The whole experience was a disaster!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"It took an hour and a half to get our dinner. We ordered Squash -Carrot soup and received Shrimp bisque which the waiter(Young and inexperienced) insisted was the former. We had to send it back twice because it was barely warm. It was never hot. We arrived at 6:45 pm and never received our dinner until 8:15. I ordered rib eye steak; it was tough and fatty. (they did credit this on our bill.). My husband ordered ravioli which was tough and rubbery. All in all couldn't wait to leave. Will never go back again!"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Has Caffe Riace changed hands?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2001
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2001
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We have come here for over a decade. For most of those years, the same efficient wait staff was there. Foods and service were great. I arranged & attended many corporate lunches, dinners & parties as well as my own events without any problem. In the last years, everything has gone downhill. The staff is always new, service slow. Our Valentine’s dinner was the last straw. We chose to sit outside, where half of the seating was *empty*. Our waiter ignored us for a half hour. Our eventual order didn’t arrive for over 30 more minutes. We'd order wine, which didn't arrive either. At one point, an older gentlemen asked us if we wanted to order wine, then finally brought ours out. He gave a heavier pour because of the bad service. Still - no food. We finally caught the waiter who explained “it’s a madhouse” and took off. Eventually, the food was OK but we were too annoyed to enjoy it. Since we’d been there for nearly 2 hours, we skipped cappucino and dessert to avoid sitting there til dawn. The waiter asked us to re-check the tab because - since their laptops were down, they were confused by having to use *paper* receipts – the same ones you see at nearly every restaurant. A woman stopped by to ask how everything was and we said we weren’t happy with being ignored for so long. Offended, she said that the tables *inside* the restaurant were full, making them very busy. Apology? Nope. Her attitude clearly suggested that we were unreasonable to expect decent service. Really? Why seat more people than you can handle? Why do they seem so short staffed? Caffe Riace once consistently had quite enough wait staff when busy. Anyway, we are not inclined to return. It's sad."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

3 star overall

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Beautiful place. Decent food. Service was lousy. It seemed like they were really short staffed, we could never find our waiter or any waiter for that matter. The hostess was helpful and she got irritated at how poor the service was as well. It wasn't just us...
Every table was experiencing the same issue.
It was not busy so I really don't understand.
We were also overchArged for wine that we did not order. The fixed it after waiting 25 mins.."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Absolutely horrible se

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Absolutely horrible service. Did not have pesto. Had to ask for food to be delivered on all courses. Charged me double then argued about it. Lastly did not have capability to refund. Had to give me cash which took an extra 20 minutes."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quite good!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Italian

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Caffe Riace is perfect for enjoying a warm evening in their fun outdoor dining area. However, the quality of food they serve makes them a good choice on a colder evening as well (obviously in their indoor seating).
We arrived early for our reservation, but were seated promptly with no issue. Food was delivered timely, and was both nicely presented and excellently prepared.
Will gladly return to Caffe Riace again in the future."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Riace would not honor OpenTable gift certificate

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We made a reservation at Caffe Riace to use our $50 OpenTable certificate. The certificate shows Caffe Riace, but the restaurant refused to honor it saying they do not participate in such programs, even though our OpenTable reservation appeared on their system and even though they gave us 100 points for eating there (which we had to pay for since they would not honor the certificate). Aside from the unpleasantness of their stiffing us, the food was very good."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great neighborhood Italian dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to Cafe Riace about three times over a couple of years, but on every visit, I'm impressed with the roomy front dining area, where our group of 3 had a table that was quiet and seemed very private. In warmer weather, I might have opted for the beautiful garden area in front of the restaurant. I was very impressed with the service, which was prompt, and attentive while also being unobtrusive. At no time did anyone ask me how everything was while I was also trying to chew a bite of food, but they were definitely there if I needed anything. I'm on a special diet, so I have to ask a lot of questions about the menu and usually request modifications of the dish I'm going to order. The willingness to accommodate all these needs is an important test of a restaurant's service, and this one was excellent. Thew were able to deliver a salmon entree with white sauce that was cooked exactly to my request, and was very flavorful and satisfying, even though I had asked them to eliminate any onions, garlic or lemon from the sauce. Side dishes were equally well done. Thanks for an overall very satisfying dining experience!"
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disappointing experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I don't quite understand how this restaurant can be on OpenTable. We almost wanted to leave, but by then, already ordered the food. The dinning room was not in order - the table was unstable, they moved us to another table. Then, right after ordering the food, we found a push pin on the table and saw a fork, a spoon, a salt/pepper shaker randomly sitting on a decorative (sort of) side table. We were shocked, even took some pictures of them. The owner(? or manager) walked in and out of the dinning room carrying a broom, not professionally dressed. We looked at each other - is this a restaurant we made a reservation thru OpenTable? Definitely subpar and below the OpenTable standard."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Riacce has lost a few steps lately.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There has definitely been a large turnover in the Waite-staff. Ît lacks the ITALIAN . ..,style And warmth"
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor service; poor food quality

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have eaten at Caffe Riace a number of times, both lunch and dinner, and have generally found it to be reliable. We went with some guests the other night and had a sub-par experience. The service was less than professional. We had a long wait to get anyone's attention and then placed an order for wine and an antipasto for the table. Several bottles of wine on the iPad menu (I much prefer a paper winelist) were not available, we were told after some delay. Having placed our antipasto order, we were then asked several times by different waiters if we wanted to order an appetizer. It was as if they weren't communicating with each other. The entrees arrived and two of the four dishes were good--the quail dish and the pasta siciliana. Two of our party ordered the clams, and both of them found the clams to be tasteless and the broth way too salty. Service continued to be spotty throughout the meal. All in all, not a great dining experience."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Inside is great too!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a really pleasant dinner inside at Caffee Riace in Palo Alto. Two small rooms, very pleasant to talk and nicely decorated so a nice addition to the outstanding outdoor space on a chilly evening. Sicilian Itanlian always good and the wine list gives lots of choice both by the glass and by the bottle."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's such a beautiful space but such bad food and service. I ordered a harvest salad and ended up getting a fruit salad with two pieces of greens. The meat did not taste good, my fathers pasta was tasteless. They need new management and a new cook."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Ambiance good, food not so much

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"You're sitting in a beautiful courtyard with huge statues, fountains, olive trees and a row of Vespas parked out front. You think you're in Italy. Until the food arrives. No self-respecting Italian would put up with the gummy, stuck-together fettucine, or with the ring of meat grease surrounding the pasta on the plate. The place was mostly empty on a summer Saturday evening, and now I see why. It's wildly overpriced, and the food is just not worth it. I remember when this place was special, but I'm not coming back."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Caffe Riace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved the ambience. Felt like a was on a Italian patio. Had a wonderful Birthday lunch!"
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>