Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Lucky Cheng's Reviews List

Lucky Cheng's

Lucky Cheng's, the infamous drag queen capital of the world, boasts outrageous drag queen cabaret, comedy, and servers to complement its delicious Pan-Asian cuisine.

The price is $50 per person Friday and Saturday which includes the show, but not drinks, tax, or gratuity.

Popular for the main event of the evening, corporate events, holiday parties, bachelor and bachelorette parties, birthday parties, and other special occasions.
See more Lucky Cheng's details
43 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(43 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(6)
Food 
3 / 5
(Very Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(25)
  • special occasion(23)
  • hot spot(10)
  • late-night find(9)
  • vibrant bar scene(8)
  • neighborhood gem(3)
Lucky Cheng's Reviews List
Review 1 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2014
 2014
Dined on 3/16/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/16/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

F U N

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was a great place to have tons of fun. The people were great and the food was really good."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It had changed..to bad

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant has changed since my last visit. The location is in a very rough area, the neighbourhood is scary!
To start with the security guy answered me at the door very rudely after I asked if I was at the right address for Lucky Cheng's : Yes its here.. but your need a reservation to come in !
(I obviously did!)
The restaurant now is really small, the stage is so ..so small.. only one person can stand there at time, I remember the restaurant at the 57th was so big that looked more like a theatre .. It was brilliant ! But I was there to have fun and I had!
To start with.. I went to the bar to have a drink before the show starts.. the gentleman who was supposed to be the bar man (a black , muscly young man) looked at me waiting for my order.. I gently said: Hi there, can I have a drink ? HIs response was unbelievably rude :
What else do you think we sell here ?
So that put me off the whole evening, I've travelled all the way from europe to New york .. I am really aware that it is obvious that you go to a bar to get a drink.. however i was only starting a conversation ! So I went back to my seat without ordering anything to drink.
The drags are the best part of the show.. funny.. kind.. super friendly.. the best part of the whole experience.
I left the place in a great mood, however I had to apologise to my 3 friends as I insisted to them to come along with me and I was the best thing I've seen in new york in a long time !
"
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun. Pure Entertainment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Fun environment. Lucky Cheng's is great for bachelorette parties and birthdays. And they have a nice rooftop."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great show, so fun!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A great place to celebrate a birthday or bachelorette. The show is hilarious bawdy comedy at it's best, and they will be sure to involve the guest of honor in your group unless you request otherwise. Really great place for a fun, non-PC, over-the-top celebration!"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hilarious! Good entertainment! Heartwarm!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved it! So funny and vibrant. Our waitress Hairy Mary was the best ever! Am back next time I'm in NYC"
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hilarious show

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The comedy was great. My girlfriend and I laughed so hard and often that our faces were sore. The food was mediocre, at best. Definitely NOT a good value and extremely overpriced for the quality of food. I understand they are at a pop-up location but I would expect a little more organization and direction out of such a renowned show. Again, the acts were excellent but they were really need a new chef."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

They don't honor my reservation

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I made reservation at opentable on Feb 14, and thought I could have good time with my gf. After receiving email confirmation, they cancelled my reservation just hours before. This is unacceptable to any standard."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A lot of fun!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had an outstanding time at Lucky Cheng's! The show was fantastic and the service was great. We laughed the entire time! What a great place!!!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My Cousin's 50th Birthday Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If you're celebrating a Birthday or Bachelorette gathering, this is the place to go. Very entertaining, lots of fun, and lots of audience participation. The hostesses are great. The food was good, drinks were funny and tasty. Had a great time. I can't wait for the next Girl's Night Out. We'll Be Back!!!!!!!!!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

lots of fun and good food. love the wings.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Be ready to be part of the show. Service was quick and effficient. Drag cabaret on steroids with comedy song dance and so much more.
Fun for parties y
"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Girl Fun!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Lots of fun for group of "girl friends" it's a pop up so rhe facility is very small and squishy, the stage is like 3x3 , the food was surprisingly good and the drinks tasty. It's not as fancy as Lips but fun was had by all!! Just an FYI the bar on the street level is ridiculously expensive $15-$20 per drink!!!! And no prices on the menu ."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Open Table Info not up to date

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The date requested was not an option (LC not open that night)
When I called LC to confirm the reservation I was told about the error
on Open Table's records.....said they would contact OT to correct!
I HAVE experienced LC years ago and loved it so wanted a friend from
out of town to check it out!!!
"
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun Environment but EXPENSIVE

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A group of my girlfriends decided to plan a night out and we have been wanting to go here for some time. The show is fn and energetic (come with a personality). The food was great but super small portions (we ended up walking around the corner and ordering deli sandwiches). One time event. We had fun but it was just overpriced...but I guess thats the city!"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not so lucky

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a great time but the entertainment is terrible. They lip sync and its on the raunchy side.
The food is pretty bad."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best. NIght. Ever

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were over in NYC for a birthday and decided to go as a group to Lucky Chengs to start off one of our evenings. Wow, what a find! Such a laugh from start to finish. The girls were amazing, so funny. Great night and one of our group ended up with a bit more than he bargained for. The balloon guy was really shouty but really good with his hands so we let him off the shouty! Food was great, cocktails were fab, entertainment was excellent. Will definitely go back next time we're in town."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Lucky Cheng's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wicked fun

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went on a recommendation from a friend. Had a BLAST! Meatballs were amazing. So very fun. Be prepared for a rowdy good time."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lucky Cheng's
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
8 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic